DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments, see page 9 of the remarks, filed 07/10/2025, with respect to the 112(a) and 112(b) rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 12-16 have been fully considered and overcome the previous 112(a)/112(b) rejections. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Morsi (US 20090254101) and Morsi (US 20090254101) in view of Arroyo (US 4630608).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“second anastomotic mechanism” in claim 1. The limitation describing the second anastomosis mechanism in claim 1 fails to include sufficient structure to perform the recited function of "anastomosing". In the specifications, the elected anastomosis mechanism is described as “one or more coupling pins”. Therefore, the second anastomosis mechanism is interpreted as a coupling pin or any structural equivalents thereof used to couple with a pin of the first anastomotic mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morsi (US 20090254101).
Regarding claim 1, Morsi discloses an anastomosis set (Figs. 1-3, para. 0027) for anastomosing a first end of a blood vessel to be anastomosed with a second end of a blood vessel to be anastomosed (Fig. 4, para. 0027, 0039), said anastomosis set comprising:
a first manipulator (interpreted as the surgical tool used to grip a handle 108 of a first suture ring 107, Fig. 3, para. 0035), with a first telescoping part (interpreted as the left suture ring 107) at a distal end thereof (Figs. 3, 7A, para. 0035, 0042), the first telescoping part 107 is used for telescoping toward the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (Figs. 6, 7A, para. 0042-0043);
the first telescoping part comprising a first telescoping part half and a second telescoping part half (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the first telescoping part half and a second telescoping part half cooperatively defining a semi-circle with a first exit part defined as a gap between the first telescoping part half and the second telescoping part half (see annotated Fig. 3 below, para. 0034);
a second manipulator (interpreted as the surgical tool used to grip a handle 108 of a second suture ring 107, Fig. 3, para. 0035), with a second telescoping part (interpreted as the right suture ring 107) at a distal end thereof (Figs. 3, 7A, para. 0035, 0042), the second telescoping part 107 is used for telescoping toward the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (Figs. 6, 7A, para. 0042-0043);
the second telescoping part comprising a third telescoping part half and a fourth telescoping part half (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the third telescoping part half and a fourth telescoping part half cooperatively defining a semi-circle with a second exit part defined as a gap between the third telescoping part half and the fourth telescoping part half (see annotated Fig. 3 below, para. 0034);
an anastomosis mechanism (interpreted as surgical clips 115) including a first anastomotic mechanism 120 and a second anastomotic mechanism 121, wherein the first anastomotic mechanism includes a pin which couples with the second anastomotic mechanism (Figs. 7B-10B, para. 0038);
an anastomotic auxiliary 113 having a first embedding end and a second embedding end (see annotated Fig. 5 below); wherein the first embedding end is configured to embed into the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (Fig. 5, para. 0033), and the second embedding end is configured to embed into the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (Fig. 5, para. 0033);
wherein the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed is folded toward the first telescoping part, the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed is folded toward the second telescoping part (see note below).
Note: The examiner notes that the claims are directed towards an apparatus not a method and the elements relied upon for the limitation i.e. “the first end to be anastomosed” and “the second end to be anastomosed” are introduced in the preamble of the claim and are not structural components of the device. Those elements are not positively recited and are a part of the body such that it falls under an intended use of the structural component of the device i.e. the first and second telescoping parts. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As shown in Fig. 7A and described in para. 0034 of Morsi, the first and second telescoping parts 107 are intended to be positioned around the first and second ends of the blood vessel. Therefore, if the user were to position folded ends of the first and second blood vessel within the first and second telescoping parts such that the first/second ends of the blood vessels to be anastomosed is folded towards the first/second telescoping parts, the limitation would be met. Since, the device of Morsi meets the structural limitations required for the limitation in claim 1, the device of Morsi also meets the functional limitations required for the limitation in claim 1.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Morsi
Annotated Fig. 5 of Morsi
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morsi (US 20090254101), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chin et al. (US 20030120291) [hereinafter Chin].
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Morsi discloses all of the limitations set forth above in claim 1. Morsi further discloses wherein the anastomotic auxiliary 113 comprises a fusiform body (see Fig. 2 which illustrates the anastomotic auxiliary 113 having a rounded body with tapered ends which is interpreted as a fusiform shape) having a recycle unit (interpreted as the surface of the fusiform body, Fig. 2 of Morsi), and an anastomotic auxiliary removal aid 103 includes a hollow tube (Fig. 2, para. 0027, 0041 of Morsi), said anastomotic auxiliary removal aid 103 is used to remove the anastomotic auxiliary 113 from the first and the second ends of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (para. 0043-0044 of Morsi).
