DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s response filed on 05/11/2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejection in view of Moore (“Temporal Processing of High Frame Rate Ultrasound Images”
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (“Temporal Processing of High Frame Rate Ultrasound Images”), in view of Konofagou et al (US 20070049824 A1; Konofagou).
Claim(s) 4, 6-7 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (“Temporal Processing of High Frame Rate Ultrasound Images”), in view of Konofagou et al (US 20070049824 A1; Konofagou), and in further view of Lysyansky et al (US 20040143189 A1; Lysyansky).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (“Temporal Processing of High Frame Rate Ultrasound Images”), in view of Konofagou et al (US 20070049824 A1; Konofagou).
Regarding claim 1, Moore discloses a method (Abstract: “an online method of subtracting sequential images was developed for the T5 system. The origin of the increase in contrast is investigated, and the statistical model of speckle in B mode images is extended to include the changes in brightness in a fixed location in the image field as targets pass through that location”) comprising:
receiving a set of temporal images of a target area, (3.4 T5 Machine Specifications: “This software allows for the simultaneous real-time acquisition and display of B Mode data as well as temporally processed images as well. This display runs in real time during acquisition and can be slowed during retrospective playback or advanced frame by frame to assess motion and changes in the images. Various image parameters, such as brightness, gamma and contrast, can be adjusted during playback mode and various temporal and spatial filters applied.”; 5.2 Methods: “Six B mode images of speckle regions in a tissue mimicking phantom were acquired using the same system configuration as in Chapter 3. … Images were obtained with an 8 MHz, 96 element 1D array at 1038 frames per second in the neck showing both the jugular and carotid flow simultaneously.”) wherein the set of temporal images of the target area comprise a sequence of images of the target area taken over a period of time; (4.2 Speckle description in B-Mode images: “At a frame rate of 30 images per second, this corresponds to a maximum trackable velocity of 12 cm/sec. When imaging at 1000 frames per second, this increases to a maximum trackable velocity of 4 m/sec … For increased imaging rates of interest is the brightness value in a given image pixel or image region as a speckle target or pattern moves across that pixel or region.”; 4.3 Difference Imaging : “With motion of speckle targets in B Mode images, it is expected that for a given location in the image field, speckle will remain correlated for a certain amount of translation, and after enough translation, the speckle pattern in a given region of the image field will be statistically independent from the original. With enough target motion in that image location there were will be two statistically independent speckle patterns at two different points in time.”)
generating a set of temporal difference images from the set of temporal images, (Figure 10: Example image regions from (a) original position, (b) after 1.5 mm lateral translation, and (c) difference image generated from the two regions.; wherein the set of temporal difference images comprises respective difference images generated from successive pairs of temporally sequential images in the set of temporal images; 4.3 Difference Imaging: “High frame rate imaging permits enhancing contrast between fast moving targets and a slow moving background by subtracting consecutive images or groups of images. … This method, difference imaging, takes the detected brightness values from two sequential images and subtracts on a pixel-by-pixel basis. The absolute value of the difference is stored, and these values are scan converted to generate a difference image.”; wherein the set of temporal difference images comprises respective difference images generated from successive pairs of temporally sequential images in the set of temporal images; (5.3 Results: “Both standard B mode and summed difference images of an adult human neck can be seen in Figure 19. The left image is the summed difference image, and the standard B mode is on right. The jugular vein is the upper vessel and the carotid artery is the lower. The patient is oriented such that the right side of the image is in the cranial direction. Images were acquired at 1038 per second, and a total of 20 difference images were summed to generate the image on the left, a temporal window of 19.3 msec.”; 6.2 Speckle Statistics: “specifically, once the speckle target has moved by one resolution cell, the difference in brightness between sequential frames becomes a statistical phenomenon. In range, the saturation point is proportional to the excitation pulse length. Due to this behavior, two successive images may be subtracted and the absolute value of the difference displayed as an image as a method of contrast enhancement for rapidly move speckle targets and contrast reduction for slow moving or stationary targets. )
generating a regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images; (Figure 10: Example image regions from (a) original position, (b) after 1.5 mm lateral translation, and (c) difference image generated from the two regions.; Figure 17: Example of a high speed B mode (left) and difference (right) of an adult heart in the apical 4 chamber view.; Paragraph : “In the case of late diastolic images when the myocardium is stationary in Figure 17, difference images almost entirely suppressed signal from the myocardium, and by increasing the contrast of the display transfer function low level blood signals became the dominant signal in the difference image. When difference images were played back in slow motion, the complex flow patterns of the blood within the ventricle were clearly visible.”; and displaying the regional motion display. (Figure 10; Figure 17; Figure 20: Integrated difference image (left) and B-Mode image of the jugular vein (top) and carotid artery (bottom) of a healthy 29 yo male on right. Images were acquired at 1038 per second, and 20 DB-Mode images (19.3 msec) were summed to generate the right hand sector. Flow direction is visually detectible in the two vessels during slowed playback.”; 5.3 Results: “The summed difference image and B mode of a human liver can be seen in Figure 20. Images were acquired at 726 per second, and a total of 50 differences were summed to generate the left hand sector, for a time window of 68.9 msec. … With the current system and display software, acquisition, rendering, and temporal processing of the difference volume can be performed live in real time.” and Fig. 21)
