DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacey, US 2005/0159208, in view of Suda et al., US 2019/0295377, and Bennett et al., US 2019/0304257.
In Reference to Claims 1, 10, and 18
Pacey teaches a method, a non-transitory computer readable medium having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon to operate a gaming machine (Fig. 2 and Par. 28), and a gaming machine, comprising a cabinet (Fig. 1) and a display device mounted to the cabinet and including a graphical user interface (GUI) displaying computer-generated images thereon (Fig. 1-3 and Par. 27 and 31); and a control unit operably coupled to the display device, the control unit including a processor programmed to execute an algorithm to render an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the display device (Fig. 1-2 and Pa. 27-29) rendering a primary game screen on the display device GUI including a plurality of primary game reels displayed in a primary game reel window (Fig. 3 and Par. 29. See also Par. 56 “FIG. 13 is a 3 by 5 base game array”); animating the plurality of primary game reels to spin and stop to display a trigger condition including a plurality of special symbols appearing within the primary game reel window with the plurality of primary game reels stopped (Par. 29-33 which teach generating a base game outcome by spinning reels. Fig. 12 and Par. 49-50 which teaches adding bonus reels in response to a “start bonus outcome” which is a display of a combination of discrete special symbols appearing on the reels); including the steps of transitioning the primary game screen into a bonus game screen displayed on the display device GUI, the bonus game screen including a reel display area including a plurality of virtual reels displayed within a bonus game reel window including a plurality of cells arranged in a plurality of rows and columns (Fig. 13-15, Par. 49-50 and Par. 56 “3 by 5 base game array” where once a base game array generates a valid “start-bonus outcome” is “transitions” into a bonus game screen. That is the game is waiting to finish the implementation of the bonus game to determine and provide the award once the “Start Bonus” is generated) with the plurality of special symbols being displayed within corresponding cells of the bonus game reel window (See Fig. 14-16 where the “Start bonus” special symbol generated in the base game array is also shown in the expanded bonus symbol array. See Par. 50 which teach that the start bonus symbol may be a combination of symbols), the bonus game reel window being displayed in an initial reel window state having a window height defined along the plurality of rows and an initial window width defined along the plurality of columns (Fig. 14 and Par. 32, and 58 which teach a “three by five base array” of reels), and initiating an instance of a computer-animated bonus reel game by transforming the plurality of special symbols appearing in the bonus game reel window into a plurality of bonus symbols to appear in corresponding cells of the reel window displayed in the initial reel window state (Par. 58 “start bonus outcome” and “start bonus reels symbol”. Fig. 14-16 which teaches expanding the array in the bonus game where the “Start Bonus” symbol is maintained. Par. 50 which teach that the start bonus symbol may be a combination of symbols); transforming the bonus game reel window from the initial reel window state to a modified reel window state by animating the bonus game reel window to reduce a width of the bonus game reel window from the initial window width to a final window width that is less than the initial window width to define a bonus reel region between the transformed bonus game reel window and an outer edge of the reel display area (Fig. 14-16 and Par. 7, 48, 55-60 which teaches that the reels of the display are resized and transformed to form a three by six grid of smaller cells where a “bonus reel 35” with special bonus symbols forms a sixth column between the edge of the display and the fifth column. See Par. 48 which explicitly states “each of the reel columns may have their width reduced”); animating a bonus independent reel window displaying a bonus independent reel to appear in the bonus reel region defined between the transformed reel window and the outer edge of the reel display area (Fig. 14-16 and Par. 7, 48, 55-60); and animating a bonus game outcome by animating the virtual reels to spin (Fig. 15 and Par. 59), and stop the virtual reels and the bonus independent reel to display the bonus game outcome (Fig. 16 and Par. 60).
Further, Pacey teaches animating the bonus independent reel window to appear in the bonus reel region from the outer edge of the reel display area as the reel window is transformed from the initial reel window state to the modified reel window state (Fig. 14-15 and Par. 7 and 48 which teaches reducing the size of the reels and displaying an extra reel at the outer edge of the reel display area). However, Pacey does not teach where the virtual reels are virtual independent reels, each virtual independent reel being displayed in a corresponding cell, animating the virtual independent reels to spin and stop the virtual independent reels in the bonus spin with the plurality of bonus symbols held in place, where the appearance of the bonus reel is by sliding into the bonus reel region from the outer edge of the reel display area, or where the bonus independent reel appears as a bonus coin image and animating the bonus coin image to rotate about a pivot axis.
Suda et al. teaches that in a gaming machine a slot machine game where the virtual reels are virtual independent reels, each virtual independent reel being displayed in a corresponding cell (Par. 65 which teaches that for a gaming machine includes a reel strip for each column of the reels the machine could alternatively be made to use independent virtual reels that spin independently in each cell of the reel display area).
It would be desirable to modify the system, method and medium of Pacey to include independent reel strips as taught by Suda et al. in order to provide the game designer with greater control and flexibility of the precise game outcomes display thanks to the reels of each cell in the matric of reels not sharing a single reel strip with the rest of their column and thus being bound by the spatial relationships of the symbols on that shared strip.
