DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 11-14, 16-19, 24, 25, 26, 28-31, 33, 34, 50, 59, 63, 65, 66, 73, 74, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falk et al. (2020/0251909) and Cox (2018/0278439).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 18, and dependent claims 65 and 66, Falk teaches (Fig. 1) a system and method for delivering maximum available power from a variable energy source (3, 10) to load circuits (6) coupled to a microgrid (1) ([0030]), the system including:
multiple inverters circuits (9), each inverter circuit configured to:
receive input DC voltages generated by/from a generator circuit (inside 3, 10 that converts the wind/solar energy to DC) connected to the variable energy source;
generate output AC voltage levels on the microgrid (1) based upon available power levels associated with the input DC voltages from the generator circuit ([0004]); and
adjust the output AC voltage levels, based on the available power levels and independently of a reference voltage, to substantially maximize output power and deliver the output power via the microgrid to at least one of the load circuits (6), wherein each inverter circuit is configured to operate in a voltage-regulation mode in which the inverter circuit is configured to function as a variable voltage source (by reducing/increasing/unchanging the output voltage UO; Fig. 2 and last 9 lines of [0032]), to track available power from the variable energy source (at S2), and to independently adjust an output voltage waveform (at S6-S9 operating independently) based upon DC power extracted from the input voltages (based on determination at S2; checking whether the source has more power available; [0032] during S1 and S2) to substantially match the load circuits’ consumption with the generator circuit’s power generation ([0003], [0004], [0011]-“voltage controlling converter”, and [0032], specifically the last part of [0032] starting with “In one embodiment…”; Falk teaches operating the inverters individually to generate maximum power and adjust load consumption to “balance”/achieve stability in the system, similar to the Applicant’s specification at [0058]).
Falk fails to explicitly teach adjusting load consumption to balance power generation and power consumption comprising substantially matching an impedance of the load circuits to an impedance of the generator circuit. Cox teaches a similar system for delivering maximum available power from a source to a load to that of Falk. Cox teaches the idea of the maximum power transfer theorem that teaches that the maximum power transfer between a source and a load occurs when the load impedance matches the source impedance ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the load consumption in Falk’s invention by substantially matching an impedance of the load circuits to an impedance of the generator circuit, since Falk teaches the general function and Cox teaches an example of a known way to perform said function of maximizing power transfer between a source and a load.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Falk teaches each inverter circuit being configured to:
track the available power levels of the variable energy source (end of [0032]); and
adjust the output voltage levels based upon the tracked available power levels and thereby regulate the output power from the microgrid to the load circuits. (end of [0032])
Regarding claims 7, 17, 24, and 34, Falk teaches the load circuits (6) being any known consumers of energy (AC or DC) in an island system. ([0013], [0024]) Falk fails to explicitly teach a load circuit being an electric furnace to generate heat or an electrode boiler using the supplied power to adjust an electrode position or a water level. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that an electric furnace and/or an electrode boiler are known load circuits/power consumers in a home, building, commercial/industrial campus, etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one load circuit in Falk’s invention comprising an electric furnace and/or an electrode boiler using the supplied power to adjust an electrode position or a water level, since those types of load circuits are known in the art described in Falk’s invention and Falk describes the general idea of the types of loads and these specific examples are obvious.
Regarding claims 8, 9, 25, and 26, Falk teaches the variable energy source including a solar panel (10) and a wind turbine (not shown) configured to generate a time-varying DC voltage based on illumination of the solar panel and a rate of rotation of rotor blades of the wind turbine. ([0022], [0030]; The DC output voltage of the renewables is time-varying based on weather conditions.)
Regarding claims 11, 28, and 50, Falk teaches a controller (11) configured to generate a control signal representing the impedance of the load circuit and to provide the control signal to the multiple inverter circuits ([0004], [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, 13, 29, and 30, Falk teaches each inverter circuit being configured to adjust the output voltage levels based on control signals from the controller based on a number of loads connected by the load circuits (based on the total consumption of the loads, if maximums are reached, and to maintain balance; [0003], [0004]).
