DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/5/23, 4/4/24, 9/18/24,10/16/24, and 12/20/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., CN 113380862.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches (at least in Figures 1, 3 and 7) a light emitting display apparatus (Abstract), comprising: a substrate (13); a plurality of pixels including a plurality of subpixels on the substrate (see Figure 3; sub pixels 61 and 62 in pixel groups P1-P3), a light extraction portion (11) disposed on the substrate and in each of the plurality of subpixels; and a light emitting device layer (anode 22 and light emitting layer 40) on the light extraction portion, wherein: the light extraction portion comprises a plurality of concave portions and a convex portion between the plurality of concave portions (see concave and convex portions in layer 11); and a tilt line passing through a center portion of each of the plurality of concave portions at one or more of the plurality of subpixels is inclined from a straight line parallel to a length direction of the substrate (see Figure 7, tilt line has varying angle).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches an angle between the straight line and the tilt line is more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees (see Figure 7, angles may include 15, 30 and 45).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the light extraction portion has rotated with respect to a reference point within a corresponding subpixel (see Figure 7, reference point is the center of the subpixel).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the light extraction portion has rotated by an angle of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees with respect to the center portion of one of the plurality of concave portions of a corresponding subpixel (see Figure 7, angle may be 15, 30, 60).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a tilt line passing through center portions of the plurality of concave portions in each of the plurality of subpixels is inclined by a different angle from the straight line (see Figure 7, tilt line passing through concave portions 21 is different from straight line across length of pixel).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 5 and further teaches the tilt line passing through the center portions of the plurality of concave portions in each of the plurality of subpixels is inclined by a different angle within a range of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees from the straight line (see Figure 7, angle may be 15, 30 or 60).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the light extraction portions of the plurality of subpixels have rotated by different angles with respect to reference points within corresponding subpixels (see Figure 7, light extraction portions 21 are rotated 15, 30 or 60 degrees).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 7 and further teaches the light extraction portions of the plurality of subpixels have rotated by different angles within a range of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees with respect to the reference points within the corresponding subpixels (see Figure 7, light extraction portions are rotated 15, 30 or 60 degrees).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a plurality of pixel blocks including a plurality of pixel groups, wherein each of the plurality of pixel groups comprises one or more of the plurality of pixels (see Figure 3, pixel groups P1-P3, comprising pixels 61, 63).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 9 and further teaches the one or more of the plurality of pixels comprise one or more pixels (see Figure 3); the light extraction portion in each of the plurality of subpixels configuring each of the plurality of pixels has a rotation angle rotated by a same angle with respect to a reference point within a corresponding subpixel; and pixel-based rotation angles of the light extraction portions in the one or more pixels included in each of the plurality of pixel groups are equal to one another at a corresponding pixel group (see Figures 3 and 7, subpixels 613 are all one angle, subpixels 611 are all one angle).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 10 and further teaches pixel group-based rotation angles of the light extraction portions in each of the plurality of pixel groups included in each of the plurality of pixel blocks differ from one another at a corresponding pixel block (see Figures 3 and 7, extraction portion angles in 613 differ from extraction portion angles in 611 in each corresponding pixel block P1-P3).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 11 and further teaches the plurality of pixel groups comprise two adjacent pixel groups (see Figure 3); and pixel-based rotation angles of the light extraction portions of the two adjacent pixel groups in each of the plurality of pixel blocks is within a range of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees and have a difference of 1 degree or more or 3 degrees or more (see Figure 7, angles range from 15, 30 and 60).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 9 and further teaches pixel block-based rotation angles of the light extraction portions in each of the plurality of pixel blocks differ (see Figure 7, angles differ and are 15, 30 or 60).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the light extraction portion in one of the plurality of subpixels and the light extraction portion of each of other subpixels of the plurality of subpixels have rotated by different angles with respect to a reference point within a corresponding subpixel (see Figure 7, light extraction portion 21 rotated by a different angle in the subpixels 613 and 611).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 14 and further teaches the light extraction portions of the other subpixels of the plurality of subpixels have rotated by a same angle with respect to the reference point (each subpixel 613 is rotated by the same angle, each subpixel 611 is rotated by the same angle, see Figures 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 14 and further teaches the light extraction portion of the one of the plurality of subpixels has rotated by an angle of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees with respect to the reference point (see Figure 7, angles are 15, 30 and 60), and wherein the light extraction portions of the other subpixels of the plurality of subpixels have rotated by an angle of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees with respect to the reference point (see Figure 7, angles are 15, 30 and 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kim et al., US 2017/0062769.
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 14, but is silent as to the colors of the pixels. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices, Kim teaches the one of the plurality of subpixels is a white subpixel, and wherein the other subpixels of the plurality of subpixels comprise a red subpixel, a blue subpixel, and a green subpixel ([0046] red, green, blue and selectively may include white). Further, it would have been well known for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that an effective an efficient means of producing a full color display device would be to provide pixels in white, red, blue and green. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the Li device with the colored pixels of the Kim device as a reliable means of achieving full color display emission.
Regarding claim 18, Li and Kim teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 17, and further it is the position that in light of the teaching in Li that the rotation angles of light extraction portions (11) differ, that lacking criticality and unexpected results it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the adjacent white pixel extraction portion angles to differ as well.
Regarding claim 19, Li and Kim teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 18 and further it is the position that in light of the teaching in Li that the rotation angles of light extraction portions (11) differ and are within a range of more than 0 degrees to less than 60 degrees and have a difference of more than 3 degrees (see Figure 7), that lacking criticality and unexpected results it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the adjacent white pixel extraction portion angles to differ as well.
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 but is silent as to the convex portions of the extraction portion having a hexagonal shape in plan view. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices having extraction portions, Kim teaches the convex portion surrounding one of the plurality of concave portions has a hexagonal shape in a plan view (see Figure 3, hexagonal shaped micro lenses). Further, it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that such a lens could be in a number of various shapes to achieve a predetermined and desired emission angle. Therefore, it is the position of the examiner that lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the Li device with hexagonally shaped convex portions in order to achieve well known light emission angles based on said shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al., US 2018/0006273 teaches a display device comprising a light extraction layer having convex portions and concave portions and a light emitting layer formed on the light extraction layer.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875