However, Morsi fails to disclose the anastomotic auxiliary comprises a tear line extending spirally on the fusiform body, wherein pulling the recycle unit causes the fusiform body to gradually turn into a linear body, and the anastomotic auxiliary removal aid comprises a removal device provided inside the hollow tube, and said removal device is attached to the anastomotic auxiliary.
Chin in the same field of endeavor teaches an anastomosis set (Figs. 6-9, para. 0023, 0026) comprising an anastomotic auxiliary 29 (Figs. 7-9, 17, para. 0026) comprising a recycle unit 29' and a tear line extending spirally on the fusiform body (Figs. 12, 17, para. 0028, 0030), wherein pulling the recycle unit 29’ causes a body of the anastomotic auxiliary 29 to gradually turn into a linear body (Figs. 12, 17, para. 0028, 0030) and an anastomotic auxiliary removal aid 43, 45 (Figs. 10-12, 18, para. 0030), said anastomotic auxiliary removal aid 43, 45 is used to remove the anastomotic auxiliary 29 from the first and the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (para. 0030); the anastomotic auxiliary removal aid 43, 45 includes a hollow tube 43 and a removal device 45 provided inside the hollow tube (Figs. 10-12, 18, para. 0030), and said removal device is attached to the anastomotic auxiliary (Figs. 10-12, 18, para. 0030).
The substitution of one known anastomotic auxiliary and anastomotic auxiliary removal aid (anastomotic auxiliary having the tear line and anastomotic auxiliary removal aid comprising the hollow tube and the removal device disposed within the hollow tube as shown in Chin) for another (inflatable anastomotic auxiliary and the anastomotic auxiliary removal aid comprising the hollow tube as shown in Morsi) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the anastomotic auxiliary and anastomotic auxiliary removal aid shown in Chin would have yielded predictable results, namely, an alternative way to support the first and second blood vessels to be anastomosed via. the anastomotic auxiliary of Chin to allow the fusiform body of the anastomotic auxiliary to disassemble for convenient removal as a continuous strand (para. 0030 of Chin) via. the anastomotic auxiliary removal aid of Chin, thereby minimizing additional trauma or complication of the surgical procedure (para. 0034 of Chin).
Regarding claim 12, modified Morsi discloses wherein the fusiform body is not completely separated at the tear line (The examiner notes that during the initial stages of unraveling of the anastomotic auxiliary along the tear line, a portion of the anastomotic auxiliary is not completely separated at the tear line; Fig. 12, para. 0030 of Chin), wherein the fusiform body maintains a tubular shape before pulling the recycle unit (Chin discloses that the anastomotic auxiliary maintains its shape before pulling the recycle unit; Figs. 4-9, 12, 17, para. 0026, 0030; Fig. 2, para. 0031-0032 of Morsi discloses that the anastomotic auxiliary has a tubular shape).
Regarding claim 13, modified Morsi discloses wherein the fusiform body is completely separated at the tear line (Fig. 12, para. 0030 of Chin), wherein the fusiform body maintains a tubular shape before pulling the recycle unit (Chin discloses that the anastomotic auxiliary maintains its shape before pulling the recycle unit (see Figs. 4-9, 12, 17, para. 0026, 0030 of Chin); Fig. 2, para. 0031-0032 of Morsi discloses that the anastomotic auxiliary has a tubular shape).
Regarding claim 14, modified Morsi discloses wherein pulling one end of the removal device 45, will retract the anastomotic auxiliary within the hollow tube 43 (Figs. 10-12, 18, para. 0030 of Chin).
Regarding claim 15, modified Morsi discloses wherein:
the anastomotic auxiliary 29 is resilient (para. 0024, 0027 of Chin) and has a constrained diameter when the anastomotic auxiliary is situated within the hollow tube (Figs. 10-12, para. 0030-0031 of Chin), the anastomotic auxiliary expands to an unconstrained diameter which is larger than the constrained diameter when the anastomotic auxiliary is removed from the hollow tube (Figs. 7-11, para. 0026, 0028 of Chin).
Claim(s) 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a variant interpretation of Morsi (US 20090254101) in view of Arroyo (US 4630608).
Regarding claim 1, Morsi discloses an anastomosis set (Figs. 1-3, para. 0027) for anastomosing a first end of a blood vessel to be anastomosed with a second end of a blood vessel to be anastomosed (Fig. 4, para. 0027, 0039), said anastomosis set comprising:
an anastomosis mechanism (interpreted as surgical clips 115) including a first anastomotic mechanism 120 and a second anastomotic mechanism 121, wherein the first anastomotic mechanism includes a pin which couples with the second anastomotic mechanism (Figs. 7B-10B, para. 0038);
an anastomotic auxiliary 113 having a first embedding end and a second embedding end (see annotated Fig. 5 above); wherein the first embedding end is configured to embed into the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (Fig. 5, para. 0033), and the second embedding end is configured to embed into the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed (Fig. 5, para. 0033).
