DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Application Status
2. Claims 1-2 are pending.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of this continuation of U.S. Nonprovisional Application No. 18/008512, filed on 12/06/2022, which is a national stage entry of PCT/US21/37190, filed on 06/14/2021, which claims domestic priority to U.S. Provisional Application Nos. 63/188894 and 63/040718, filed on 05/14/2021 and 06/18/2020, respectively.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The IDS filed on 10/04/2023 has been considered by the examiner and a copy of the Form PTO/SB/08 is attached to the office action.
Drawings
5. The Drawings filed on 10/04/2023 are acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1-2 are objected to in the recitation of B. subtilis, and in the interest of improving claim form it is suggested that the genus and species be italicized and the name Bacillus be recited at least once in the claim.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
8. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, the recitation of “comprising orally administering a therapeutically effective amount of an antimicrobial peptide… comprising the step of orally administering to the subject the therapeutically amount of a stable strain of a probiotic B. subtilis expressing cNK-2…comprising the step of orally administering to the subject the therapeutically effective amount of a stable strain of a probiotic B. subtilis to treat an Avian coccidiosis…” is indefinite because it is unclear if these are three distinct steps or variations of a single step recited in different ways. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained from the limitations recited.
Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the therapeutically amount” in the claims. It is suggested that applicants clarify the meaning of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lillehoj et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0245082 A1; cited on IDS filed on 10/04/2023) in view of Lin et al. (Parasitology Research, 2015; examiner cited).
11. Claims 1-2 are drawn to method to treat a subject in need of a treatment comprising: orally administering a therapeutically effective amount of an antimicrobial peptide vectored composition comprising a bacterial protein expression vehicle expressing one or more recombinant antimicrobial peptide effector molecules, wherein the one or more recombinant antimicrobial peptide effector molecules are engineered from a NK-lysin gene and express functionally active NK-2, wherein the subject is poultry and said poultry are in need of treatment to maintain or restore gut microbiome, comprising the step of orally administering to the subject the therapeutically amount of a stable strain of a probiotic B. subtilis expressing cNK-2 to restore gut microbiome of said subject.
12. With respect to claims 1 and 2, Lillehoj et al. teach a method for treating chickens infected with avian coccidiosis by administering a therapeutically effective amount of a functionally active cNK-2 peptide that has been recombinantly produced [see Abstract; paragraphs 0004, 0009-0016, 0055].
However, Lillehoj et al. does not teach wherein the peptide is delivered orally or through a stable strain of a probiotic B. subtilis expressing said NK-2 peptide.
Lin et al. teach prebiotic strains of B. subtilis expressing Eimeria tenella 3-1E protein administering orally to chickens for the treatment of coccidiosis [see Abstract; p.3229, column 2]. Lin et al. teach that administration of the significantly increased the anti-coccidial index and reduced cecal lesion scores [see Abstract; p. 3235].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lillehoj et al. and Lin et al. to express cNK-2 peptides in the B. subtilis strains of Lin et al. to treat avian coccidiosis because Lillehoj et al. teach the treatment of avian coccidiosis by administering cNK-2 peptides. Lin et al. teach B. subtilis can be used as a prebiotic strain expressing proteins for the treatment of avian coccidiosis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, a reasonable level of predictability and require simple substitution of one known element for the other to express cNK-2 peptides in B. subtilis because Lin et al. acknowledges that B. subtilis can be used as a prebiotic strain expressing proteins for the treatment of avian coccidiosis. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
14. Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2 of the ‘628 application recite a method to treat a subject in need of a treatment comprising: orally administering a therapeutically effective amount of an antimicrobial peptide vectored composition comprising a bacterial protein expression vehicle comprised of a whole cell Bacillus subtilis transformed with a replicable plasmid DNA expression construct codon-optimized for expressing functionally active NK-2, wherein the subject is poultry and said poultry are in need of treatment for Avian coccidiosis.
Conclusion
15. Status of the claims:
Claims 1-2 are pending.
Claims 1-2 are rejected.
No claims are in condition for an allowance.
/PAUL J HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656