DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks 07/20/2026 Page 8, disclosing “Under MPEP § 2181, the absence of the word "means" in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that § 112(f) does not apply. That presumption is overcome only when the claim term fails to connote sufficiently definite structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Both "scaling unit" and "scaling logic" are well-established structural terms in the field of signal processing and digital circuit design, not nonce words or generic placeholders. A person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would immediately recognize each of these terms as denoting a concrete, well-understood hardware or firmware component that performs signal scaling (the multiplication of a signal by a defined constant or variable factor)”. Examiner disagrees. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) indeed uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit” in claim 11 and “logic” in claim 20. With respect to Applicant’s arguments of Pages 9-12 the Examiners response is similar to above regarding “scaling unit” and “scaling logic”.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks 07/20/2026 Page 8, disclosing “The Examiner has stated that a search for "scaling logic" failed to locate the term as known in the art. Applicant respectfully submits that the absence of the term from the specific documents consulted reflects only those particular documents, not the state of common general knowledge in the field.” Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s written disclosure fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Further the specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Applicant has failed to point out within the written disclosure support for the structure specifically claimed by the Applicant, instead is relying on prior art references to support Applicants claim for “scaling logic” and “scaling unit”. Therefore the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph interpretation, 35 U.S.C. 112(a), and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections stand. With respect to Applicant’s arguments of Pages 9-12 the Examiners response is similar to above regarding “scaling unit” and “scaling logic”.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks 07/20/2026 Pages 14-15, disclosing “Regarding the excitation magnet, Uesugi is directed to a thin-film magnetic read/write head for use in a hard disk drive. The magnetic pole layers 340 and 345 form part of an electromagnetic write coil element 34, the purpose of which is to write data onto a magnetic disk by generating a magnetic field in the perpendicular recording direction. This write head structure functions in an entirely different technical context from the excitation magnet of claim 11, which is a discrete permanent magnet arranged to rotate relative to the xMR sensor assembly and whose rotation induces the magnetoresistive effect used for angle sensing”. Examiner disagrees. Applicant claims at least one excitation magnet comprised within the claimed device and fails to further limit the at least one excitation magnet in the context as argued. Thus the interpretation of the claimed “at least one excitation magnet” is limited to as its defined and claimed in the claim 11. If Applicant would like for the excitation magnet of claim 11 to be interpreted as argued, which is a discrete permanent magnet arranged to rotate relative to the xMR sensor assembly and whose rotation induces the magnetoresistive effect used for angle sensing, the Examiner recommends amending the claim as such in line with the support from the original disclosure. Therefore Uesugi discloses the device comprising at least one excitation magnet as citied in the Office Action dated 01/21/2026.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks 07/20/2026 Page 15, disclosing “Applicant notes that in Uesugi the output voltage of the TMR element is first amplified before reaching the demodulator circuit. Whether the introduction of an amplifier between the TMR element and the demodulator circuit amounts to the same functional arrangement as the direct electrical connection recited in claim 11 is a question that the Examiner has not addressed. More fundamentally, the technical problem addressed by Uesugi (the construction of a read/write head for magnetic data storage) does not involve the generation or compensation of harmonics in an angle-sensing context. The demodulator in Uesugi serves an entirely different signal processing purpose than the demodulation unit of claim 11, which is specifically arranged to extract harmonic content from the output voltage of an xMR sensor assembly for compensation purposes.” Examiner disagrees. Claim 11 discloses “ at least one demodulation unit electrically connected to the at least one xMR sensor assembly, wherein the demodulation unit is arranged to generate a demodulation voltage by converting the output voltage of the at least one xMR sensor assembly”. Uesugi disclose at least one demodulation unit electrically connected to the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0036] demodulator circuit connected to TMR effect element), wherein the demodulation unit is arranged to generate a demodulation voltage by converting the output voltage of the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0036] an amplifier for amplifying output voltage from the TMR effect element, and a demodulator circuit for demodulating the amplified output voltage). The demodulator circuit is demodulating and outputting a voltage signal electrically connected to at least one xMR sensor as claimed. If Applicant would like for claim 11 to be interpreted as argued, which is to be connected directly in a specific arrangement to extract harmonic in an angle-sensing context, the Examiner recommends amending the claim as such in line with the support from the original disclosure.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks 07/20/2026 Pages 15-16, disclosing “Suzuki does not address, mention, or contemplate the compensation of a harmonic, that is, a periodic signal component at an integer multiple of the fundamental frequency in the output voltage of an xMR sensor assembly. The specification of the present application identifies the harmonic as a physically distinct phenomenon arising from the non-ideal magnetizability of the fixed layer, and the compensation of this harmonic by means of a scaling unit operating on a demodulated version of the output voltage is correspondingly a technically distinct solution from the offset compensation approach of Suzuki. Because the problem being solved and the mechanism of compensation are fundamentally different, the features of Suzuki cannot be straightforwardly read onto the claimed scaling unit and its operation.” Examiner disagrees. