Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, 13, 15-19, 22-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al (US 5388909 A).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), comprising: an object having a surface whose temperature is to be monitored (the temperature of semiconductor substrates is measures; column 3 lines 49-51); a semiconductor member (5) mounted onto the surface of the object (Fig.1), the semiconductor member (5) having a temperature-dependent bandgap (a substrate material with a temperature dependent bandgap) with an absorption edge that varies with temperature (the absorption edge is broadened by the phonons; column 12 lines 23-24); a light source (Fig.1) configured to illuminate the semiconductor member (5) with monochromatic light (column 6 lines 66-68 and column 7 lines 2-4) having a wavelength equal to an absorption edge wavelength that is associated with the absorption edge when the semiconductor member (5) is at a specified temperature; and a detector (photodiode detector) configured to receive light reflected (Fig.1) from the semiconductor member (5) when illuminated with the monochromatic light (column 6 lines 66-68 and column 7 lines 2-4) such that a surface temperature of the object (Fig.1) is at the specified temperature (the photodiode is sensitive to a range of wavelengths spanning the optical bandgap in the temperature range of interest) when a change in an amount of reflected light that is received indicates that the wavelength of the monochromatic light (column 6 lines 66-68 and column 7 lines 2-4) is equal to the absorption edge wavelength at the specified temperature (column 6 lines 66-68 and column 7 lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the monochromatic light (Fig.1) is provided by the light source to the semiconductor member (5) over free space (column 5 lines 31-36 and Fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the reflected light (column 6 lines 32-33) is received by the detector (photodiode detector) from the semiconductor member (5) over free space (column 6 lines 60-67 and Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the monochromatic light (column 6 lines 55-58) is provided by the light source (Fig.1) to the semiconductor member (5) over a first optical fiber (10) having a distal end (Fig.1) from which the monochromatic light (Fig.1) is emitted, the distal end (Fig.1) of the optical fiber (10) being spaced apart from the semiconductor member (5) by a gap over which the monochromatic light (column 5 lines 31-36) travels to illuminate the semiconductor member (5).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the light source (Fig.1) is a tunable light source (column 6 lines 65-66) configured to illuminate the semiconductor member (5) with monochromatic light that is tunable (the light that passes through the monochromator is wavelength controlled) over a range of wavelengths that encompasses the wavelength that is equal to the absorption edge (column 7 lines 1-5) wavelength that is associated with the absorption edge of the semiconductor member (5) when the semiconductor member is at the specified temperature (column 7 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the object (Fig.9) whose surface temperature is to be monitored is a rotating object (Fig.9) and the semiconductor member (5) is mounted at a radial distance from an axis of rotation (Fig. 9) such that it is illuminated by the monochromatic light at one time during a rotation of the rotating object (Figs. 9 and 10; column 12 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the semiconductor member (5) is a direct bandgap semiconductor (GaAs; column 12 lines 19-28).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the detector is a photodetector (photodiode; column 6 lines 66-67).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the semiconductor member (5) is GaAs (column 12 lines 19-28) or InP.
Regarding claim 16, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), comprising: illuminating a semiconductor member (5) mounted onto the surface of the object (Fig.1) with monochromatic light (Fig.1), the semiconductor member (5) having a temperature-dependent bandgap (a substrate material with a temperature dependent bandgap) with an absorption edge that varies with temperature (the absorption edge is broadened by the phonons; column 12 lines 23-24), the monochromatic light having a wavelength equal to an absorption edge (column 6 lines 66-67 and column 7 lines 2-4) wavelength that is associated with the absorption edge when the semiconductor member (5) is at a specified temperature (column 6 lines 66-67 and column 7 lines 2-4); and receiving light reflected (Fig.1) from the semiconductor member (5) when illuminated with the monochromatic light (Fig.1) such that a surface temperature of the object (Fig.1) is at the specified temperature when a change in an amount of reflected light (Fig.1) that is received indicates that the wavelength of the monochromatic light is equal to the absorption edge wavelength at the specified temperature (the photodiode detector is sensitive to range of wavelengths spanning the optical bandgap in the temperature range of interest; column 6 lines 66-67 and column 7 lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), further comprising providing the monochromatic light (Fig.1) to the semiconductor member (5) from the light source over free space (column 5 lines 31-36 and Fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), further comprising receiving the reflected light (column 6 lines 32-33) from the semiconductor member (5) over free space (column 6 lines 60-67 and Fig.1).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), further comprising providing the monochromatic light (Fig.1) to the semiconductor member (5) from the light source over a first optical fiber (10) having a distal end (Fig.1) from which the monochromatic light (Fig.1) is emitted, the distal end (Fig.1) of the optical fiber (10) being spaced apart (Fig.1) from the semiconductor member (5) by a gap over which the monochromatic light (Fig.1) travels to illuminate the semiconductor member (5).