However, Moore does not disclose generating a regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images comprising a representative line through the target area along a y-axis and an x-axis representing time;
Konofagou discloses a method (Paragraph 51: “The system and methods described herein are useful for analyzing data obtained by an image generating device, such as an ultrasound transducer”) comprising:
receiving a set of temporal images of a target area (the heart), wherein the set of temporal images of the target area comprise a sequence of images of the target area taken over a period of time; (Fig.2 and Paragraph 54: “In an early stage in the procedure, raw imaging data of the body structure is acquired by image acquisition equipment such as the ultrasound probe 102 and scanner 104. In the exemplary embodiment, a set of N frames of raw ultrasound data of the heart is acquired during a cardiac cycle at high frame rate, e.g., higher than 100 fps, although frame rates of about 56 fps and 170 fps, etc., yield useful results (step 202).”; Paragraph 74: “This setup allows the real-time acquisition of more than one thousand 2D RF-data, e.g., images.”; Paragraph 76: “addition to the real-time scanning mode, a high frame rate acquisition mode (EKV) was provided on the scanner in the exemplary embodiment in order to allow detailed visualization of the heart contraction. The equipment operate as quickly as 8000 frames per minute,”),
generating a set of temporal difference images (N-1 displacement 2D maps) from the set of temporal images; (Paragraphs 56-57: “At step 206, the raw data received from the image acquisition equipment is processed. In the exemplary embodiment, the data processing step computes an estimation of the displacement of particular objects in the images, such as the myocardium, between consecutive frames. … N-1 displacement 2D maps (also referred to as correlation matrices) are computed through the correlation of two consecutive frames i and i+1 (1<i<N-1). Each frame is represented by a matrix of pixel values. The displacement maps provide an indication of the local axial movements between frames. … a matlab program Multiframe (see Appendix) is used to compute the displacement maps for the complete sequence of frames obtained at step 202, above. Multiframe calls the matlab routine FunCalculDispl (see Appendix) to compute the displacements for the sequence of frames. ”)
generating a regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images comprising a representative line through the target area along a y-axis and an x-axis representing time; (Paragraph 59: “a video of the sequence of N-1 displacement maps may be assembled to create a video of the displacements of the body structure or tissue (step 212). In the exemplary embodiment, a video of the myocardium displacements is created by this technique. … The video of the displacement map of the myocardium will depict the propagation of the electromechanical wave. A next step in the procedure may be observation and tracking of the wave propagation (step 214). … The parameters of the electromechanical wave, e.g., velocity, amplitude, attenuation, frequency, etc., may be analyzed at step 216. For example, the velocity of the electromechanical wave may be computed as a function of its position in the myocardium.”; Fig.20a-20b: “ Paragraph 85: “A temporal analysis of the motion was performed for single RF lines of the image. The axial displacement along one central line of the image (indicated by the white, dotted vertical line 2050 on FIG. 20(b)) is shown as a function of time in FIG. 21(a) with the corresponding ECG signal (FIG. 21(d)). (FIGS. 2(a)-(d) are aligned on a temporal basis.) On this line 2050, the displacements of the septum, the papillary muscle and the posterior wall are shown in a M-mode format over two cardiac cycles. It shows the successive main phases of the cardiac cycle: the contraction of the myocardium (systole) indicated by arrow 2120 initiated at the R-wave peak of the ECG, followed by the relaxation phase (diastole) indicated by arrow 2130. The duration of the active contraction was approximately 50 ms, and that of the relaxation 35 ms. In addition to this slow and large motion, some rapid transient variations of a few ms were observed at the beginning and at the end of the systolic phase, in the septum and the posterior wall.”) and displaying the regional motion display. (Figs. 20A-D,Fig. 21A-D, 22-25; and Paragraph 53: “ Output files 112 may include the displacement maps, videos of myocardium displacements, or computed data, such as electromechanical wave properties. … Typically, an output device, such as monitor 114, and an input device, such as keyboard 116, are also components of the system.”)
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moore by including temporal processing and model based analysis in video images that is taught by Konofagou, to make the invention that motion detection in video images; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving detection of motion objects as well as enhancing image processing techniques applied to infrared and visible light spectrum images in a time sequence.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Moore further discloses generating the set of temporal difference images from the set of temporal images comprises, for two temporally sequential images of the set of temporal images (Abstract: “an online method of subtracting sequential images was developed for the T5 system. The origin of the increase in contrast is investigated, and the statistical model of speckle in B mode images is extended to include the changes in brightness in a fixed location in the image field as targets pass through that location”) : calculating an absolute difference in detected brightness value of each pixel and assigning the absolute difference in the detected brightness value as a brightness value of a corresponding pixel in a difference image of the set of temporal difference images. (4.4 Methods: “After acquisition, a speckle region surrounding the transmit focus was chosen with size of 10 x 10 mm of the scan converted image. The size of the region was chosen so that multiple resolution cells were encompassed within the target area. For all frames, the difference was calculated, pixel by pixel, between the first frame and the Nth. The absolute value of the difference was taken for each pixel, and absolute values were summed over this region and normalized by the maximum total summed difference brightness for that set of images.”)