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Further the Examiner has rejected the “scaling unit” under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) and (b) above in response to the claimed limitations lacking clear disclosure for understanding the “means of a scaling unit operating” as argued above and Applicant has failed to point to the support in the Arguments of 07/20/2026. Thus Suzuki discloses a magnetic field detection apparatus that detects the angle and intensity of a magnetic field using magneto-resistive elements (hereinafter also referred to as MR (magnetoresistive) elements) with the known method of using a scaling unit arranged to generate a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter (Para [0153] in a known method resistor 151 as scaling unit which change in ambient temperature due to temperature characteristics as the scaling parameter as the resistor changes with the temperature; alternatively compensation voltage can be accomplished even ambient temperature has changed due to voltage difference remaining constant as further disclosed in Para [0153]) to generate a compensation voltage and a superposing unit electrically connected to the at least one xMR sensor assembly and the scaling unit, wherein the superposing unit (Para [0237] subtraction unit 271 receives the output signal voltage) is arranged to superpose the compensation voltage with the output voltage of the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0024] offset voltage is stored in advance and the offset voltage (compensation voltage) is subtracted from a signal voltage (output voltage) for compensation) for the benefit of accurately determining a magnetic field.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks 07/20/2026 Page 16-17, disclosing “Regarding the superposing unit, the Examiner relies on paragraph [0024] and the subtraction unit 271 of Suzuki as disclosing the claimed superposing unit. Applicant submits that this mapping is not supported by a reading of Suzuki as a whole.”, “the superposing unit of the present claims, which is a straightforward signal summation element that superposes the compensation voltage directly onto the output voltage of the xMR sensor assembly”. Thus Suzuki discloses the offset voltage is stored in advance wherein the offset voltage output of Suzuki is superposed with the output voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit” in claim 11 and “logic” in claim 20
Claim limitations “scaling unit” of Claim 11 and “scaling logic” of Claim 20 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claimed limitations are combined with functional language however the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 discloses “a scaling unit” however the specification fails to disclose how “a scaling unit” disclosed as block 40, as defined by the drawings, and functional language of generating a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter as required by the claim. The Specification is further void of any structure of the claimed unit within the device to define the scaling unit. The written description is required to describe subject matter in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All subsequent claims are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim 20 discloses “scaling logic” however the specification fails to disclose how “scaling logic” with a scaling unit disclosed as block 40, as defined by the drawings, and functional language of generating a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter. The Specification is further void of any structure of the claimed unit within the device to define the scaling unit and scaling logic. A search of “scaling logic” fails to support the claimed subject matter as known in the art. The written description is required to describe subject matter in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 discloses “a scaling unit” however the specification fails to disclose how “a scaling unit” disclosed as block 40 as defined by the drawings, generates a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter. The Specification is further void of any structure of the claimed unit within the device to define the scaling unit. Therefore the claimed subject matter is unclear and indefinite. All subsequent claims are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim 20 discloses “scaling logic” however the specification fails to disclose how “scaling logic” with a scaling unit disclosed as block 40 as defined by the drawings, generates a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter. The Specification is further void of any structure of the claimed unit within the device to define the scaling unit and scaling logic. Therefore the claimed subject matter is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesugi et al. (US 20080218915), hereinafter ‘Uesugi’, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20100219822), hereinafter ‘Suzuki’.
Regarding Claim 11, Uesugi discloses a device for compensating a harmonic in an output voltage of at least one xMR sensor assembly, the device comprising: the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0005]) comprising at least one magnetoresistive element (Fig. 3, 332), wherein the at least one magnetoresistive element comprises a barrier layer (Fig. 3, 44), a fixed layer (Fig. 3, 43), and a free layer (Fig. 3, 45), and wherein the barrier layer is arranged between the free layer and the fixed layer (Fig. 3. 44 arranged between layer 43 and 45; Para [0005] barrier layer as an energy barrier in the tunneling effect is sandwiched between the pinned layer (fixed) and the free layer; Para [0005] The TMR effect element has a magnetization-pinned layer (pinned layer) in which the magnetization direction is fixed), and wherein the at least one xMR sensor assembly has the output voltage (Para [0036] an amplifier for amplifying output voltage from the TMR effect element); at least one excitation magnet (Para [0043] a main magnetic pole layer 340/345); at least one demodulation unit electrically connected to the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0036] demodulator circuit connected to TMR effect element), wherein the demodulation unit is arranged to generate a demodulation voltage by converting the output voltage of the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0036] an amplifier for amplifying output voltage from the TMR effect element, and a demodulator circuit for demodulating the amplified output voltage).
Uesugi fails to explicitly disclose a scaling unit electrically connected to the demodulation unit, the scaling unit being arranged to generate a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter; and a superposing unit electrically connected to the at least one xMR sensor assembly and the scaling unit, wherein the superposing unit is arranged to superpose the compensation voltage with the output voltage of the at least one xMR sensor assembly.
