DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 31 May 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶¶66-75 recite “a single 996-tone RU” in line 2. For consistency and clarification with figures 8-17, it is recommended to change “a single 996-tone RU” in line 2 to “a single 3x996-tone RU”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-11 and 13-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-11 and 13-22 recite the limitation “a single 996-tone RU” in line 2. For consistency and clarification with figures 8-17, it is recommended to change “a single 996-tone RU” in line 2 to “a single 3x996-tone RU”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,452,118 B2 (hereinafter referred to as “Hu”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 12 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of claims 1 and 8 of Hu.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of Hu in view of Park et al. US 2021/0274484 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Park”).
As to claims 2 and 13, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12.
Although Hu teaches “The apparatus of claim 12,” Hu does not explicitly disclose “the five…for RU3”.
However, Park teaches the five or more DC tones comprise five DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -500:-3, 3:500, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-500:-3, 3:500] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481 and 483-484; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around five DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Hu by including “the five…for RU3” as taught by Park because it provides Hu’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of supporting next-generation WLAN with backward compatibility (Park, ¶476).
As to claims 3 and 14, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12.
Although Hu teaches “The apparatus of claim 12,” Hu does not explicitly disclose “the five…for RU3”.
However, Park teaches the five or more DC tones comprise seven DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -501:-4, 4:501, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-501:-4, 4:501] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around seven DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Hu by including “the five…for RU3” as taught by Park because it provides Hu’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of supporting next-generation WLAN with backward compatibility (Park, ¶476).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. US 2021/0274484 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Park”).
As to claims 1 and 12, Park teaches an apparatus (¶¶544-545; figure 18), comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly (¶¶544-545; figure 18: transceiver); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising (¶¶544-545; figure 18: processor):
generating at least one 996-tone resource unit (RU996) (¶¶481-483, 485, 493, and 497-498: generate PPDU including at least one 996-tone RU); and
communicating wirelessly, via the transceiver, using the at least one RU996 in a 240MHz bandwidth (¶¶480, 484, and 514: transmit the at least one RU996 in a 240 MHZ bandwidth),
wherein the at least one RU996 comprises a center RU996 that is centered around five or more direct-current (DC) tones (¶¶481, 483, 485, and 487; figures 13-14: center RU996 centered around at least five DC tones).
As to claims 2 and 13, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise five DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -500:-3, 3:500, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-500:-3, 3:500] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481 and 483-484; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around five DC tones).
As to claims 3 and 14, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise seven DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -501:-4, 4:501, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-501:-4, 4:501] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around seven DC tones).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-11 and 15-22 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chen et al. US 2019/0253296 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Chen”).
As to claims 4 and 15, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -502:-5, 5:502, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-502:-5, 5:502] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “nine DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise nine DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around nine (y=9, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “nine DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 5 and 16, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -503:-6, 6:503, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-503:-6, 6:503] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “eleven DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise eleven DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around eleven (y=11, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “eleven DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 6 and 17, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -504:-7, 7:504, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-504:-7, 7:504] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “thirteen DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise thirteen DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around thirteen (y=13, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “thirteen DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 7 and 18, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -505:-8, 8:505, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-505:-8, 8:505] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “fifteen DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise fifteen DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around fifteen (y=15, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “fifteen DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 8 and 19, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -506:-9, 9:506, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-506:-9, 9:506] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “seventeen DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise seventeen DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around seventeen (y=17, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “seventeen DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 9 and 20, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -507:-10, 10:507, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-507:-10, 10:507] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “nineteen DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise nineteen DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around nineteen (y=19, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “nineteen DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 10 and 21, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -508:-11, 11:508, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-508:-11, 11:508] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “twenty-one DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise twenty-one DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around twenty-one (y=21, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “twenty-one DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
As to claims 11 and 22, Park teaches the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the five or more DC tones comprise DC tones, and wherein the at least one RU996 comprises:
a single 996-tone RU with a tone index and subcarrier range as [-1524:-1027, -1021:-524, -509:-12, 12:509, 524:1021, 1027:1524]; or
three 996-tone RUs comprising a first 996-tone RU (RU1), a second 996-tone RU (RU2) and a third 996-tone RU (RU3) with respective tone index and subcarrier ranges as:
[-1524:-1027, -1021:-524] for RU1;
[-509:-12, 12:509] for RU2; and
[524:1021, 1027:1524] for RU3 (¶¶481, 483-484, and 487; figures 13-14: single 3x996 RU or three 996 RUs from -1524 to 1524 centered around DC tones).
Although Park teaches “the apparatus…comprise DC tones…for RU3,” Park does not explicitly disclose “twenty-three DC tones”.
However, Chen teaches the five or more DC tones comprise twenty-three DC tones (¶¶65, 72-76, and 87-88; figures 3 and 4A: center 996-tone RU of 240 MHz centered around twenty-three (y=23, 5≤y≤23) DC tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Oh by including “twenty-three DC tones” as taught by Chen because it provides Park’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency (Chen, ¶¶87-88).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hu et al., US 2025/0310162 A1 – Wide Bandwidth Resource Unit Tone Plan Designs for Next-Generation WLAN
IEEE Std 802.11ax-2021 Amendment 1: Enhancements for High-Efficiency WLAN
Chen et al., US 2019/0281614 A1 – Systems and Methods of Communicating via Sub-Bands in Wireless Communication Networks
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469