DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,805,997.
It is clear that all the elements of claim 1 of the application are to be found in claim 1 of the patent. The difference between claim 1 of the application and claim 1 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements (e.g., further comprising a firing pin including a main body, a protrusion extending at least partially around a circumference of the main body, and a spring surrounding a portion of the main body and in contact with the protrusion) and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 of the application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct therefrom.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-2, 4-8 & 10-15 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,805,997. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
All the elements of claims 2-14 of the application can clearly be found in claims 1-2, 4-8 & 10-15 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, at line 7, the limitations “on an inner surface” renders the claim indefinite; for example, it is unclear whether the limitations refer to the inner surface of the limiter or of another element of the claim.
In regards to claim 20, at line 4, the limitations “on an inner surface” renders the claim indefinite; for example, it is unclear whether the limitations refer to the inner surface of the limiter or of another element of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pona (US 2020/0046326).
In regards to claim 1, Pona discloses a skin biopsy device, comprising:
a retainer 100 including a first stabilizer 104 (see at least figs. 16-17 and par 0069),
a retention rod 140 having a first end and a second end (see at least fig. 4D and par 0064), and
a spring 170 surrounding at least a portion of the retention rod 140 (see at least fig. 4D);
a blade 180 attached to the second end of the retention rod 140 (see at least fig. 4D and par 0067); and
a limiter 68 including a contact column having a second stabilizer 76 on an inner surface (e.g., of main housing 68, see at least figs. 12-14 and par 0069),
wherein the first and second stabilizers (76, 104) are complementary and engage with each other to inhibit rotation of the retainer 100 (see at least figs. 12-14 & 16-17 and par 0069).
In regards to claim 18, Pona discloses the skin biopsy device of claim 1, wherein the first and second stabilizers (76, 104) (see at least figs. 16-17 and par 0069) are a tongue and groove system (e.g., tongue 104 and groove 76, see at least figs. 12-14 & 16-17 and par 0069).
In regards to claim 19, Pona discloses the skin biopsy of claim 1, wherein the first and second stabilizers (76, 104) are shaped to prevent rotation of the first stabilizer 76 relative to the second stabilizer 104 (see at least figs. 12-14 & 16-17 and par 0069).
In regards to claim 20, Pona discloses a skin biopsy device, comprising:
a retainer 100 including a first stabilizer 104 (see at least figs. 16-17 and par 0069) and
a retention rod 140 (see at least fig. 4D and par 0064);
a blade 180 attached to the retention rod 140 (see at least fig. 4D and par 0067); and a
limiter 68 including a second stabilizer 76 on an inner surface (e.g., of main housing 68, see at least figs. 12-14 and par 0069),
wherein the first and second stabilizers (76, 104) are complementary and engage with each other to inhibit rotation of the retainer 100 (see at least figs. 12-14 & 16-17 and par 0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pona (US 2020/0046326) in view of Dunn (US 2005/0149092).
In regards to claim 15, Pona discloses the skin biopsy device of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a device wherein the blade is fusiform. However, Dunn teaches that it is known to provide a device wherein the blade 26 is fusiform (see at least abstract, figs. 3 & 4A-B and par 0011, 0050 & 0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the device of Pona wherein the blade is fusiform as taught by Dunn since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Dunn) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Fernandez) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as facilitating healing of the wound with minimal or no pocking on the skin (see at least par 0011 of Dunn)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 16, Pona discloses the skin biopsy device of claim 15, that fails to explicitly teach a device wherein the blade is elliptical. However, Dunn teaches that it is known to provide a device wherein the blade is elliptical (i.e., with minor and major axes) (see at least abstract and figs. 3, 4B, 6A & 7A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the device of Pona wherein the blade is elliptical as taught by Dunn since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Dunn) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Pona) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as facilitating healing of the wound with minimal or no pocking on the skin (see at least par 0011 of Dunn)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 17, Pona discloses the skin biopsy device of claim 15, that fails to explicitly teach a device wherein the blade is diamond-shaped. However, the Office takes Official notice that it is known to provide a biopsy punch device with cutting blades arranged in squares, triangles, rectangles, parallelograms, pentagons, hexagons, octagons, any other polygons and any other shapes having straight sides, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide a biopsy device of Pona wherein the blade is diamond-shaped as claimed since a diamond-shape is a known type of polygon having straight sides.
Conclusion
/RENE T TOWA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791