DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2024 and 04/02/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 recite the variable ‘u’ in “Gu = h” however, ‘u’ is undefined. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets ‘u’ as the solution to the linear system in accordance with page 82 of the Applicant’s specification. Claims 2-18 and 20 are dependent claims that do not cure the deficiencies and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, claims 1-18 are directed to a method and claims 19-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Claim 1 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“(b) defining a Newton system for the SOCP instance by constructing matrix G and vector h, where matrix G and vector h describe constrains for a linear system Gu = h based on the SOCP instance” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
“(c) preconditioning matrix G and vector h via row normalization to reduce a condition number of matrix G” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
“(d) iteratively determining u until a predetermined iteration condition is met, the iterations comprising: causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to a quantum linear system solver (QLSS) to generate a quantum state” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
“causing the quantum computing system to perform quantum state tomography on the quantum state” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
“updating a value of u based on a current value of u and the output of the quantum state tomography” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
“(e) determining a solution to the SOCP instance based on the updated value of u” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2
“(a) receiving the SOCP instance” (insignificant extra-solution activity)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
“(a) receiving the SOCP instance” (This step appears to be directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); See MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II).)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 2 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein preconditioning matrix G and vector h comprises: determining a diagonal matrix D where at least one entry Dit is equal to the norm of row i of matrix G” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 3 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“redefining matrix G and vector h according to: G = D-'G and h= D-'h” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 4 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein D-'G has a condition number less that the condition number of previous matrix G” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 5 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein the output of the quantum state tomography is a unit vector v' indicating an iteration direction for u” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 6 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“The method of claim 5, wherein the unit vector v' is characterized by ||V – v|| ≤ { with probability equal to or greater than a predetermined probability threshold, where v ocG-'h and is a tomography precision parameter.” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 7 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“determining a step length o 0 based on the unit vector v and adding the current value of u to the product of: (1) the step length o and (2) the unit vector v” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 8 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“
where Ax, As, Ax, and Ar are components of the unit vector v'; x, s, x, and r are components of current u;p(x, r, s, x) is a duality gap; a is the step length; and r is the number of second-order cone constraints of the SOCP instance.” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 9 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein the step length o is determined such that a duality gap p of the updated value of u is a factor of o smaller than the current value of u within a second order deviation in the step length o.” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 10 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein the duality gap u describes a difference between the current value of u and an exact solution to the linear system Gu = h” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 11 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein the quantum state tomography is performed according to a tomography precision parameter { that decreases with each new iteration” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 12 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein the tomography precision parameter { decreases by (/2 with each new iteration” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 13 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to the QLSS to generate the quantum state comprises k > 0 applications of the QLSS and k controlled-applications of the QLSS to generate the quantum state” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 14 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“repeating steps (b)-(d) and iteratively updating a duality gap u based on the output of the quantum state tomography until the duality gap u is less than the target precision s, where the duality gap u describes a difference between the current value of u and an exact solution to the linear system Gu = h” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2
“receiving a target precision s for the solution to the SOCP instance” (insignificant extra-solution activity)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
“receiving a target precision s for the solution to the SOCP instance” (This step appears to be directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); See MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II).)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 15 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein matrix G and vector h are constructed further based on the updated value of u” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 16 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 16 recites at least the abstract idea identified above in claim 1.
Step 2A, Prong 2
“wherein causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to the QLSS comprises causing the quantum computing system to execute a quantum circuit” (Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See 2106.05(f).)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
“wherein causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to the QLSS comprises causing the quantum computing system to execute a quantum circuit” (Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See 2106.05(f).)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 17 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“wherein the QLSS operates on a block encoded version of matrix G and a state-prepared version of vector h” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 18 recites:
Step 2A, Prong 1
“causing matrix G to be block encoded onto the quantum computing system and the vector h to be state encoded onto the quantum computing system” (This step is directed to a mathematical concept. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I.)
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim 19 recites:
See rejection of claim 1. Same rationale applies.
Step 2A, Prong 2 & 2B
The claim recites additional elements (“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing code”). (Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See 2106.05(f).)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 20 recites:
See rejection of claim 2. Same rationale applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerenidis et al. (“A quantum interior-point method for second-order cone programming”) in view of Augustino et al. (“An inexact-feasible quantum interior point method for second-order cone optimization”).
