DETAILED ACTION
In response to the Amendment filed April 6, 2026
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 26, 2026 and April 21, 2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed October 5, 2023 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed October 5, 2023 is accepted.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed December 28, 2023 has been entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7 – 9, 11, 13 and 15 – 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,805,861 in view of Kirk et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0100256). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the more specific plurality of reference dots in place of the broader horizontal reference object is not a distinct feature. Kirk et al. teaches using a plurality of reference dots (See Abstract) to determine the size and depth of a workpiece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of reference dots as the horizontal reference object in 11,805,861 as taught by Kirk et al. as a specific reference that can be used in the device and method of 11,805,861.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolesov et al. (US 2019/0028637 A1).
With respect to claim 1, the method for measuring a portion of a user body part (i.e. foot or hand, for example), comprising the steps of displaying, by a mobile computing device (110), at least one image of the portion of the user body part (see Figures 1 and 15, for example), and a plurality of reference dots (1510) from a point of view, wherein one or more camera guides (Paragraph [0058]) are overlaid on the display of the at least one image; and determining, using a depth sensor of the mobile computing device (Paragraph [0060]), a measurement of the portion of the user body part based on the at least one image and the plurality of reference dots from the point of view (See Figure 15) will be achieved by the regular operation of Kolesov et al.
Referring to claim 11, Kolesov et al. discloses a mobile computing device (Figure 15), comprising a processor (Paragraph [0042]); a camera (Paragraph [0058]); a memory (Paragraph [0038]) storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile computing device to display at least one image comprising a user body part (See Figure 15) and a plurality of reference dots (1510) from a point of view (Figure 15), wherein one or more camera guides are overlaid on the display of the at least one image; and determine, using the camera, a measurement of the user body part based on the at least one image and the plurality of reference dots from the point of view (See paragraphs [0051] and [0076]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 10 and 12 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 2 - 10 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest the method further comprising the steps of generating a custom article of footwear based on the measurement of the foot; generating, by the mobile computing device, a squared reference frame based on the at least one image; performing, by the mobile computing device, edge detection on the squared reference frame to establish edges of the portion of the user body part; delineating, by the mobile computing device, between the portion of the user body part and at least one shadow associated with the portion of the user body part using a successively varying gradient threshold; wherein determining a measurement of the portion of the user body part further comprises performing, by the mobile computing device, edge detection on the at least one image to detect a body part object; generating, by the mobile computing device, an object frame based on detecting the body part object; and performing, by the mobile computing device, a size analysis based on a size of the object frame to obtain at least one measurement; and wherein determining the measurement of the portion of the user body part includes determining, by the mobile computing device, a depth of contours of the portion of the user body part in the at least one image based on a time-of-flight measurement determined based on at least a portion of the plurality of reference dots; calculating, by the mobile computing device, at least one absolute depth value based on the depth of contours of the portion of the user body part; and calculating, by the mobile computing device, a size and a shape of the portion of the user body part based on the absolute depth value in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 12 - 20 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a mobile computing device, wherein the user body part comprises a foot wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the mobile computing device to: generate an electronic model of a custom article of footwear based on the measurement of the foot; wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the mobile computing device to generate a squared reference frame based on the at least one image; and perform edge detection on the squared reference frame to establish edges of the user body part; wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the mobile computing device to delineate between the user body part and at least one shadow associated with the user body part using a successively varying gradient threshold; wherein the user body part is disposed against a vertical reference object, and wherein the at least one image of the user body part is displayed with the vertical reference object; wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the mobile computing device to align the one or more camera guides with the user body part prior to determining the measurement of the portion of the user body part; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the mobile computing device to determine the measurement of the user body part by determining a depth of contours of the user body part in the image of the user body part based on a time-of-flight measurement determined based on the plurality of reference dots; calculating at least one absolute depth value based on the depth of contours of the user body part; and calculating a size and a shape of the user body part based on the absolute depth value in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 7 – 9, 11, 13 and 15 - 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1, now requires the measuring of a portion of a user’s body. The amendment to positively claim a user’s body portion, instead of an object, requires the new grounds of rejection in view of Kolesov et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Atwood et al. (US 2024/0037769 A1) discloses a system and method for predicting body part measurements of a user from depth images but fails to teach creating a plurality of reference dots as claimed.
Chuang et al. (US 9,594,967) discloses a method that includes capturing a pixelated depth image of a person with a depth camera and identifying body parts from the image but fails to teach creating a plurality of reference dots as claimed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
April 27, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855