DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 07/28/26.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 18-20, 24-27, 30-33, 35, and 36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 105669467 A) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 105669467 A) in view of Hayer et al. (US 2015/0322198 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claims, which are dependent on Claim 18, recite a scope of Ar3 which is not encompassed by the scope as defined in the parent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claim, which is dependent on Claim 18, recites the further limitation that “the free positions on the benzene rings may each be substituted by an R1 radical” (page 22) which is broader than the scope of formula (I-2) as defined in the parent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claim, which is dependent on Claim 18, recites numerous compounds which are not encompassed by formula (I-2) as recited in the parent claims. For example, notice the following Compound 40:
which comprises Ar2 that is not encompassed by formula (A). The Applicant should ensure that all compounds recited in the present claim are fully encompassed by compound formula (I-2).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 18-20, 24-27, 30-33, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2012/011756 A1).
Lee et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
([13]) where X1-2 = O or S (among others) ([14]) and L1-2 = independently single bond or arylene ([18]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 7) such that R2 = H, Y = S, Ar3 = Applicant’s formula Ar3-1, and Ar2 = Applicant’s formula (A) (with L1 = single bond, Z2 = C or CH and R3 = aromatic ring system having 6 aromatic ring atoms (phenyl)) of Applicant’s formulae (I-2) and (I-2-2); Ar2 = Applicant’s formula Ar2-2 as recited in Claim 24. However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose a compound that is fully encompassed by the Applicant’s formulae, particularly in regards to the connection point of the dibenzothiophenyl group on the benzene ring. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify 3 as disclosed by Lee et al. (above) such that the resulting compound fully conforms to the Applicant’s formulae as recited in the claims. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in the connection point of the dibenzothiophenyl group on the benzene ring (from para to ortho relative to the position of the arylamino group), producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; additional motivation exists, including the fact that the modification merely involves the selection of one possible embodiment from a highly finite list as envisioned from the scope of Lee et al.’s formula (in regards to the connection point of the dibenzothiophenyl group on the L1 (or L2) linking group), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lee et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising the following layers: anode, hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, light-emitting layer, hole-blocking layer, electron-transporting layer, electron-injecting layer, and cathode ([156]); its inventive compounds any one of the hole-injecting and hole-transporting layers, resulting in a device with lower driving voltage and improved luminous efficiency ([8]-[9]). The compound is obtained from solvent ([71]).
12. Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2012/011756 A1) as applied above and in further view of Hayer et al. (US 2015/0322198 A1).
Lee et al. discloses the compound of Claim 18 as shown above. Lee et al. discloses its inventive compounds serve as materials for the hole-injecting and/or hole-transporting layers, the use of which results in a device with lower driving voltage and improved luminous efficiency ([8]-[9]). However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose an oligomer, polymer, or dendrimer as recited in the claim.
Hayer et al. discloses polymers for use in an organic EL device (OLED) (Abstract; [0009]); the polymer contains additional structural units which influence the hole-injecting and/or hole-transporting properties of the polymer ([0027]-[0028]). Hayer et al. discloses such additional structural units to be triarylamines (among others such as carbazole derivatives) ([0036]). It would have been obvious to incorporate any of the inventive compounds as disclosed by Lee et al. to the polymers as disclosed by Hayer et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Lee et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive (hole-injecting/transporting) compounds results in a device with lower driving voltage and improved luminous efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Lee et al. (WO 2012/011756 A1), which discloses compounds of the following form:
([13]) where X1-2 = O or S (among others) ([14]) and L1-2 = independently single bond or arylene ([18]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 8) However, it is the position of the Office that neither Lee et al. singly nor in combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds as recited in the claim, particularly in regards to the nature and bonding positions of the substituent groups attached to the arylamino nitrogen atom.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art (pages 1-2) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786