DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/377,161 (see claims filed on 10/05/2023). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 reads on claim 1, lines 4-9.
Claims 2-10 read on claims 2-10 (respectively).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Divine et al.
Divine et al. (FR 3079179 A1) discloses:
Regarding claim 1, an information projection device (i.e. interface; see translation, page 7, lines 22-26), comprising: a controller (i.e. control component [element 2]; see translation, page 2, lines 10-15); a laser diode (Figure 2, element 15) operatively coupled with the controller (i.e. the laser beam generator is fixed to the rotor; see translation, page 2, lines 14-15); and at least one diffraction optical element (Figure 2, element 17) disposed to receive a beam of light (Figure 2, element 15a) from the laser diode (Figure 2, element 15) and project the beam to a target area (Figure 2, element 7).
Regarding claim 2, a wheel (Figure 2, element 3), wherein the at least on diffraction optical element (Figure 2, element 17) is situated on the wheel (Figure 2, element 3).
Regarding claim 3, a plurality of diffraction optical elements (i.e. optical diffractor element; Figure 2, element 17) are situated about a periphery of the wheel (Figure 2, element 3).
Regarding claim 4, the wheel (Figure 2, element 3) further comprises at least one element (i.e. symbol [Figure 2, element 9] specific to the indexing position) for locating a position on the wheel (Figure 2, element 3).
Regarding claim 5, the wheel (Figure 2, element 3) further comprises at least one magnetic element (i.e. magnet; see translation, page 5, line 13).
Regarding clam 6, a control board (Figure 2, element 13) that comprises at least one magnetic element (i.e. element 13 may include Hall effect sensors [see translation, page 5, line 12]; it is well known in the art that Hall effect sensors are used with a separate, permanent magnet to detect a variety of things, such as whether a door is open or closed, rotational position, or speed, etc.), the magnetic element (i.e. element 3 may include a magnet; see translation, page 5, line 13) for energizing and cooperation with the at least one magnetic element (i.e. magnet; see translation, page 5, line 13) on the wheel for rotating the wheel (Figure 2, element 3).
Regarding claim 7, at least one diffraction optical element (i.e. optical diffractor element; element 17 illustrated in Figure 2 and 3) includes information relating to operation of a vehicle (see translation, page 6, lines 18-20).
Regarding clam 8, each of a plurality of diffraction optical elements (i.e. optical diffractor element; element 17 illustrated in Figure 2 and 3) includes a sequence element of a plurality of sequences (i.e. patterns; Figure 3, element 9) of elements such that upon the display of the sequence of elements an animated information is displayed (see translation, page 6, lines 14-22).
Regarding claim 9, a motor (i.e. rotor and stator) operatively coupled with the wheel (Figure 2, element 3) and the controller (i.e. control component [element 2]; see translation, page 2, lines 10-15), the motor (i.e. rotor and stator) configured to rotate the wheel (Figure 2, element 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Divine et al. in view of Chien.
Divine et al. (FR 3079179 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except a beam collimator disposed between the diffraction optical elements and the laser diode, configured to collimate the laser through at least one of the diffraction optical elements.
Chien (US Pub. No. 2019/0120450 A1) discloses a beam collimator (Figure 8, element Q-10) disposed between the diffraction optical elements (Figure 8, elements Q3-1, Q3 and Q4) and the laser diode (Figure 8, element Q1), configured to collimate the laser through at least one of the diffraction optical elements (Figure 8, element
Q3-1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a beam collimator disposed between the diffraction optical elements and the laser diode, configured to collimate the laser through at least one of the diffraction optical elements as shown by Chien in combination with Divine et al.’s invention for the purpose of changing the LED narrow light emit-angle to wider angle and become parallel light beam emit into top optic piece in form of the image forming unit (Chien, page 38, paragraph 0646, lines 24-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eichhoen et al. (EP 3885195 A1) discloses a controller is configured to control the projector to adjust the light beam to provide visual guidance to a user in the vehicle or a person outside the vehicle. The projector is configured to animate the light beam from a first area in the vehicle to a second area in the vehicle to provide the visual guidance. The projector is configured to animate the light beam if it is needed to take over from autonomous driving. The second area is a steering wheel of the vehicle. The projector is installed on a gimbal. The light beam is a pixel-based illumination.
Koser et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0174450 A1) teaches a MEMS projector arranged at the front side or the rear side, can output a notification message to a front, a rear, a left or a right floor.
Reichow et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0157483 A1) shows a projector for projecting diffracted light in a selectable pattern and/or animation on a display surface. The apparatus includes a light source providing one or more beams of coherent light from one or more lasers. The apparatus includes a diffraction assembly in the path of the light source to generate diffracted light by diffracting the laser light with one, two, or more diffraction grating patterns and, optionally, with a diffraction glass or other material. An active mask is provided with a raster that receives the diffracted light and that includes a plurality of optical shutter elements that are selectively operable to project a portion of the diffracted light from the active mask toward the display surface. In one example, the active mask includes a liquid crystal display panel to provide a grid of addressable programmable pixels that are turned on and off to project portions of the diffracted light.
Chen (US Patent No. US 6,267,478 B1) discloses a pattern-changing structure for a projection light system comprising a base plate, a rotating disc, a motor, and a patterned disc, and the motor is mounted at one lateral side of the base plate, and the shaft center of the cam passes through the center of the base plate and the rotating disc, to form as a unit. A crankshaft having two ends is mounted to the base plate, and one end is mounted with a stopping region and the other end is mounted with a spring hook. The spring hook is connected to a pulling spring and a cavity hole is provided on the base plate for the protrusion of the stopping region. The rotating disc is also provided with a plurality of positioning teeth. When the motor rotates, the cam controls the crankshaft to protrude/extend or to retract, and the positioning teeth is either extended or retracted. Thus, the rotating disc is rotated intermittently and various pattern images are obtained.
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
10/29/2025