DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification contains trademarks, such as Wi-fi (see Paragraphs, 0004, 0020, 0036), for example. The entire specification should be reviewed and corrected for any trademarks.
The use of the term Wi-Fi, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeh et al., (US Patent Publication No. 20220109622 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, Yeh teaches a main access point device (APD) for establishing a backhaul connection to a satellite APD in a network, the APD comprising: a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions; a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions stored on the memory Figure 17, whole figure, infra
to cause the main APD to Figure 15, whole figure infra:
begin configuration of the main APD (i.e. connect to wireless infrastructure 233a-c of different RATs such as LTE small-cell base stations (BS) 233a, macro-cell BS 5G gNB 233c, WLAN access points (AP) 233b, etc.) Para [0020] based on an event (i.e., radio channel/signaling measurements/indicators (e.g., RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, RCPI, RSNI, ANPI, SNR, SINR, expected peak data rate, and/or any other signal measurements such as any of those discussed herein), packet drop rate, packet loss rate, backhaul delay measurements for individual paths (e.g., the minimum delay of individual paths, average delay of individual paths, and/or can be estimated delay based on past delay measurements) Para [0039] and (i.e., event capabilities) Para [0040]; determine a backhaul channel for use in establishing an initial backhaul connection (i.e., The delay profile is affected by the transmission data rate and possibly some initial delay of the path , e.g., a backhaul delay or the like) Para [0044] with the satellite APD (i.e., e time for a given GNSS), GNSS code measurements (e.g., The GNSS code phase (integer and fractional parts) of the spreading code of the i.sup.th GNSS satellite signal), GNSS carrier phase measurements (e.g., the number of carrier-phase cycles (integer and fractional parts) of the i.sup.th GNSS satellite signal, measured since locking onto the signal; also called Accumulated Delta Range (ADR) Para [0209] and (i.e., ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)) Para [0215] and (i.e., navigation satellite constellations (or GNSS) include United States' Global Positioning System (GPS), Russia's Global Navigation System (GLONASS), the European Union's Galileo system, China's BeiDou Navigation Satellite System, a regional navigation system or GNSS augmentation system (e.g., Navigation with Indian Constellation (NAVIC), Japan's Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS), France's Doppler Orbitography and Radio-positioning Integrated by Satellite (DORIS), etc.), or the like. The positioning circuitry 1775 comprises various hardware elements (e.g., including hardware devices such as switches, filters, amplifiers, antenna elements, and the like ) Para [0255]; establish the initial backhaul connection (i.e., respective connections 230b (also referred to as “backhaul paths 230b”) may connect or communicatively couple the edge compute node 236 with one or more NANs 233, and individual connections 230a (also referred to as “access paths 230a” or “fronthaul paths 230a”) may connect or communicatively couple individual NANs 233 with one or more UEs 201. Some connections 230a-b may be used for either licensed or unlicensed access and may correspond to connections) Para [0023]; and send a configuration notification to a client device based on a status of the configuration (i.e. performance indicators) Para [0028] and (i.e., he RAN/WLAN measurements may include, for example, radio channel/signaling measurements/indicators (e.g., RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, RCPI, RSNI, ANPI, SNR, SINR, expected peak data rate, and/or any other signal measurements such as any of those discussed herein), packet drop rate, packet loss rate, backhaul delay measurements for individual paths 230b (e.g., the minimum delay of individual paths 230b, average delay of individual paths 230b, and/or can be estimated delay based on past delay measurements)) Para [0039].
Regarding 2 and 9, Yeh teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to cause the main APD to: receive one or more configuration parameters from a network resource (i.e., network resources to edge computing applications) Para [0024]; [0037] and (i.e., indicate the network resources) Para [0081].
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 16, Yeh teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to cause the main APD to: perform backhaul optimization and apply one or more fronthaul configurations of the one or more configuration parameters (i.e., the optimal traffic distribution problem can be converted to a classic non-deterministic polynomial-time (NP)-hard optimization problem—the “knapsack problem… backhaul (IAB) technology is used in the RAN, then the backhaul network can have a complex topology which can potentially introduce multiple paths 230 between the UE 201 and an IAB donor (e.g., a NAN 233 or the like). In edge computing (e.g., MEC, etc.), for enhanced bandwidth and reliability, an edge server may establish multiple concurrent connections to a client device equipped with multiple radio interfaces.) Para [0082-0083] after sending the configuration notification (i.e., packet distribution rules {x.sub.i}, can also be used to indicate the network resources that should be reserved for transmission of the reliability flow) Para [0081]; Para [0179]-[0181].
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 17, Yeh teaches wherein the performing the backhaul optimization comprises: determining an optimized backhaul channel based on one or more network performance parameters (i.e., integrated access and backhaul (IAB) technology is used in the RAN, then the backhaul network can have a complex topology which can potentially introduce multiple paths 230 between the UE 201 and an IAB donor (e.g., a NAN 233 or the like). In edge computing (e.g., MEC, etc.), for enhanced bandwidth and reliability, an edge server may establish multiple concurrent connections to a client device equipped with multiple radio interfaces (see e.g., section 1 and FIG. 1 discussed supra). NC leverages multi-path diversity to enhance reliability and latency performance of the communication ) Para [0083].
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 18, Yeh teaches wherein the initial backhaul channel is different from the optimized backhaul channel parameters (i.e., the optimal traffic distribution problem can be converted to a classic non-deterministic polynomial-time (NP)-hard optimization problem—the “knapsack problem… backhaul (IAB) technology is used in the RAN, then the backhaul network can have a complex topology which can potentially introduce multiple paths 230 between the UE 201 and an IAB donor (e.g., a NAN 233 or the like). In edge computing (e.g., MEC, etc.), for enhanced bandwidth and reliability, an edge server may establish multiple concurrent connections to a client device equipped with multiple radio interfaces.) Para [0082-0083].
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 19, Yeh teaches wherein the determining the initial backhaul channel comprises: receiving one or more default configuration parameters (i.e. concatenated error correction codes) Para [0093]; and determining the initial backhaul channel based on at least one of the one or more default configuration parameters (i.e., information packets are encoded into n coded packets and x.sub.i of the encoded packets are sent to path i so that Σ.sub.i=1.sup.mx.sub.i=n, then the probability of decoding failure is denoted by equation) Para [0151] and (i.e. decoding failure probabilities) Para [0163].
Regarding Claims 7, 14 and 20, Yeh teaches wherein the one or more default configuration parameters comprise an initial radio for establishing the backhaul connection (i.e., radio channel/signaling measurements/indicators (e.g., RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, RCPI, RSNI, ANPI, SNR, SINR, expected peak data rate, and/or any other signal measurements such as any of those discussed herein), packet drop rate, packet loss rate, backhaul delay measurements for individual paths (e.g., the minimum delay of individual paths, average delay of individual paths and/or can be estimated delay based on past delay measurements) Para [0039].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yeh et al., (US Patent Publication No. 20220109622 A1), “RELIABILITY ENHANCEMENTS FOR MULTI-ACCESS TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT” (April 7, 2022) discloses reliability enhancement engine (REE) operated by a multi-access multipath traffic manager identifies traffic flows that have high reliability requirements (“reliability flows”) and performs admission control for the reliability flows. The REE determines a coding rate (e.g., a redundancy factor) and traffic distribution strategies for the identified reliability flows. The REE applies cross-access network coding (NC) on the reliability flows, and handles multi-access acknowledgements and traffic pacing, which may involve multiplexing traffic of the reliability flows with non-high-reliability traffic.
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov