Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/14/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under prior art have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “case that houses the sensor unit, wherein a flexible wiring member for supplying an electric signal from the control device to the driving source of the feeder unit is provided in the case” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation, “does not contact or apply a force to the weighing pan” is not described in the specification. There is no support the absolute limitation that the flexible wiring member or case “does not … apply a force” to the weighing pan, because the disclosure describes generated loads from flexible substrates and reducing those loads rather than eliminating them entirely. See [0012]-[0015], [0025].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, “such that it does not contact or apply a force to the weighing pan” is unclear because 1) whether “it” refers to the case or the flexible wiring member; and 2) it’s not apparent whether the claim excludes only direct physical contact with the weighing pan or also indirect force transmission through the pan boss or other movable components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (hereafter, AAPA) in view of Wahl et al (US Patent 3786961, hereafter Wahl) in view of Naito et al (US Patent 5929390, hereafter Naito).
As per claim 1, AAPA teaches electronic balance used for a weighing unit in a feeder with a hopper a feeder that discharges the object to be measured in the hopper unit, the weighing unit, a weighing pan, a sensor unit configured to measure the weight of the object to be measured discharged from the hopper unit (Fig 5, [0003]-[0004] of Applicant’s specification)
AAPA teaches labels a protective case (113) and wiring seems to be protected by a rigid conduit (106, Fig 5), but does not teach a case per se that houses the sensor unit, wherein a flexible wiring member for supplying an electric signal from the control device to the driving source of the feeder unit is provided in the case.
However, Wahl does teach a gravimetric feeder with a case for a motor and sensor (Figs 1 and 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify AAPA with Wahl in order to protect components of apparatus from environment and/or provide safety to the users.
AAPA in view of Wahl does not explicitly teach a flexible wiring member.
However, Naito does teach flexible wiring in a weighing apparatus with sensor (12, Figs 2, 5, col. 5, line 60 to col. 6, line 15, col. 12, lines 35-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify AAPA in view Wahl with Naito in order to allow compact construction in tight area, keep multiwire connections neat without tangles, improve reliability and assembly, and/or preserves measurement accuracy.
As per claim 2, Naito teaches a flexible substrate (12, Figs 2, 5, col. 5, line 60 to col. 6, line 15, col. 12, lines 35-60).
As per claim 5, Naito teaches a wiring member that does not apply force to the weigh pan (Fig 1 and 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855