Suzuki teaches a magnetic field detection apparatus that detects the angle and intensity of a magnetic field using magneto-resistive elements (hereinafter also referred to as MR (magnetoresistive) elements) with the known method of using a scaling unit arranged to generate a compensation voltage using a scaling parameter (Para [0153] in a known method resistor 151 as scaling unit which change in ambient temperature due to temperature characteristics as the scaling parameter as the resistor changes with the temperature; alternatively compensation voltage can be accomplished even ambient temperature has changed due to voltage difference remaining constant as further disclosed in Para [0153]) to generate a compensation voltage and a superposing unit electrically connected to the at least one xMR sensor assembly and the scaling unit, wherein the superposing unit (Para [0237] subtraction unit 271 receives the output signal voltage) is arranged to superpose the compensation voltage with the output voltage of the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Para [0024] offset voltage is stored in advance and the offset voltage (compensation voltage) is subtracted from a signal voltage (output voltage) for compensation) for the benefit of accurately determining a magnetic field.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the xMR sensor assembly device of Uesugi with the known scaling method and superposing unit of Suzuki for the benefit of providing a compensated voltage to accurately determine a magnetic field.
Regarding Claim 12, Uesugi further discloses wherein the barrier layer, the fixed layer, and the free layer are arranged along an axis; and the excitation magnet is arranged along the axis (Fig. 2, all layers along horizontal axis).
Regarding Claim 13, Uesugi further discloses wherein the fixed layer comprises a ferromagnet (Para [0047] pinned layer 43 formed of a ferromagnetic material; Para [0005] The TMR effect element has a magnetization-pinned layer (pinned layer) in which the magnetization direction is fixed).
Regarding Claim 14, Uesugi further discloses in which the free layer comprises a permanent magnet (Para [0047] free layer formed of a ferromagnetic material; known in the art Ferromagnetism is the property or type of material, whereas a permanent magnet is the result or application of that property).
Regarding Claim 15, Uesugi fails to explicitly disclose in which the excitation magnet is arranged rotatable about an axis relative to the at least one xMR sensor assembly.
Suzuki teaches a magnetic field detection apparatus that detects the angle and intensity of a magnetic field using magneto-resistive elements (hereinafter also referred to as MR (magnetoresistive) elements) having an excitation magnet arranged rotatable about an axis relative to the at least one xMR sensor assembly (Fig. 6, rotatable magnet 505 relative to magnetic field sensor 502; Para [0155-0158]) for the benefit of detecting the direction .theta. of the magnetic field and measurement of the rotation angle of the rotation axis is possible.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the xMR sensor assembly device of Uesugi with the rotation angle detection apparatus teachings for the benefit of detecting the direction .theta. of a magnetic field and measurement of a rotation angle of a rotation axis in an rotatable magnet arrangement as taught by Suzuki in Fig. 6 and Para [0155-0158].
Regarding Claim 16, Uesugi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one demodulation unit comprises a plurality of separate demodulation units. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to provide a plurality of separate demodulation units for the benefit of demodulating signals at a plurality or variations of frequencies/amplitudes/phases, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Benis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 17, Uesugi in view of Suzuki further discloses wherein the scaling parameter is fixedly defined (Suzuki in Para [0153] alternatively compensation voltage can be accomplished even ambient temperature has changed due to voltage difference remaining constant, thus interpreted as fixedly defined).
Regarding Claim 18, Uesugi in view of Suzuki further discloses in which the scaling parameter is variable, and the scaling unit determines the scaling parameter using at least one of an amplitude unit and a temperature unit (Suzuki in Para [0153] in the known method, resistor 151 as scaling unit which change in ambient temperature due to temperature characteristics as the scaling parameter as the resistor changes with the temperature).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesugi et al. (US 20080218915), hereinafter ‘Uesugi’, in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20100219822), hereinafter ‘Suzuki’, and in further Bi et al. (US 20210190472), hereinafter ‘Bi’.
Regarding Claim 19, Uesugi and Suzuki fail to disclose wherein the amplitude unit comprises at least a first Hall sensor and a second Hall sensor.
Bi teaches a method and system comprising scaling compensation and harmonic amplitude compensation comprising multiple magnetoresistive sensors and Hall sensors (Para [0001] Para [0052-0053] plurality of magnetoresistive sensors; Para [0147] disclosing plurality of parts) for the benefit of calculating the absolute electrical angle according to the relative electrical angle and the polarity position (Para [0005-0016]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the xMR sensor assembly device of Uesugi and rotation angle detection apparatus teachings of Suzuki with the scaling compensation and harmonic amplitude compensation comprising multiple magnetoresistive sensors and Hall sensors teachings of Bi for the benefit of calculating the absolute electrical angle according to the relative electrical angle and the polarity position as taught by Bi in Para [0005-0016].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALESA ALLGOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858