DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 30 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-5 remain pending in the application. Claims 6-8, 10-15, and 17-19 have been withdrawn. Claims 2, 9, and 16 have been canceled. No new claims have been added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted between 04 October 2023 and 18 October 2024 were considered by the examiner. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jodi Dennis Edgard et al., "Phase separation and its effect on atomic interactions in CoCrNiCux
medium-entropy alloys," Materials Letters, Elsevier, Amsterdam, NL, VOL. 255, 9 August 2019.
Regarding claim 1, Jodi teaches phase separation and it effect on atomic interactions in CoCrNiCux medium entropy alloys in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Jodi teaches an alloy composed of Co, Cr, and Ni in equiatomic or near-equiatomic ratios, section[1]. Jodi also discloses a single solid solution face-centered cubic (FCC) phase, abstract, section[3]. Jodi discloses copper additions in the molar ratio range of 0 to 1, section[2]. This overlaps with the claimed range for x. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Jodi discloses that increased copper additions lead to phase separation causing the formation of a second phase and decreased mechanical properties, section[1,3]. Therefore, Jodi teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Claim 3 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the Chemical Formula 1 x satisfies 0.02 ≤ x ≤ 0.2.
Jodi teaches an alloy composed of Co, Cr, and Ni in equiatomic or near-equiatomic ratios, section[1]. Jodi discloses copper additions in the molar ratio range of 0 to 1, section[2]. This overlaps with the claimed range for x. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Jodi discloses that increased copper additions lead to phase separation causing the formation of a second phase and decreased mechanical properties, section[1,3]. Therefore, Jodi teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jodi Dennis Edgard et al., "Phase separation and its effect on atomic interactions in CoCrNiCux
medium-entropy alloys," Materials Letters, Elsevier, Amsterdam, NL, VOL. 255, 9 August 2019, taken as cited above, in view of CN102796936 of Chunchang and further in view of Alshataif Yaser A et al.; "Manufacturing Methods, Microstructural and Mechanical Properties Evolutions of High-Entropy Alloys: A Review," Metals and Materials International, The Korean Institute of Metals and Materials, Seoul, vol. 26, no. 8, 6 December 2019, pages 1099-1133.
Regarding claim 4, while Jodi teaches Co, Cr, and Ni in equiatomic or near-equiatomic ratios, Jodi is silent on Mo.
Chunchang discloses a copper-nickel-molybdenum-cobalt alloy self-fluxing powder in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Chunchang teaches the elements in the following weight percentages: copper 15%; nickel 40%; molybdenum 20%; cobalt 25%, Para[0009]. These values overlap with the claimed values for a, b, c and x. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Chunchang teaches that the copper-nickel-molybdenum-cobalt alloy self-fusible powder of the present invention is a kind of equipment used in coal mining and cement industry, which greatly improves corrosion, wear resistance and hardness, and also saves time and improves production efficiency, Para[0026]. Chunchang is silent on an FCC-based single phase.
Alshataif teaches manufacturing methods, microstructural and mechanical properties evolutions of high-entropy alloys: a review in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Alshataif discloses that Most of the HEAs produces a single phase with FCC, and, or BCC crystal structures. Some HEAs produces HCP crystal structure. Superior mechanical properties of HEAs can be obtained based on the type of crystal structure formation, the number of phases (single phase, two-phase, multiphase) and processing routes, Page[1119].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the alloy disclosed in Jodi with the composition taught by Chunchang with a single FCC-based phase taught by Alahataif in order to improve corrosion/wear resistance and achieve superior mechanical properties. Thus, Jodi in view of Chunchang further in view of Alshataif covers all limitations of claim 4.
Claim 5 further limits claim 4 by claiming that the Chemical Formula 2 x satisfies 0.1≤ x ≤ 0.2.
Jodi discloses copper additions in the molar ratio range of 0 to 1, section[2]. This overlaps with the claimed range for x. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Chunchang teaches a weight percentage of copper of 15%. This corresponds to an x value of 0.15. This falls within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Chunchang teaches that the copper-nickel-molybdenum-cobalt alloy self-fusible powder of the present invention is a kind of equipment used in coal mining and cement industry, which greatly improves corrosion, wear resistance and hardness, and also saves time and improves production efficiency, Para[0026].