Regarding claim 3, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses generating the regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images comprises: calculating, for each y-axis pixel of the regional motion display, an integral of all pixels along a line perpendicular to the target area, a non-perpendicular line to the target area, a contour along the target area, or a surface of the target area in a temporally corresponding difference image of the set of temporal difference images; (Paragraph 57 : “N-1 displacement 2D maps (also referred to as correlation matrices) are computed through the correlation of two consecutive frames i and i+1 (1<i<N-1). Each frame is represented by a matrix of pixel values. The displacement maps provide an indication of the local axial movements between frames. … Multiframe calls the matlab routine FunCalculDispl (see Appendix) to compute the displacements for the sequence of frames. FunCalculDispl in turn calls the routine Correlation2D.cpp (see Appendix) which is a C program that computes the displacement map between consecutive frames. … a video of the sequence of N-1 displacement maps may be assembled to create a video of the displacements of the body structure or tissue (step 212). In the exemplary embodiment, a video of the myocardium displacements is created by this technique.”; Paragraph 14: “A correlation calculation is performed on the image frames to generate a matrix with the location of correlation maxima representing the relative displacement between the first and second image frames, also referred to as a displacement map. A video is generated comprising a series of displacement maps.”; it show that the correlation calculation perform on all pixels values/ matrix of pixel values of the image frames ) and
assigning, for each y-axis pixel of the regional motion display, the integral of all pixel along the line perpendicular to the target area, the non-perpendicular line to the target area, the contour along the target area, or the surface of the target area as a pixel value for a temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the target area along the y-axis. (Figs. 20(a)-(d); Fig. 21(a)-(d) and Paragraphs 84-85: “FIG. 20(a) and 20(b) show the color-coded axial displacements overlaid onto the grayscale B-mode image for two different phases of the cardiac cycle. … A temporal analysis of the motion was performed for single RF lines of the image. The axial displacement along one central line of the image (indicated by the white, dotted vertical line 2050 on FIG. 20(b)) is shown as a function of time in FIG. 21(a) with the corresponding ECG signal (FIG. 21(d)).”; Paragraph 14: “A correlation calculation is performed on the image frames to generate a matrix with the location of correlation maxima representing the relative displacement between the first and second image frames, also referred to as a displacement map. A video is generated comprising a series of displacement maps.”, it shows that the value of y-axis pixels is represent in Figs. 20 and 21 as depth(mm) along with x-axis time (ms)).
Regarding claim 5, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Moore further discloses the set of temporal difference images contains one fewer image than the set of temporal images (5.2 Methods: “Six B mode images of speckle regions in a tissue mimicking phantom were acquired using the same system configuration as in Chapter 3. Between each image, the transducer was translated 3 mm laterally to insure that statistically independent speckle patterns were imaged. From these, five difference images were generated.”; 5.3 Results: “Images were acquired at 726 per second, and a total of 50 differences were summed to generate the left hand sector, for a time window of 68.9 msec.”)
Regarding claim 8, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Moore further discloses the integral of all pixels along the line perpendicular to the target area, the non-perpendicular line to the target area, the contour along the target area, or the surface of the target area in a temporally corresponding difference image of the set of temporal difference images is calculated using a weighted function. (4.3 Difference Imaging: “The absolute value of the difference is stored, and these values are scan converted to generate a difference image. Initial observations of difference images of dynamic targets demonstrated an increase of contrast of high velocity targets and the suppression of low velocity and stationary targets regardless of the brightness of the targets in the B mode images. … With enough target motion in that image location there were will be two statistically independent speckle patterns at two different points in time. In the event that two statistically independent speckle patterns are subtracted from one another, the resultant distribution of brightness values would be expected to be the correlation of the original distributions,”; it shows that the correlation function includes speckle patterns is interpreted as weight function)
Regarding claim 9, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses the regional motion display further comprises one or more time-synchronization elements displayed along the x-axis. (Paragraphs 33-34: “ FIG. 21(c) is a time plot illustrating the temporal variation of the axial displacements after bandpass filtering of the plot illustrated in FIG. 21(a) showing the transient and high frequency components … FIG. 21(d) illustrates the ECG signal acquired simultaneously with the data illustrated in FIGS. 21(a)-(c)”)
Regarding claim 10, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses the target area is a heart of a patient, wherein the one or more time-synchronization elements is a temporally corresponding electrocardiogram displayed along the x-axis. (Paragraph 42: “ FIGS. 26(a)-(e) illustrate a sequence of axial displacement maps overlaid to the grayscale image (0.12 ms between successive frames) indicating an electromechanical wave propagating in the posterior wall of the mouse from the apex towards the base during pacing in the right atrium close to the sinoatrial node”; Fig. 27(a)-(e)”)
Regarding claim 11, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses the set of temporal images of the target area comprises at least 250 images per second. (Paragraph 77: “The data were then processed off-line, RF-lines were synchronized using the R-wave peak of the ECG signal, and a complete set of 2D ultrasound RF-data was reconstructed at 8000 fps for one complete cardiac cycle (approximately 150 ms).”)
Regarding claim 12, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses further comprising adjusting the regional motion display by temporal scaling. (Paragraph 79: “The axial displacements were analyzed in the frequency domain as a function of the time. … The displacement estimates were temporally filtered using an FIR band-pass filter with cut-frequencies of f.sub.1=50 Hz and f.sub.2=500 Hz, which allows the removal of the low frequency components but also the high frequency noise.”)
