DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of February 4, 2026. Claims 21-32 are presented for examination, with Claim 21 being the only one in independent form.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on February 4, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 11,108,331 and 11,817,789 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0195157 (“Shiomi”).
Regarding Claim 21, Shiomi discloses a multi-output power converter configured to provide power to multiple loads (Fig. 9; [0144]; details in Fig. 1; [0041]), the multi-output power converter comprising:
an energy transfer element comprising a primary winding (PW1 of TR1; [0044]) configured to receive energy from a first power supply (TV1; [0044]);
a primary switch electrically coupled to the primary winding and configured to switch according to a switching cycle (TTR1; [0044]);
a secondary switches block (FSW1; SSW1; [0046]-[0047]) comprising a plurality of outputs, the plurality of outputs comprising:
a high voltage secondary output electrically coupled to the energy transfer element via a diode (output of FR1 via SW1; [0048]); and
a lower voltage secondary output (output of SR1 via TW1; [0049]); and
a system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) configured to divert a secondary current from the high voltage secondary output to the lower voltage secondary output so as to reduce a reverse recovery current of the diode during the switching cycle ([0029]; [0095]-[0096]; [0110]; [0146]; [0148]-[0149]).
Regarding Claim 22, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output is a constant current output ([0048]; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 23, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output is a constant voltage output ([0048]; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 24, Shiomi further discloses wherein a voltage of the high voltage secondary output (FT1) is greater than a voltage of the lower voltage secondary output (TT1; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 25, Shiomi further discloses wherein the lower voltage secondary output is a constant voltage output ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 26, Shiomi further discloses wherein the lower voltage secondary output provides an output comprising a voltage between five volts and twenty volts ([0157]).
Regarding Claim 27, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output provides an output comprising a voltage between twenty volts and one hundred volts ([0055]).
Regarding Claim 28, Shiomi further discloses wherein the high voltage secondary output is configured to provide the secondary current to at least one light emitting diode ([0144]).
Regarding Claim 29, Shiomi further discloses wherein the secondary switches block comprises the diode and a secondary switch (FSW1; SSW1; [0046]-[0047]); and
wherein the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) is configured to close the secondary switch to divert the secondary current to the lower voltage secondary output (FSW1; SSW1; [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding Claim 30, Shiomi further discloses wherein the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) is configured to divert the secondary current in response to detecting a continuous conduction mode ([0148]; [0162]).
Regarding Claim 31, Shiomi further discloses wherein the energy transfer element (TV1; [0044]) comprises a secondary winding (SW1) configured to provide a forward pin signal to the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]).
Regarding Claim 32, Shiomi further discloses wherein the system control module (9 in Fig. 9; [0144]) is configured to divert the secondary current in response to detecting the continuous conduction mode from the forward pin signal ([0148]; [0162]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 21-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0290255 (“Duvnjak”) relates to a DC converter with independently controlled outputs.
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844