DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 4/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/30/2026.
Claims 1-10 are currently under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “plurality of batteries” in lines 2-3 of page 2 is missing the word “the” in front of it. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitations "the first pair of insulators" in line 1, “the second pair of insulators” in line 2, and “the plates” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, because these components have to this point only been referred to together as “a first pair of insulators and plates” or “a second pair of insulators and plates”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "PCBA" in line 3 of page 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because the printed circuit board assembly hasn’t been referred to with that acronym before this.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-20150037642-A1, PINON.
Regarding claim 1, PINON teaches an energy storage system (22), comprising: a printed circuit board assembly (130, [0137], 130 may be a PCB) configured to connect ([0137], screws connecting to 100 and 102 which are part of 39) to a chassis (39) of the energy storage system; and a frame assembly (84) comprising a plurality of stackable frames (118) configured to connect to a plurality of battery cells (116) and the printed circuit board assembly such that a series connection between the plurality of battery cells is created when the plurality of battery cells are connected to the plurality of stackable frames ([0137], interconnect assemblies may be coupled in series in final assembly).
Regarding claim 2, PINON teaches a plurality of thermal gap pads (115, 122) compression pads positioned between two adjacent cells. PINON teaches the thermal gap pads may serve as spring elements that ensure even pressure of compression [0160], which would mean they could also be called compression pads. This reads on the limitation “compression pads” of claim 2, because the thermal gap pads serve the same purpose and have the same positioning and structure.
Regarding claim 3, PINON teaches each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pair of tabs (129) that are configured to provide the series connection between each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells [0137].
Regarding claim 4, PINON teaches a first pair of insulators and plates (plate 100, insulator 124 which can be electrically nonconductive [0171]) and a second pair of insulators and plates (plate 102, insulator 124 which can be electrically nonconductive [0171]) that are each positioned at opposing ends of the frame assembly (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, PINON teaches the first pair of insulators and the second pair of insulators are made from plastic ([171], PVC), and the plates are made from aluminum ([0158], the plates are a part of 39 which is taught to be aluminum).
Regarding claim 6, PINON teaches four bolts (140, see Fig. 7) that extend through four apertures (121 for the frames, 101 for the top plate, and 142 for the bottom plate) defined through each frame of the plurality of stackable frames and each plate of the first pair of insulators and plates and the second pair of insulators and plates, wherein, when tightened, the four bolts are configured to compress the plurality of stackable frames [0138]. While the compression of the bolts alone doesn’t enable an electrical connection between the battery cells and 130, such an electrical connection occurs during the full assembly of the battery module. Additionally, the battery module of PINON is structurally the same as that which is claimed by the instant. Therefore, PINON teaches the limitations of claim 6 of the instant.
Regarding claim 7, PINON teaches the printed circuit board assembly comprises coupling structures (524) and crimping elements (560) that form L-shaped connections (see annotated Fig. 50 below) between the electrode tabs of neighboring cells [0264], as well as a connection to the PCB since 524 is formed from the PCB [264]. This teaches the following limitation of claim 7 of the instant: “L-shaped strips that are configured to connect to the frame assembly and the plurality of battery cells”.
Regarding claim 8, PINON teaches the tabs are formed from aluminum for the positive tab and copper for the negative tab [0179]. The L-shaped connector is formed from two of the electrode tabs so it must be formed from copper and/or aluminum depending on the cell’s orientation.
Regarding claim 9, PINON teaches the battery cells are pouch-type battery cells [0163].
Regarding claim 10, PINON teaches the frame assembly (84) is connected to the chassis (100 and 102, which are part of the chassis 39) via the bolts (140), which screw into the locked nut feature (142) [0138]. It is the examiner’s position that the combination of the bottom compression plate 102 and the locked nut feature make up a mounting bracket, which reads on claim 10 of the instant.
Conclusion
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721