Regarding claim 13, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses further comprising automatically detecting a propagating event. (Paragraph 69: “ On the displacement video, two electromechanical waves were clearly detected, propagating in the posterior wall of the left ventricular, from the septum (left side of the images) to the lateral wall (right side). The propagation of the mechanical wave corresponds to the electrical activity shown on an associated EKG.”; Paragraph 87-88; he FIG. 24 shows a wave propagating in the posterior wall (see the white arrows W). The displacements were initiated at the apex (left side of the images) and then propagated towards the base (right side). The phase velocity was determined using the method previously described at the frequency of 80 Hz. The distance of propagation was plotted in FIG. 25 as a function of the phase of the wave divided by the angular frequency. The phase velocity of the wave was obtained using a linear regression fit and was estimated to be 0.44 m/s.”)
Regarding claim 14, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses further comprising measuring at least one of onset timing of the propagating event, duration of the propagating event, and velocity of the propagating event. (Paragraph 90: “FIG. 24 shows a wave propagating in the posterior wall (see the white arrows W). The displacements were initiated at the apex (left side of the images) and then propagated towards the base (right side). The phase velocity was determined using the method previously described at the frequency of 80 Hz. The distance of propagation was plotted in FIG. 25 as a function of the phase of the wave divided by the angular frequency. The phase velocity of the wave was obtained using a linear regression fit and was estimated to be 0.44 m/s.”)
Regarding claim 15, Moore discloses a computing device comprising: a processor, memory and instructions stored in the memory that when executed by the processor, direct the computing device (3.4 T5 Machine Specifications: “To accommodate the high data rates achievable with this system, a customized Dell PC is used for data acquisition. This computer is outfitted with three DALSA X64 FrameGrabber cards, … In-house software has been developed for to perform the acquisition and display of detected ultrasound data [Kuo 2007]. This software allows for the simultaneous real-time acquisition and display of B-Mode data as well as temporally processed images as well.”) to:
receive a set of temporal images of a target area, (3.4 T5 Machine Specifications: “This software allows for the simultaneous real-time acquisition and display of B Mode data as well as temporally processed images as well. This display runs in real time during acquisition and can be slowed during retrospective playback or advanced frame by frame to assess motion and changes in the images. Various image parameters, such as brightness, gamma and contrast, can be adjusted during playback mode and various temporal and spatial filters applied.”; 5.2 Methods: “Six B mode images of speckle regions in a tissue mimicking phantom were acquired using the same system configuration as in Chapter 3. … Images were obtained with an 8 MHz, 96 element 1D array at 1038 frames per second in the neck showing both the jugular and carotid flow simultaneously.”) wherein the set of temporal images of the target area comprise a sequence of images of the target area taken over a period of time; (4.2 Speckle description in B-Mode images: “At a frame rate of 30 images per second, this corresponds to a maximum trackable velocity of 12 cm/sec. When imaging at 1000 frames per second, this increases to a maximum trackable velocity of 4 m/sec … For increased imaging rates of interest is the brightness value in a given image pixel or image region as a speckle target or pattern moves across that pixel or region.”; 4.3 Difference Imaging : “With motion of speckle targets in B Mode images, it is expected that for a given location in the image field, speckle will remain correlated for a certain amount of translation, and after enough translation, the speckle pattern in a given region of the image field will be statistically independent from the original. With enough target motion in that image location there were will be two statistically independent speckle patterns at two different points in time.”)
generate a set of temporal difference images from the set of temporal images, (Figure 10: Example image regions from (a) original position, (b) after 1.5 mm lateral translation, and (c) difference image generated from the two regions.; wherein the set of temporal difference images comprises respective difference images generated from successive pairs of temporally sequential images in the set of temporal images; 4.3 Difference Imaging: “High frame rate imaging permits enhancing contrast between fast moving targets and a slow moving background by subtracting consecutive images or groups of images. … This method, difference imaging, takes the detected brightness values from two sequential images and subtracts on a pixel-by-pixel basis. The absolute value of the difference is stored, and these values are scan converted to generate a difference image.”; wherein the set of temporal difference images comprises respective difference images generated from successive pairs of temporally sequential images in the set of temporal images; 5.3 Results: “Both standard B mode and summed difference images of an adult human neck can be seen in Figure 19. The left image is the summed difference image, and the standard B mode is on right. The jugular vein is the upper vessel and the carotid artery is the lower. The patient is oriented such that the right side of the image is in the cranial direction. Images were acquired at 1038 per second, and a total of 20 difference images were summed to generate the image on the left, a temporal window of 19.3 msec.”; 6.2 Speckle Statistics: “specifically, once the speckle target has moved by one resolution cell, the difference in brightness between sequential frames becomes a statistical phenomenon. In range, the saturation point is proportional to the excitation pulse length. Due to this behavior, two successive images may be subtracted and the absolute value of the difference displayed as an image as a method of contrast enhancement for rapidly move speckle targets and contrast reduction for slow moving or stationary targets. )
generate a regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images; and cause to display the regional motion display. (A central region of the phantom that contains a 0.5 cm diameter anechoic void was imaged four times, once for each of the three transmit schemes with two image lines received per transmitted pulse, to achieve a FR of 60 Hz. The fourth time, the phantom was imaged at 1000 fps with a negatively focused transmit and 32 image lines received for each transmit. System gain and compression settings were identical for all four sets of images and were set to levels typically used for adult echocardiography. The average brightness of a 5 by 5 region of samples within the void was calculated over 60 frames; likewise, the average 23 brightness of an 11 by 11 region of samples in the tissue mimicking region (i.e., speckle pattern) was taken over 60 frames. The ratio of these two values was calculated to give the image contrast ratio.”)
