DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 42-49, in the reply filed on July 10, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 50-56 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group. The traversal is on the grounds that Applicant believes there is no search burden among the identified Groups. This is not found persuasive because the Office has established a search burden as set forth in the office action dated May 12, 2026. Specifically, each Group possesses a separate classification and each Group requires a separate field of search. See M.P.E.P. § 808.02. For example, a search for the separator structure recited in claims 42-49 would not yield references disclosing the flooding, start/stop cycling, and other limitations presented in claims 50-56. Likewise, a search for these method limitations would not yield the structural limitations, such as rib structure, recited in claims 42-49. This establishes a search burden because separate searches are required for each Group. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 42 is objected to because it presents a plurality of elements without the required separation by line indentation. 37 C.F.R. 1.75(i); see also M.P.E.P. § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 47, the phrase “such as” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See M.P.E.P. § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-44 and 46-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over von Benten et al. (US 2013/0302694 A1), hereinafter “von Benten,” in view of Whear et al. (US 2012/0070713 A1), hereinafter Whear.
Regarding claim 42, von Benten discloses a microporous polyolefin battery separator comprising:
polyolefin (¶ [0066]-[0067]);
filler (¶ [0017] & [0076]); and
plasticizer (¶ [0067]).
von Benten does not disclose the ribs and row spacing. However, Whear teaches that a serrated rib (¶ [0037]) with a row spacing of 10 to 50 mil1 (¶ [0243]). On having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that such a serrated rib design would have lowered rib mass and resulted in less acid displacement (¶ [0037]), resulting in improved battery operation. Additionally, one having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that such a row spacing would have been beneficial for deep cycle applications (¶ [0106]), again facilitating improved battery operation. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have included serrated ribs with a row spacing of 0.001 to 20 mm in order to have facilitated improved battery operation.
Regarding claim 43, von Benten does not disclose the row spacing. However, Whear teaches a row spacing of 10 to 50 mil2 (¶ [0243]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that such a row spacing would have been beneficial for deep cycle applications (¶ [0106]), thereby facilitating improved battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have made the row spacing of 0.001 to 10 mm in order to have facilitated improved battery operation.
Regarding claim 44, von Benten does not disclose the row spacing. However, Whear teaches a row spacing of 10 to 50 mil3 (¶ [0243]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that such a row spacing would have been beneficial for deep cycle applications (¶ [0106]), thereby facilitating improved battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have made the row spacing of 0.001 to 5 mm in order to have facilitated improved battery operation.
Regarding claim 46, von Benten further discloses that the filler is selected from silica, silica gel, mica, montmorillonite, kaolinite, asbestos, talc, vermiculite, natural and synthetic zeolites, cement, calcium silicate, aluminum silicate, sodium aluminum silicate, glass particles, carbon black, charcoal, and graphite (¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 47, von Benten further discloses a surfactant selected from alkyl sulfates, alkyl polysaccharides, and alkyl polyglycolides (¶ [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 48, von Benten further teaches that the surfactant is present in an amount of 0.5 to 10 g/m2, in this case 1 to 15 wt% (¶ [0053]), which would overlap with the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 49, von Benten does not disclose the latex additive. However, Whear teaches including latex (¶ [0096] & [0300]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that including latex would have inhibited hydration short formation (¶ [0096] & [0300]), thereby facilitating improved battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have included a latex in order to have facilitated improved battery operation.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over von Benten and Whear as applied to claim 42, above, and further in view of Bogdan et al (US 2015/0093624 A1), hereinafter “Bogdan.”
Regarding claim 45, von Benten does not disclose the dimples. However, Bogdan teaches a separator comprising dimples shaped as triangles, circles, rectangles, squares, and other shapes (¶ [0047]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that providing dimples of such shapes in the separator would have maximized the surface area available for ion transport (see ¶ [0045]), thereby facilitating improved battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have included triangular, circular, rectangular, and/or square-shaped dimples in the separator in order to have facilitated improved battery operation.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J. CHMIELECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729
1 equal to 0.254 to 1.27 mm.
2 equal to 0.254 to 1.27 mm.
3 equal to 0.254 to 1.27 mm.