Bennett et al. teaches animating the virtual independent reels to spin and stop the virtual independent reels in the bonus spin with the plurality of bonus symbols held in place (Fig. 5A-3F, 7 and Par. 40-46 which teaches a bonus game where upon the triggering of the bonus, the triggering bonus symbols are held for a number of subsequent free spins of the bonus game until no more bonus trigger symbols are generated).
It would be desirable to modify the system, method, and medium of Pacey to include free spins and hold bonus symbols to the bonus game as taught by Bennett et al. in order to increase the enjoyment of the player by extending the exciting bonus experience of Pacey with the bonus reel over a plurality of free spins determined by the held bonus symbols and to make the whole bonus experience and modification of the display to add a spinning bonus reel feel more like shifting the game into an exciting new mode rather than simply as a more fleeting modifier to a particular roll.
Wiryadi teaches where an extra reel is added to the display of a gaming machine by sliding into the bonus reel region from the outer edge of the reel display area (Par. 46 and Fig. 2-4 which teaches the additional real appearing to slide out from the edge of the rightmost reel).
It would be desirable to modify the system, method, and medium of Pacey, Suda et al., and Bennett et al. to include animating sliding out the reel in order to add the bonus reel, as taught by Wiryadi, to the game of Pacey in a why the added to the sense of drama and excitement for the bonus game be drawing the players attention to the modification of the reels on the game screen in an intuitive and understandable way.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system, method, and medium of Pacey,
include independent reel strips as taught by Suda et al. to modify the system, method, and medium of Pacey to include free spins and hold bonus symbols to the bonus game as taught by Bennett et al., and to modify the system, method, and medium of Pacey to include animating sliding out the reel in order to add the bonus reel, as taught by Wiryadi.
Further, the aesthetic appearance of the animation to add the bonus reel animation amounts only to nonfunctional descriptive material as claimed and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The displaying and animated steps would be performed the same regardless of whether the bonus reel is shown being animated to appear in the spot after reducing the other reels in size or sliding the reel in from the outer edge. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ.
Finally, Pacey as modified by Suda et al., Bennett et al., and Wriyadi et al. teach a bonus independent reel as taught above, including animating the reel to spin about an axis and stop to display a game outcome (Fig. 15-16 and Par. 58-60). However, Pacey does not explicitly teach where the display of the bonus independent reel is as a bonus coin image where the animations if to rotates about a pivot axis.
However, the aesthetic appearance of the bonus reel animation amounts only to nonfunctional descriptive material as claimed and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The displaying and animated steps would be performed the same regardless of whether the bonus reel is shown as a standard slot machine reel rotating about an axis to show a symbol, or a coin image animated to rotate about a pivot axis to show a symbol. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
In Reference to Claim 5 and 14
Pacey teaches rendering the bonus game reel window in the initial reel window state displaying each column having an initial column width; and transforming the bonus game reel window from the initial reel window state to the modified reel window state by animating each column to reduce a corresponding column width from the initial column width to a final column width that is less than the initial column width (Fig. 14-16 and Par. 7, 48 and 58-60).
In Reference to Claim 6 and 15
Pacey teaches animating the bonus symbols to move closer together as the bonus game reel window is animated to the modified reel window state (Par. 48 which teaches that instead of resizing the reels they may be “overlaid, i.e. fanned” to allow more display space for the bonus reel).
In Reference to Claim 7 and 16
Pacey teaches displaying each bonus symbol with a constant width as the reel window is transformed from the initial reel window state to the modified reel window state (Par. 48 “overlaid, i.e. fanned”).
In Reference to Claims 8 and 17
Pacey teaches displaying at least one bonus symbol including a coin image overlayed with a credit amount (Fig. 16 and Par. 60 “50 Credit Bonus”).
Further, the aesthetic appearance of the bonus reel cell, e.g. “coin image,” amounts only to nonfunctional descriptive material as claimed and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The displaying step would be performed the same regardless of what visual appearance the symbol with the overlaid credit amount happen to depict. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered. Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 are moot as claims 3, 9, 12, and 20 have been cancelled. Regarding applicant’s arguments directed towards rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 with regard to Claims 1, 10, and 18, they are not persuasive. Examiner has revised the rejection provided above to map to the newly amended claims. In particular examiner notes that examiner considers a base game that generates a valid “Start Bonus” symbol (see Pacey Fig. 14-16) to have “transitioned” from a primary game screen to a bonus game screen. Further, Pacey explicitly teaches where a triggered bonus game can involve animating a bonus reels to be reduce in width and adding a bonus independent reel to the outer edge of the bonus game array (Fig. 14-16). Wriyadi et al. then teaches sliding in an additional bonus reel. Regarding the recitation of the bonus reel being a coin image and animating the coin to rotate about a pivot axis rather than spin on reels as described above, Pacey as modified by Suda et al., Bennett et al., and Wriyadi et al. teach an independent bonus reel that is animated to generate symbols to provide a game outcome as described above. The differences between the animated symbols of Pacey as modified by Suda et al., Bennett et al., and Wriyadi et al. and the coin image animated to rotate about a pivot axis of the claimed invention amounts to non-functional descriptive material as described above. As such it does not distinguish in terms of patentability. As such rejection of claims 1, 10, and 18 over Pacey as modified by Suda et al., Bennett et al., and Wriyadi et al. is considered proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL V LARSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3715