Regarding claim 22, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the light source (Fig.1) is a tunable light source (column 6 lines 65-66) configured to illuminate the semiconductor member (5) with monochromatic light that is tunable (the light that passes through the monochromator is wavelength controlled) over a range of wavelengths that encompasses the wavelength that is equal to the absorption edge (column 7 lines 1-5) wavelength that is associated with the absorption edge (column 7 lines 1-5) of the semiconductor member (5) when the semiconductor member (5) is at the specified temperature (column 7 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 23, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the object (Fig.9) whose surface temperature is to be monitored is a rotating object (Fig.9) and the semiconductor member (5) is mounted at a radial distance from an axis of rotation (Fig.9) such that it is illuminated by the monochromatic light at one time during a rotation of the rotating object (Figs. 9 and 10; column 12 lines 1-3).
Regrading claim 26, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the semiconductor member (5) is selected from the group consisting of GaAs, AlAs, InP, InSb, GaN, GaSb (GaAs which is a direct bandgap semiconductor may be used as the semiconductor substrate; column 12 lines 19-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 9, 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al in view of Taylor II et al (US 20050106876 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the reflected light (Fig.1) is received by the detector (Fig.1) from the semiconductor member (5). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose a second optical fiber.
Taylor teaches a second optical fiber (an optical fiber assembly 27, including a first optical fiber 28 and a second optical fiber 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include multiple optical fibers as taught by Taylor because this will improve the distribution of separate optical signals to various components.
Regarding claim 6, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second optical fibers include a common optical fiber.
Taylor teaches the first (28) and second (30) optical fibers include a common optical fiber (bifurcated silica/silica fiber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include bifurcated silica/silica fiber as taught by Taylor because this will greatly improve transmission and collection of light in the system.
Regarding claim 9, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the semiconductor member (5) Johnson fails to explicitly disclose comprises a plurality of semiconductor members that are each mounted at a common radial distance from the axis of rotation.
Taylor teaches a plurality of semiconductor members (20) that are each mounted at a common radial distance from the axis of rotation (Fig.13; para [0035] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s method/apparatus for measuring the temperature to include multiple semiconductors as taught by Taylor because this will greatly improve the monitoring of surface.
Regarding claim 20, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), further comprising receiving the reflected light (Fig.1) from the semiconductor member (5). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose a second optical fiber.
Taylor teaches a second optical fiber (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include multiple optical fibers as taught by Taylor because this will improve the distribution of separate optical signals to various components.
Regarding claim 21, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second optical fibers include a common optical fiber.
Taylor teaches the first (28) and second (30) optical fibers include a common optical fiber (bifurcated silica/silica fiber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include bifurcated silica/silica fiber as taught by Taylor because this will greatly improve transmission and collection of light in the system.
Regarding claim 24, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the semiconductor member (5). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose comprises a plurality of semiconductor members that are each mounted at a common radial distance from the axis of rotation.
Taylor teaches a plurality of semiconductor members (20) that are each mounted at a common radial distance from the axis of rotation (Fig.13; para [0035] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s method/apparatus for measuring the temperature to include multiple semiconductors as taught by Taylor because this will greatly improve the monitoring of surface.
Claims 10, 12, 14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al in view of Buller et al (WO 2016094827 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose at least one fiducial marker located on the rotating object such that reflected light received from the at least one fiducial marker allows mechanical information concerning the rotating object to be determined.
Buller teaches at least one fiducial marker (203) located on the rotating object (para [0192]) such that reflected light received from the at least one fiducial marker (203) allows mechanical information concerning the rotating object (para [0192]) to be determined.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include fiducial markers as taught by Buller because this will improve the tracking of the rotational movement of the surface.
Regarding claim 12, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate); light source (Fig.1). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose wherein a laser.
Buller teaches a laser (laser diode; para [0165])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include a laser diode as taught by Buller because this will improve the non-contact temperature measurements.
Regarding claim 14, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate); wherein the detector is a photodetector (photodiodes). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose array.
Buller teaches array (The multiplicity of sensors may be arranged in an array or matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include a sensor array as taught by Buller because this will improve temperature monitoring by allowing the signals to be read at different angles.
Regarding claim 25, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a method for monitoring a surface temperature of an object (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose further comprising receiving reflected light from at least one fiducial marker located on the rotating object such that the reflected light received from the at least one fiducial marker allows mechanical information concerning the rotating object to be determined.
Buller teaches receiving reflected light (para [0192]) from at least one fiducial marker (203) located on the rotating object (para [0192]) such that the reflected light received (para [0192]) from the at least one fiducial marker (203) allows mechanical information concerning the rotating object to be determined (para [0192]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include fiducial markers as taught by Buller because this will improve the tracking of the rotational movement of the surface.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al in view of Bour et al (US 20120118224 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Johnson discloses in figures 1-14b a temperature monitoring system (optical method and apparatus for measuring the temperature of a substrate), wherein the semiconductor member (5). Johnson fails to explicitly disclose selected from the group consisting of AlGaAs, InGaP, InGaN, InGaP
Bour teaches selected from the group consisting of AlGaAs, InGaP, InGaN, InGaP (the semiconductor disposed on the substrate may be InGaN; para [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johnson’s apparatus for measuring the temperature to include the semiconductor InGaN as taught by Bour because this will greatly improve temperature monitoring of specific temperature ranges.
Conclusion
/MIREILLE S SADATE-MOUALEU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855