DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of election of species in the reply filed on 1/7/26 is acknowledged. Therefore, Examiner will exam elected claims and embodiment.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and dependent claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “ the first housing portion further including a retention mechanism disposed on the first housing portion proximate the rim and spaced from the first hinge member”, “wherein the second hinge member is configured to mate with the first hinge member when positioned in a space between the first hinge member and the retention mechanism, and wherein the retention mechanism is retractable and push-activated to allow the second hinge member to pass over the retention mechanism such that the retention mechanism releasably holds the second hinge member in the space” are not supported by SPEC/drawing. The limitation lacks antecedent basis and/or is not supported by SPEC/drawings. Further clarification is required. Examiner request Applicant to clarify the difference between the “hinge retention mechanism” and “retention mechanism” in the SPEC and claims. Also, Examiner request Applicants to clearly point out, on the drawing, how the “retractable”, “push-activated”, “pass over” etc.
The Examiner respectfully requests that the Applicant(s) review all claims for any such similar issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, and/or discussed in the above claim objections (See above objection) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tenney (US 6354461).
With regard claim 1, Tenney discloses An electronic device housing (abstract, see also fig 1-15) comprising: a first housing portion including at least a first hinge member disposed on the first housing portion (at least fig 9, fig 15, 64, with 72, 74) proximate a rim of the first housing portion (at least fig 9, fig 15, the rim on the outer side of 64), the first housing portion further including a retention mechanism (at least fig 9, fig 15, at least the parts 74, 67, 80, or 68 Examiner consider as retention mechanism) disposed on the first housing portion proximate the rim and spaced from the first hinge member (at least fig 9, fig 15, the rim on the outer side of 64); and a second housing portion including at least a second hinge member (at least fig 9, fig 15, 82, 86) disposed on the second housing portion proximate a rim of the second housing portion (at least fig 9, fig 15, the rim on the outer side of 62), wherein the second hinge member is configured to mate with the first hinge member when positioned in a space (at least fig 9, fig 15) between the first hinge member and the retention mechanism, and wherein the retention mechanism is retractable and push-activated (compare fig 9, fig 12, fig 15, the retention mechanism is retractable and push-activated) to allow the second hinge member to pass over the retention mechanism (compare fig 9, fig 12, fig 15, e second hinge member to pass over the retention mechanism, at least left/right direction) such that the retention mechanism releasably holds the second hinge member in the space (at least fig 9, fig 15, fig 3-4).
With regard claim 2, Tenney further discloses the first housing portion is a lid, and the second housing portion is a base (at least fig 8).
With regard claim 3, Tenney further discloses the first housing portion and the second housing portion are both configured to house electronic components (at least fig 8, abstract).
With regard claim 4, Tenney further discloses the first hinge member defines a hinge aperture (at least fig 15, aperture on 74 for pin 86), and wherein the second hinge member includes a hinge pin configured to be received in the hinge aperture (at least fig 15, aperture on 74 for pin 86).
With regard claim 5, Tenney further discloses the first housing portion includes a third hinge member disposed on the first housing portion proximate the rim of the first housing portion, and wherein the second housing portion includes a fourth hinge member disposed on the second housing portion proximate a rim of the second housing portion, wherein the fourth hinge member is configured to mate with the third hinge member when the first and second housing portions are hingedly coupled (at least fig 8, abstract; see the other pair of hinge members on the other side of the housings).
With regard claim 6, Tenney further discloses the retention mechanism is spring-loaded (at least fig 8, abstract).
With regard claim 8, Tenney further discloses the retention mechanism includes a catch member movable between an extended position and a depressed position (at least fig 7, the catch member movable between an extended position and a depressed position; Examiner consider before and after the screw was fixed) and a biasing element for biasing the catch member to the extended position (before screw in), wherein the catch member holds the second hinge member in the space (at least fig 7-8, abstract).
With regard claim 10, Tenney further discloses the retention mechanism further includes at least one post extending from the catch member (at least fig 7, the screw), and wherein the biasing element is a spring. (at least fig 7-8, abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841