However, Moore does not disclose generate a regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images comprising a representative line through the target area along a y-axis and an x-axis representing time;
Konofagou discloses A computing device (Paragraph 51: “The system and methods described herein are useful for analyzing data obtained by an image generating device, such as an ultrasound transducer”) comprising: a processor, memory and instructions stored in the memory that when executed by the processor, (Fig.1 and Paragraph 53: “The raw data produced by the scanner 104 may be transferred to a computer 106 having a CPU 108 for processing the data. In the exemplary embodiment, the computer and CPU would be Dell PC with a 2 GHz processor.”) direct the computing device to:
receive a set of temporal images of a target area, wherein the set of temporal images of the target area comprise a sequence of images of the target area taken over a period of time; (Fig.2 and Paragraph 54: “In an early stage in the procedure, raw imaging data of the body structure is acquired by image acquisition equipment such as the ultrasound probe 102 and scanner 104. In the exemplary embodiment, a set of N frames of raw ultrasound data of the heart is acquired during a cardiac cycle at high frame rate, e.g., higher than 100 fps, although frame rates of about 56 fps and 170 fps, etc., yield useful results (step 202).”; Paragraph 74: “This setup allows the real-time acquisition of more than one thousand 2D RF-data, e.g., images.”; Paragraph 76: “addition to the real-time scanning mode, a high frame rate acquisition mode (EKV) was provided on the scanner in the exemplary embodiment in order to allow detailed visualization of the heart contraction. The equipment operate as quickly as 8000 frames per minute,”)
generate a set of temporal difference images (N-1 displacement 2D maps) from the set of temporal images; (Paragraphs 56-57: “At step 206, the raw data received from the image acquisition equipment is processed. In the exemplary embodiment, the data processing step computes an estimation of the displacement of particular objects in the images, such as the myocardium, between consecutive frames. … N-1 displacement 2D maps (also referred to as correlation matrices) are computed through the correlation of two consecutive frames i and i+1 (1<i<N-1). Each frame is represented by a matrix of pixel values. The displacement maps provide an indication of the local axial movements between frames. … a matlab program Multiframe (see Appendix) is used to compute the displacement maps for the complete sequence of frames obtained at step 202, above. Multiframe calls the matlab routine FunCalculDispl (see Appendix) to compute the displacements for the sequence of frames. … ”)
generate a regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images comprising a representative line through the target area along a y-axis and an x-axis representing time; (Paragraph 59: “a video of the sequence of N-1 displacement maps may be assembled to create a video of the displacements of the body structure or tissue (step 212). In the exemplary embodiment, a video of the myocardium displacements is created by this technique. … The video of the displacement map of the myocardium will depict the propagation of the electromechanical wave. A next step in the procedure may be observation and tracking of the wave propagation (step 214). … The parameters of the electromechanical wave, e.g., velocity, amplitude, attenuation, frequency, etc., may be analyzed at step 216. For example, the velocity of the electromechanical wave may be computed as a function of its position in the myocardium.”; Fig.20a-20b: “ Paragraph 85: “A temporal analysis of the motion was performed for single RF lines of the image. The axial displacement along one central line of the image (indicated by the white, dotted vertical line 2050 on FIG. 20(b)) is shown as a function of time in FIG. 21(a) with the corresponding ECG signal (FIG. 21(d)). (FIGS. 2(a)-(d) are aligned on a temporal basis.) On this line 2050, the displacements of the septum, the papillary muscle and the posterior wall are shown in a M-mode format over two cardiac cycles. It shows the successive main phases of the cardiac cycle: the contraction of the myocardium (systole) indicated by arrow 2120 initiated at the R-wave peak of the ECG, followed by the relaxation phase (diastole) indicated by arrow 2130. The duration of the active contraction was approximately 50 ms, and that of the relaxation 35 ms. In addition to this slow and large motion, some rapid transient variations of a few ms were observed at the beginning and at the end of the systolic phase, in the septum and the posterior wall.”) and cause to display the regional motion display. (Figs. 20A-D,Fig. 21A-D, 22-25; and Paragraph 53: “ Output files 112 may include the displacement maps, videos of myocardium displacements, or computed data, such as electromechanical wave properties. … Typically, an output device, such as monitor 114, and an input device, such as keyboard 116, are also components of the system.”)