However, Morsi fails to disclose a first manipulator, with a first telescoping part at a distal end thereof, the first telescoping part is used for telescoping toward the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed; the first telescoping part comprising a first telescoping part half and a second telescoping part half, the first telescoping part half and a second telescoping part half cooperatively defining a semi-circle with a first exit part defined as a gap between the first telescoping part half and the second telescoping part half; a second manipulator, with a second telescoping part at a distal end thereof, the second telescoping part is used for telescoping toward the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed; the second telescoping part comprising a third telescoping part half and a fourth telescoping part half, the third telescoping part half and a fourth telescoping part half cooperatively defining a semi-circle with a second exit part defined as a gap between the third telescoping part half and the fourth telescoping part half; wherein the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed is folded toward the first telescoping part, the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed is folded toward the second telescoping part.
Arroyo in the same field of endeavor of anastomosis sets 10 (Fig. 1, col. 3 lines 28-35) teaches a first manipulator 30 (Fig. 1, col. 4 lines 3-6), with a first telescoping part 33 at a distal end thereof (Figs. 1-2, 4, col. 4 lines 7-14), the first telescoping part 33 is used for telescoping toward a first end of a blood vessel 12 to be anastomosed (Figs. 1-2, col. 4 lines 7-14);
the first telescoping part 33 comprising a first telescoping part 33’ and a second telescoping part half 33” (Fig. 4, col. 4 lines 20-29), the first telescoping part half 33’ and a second telescoping part half 33” cooperatively defining a semi-circle (see Fig. 4 which illustrates the first and second telescoping part halves 33’, 33” cooperatively defining an incomplete circle; The examiner notes that the “semi-circle” defined by the instant applications first and second telescoping part halves in the elected embodiment of Figs. 1A-B, define an incomplete circle and not the plain definition of semi-circle i.e. a half circle) with a first exit part defined as a gap (see small gap between the first and second telescoping part halves 33’, 33” in Fig, 4) between the first telescoping part half and the second telescoping part half (Fig. 4, col. 4 lines 7-14 and lines 39-47);
a second manipulator 32 (Fig. 1, col. 4 lines 3-6), with a second telescoping part 34 at a distal end thereof (Fig. 1, col. 4 lines 20-29), the second telescoping part is used for telescoping toward the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed; the second telescoping part 34 comprising a third telescoping part 33’ and a fourth telescoping part half 33” (Figs. 1, 4, col. 4 lines 20-29), the third telescoping part half 33’ and a fourth telescoping part half 33” cooperatively defining a semi-circle (see Fig. 4 which illustrates the second and third telescoping part halves 33’, 33” cooperatively defining an incomplete circle; The examiner notes that the “semi-circle” defined by the instant applications third and fourth telescoping part halves in the elected embodiment of Figs. 1A-B, define an incomplete circle and not the plain definition of semi-circle i.e. a half circle) with a second exit part defined as a gap (see small gap between the first and second telescoping part halves 33’, 33” in Fig, 4) between the third telescoping part half and the fourth telescoping part half (Fig. 4, col. 4 lines 7-14 and lines 39-47);
wherein the first end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed is folded toward the first telescoping part, the second end of the blood vessel to be anastomosed is folded toward the second telescoping part (see note above in regards to functional language; The examiner notes that since Arroyo references teaches the structure i.e. first and second telescoping parts to necessitate the functional language, Arroyo meets the limitation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anastomosis set in Morsi to include the first and second manipulators comprising first and second telescoping parts at their distal ends as taught by Arroyo in order to provide additional vessel stabilization during anastomosis (col. 2 lines 44-46 and col. 4 lines 3-14 of Arroyo)
Regarding claim 16, modified Morsi discloses wherein: said first manipulator 30 includes a first joint part 39 (Figs. 1-2, col. 4 lines 22-29 of Arroyo); said second manipulator 32 includes a second joint part 39 (Figs. 1-2, col. 4 lines 22-29 of Arroyo); and at least one of said first joint part and said second joint part are attached to an anastomotic device 50 in a manner permitting relative movement between the second joint part and the anastomotic device 50 (Figs. 1-2, col. 5 lines 17-24 of Arroyo).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN DUBOSE/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 /KATHERINE H SCHWIKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771