DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of May 18, 2026. Claims 21-32 are presented for examination, with Claim 21 being the only one in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0195157 (“Shiomi”).
Regarding Claim 21, Shiomi discloses a multi-output power converter configured to provide power to multiple loads (Fig. 9; [0144]; details in Fig. 1; [0041]), the multi-output power converter comprising:
an energy transfer element comprising a primary winding (PW1 of TR1; [0044]) configured to receive energy from a first power supply (TV1; [0044]);
a primary switch electrically coupled to the primary winding and configured to switch according to a switching cycle (TTR1; [0044]);
a secondary switches block (FSW1; SSW1; [0046]-[0047]) comprising a plurality of outputs, the plurality of outputs comprising:
a high voltage secondary output electrically coupled to the energy transfer element via a diode (output of FR1 via SW1; [0048]); and
a lower voltage secondary output (output of SR1 via TW1; [0049]); and
a system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) configured to divert a secondary current from the high voltage secondary output to the lower voltage secondary output so as to reduce a reverse recovery current of the diode during the switching cycle ([0029]; [0095]-[0096]; [0110]; [0146]; [0148]-[0149]).
Regarding Claim 22, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output is a constant current output ([0048]; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 23, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output is a constant voltage output ([0048]; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 24, Shiomi further discloses wherein a voltage of the high voltage secondary output (FT1) is greater than a voltage of the lower voltage secondary output (TT1; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 25, Shiomi further discloses wherein the lower voltage secondary output is a constant voltage output ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 26, Shiomi further discloses wherein the lower voltage secondary output provides an output comprising a voltage between five volts and twenty volts ([0157]).
Regarding Claim 27, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output provides an output comprising a voltage between twenty volts and one hundred volts ([0055]).
Regarding Claim 28, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output is configured to provide the secondary current to at least one light emitting diode ([0144]).
Regarding Claim 29, Shiomi further discloses wherein the secondary switches block comprises the diode and a secondary switch (FSW1; SSW1; [0046]-[0047]); and
wherein the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) is configured to close the secondary switch to divert the secondary current to the lower voltage secondary output (FSW1; SSW1; [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding Claim 30, Shiomi further discloses wherein the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) is configured to divert the secondary current in response to detecting a continuous conduction mode ([0148]; [0162]).
Regarding Claim 31, Shiomi further discloses wherein the energy transfer element (TV1; [0044]) comprises a secondary winding (SW1) configured to provide a forward pin signal to the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]).
Regarding Claim 32, Shiomi further discloses wherein the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) is configured to divert the secondary current in response to detecting the continuous conduction mode from the forward pin signal ([0148]; [0162]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed May 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue in essence that Shiomi fails to disclose the recited “multiple loads”, “a high voltage secondary output electrically coupled to the energy transfer element via a diode”, and reducing “a reverse current of the diode.”
The examiner cannot concur with Applicants arguments, because with respect to the recitation “multiple loads” the examiner notes that this recited limitation is in the preamble of the claim; that is, Applicants arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in Claim 21. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “multiple loads” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The examiner suggests amending the body of the claim to positively recite the features of what they consider to be their invention related to “multiple loads”, in order to advance the prosecution of their application.
Further, with respect to the recitation “a high voltage secondary output electrically coupled to the energy transfer element via a diode,” Fig. 1 of Shiomi clearly discloses “a high voltage secondary output” (FT1) coupled to “the energy transfer element” (SW1 of TR1) via “a diode” (FR1), thereby meeting all the claim limitations. Relevant paragraphs of Shiomi are reproduced below for Applicants’ convenience:
[0048] The “first rectifying element FR1” is a SiC-SBD connected to the upper arm side. The reverse breakdown voltage of FR1 is 650 V. Further, the forward voltage of FR1 at a point in time when conduction starts is 0.9 V. The resistance of FR1 when the forward current is flowing is 50 mΩ. FR1 is connected in parallel with FSW1 with a secondary winding SW1 therebetween as described below. Herein, the connection relationship between FSW1 and FR1, denoted by the symbol in FIG. 1, is defined as a parallel connection. Further, FR1 may also be connected to the source side of FSW1 by switching the order of FR1 with SW1.
[0055] The “first terminal FT1” refers to an electrical connection point between a current path (hereinafter simply “path”) of FSW1 and the path of FR1. Further, FT1 is set to a high-voltage node by the positive electrode of HV1. A high-voltage node is, for example, a node with a voltage from 100 V to 1000 V.
Furthermore, with respect to the recitation reducing “a reverse current of the diode,” this is described in at least paragraphs [0029] and [0110] of Shiomi:
[0029] The term “transient current” generally refers to a reverse recovery current and a charging current of the parasitic capacitance of a rectifying element. That is, the transient current refers to a transient current that occurs in a case that a reverse voltage is applied to a rectifying element. In the example of FIG. 1, the transient current can be measured at FS1 and SS1 as well as TS1 and PS1. (emphasis added)
[0110] As described above, FR1I is used for transient current reduction. Thus, it is also important to suppress attenuation of FR1I during the time period until the transient current flows. In the first embodiment, FR1I is flowing when a rectified current flows to FSW1. When current is flowing to FSW1, the voltage of the first terminal (FT1) relative to the second terminal (ST1) decreases by an amount equivalent to the voltage drop of FSW1, in principle. On the other hand, FR1I flows from the second terminal towards the first terminal via SW1 and FR1. In other words, the current is caused to flow from the second terminal having a higher voltage to the first terminal having a lower voltage. Therefore, attenuation of FR1I can be suppressed.
Accordingly, Shiomi, in at least the above paragraphs is disclosing reducing a reverse current of the diode, thereby meeting the broadly claimed limitation.
For at least the reasons stated above, the rejections of all pending claims are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0015071 (“Deboy”) relates to a post-regulated flyback converter with variable output stage.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0171757 (“Jin”) relates to a multiple-output DC/DC converter and power supply having the same.
U.S. Patent No. 6,369,525 (“Chang”) relates to a white LED lamp driver based on multiple output converter with output current mode control.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845