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moore by including temporal processing and model based analysis in video images that is taught by Konofagou, to make the invention that motion detection in video images; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving detection of motion objects as well as enhancing image processing techniques applied to infrared and visible light spectrum images in a time sequence.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Moore further discloses generating the set of temporal difference images from the set of temporal images comprises, for two temporally sequential images of the set of temporal images (Abstract: “an online method of subtracting sequential images was developed for the T5 system. The origin of the increase in contrast is investigated, and the statistical model of speckle in B mode images is extended to include the changes in brightness in a fixed location in the image field as targets pass through that location”) : calculating an absolute difference in detected brightness value of each pixel; and assigning the absolute difference in the detected brightness value as a brightness value of a corresponding pixel in a difference image of the set of temporal difference images. (4.4 Methods: “After acquisition, a speckle region surrounding the transmit focus was chosen with size of 10 x 10 mm of the scan converted image. The size of the region was chosen so that multiple resolution cells were encompassed within the target area. For all frames, the difference was calculated, pixel by pixel, between the first frame and the Nth. The absolute value of the difference was taken for each pixel, and absolute values were summed over this region and normalized by the maximum total summed difference brightness for that set of images.”)
Regarding claim 17, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Konofagou further discloses generating the regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images comprises: calculating, for each y-axis pixel of the regional motion display, an integral of all pixels along a line perpendicular to the target area, a non-perpendicular line to the target area, a contour along the target area, or a surface of the target area in a temporally corresponding difference image of the set of temporal difference images; (Paragraph 57 : “N-1 displacement 2D maps (also referred to as correlation matrices) are computed through the correlation of two consecutive frames i and i+1 (1<i<N-1). Each frame is represented by a matrix of pixel values. The displacement maps provide an indication of the local axial movements between frames. … Multiframe calls the matlab routine FunCalculDispl (see Appendix) to compute the displacements for the sequence of frames. FunCalculDispl in turn calls the routine Correlation2D.cpp (see Appendix) which is a C program that computes the displacement map between consecutive frames. … a video of the sequence of N-1 displacement maps may be assembled to create a video of the displacements of the body structure or tissue (step 212). In the exemplary embodiment, a video of the myocardium displacements is created by this technique.”; Paragraph 14: “A correlation calculation is performed on the image frames to generate a matrix with the location of correlation maxima representing the relative displacement between the first and second image frames, also referred to as a displacement map. A video is generated comprising a series of displacement maps.”; it show that the correlation calculation perform on all pixels values/ matrix of pixel values of the image frames ) and assigning, for each y-axis pixel of the regional motion display, the integral of all pixels along the line perpendicular to the target area, the non-perpendicular line to the target area, the contour along the target area, or the surface of the target area as a pixel value for a temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the target area along the y-axis. (Figs. 20(a)-(d); Fig. 21(a)-(d) and Paragraphs 84-85: “FIG. 20(a) and 20(b) show the color-coded axial displacements overlaid onto the grayscale B-mode image for two different phases of the cardiac cycle. … A temporal analysis of the motion was performed for single RF lines of the image. The axial displacement along one central line of the image (indicated by the white, dotted vertical line 2050 on FIG. 20(b)) is shown as a function of time in FIG. 21(a) with the corresponding ECG signal (FIG. 21(d)).”; Paragraph 14: “A correlation calculation is performed on the image frames to generate a matrix with the location of correlation maxima representing the relative displacement between the first and second image frames, also referred to as a displacement map. A video is generated comprising a series of displacement maps.”, it shows that the value of y-axis pixels is represent in Figs. 20 and 21 as depth(mm) along with x-axis time (ms))
Claim(s) 4, 6-7 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (“Temporal Processing of High Frame Rate Ultrasound Images”), in view of Konofagou et al (US 20070049824 A1; Konofagou), and in further view of Lysyansky et al (US 20040143189 A1; Lysyansky).
Regarding claim 4, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Moore further discloses further comprising selecting a corresponding region of interest from the target area across the set of temporal difference images; wherein the integral is calculated for all pixels along a line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, a non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, a contour along the corresponding region of interest, or a surface of the corresponding region of interest; (4.4 Methods: “After acquisition, a speckle region surrounding the transmit focus was chosen with size of 10 x 10 mm of the scan converted image. The size of the region was chosen so that multiple resolution cells were encompassed within the target area. For all frames, the difference was calculated, pixel by pixel, between the first frame and the Nth. The absolute value of the difference was taken for each pixel, and absolute values were summed over this region and normalized by the maximum total summed difference brightness for that set of images.”)
However, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, does not disclose wherein the integral calculated for all pixels along the line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, the non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, the contour along the corresponding region of interest, or the surface of the corresponding region of interest is assigned as the pixel value for the temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the corresponding region of interest along the y-axis
Lysyansky discloses further comprising selecting a corresponding region of interest from the target area across the set of temporal difference images; (Paragraph 36-37: “ Visual observation by an echo-cardiographer for the purpose of diagnosing myocardial tissue abnormalities may be based on an observation of the features 136. Therefore, an image processing algorithm was developed to recognize and select the features 136 inside the ROI 132 … FIG. 4 illustrates the portion 140 of the ultrasound image frame 130 of FIG. 3.First locations of a set of features 142 are illustrated with small bullets, and represent features 136 identified (selected) on a current frame 130. Second locations of a set of features 144 are illustrated with large bullets, and represent the same features 136 which are found (tracked) on a next consecutive frame 130.”) wherein the integral is calculated for all pixels along a line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, a non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, a contour along the corresponding region of interest, or a surface of the corresponding region of interest; (Figs.5-6 and Paragraphs 39: “The geometric shift of the feature 136 illustrated by the first and second locations 152, 154 represents local tissue movement. The local tissue velocity can be calculated as a location shift divided by the time between B-mode frames: (Vx,Vy)=(dX,dY)*FR Equation 1 “) and wherein the integral calculated for all pixels along the line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, the non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, the contour along the corresponding region of interest, or the surface of the corresponding region of interest is assigned as the pixel value for the temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the corresponding region of interest along the y-axis. (Figs.5-6 and Paragraphs 39-41: “The geometric shift of the feature 136 illustrated by the first and second locations 152, 154 represents local tissue movement. The local tissue velocity can be calculated as a location shift divided by the time between B-mode frames: (Vx,Vy)=(dX,dY)*FR Equation 1 … Equation 1 is repeated to calculate the 2D velocity vector 156 for each feature 136 identified on consecutive frames 130, resulting in a discrete set of tissue velocity vectors 156. … Each bullet on graph 160 represents the velocity 162 of a single feature 136 calculated between two consecutive image frames 130. The position of each feature 136 may be defined relative to the main axis L of the ROI 132 (FIG. 2), such as along (longitudinal to) and across (transverse to) the main axis L. L(pixels) represents the coordinate position of each feature 136 along the main axis L. The transverse coordinate axis is not illustrated, but is used as a second dimension when calculating two-dimensional tissue dynamics.”)
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moore and Konofagou by including an image processing algorithm to recognize and select the features inside the region of interest in ultrasound image frame that is taught by Lysyansky, to make the invention that an ultrasonic system for assessing tissue motion and deformation; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving the accuracy of heart muscle assessment by making the assessment more objective and quantitative would have a significant benefit as well as enhancing the assessment of myocardium performance.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, Moore, as modified by Konofagou and Lysyansky, discloses all the claims invention. Lysyansky further discloses selecting the corresponding region of interest across the set of temporal difference images is performed by automatic anatomical object recognition. (Paragraph 33: “The ROI 132 may be entered via user input 124 or can be defined using any automatic myocardial outline procedure such as edge detection. The ROI 132 is selected in accordance with anatomical structure of the heart muscle.”Fig.7 and Paragraph 44: “n Step 172, a region of interest, such as ROI 132, is defined on the current frame 130. An echo-cardiographer may identify the ROI 132 through the user input 124. Alternatively, the ROI 132 may be defined by software algorithms stored in the processor 116.”)
Regarding claim 7, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention except wherein generating the regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images further comprises applying, for each y-axis pixel of the regional motion display, a brightness transfer function to the integral of all pixels along the line perpendicular to the target area, the non-perpendicular line to the target area, the contour along the target area, or the surface of the target area, wherein a result of the brightness transfer function is assigned as the pixel value for the temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the target area along the y-axis.
Lysyansky discloses generating the regional motion display from the set of temporal difference images further comprises applying, for each y-axis pixel of the regional motion display, a brightness transfer function to the integral of all pixels along the line perpendicular to the target area, the non-perpendicular line to the target area, the contour along the target area, or the surface of the target area, wherein a result of the brightness transfer function is assigned as the pixel value for the temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the target area along the y-axis. (Paragraph 33: “Points 134, illustrated as bullets, define a main axis L, or a mid line along the ROI 132, and will be discussed further below. Tissue motions may be described in terms of longitudinal (along) and transverse (across) movements relative to the main axis L. The ultrasound data representing blood is typically displayed as a darker or black pixel, while heart tissue is displayed as a lighter or white pixel. Alternatively, the blood and heart tissue may be displayed using color.”, it shows that the display as dark/black pixel and lighter/white pixel is interpreted as “brightness transfer function)
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Konofagou by including temporal processing and model based analysis in video images that is taught by Lysyansky, to make the invention that an ultrasonic system for assessing tissue motion and deformation; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving detection of motion objects as well as enhancing image processing techniques applied to infrared and visible light spectrum images in a time sequence.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, discloses all the claims invention. Moore further discloses further comprising selecting a corresponding region of interest from the target area across the set of temporal difference images; wherein the integral is calculated for all pixels along a line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, a non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, a contour along the corresponding region of interest, or a surface of the corresponding region of interest; (4.4 Methods: “After acquisition, a speckle region surrounding the transmit focus was chosen with size of 10 x 10 mm of the scan converted image. The size of the region was chosen so that multiple resolution cells were encompassed within the target area. For all frames, the difference was calculated, pixel by pixel, between the first frame and the Nth. The absolute value of the difference was taken for each pixel, and absolute values were summed over this region and normalized by the maximum total summed difference brightness for that set of images.”)