Regarding claims 14 and 31, Falk teaches the idea of the load circuit (6) comprising a plurality of loads ([0013], [0024]), and a load controller (11) configured to decrease total power consumption when the output voltage levels fall below a nominal voltage level, or increase the total power consumption when the output voltage levels are above a first threshold ([0011], end of [0032]). Falk fails to explicitly teach the idea of disconnecting some loads when the output voltage levels fall below a nominal voltage level or connect other loads when the output voltage levels are above a first threshold, however, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is known in the relevant art to connect/disconnect loads in a load circuit to increase/decrease the total power consumption of the load circuit, respectively. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase/decrease the total power consumption of load circuits by connecting/disconnecting loads, respectively, since Falk teaches the general idea of how a system functions (i.e. increasing/decreasing power consumption) and there are obvious known methods in the art (i.e. connecting/disconnecting loads) to perform the function in Falk’s invention.
Regarding claims 16, 33, and 63, Falk teaches each inverter circuit being configured to adjust the output voltage level based upon the tracked available power level to regulate output power from the power grid to the load circuit by maximizing the output power from the power grid to the load circuit, and to maintain the output power within a threshold range ([0016], end of [0032]).
Regarding claim 59, Falk teaches at least some of the inverter circuits (9s) being coupled in parallel (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 73, 74, and 76, Falk teaches the idea of generating output voltages with various setpoints (Ûo; [0016]) that can be increased or decreased (Fig. 2; S6-S8). Falk fails to explicitly teach the voltage setpoints between 50% and 95% of maximum operating voltage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the output voltage setpoints between 50% and 95% of maximum operating voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6, 23, 49, 51-58, 67, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falk et al. (2020/0251909) and Cox (2018/0278439) as applied to claims 1, 14, and 18 above, and further in view of Fornage et al. (2010/0195357). Falk and Cox teach the system and method as described above.
Regarding independent claim 49, and dependent claims 6, 23, and 67, Falk and Cox fail to explicitly teach the load circuit including a heating element. Fornage teaches a similar system and method (Fig. 1) to that of Falk. Fornage teaches a load circuit including a heating element configured to heat a thermal energy storage medium by using the output voltage level ([0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a thermal energy storage medium and heating element into Falk’s invention as one of their load circuits, since Falk teaches the general idea of the types of load circuits connected and Fornage teaches a specific example of one of those types of load circuits being a thermal energy storage medium, for at least allowing another form of energy storage in the system.
Regarding claim 51, Falk teaches a load controller (11) configured to control the load circuits (6) (end of [0030]).
Regarding claim 52, Falk teaches the load controller configured to control the load circuits by controlling an impedance of the load circuits (as explained above, by regulating power consumption, [0004]).
Regarding claims 53, 56, and 57, the rejection above with regards to claim 14 teaches the idea of Falk’s loads being connected and disconnected from the microgrid. Falk fails to explicitly teach connecting/disconnecting the load circuits by controlling a thyristor. The Examiner takes Official Notice that using thyristors to connect/disconnect loads to/from a microgrid is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control thyristors to connect and disconnect the loads in Falk’s load circuit, since the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is known in the art to use thyristors to connect and disconnect loads from a microgrid and Falk is silent as to how to increase or decrease power consumption of the load circuit.
Regarding claims 54 and 55, Falk teaches the load controller (11) configured to control the load circuits in response to the output voltage levels being greater than a third threshold, wherein the third threshold is at least one of a maximum operating voltage level or a minimum operating voltage level (end of [0032]; Falk teaches controlling the loads at all times based on output voltage at any level including a maximum or a minimum)..
Regarding claim 58, Falk teaches the multiple inverter circuits being operated individually at their own maximum operating voltage (Pmax,a, Pmax,b) that are different from one another based on a plurality of factors, including temperature ([0017], end of [0032]).
Regarding claim 75, Falk teaches this limitation as described above with regards to claim 73.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner believes that the Falk reference teaches the added limitations to the independent claims. Falk teaches various embodiments of their invention; some embodiments where all of the inverters operate under centralized control to adjust their output voltages (as described in Fig. 2) as a group, and others where the inverters adjust their output voltages independently (as described in the last 9 lines of [0032]). The Examiner believes that Falk teaches (i) each inverter circuit functioning as a variable voltage source (based on the output voltage UO being increased/decreased/ unchanged; Fig. 2), (ii) each inverter circuit tracks available power from the variable energy source (at S2; checking whether the variable source has more power available; [0032] during S1 and S2); and (iii) each inverter circuit independently adjusts an output voltage waveform based upon DC power extracted from the input voltages (last 9 lines of [0032]).
Conclusion
DMP
6/17/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836