Regarding Claim 1,
Augustino (“An Inexact-Feasible Quantum Interior Point Method for Second-order Cone Optimization”) teaches a quantum interior point method (QIPM) for solving a second-order cone program (SOCP) instance using a quantum computing system, the method comprising:
(a) receiving the SOCP instance (pg. 1; “If all cones Ki are of the same type, the optimization problem is a linear program (LP), second order cone program (SOCP), and semidefinite program (SDP), respectively.”);
(b) defining a Newton system for the SOCP instance by constructing matrix G and vector h, where matrix G and vector h describe constrains for a linear system Gu = h based on the SOCP instance (pg. 5, section 2.2; “Instead, given a matrix A and a vector b, we construct the quantum state A−1b (using the notation from (2))… Instead, given a matrix A and a vector b, we construct the quantum state A−1b (using the notation from (2)).” pg. 8; “More precisely, in each step we apply to our current iterate (x,y,s) one round of Newton’s method for solving the system (10) with ν = σµ.”);
(d) iteratively determining u until a predetermined iteration condition is met (pg. 9, algorithm 2;), the iterations comprising:
causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to a quantum linear system solver (QLSS) to generate a quantum state (pg. 9, algorithm 2;);
causing the quantum computing system to perform quantum state tomography on the quantum state (pg. 9, algorithm 2;); and
updating a value of u based on a current value of u and the output of the quantum state tomography (pg. 9, algorithm 2;); and
(e) determining a solution to the SOCP instance based on the updated value of u (pg. 9, algorithm 2;).
Kerenidis does not explicitly disclose
(c) preconditioning matrix G and vector h via row normalization to reduce a condition number of matrix G;
However, Augustino (“An Inexact-Feasible Quantum Interior Point Method for Second-order Cone Optimization”) teaches
(c) preconditioning matrix G and vector h via row normalization to reduce a condition number of matrix G (pg. 3, section 2.1; “A block encoding U of A is a unitary such that:
where α is a normalization factor.” Pg. 4; “Thus, U† RUL is a block encoding of A with normalization factor ∥A∥F.”);
Kerenidis and Augustino are analogous because they are directed to quantum interior point method second-order cone optimization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the quantum interior point method of Kerenidis with the normalization of Augustino.
Doing so would allow for pre-processing to create certain data structures that can be stored in quantum-accessible storage, i.e.,QRAM (Augustino pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 2,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches wherein preconditioning matrix G and vector h comprises: determining a diagonal matrix D where at least one entry Dit is equal to the norm of row i of matrix G (pg. 5, section 2.1; “2. The matrix representations Arw(x) and Qx are the block-diagonal matrices containing the representations of the blocks:”).
Regarding Claim 5,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches wherein the output of the quantum state tomography is a unit vector v' indicating an iteration direction for u (pg. 9, algorithm 2; “Perform vector state tomography with UN (Theorem 3) and use the norm es timate from (b) to obtain the classical estimate (∆x;∆y;∆s) such that with probability 1 − 1/poly(n),”).
Regarding Claim 11,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches wherein the quantum state tomography is performed according to a tomography precision parameter { that decreases with each new iteration (pg. 16, section 4.3; “If the tomography precision for iteration i is chosen to be at least (i.e. smaller than)
, then the premises of Theorem 4 are satisfied.”).
Regarding Claim 13,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches wherein causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to the QLSS to generate the quantum state comprises k > 0 applications of the QLSS and k controlled-applications of the QLSS to generate the quantum state (pg. 8-9, section 4; “In a way, it is similar to the SDP solver from [16] since we apply a quantum linear system solver to get the solutions of the Newton system (11) as quantum states and then perform tomography to recover the solutions. However, it differs from the SDP solver as the construction of block encodings for the Newton matrix for the SOCP case is much simpler than that for the general SDP case.” Algorithm 2.).
Regarding Claim 14,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches further comprising: receiving a target precision s for the solution to the SOCP instance (pg. 9, algorithm 2;); and repeating steps (b)-(d) and iteratively updating a duality gap u based on the output of the quantum state tomography until the duality gap u is less than the target precision s, where the duality gap u describes a difference between the current value of u and an exact solution to the linear system Gu = h (pg. 7; “The difference between these two values is called the duality gap, it is denoted by µ, and usually normalized by a factor of 1 r:
”).
Regarding Claim 15,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 14. Kerenidis further teaches wherein matrix G and vector h are constructed further based on the updated value of u (pg. 9, algorithm 2;).
Regarding Claim 16,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches wherein causing the quantum computing system to apply matrix G and vector h to the QLSS comprises causing the quantum computing system to execute a quantum circuit (pg. 5; “Furthermore, U needs to be implemented efficiently, i.e. using an ℓ-qubit quantum circuit of depth (poly)logarithmic in n. Such a circuit would allow us to efficiently create states |Ai corresponding to columns of A.”).
Regarding Claim 17,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 1. Kerenidis further teaches wherein the QLSS operates on a block encoded version of matrix G and a state-prepared version of vector h (pg. 5;
).
Regarding Claim 18,
Kerenidis and Augustino teach the method of claim 17. Kerenidis further teaches further comprising: causing matrix G to be block encoded onto the quantum computing system and the vector h to be state encoded onto the quantum computing system (pg. 6; “Theorem 2. (Quantum linear algebra with block encodings) [7, 10] Let A ∈ Rn×n be a matrix with non-zero eigenvalues in the interval [−1,−1/κ] ∪ [1/κ,1], and let ϵ > 0. Given an imple mentation of an (ζ,O(logn)) block encoding for A in time TU and a procedure for preparing state |b in time Tb,”).
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is the computer-readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 1. Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is the computer-readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 2. Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds.
Conclusion
/HENRY NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2121