However, Moore, as modified by Konofagou, does not disclose wherein the integral calculated for all pixels along the line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, the non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, the contour along the corresponding region of interest, or the surface of the corresponding region of interest is assigned as the pixel value for the temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the corresponding region of interest along the y-axis
Lysyansky discloses further comprising selecting a corresponding region of interest from the target area across the set of temporal difference images; (Paragraph 36-37: “ Visual observation by an echo-cardiographer for the purpose of diagnosing myocardial tissue abnormalities may be based on an observation of the features 136. Therefore, an image processing algorithm was developed to recognize and select the features 136 inside the ROI 132 … FIG. 4 illustrates the portion 140 of the ultrasound image frame 130 of FIG. 3.First locations of a set of features 142 are illustrated with small bullets, and represent features 136 identified (selected) on a current frame 130. Second locations of a set of features 144 are illustrated with large bullets, and represent the same features 136 which are found (tracked) on a next consecutive frame 130.”) wherein the integral is calculated for all pixels along a line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, a non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, a contour along the corresponding region of interest, or a surface of the corresponding region of interest; (Figs.5-6 and Paragraphs 39: “The geometric shift of the feature 136 illustrated by the first and second locations 152, 154 represents local tissue movement. The local tissue velocity can be calculated as a location shift divided by the time between B-mode frames: (Vx,Vy)=(dX,dY)*FR Equation 1 “) and wherein the integral calculated for all pixels along the line perpendicular to the corresponding region of interest, the non-perpendicular line to the corresponding region of interest, the contour along the corresponding region of interest, or the surface of the corresponding region of interest is assigned as the pixel value for the temporally corresponding portion of the representative line through the corresponding region of interest along the y-axis. (Figs.5-6 and Paragraphs 39-41: “The geometric shift of the feature 136 illustrated by the first and second locations 152, 154 represents local tissue movement. The local tissue velocity can be calculated as a location shift divided by the time between B-mode frames: (Vx,Vy)=(dX,dY)*FR Equation 1 … Equation 1 is repeated to calculate the 2D velocity vector 156 for each feature 136 identified on consecutive frames 130, resulting in a discrete set of tissue velocity vectors 156. … Each bullet on graph 160 represents the velocity 162 of a single feature 136 calculated between two consecutive image frames 130. The position of each feature 136 may be defined relative to the main axis L of the ROI 132 (FIG. 2), such as along (longitudinal to) and across (transverse to) the main axis L. L(pixels) represents the coordinate position of each feature 136 along the main axis L. The transverse coordinate axis is not illustrated, but is used as a second dimension when calculating two-dimensional tissue dynamics.”)
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Moore and Konofagou by including an image processing algorithm to recognize and select the features inside the region of interest in ultrasound image frame that is taught by Lysyansky, to make the invention that an ultrasonic system for assessing tissue motion and deformation; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving the accuracy of heart muscle assessment by making the assessment more objective and quantitative would have a significant benefit as well as enhancing the assessment of myocardium performance.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, Moore, as modified by Konofagou and Lysyansky, discloses all the claims invention. Lysyansky further discloses selecting the corresponding region of interest across the set of temporal difference images is received via manual input. (Paragraph 33: “The ROI 132 may be entered via user input 124 or can be defined using any automatic myocardial outline procedure such as edge detection. The ROI 132 is selected in accordance with anatomical structure of the heart muscle.”; Fig.7 and Paragraph 44: “n Step 172, a region of interest, such as ROI 132, is defined on the current frame 130. An echo-cardiographer may identify the ROI 132 through the user input 124.”)
Regarding claim 20, Moore, as modified by Konofagou and Lysyansky, discloses all the claims invention. Lysyansky further discloses selecting the corresponding region of interest across the set of temporal difference images is performed by automatic anatomical object recognition. (Paragraph 33: “The ROI 132 may be entered via user input 124 or can be defined using any automatic myocardial outline procedure such as edge detection. The ROI 132 is selected in accordance with anatomical structure of the heart muscle.”Fig.7 and Paragraph 44: “n Step 172, a region of interest, such as ROI 132, is defined on the current frame 130. An echo-cardiographer may identify the ROI 132 through the user input 124. Alternatively, the ROI 132 may be defined by software algorithms stored in the processor 116.”)
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Bussadori et al (U.S. 20090028404 A1), “Method and Corresponding Apparatus for Quantitative Measurements on Sequences of Images, Particularly Ultrasonic Images”, teaches about a method for assessing motion, including deformation, of a structure from a sequence of at least two consecutive image frames of such structure, which images are timely separated by a certain time interval. The method including the steps of defining a certain number of reference points at least on one image frame, and determining the velocity of motion of such reference points between two successive image frames.
Kasahara et al (U.S. 20100262006 A1), “Ultrasound Diagnostic Apparatus”, teaches about an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for forming display images of an object in periodic motion. It also teaches about a scanning plane is displaced over a plurality of periods of the motion so as to form a plurality of scanning planes within the three-dimensional region; searches for a plurality of base images from an image string constituted of a plurality of images corresponding to the plurality of scanning planes according to a feature amount relating to the periodicity of the motion; divides the image string into a plurality of image groups using the respective base images as dividing units, and extracts a plurality of images which correspond to one another on a periodic basis from the respective image groups; and a display image forming unit that forms a display image of the object based on the plurality of images which correspond to one another on a periodic basis.
Sakaguchi (U.S. 20120155737 A1), “ Image Processing Apparatus and Image Processing Method”, teaches about an image processing apparatus includes the difference image generating unit generates a difference image by calculating a difference in a second X-ray transmission image from a first X-ray transmission image, the second X-ray transmission image being an image in which a myocardial tissue of an examined subject is not opacified and the first X-ray transmission image being an image in which the myocardial tissue of the examined subject is opacified with a contrast agent that has been injected into a coronary artery and the display controlling unit exercises control so that a predetermined display unit displays the difference image that has been generated by the difference image generating unit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674