Therefore, based on the teachings of Jodi and Chunchang, it would be obvious to produce the alloy disclosed by Jodi with the copper additions taught by Jodi and Chunchang in order to improve corrosion/wear resistance. Thus, Jodi in view of Chunchang further in view of Alshataif covers all limitations of claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (remarks, pages 11 and 12 of 16) the applied references do not teach or suggest this combination of features because primary reference Jodi does not recognize the technical idea that the single phase can be maintained by controlling the Cu content. This is not found persuasive as Jodi discloses that several methods to further enhance the mechanical performance of medium and high entropy alloys were intensively studied, and that the addition of Cu, for example, was reported as a feasible method, [Introduction]. Jodi also discloses that increased copper additions lead to phase separation causing the formation of a second phase and decreased mechanical properties, section[1,3]. Given that Jodi also discloses microstructure images of the alloy with a copper molar ratio of 0 showing a single phase and a copper molar ratio of 0.33 showing a very small amount of a precipitated second phase, Fig.[1], one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to reasonable consider that some amount of copper between 0 and 0.33 would result in a microstructure that does not exhibit a second phase and further enhances the mechanical performance of the alloy as originally stated by Jodi in the introduction. If the alloy described by Jodi would exhibit a second phase for any non-zero amount of copper, then Jodi would not have disclosed that Cu further enhances the mechanical properties of high entropy alloys. Thus, Jodi does in fact recognize the technical idea that a single phase can be maintained by controlling the Cu content.
Applicant argues that (remarks, pages 12 and 13 of 16) Chunchang does not cure the above deficiencies in Jodi. This argument is moot as Jodi is not deficient with respect to the technical idea of the single phase as described above.
Additionally, Applicant argues that Chunchang generally relates to a welding technology from a different field of endeavor and is unrelated to a crystal structure or solid solution formation principles. This is not persuasive because although Chunchang discloses powder alloys instead of bulk alloys like Jodi, secondary reference Alshataif discloses using powder mixtures as a starting material for casting high-entropy alloys, section[3.1]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to consider the teachings of Chunchang, including the disclosed range of Mo, with the teachings of Alshataif, and apply them to Jodi. A reference need not be from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention in order to be analogous art, see MPEP 2141.01.
Applicant argues that (remarks, pages 14 and 15 of 16) Alshataif does not cure the above deficiencies in Jodi. This argument is moot as Jodi is not deficient with respect to the technical idea of the single phase as described above.
Additionally, applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art could not combine Jodi, Chunchang, and Alshataif because Alshataif discloses an alloy with five or more elements which would make it extremely difficult to predict the diffusion behavior even in view of Jodi. This argument is moot as Alshataif is not relied upon for its teachings of the alloy composition. Alshataif is relied upon for its teachings of FCC structure in most of the high-entropy alloys. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to consider the high entropy alloys of Jodi and Chunchang and apply Alshataif’s FCC structure to them.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 14 and 15 of 16) none of the applied references address the technical problem in the present application of achieving a dramatic lubricating effect that reduces the friction coefficient by controlling Cu to a specific region to maintain a single FCC phase. This is not found persuasive as Jodi discloses that several methods to further enhance the mechanical performance of medium and high entropy alloys were intensively studied, and that the addition of Cu, for example, was reported as a feasible method, [Introduction]. Reduced friction is an enhancement of mechanical performance. Jodi also discloses that increased copper additions lead to phase separation causing the formation of a second phase and decreased mechanical properties, section[1,3]. Alshataif discloses that Most of the HEAs produces a single phase with FCC, and, or BCC crystal structures. Some HEAs produces HCP crystal structure. Superior mechanical properties of HEAs can be obtained based on the type of crystal structure formation, the number of phases (single phase, two-phase, multiphase) and processing routes, Page[1119]. Therefore, the applied references do in fact address the technical problem.
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733