DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Electric Vehicle Charger with Cable Management.
Drawings
The drawings (figures 1-23) are objected to. The items labelled with item numbers shown in the drawings should be provided with item numbers + descriptive text labels as feasible. No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) submitted on 10/4/2023, 7/11/2024, 10/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for prosecution on the merits below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bianco et al. US 20120048983.
Regarding claim 1, Bianco discloses a charger comprising:
a main body [Fig. 11, stanchion unit 220. Fig. 32A, generally indicated by 700] to which a charging cable [Fig. 11, retractable cable 214. Figs. 32A, cable 720; pars. 0154, 0162, 0171] is connected;
an arm body [Figs. 11, 13, 30A; upper member 250; housing 710] disposed on the main body and having an arm space [Figs. 11, 13, 32A; the space inside 250. 710; par. 0172];
an arm guide [Fig. 30A, arm 722 + idlers 702, 704] accommodated in the arm space and guiding the charging cable [par. 0172]; and
an arm rail [Fig. 30A, e.g. shroud 718] formed on the arm body and having an outlet [Fig. 32B, opening 711] through which the charging cable [cable 714/ 720] passes, wherein a portion of the charging cable accommodated in the arm space is disposed to have at least one curvature [curvature seen indicated at 714 (e.g. Fig. 30A; par. 0174].
Regarding claim 2, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein the arm body [Figs. 11, 13, 30A; upper member 250; housing 710] is disposed above the main body [as seen in Figs. 11, 13, 30A].
Regarding claim 3, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein the arm body [Figs. 11, 13, 30A; upper member 250; housing 710] comprises a protruding body protruding forward [as seen in Figs. 11, 13, 30A], wherein the arm rail [Fig. 30A, e.g. shroud 718] is formed on a lower plate [e.g. the bottom surface of upper member 250; housing 710. Alternatively, the assembly holding all of the components shown in Fig. 30B, housing 710; par. 0155] of the protruding body [as seen in Figs. 30A, 30B].
Regarding claim 4, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 3, wherein the lower plate is disposed inclined to face a front lower direction [as seen in Figs. 15, 16].
Regarding claim 5, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 3, further comprising; at least one roller [Fig. 30A, 702] rotatably disposed on the lower plate and in contact with the charging cable [as seen in Figs. 30A, 30B].
Regarding claim 6, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein the arm guide comprises an arm bracket; and at least one arm pulley rotatably disposed on the arm bracket [par. 0180].
Regarding claim 7, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein a pair of the arm guides are provided, wherein the pair of arm guides [Fig. 30A, arm 722 + idlers 702, 704] are disposed so that a portion from a first point of the charging cable to a second point of the charging cable has one curvature, wherein the second point is located at the outlet [par. 0172. As seen in Figs. 30B and 32A].
Regarding claim 8, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein a pair of the arm guides are provided, wherein the charging cable comprises a first point; a second point located at the outlet; and a third point located between the pair of arm guides, wherein the pair of arm guides are disposed so that a portion from the first point to the third point has a first curvature, and a portion from the third point to the second point has a second curvature, wherein the first curvature and the second curvature are different [three curvatures seen in Figs. 30B, 32A: one at 704, one at 702, and one at 714].
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein a pair of the arm guides are provided, wherein the pair of arm guides comprise a front guide [Fig. 30A, idler 702] and a rear guide [Fig. 30A, idler 704], wherein the front guide is inclined at an angle of 15° to 30° with respect to the vertical line [a given point on idler 702 will naturally rotate through this inclined angle range from the vertical once the cable is pulled]; wherein the front guide and the rear guide are inclined at the same angle [a given point on idler 702 and the corresponding point on 704 will naturally rotate through the same inclined angle from the vertical once the cable is pulled; wherein the front guide and the rear guide are inclined at different angles [Fig. 30A, once motor 712 is activated the point on idler 704 will be inclined at a slightly different angle than a similar point on 702 because 704 is being pulled while 702 is being pushed; par. 0173].
Regarding claim 12, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein a pair of the arm guides are provided, wherein at least one of the pair of arm guides is disposed inclined toward the rear [Fig. 30A, 704 is disposed towards the rear of 710 and has an inclined angle whenever the 704 rotates].
Regarding claim 13, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein a pair of the arm guides are provided, wherein the pair of arm guides gradually become closer toward the lower side [Fig. 30B, 702 and 704 gradually become closure from the top towards the bottom due to their curvature].
Regarding claim 14, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein the arm guide is provided in plurality, wherein at least one of the plurality of arm guides [Fig. 30A, arm 722 + idlers 702, 704] is disposed to be rotated about a rotation axis [par. 0173].
Regarding claim 15, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, further comprising; an arm guide rail [Fig. 30A, arm 722] disposed on the arm body and slidingly guiding the arm guide [par. 0173].
Regarding claim 16, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 15, wherein the arm guide rail [Fig. 30A, arm 722] has an arc shape or a long straight-line shape in the left and right directions [Fig. 30A, straight-line shown].
Regarding claim 17, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of charging cables is connected to the main body [Fig. 11, main body 220 can be considered a part of multiple stanchions (with multiple cables and components); par. 0160], wherein the arm rail comprises a lower arm rail [Fig. 31A, lower arm can be equated to 714] through which one of the plurality of charging cables passes, and an upper arm rail [Fig. 31A, lower arm can be equated to 724] through which the other of the plurality of charging cables passes [par. 0173].
Regarding claim 18, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 17, wherein the arm body comprises a lower protruding body [e.g. the shaft holding roller 714] in which the lower arm rail is formed, and an upper protruding body [e.g. the shaft holding roller 724] in which the upper arm rail is formed.
Regarding claim 19, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 18, wherein the upper protruding body [e.g. the shaft holding roller 724] is more protruding forward than the lower protruding body [714. This will occur slightly when arm 722 is pressed downwards towards the cable; par. 0173 (Fig. 32B)].
Regarding claim 20, Bianco discloses the charger according to claim 18, wherein the arm guide is provided in plurality, wherein the plurality of arm guides [Fig. 30A, arm 722 + idlers 702, 704] comprises a lower arm guide [Fig. 31B, when 722 is in the lower position] accommodated in the lower protruding body; and an upper arm guide [Fig. 32B, when 722 is in the upper position] accommodated in the upper protruding body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859