DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, 4, and dependent claims thereof, including claims 23-25, step (b) is optional and is not required step to meet the limitations of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, 11, 15, 21, and dependent claims thereof, optional elements (e.g., “where the poly(A) tail of the mRNA is selectively acylated”) are not required to meet the limitations of the claimed invention.
Regarding the clause “wherein at least…after step (a)” in claims 18-20 and “wherein the acylation…a cell environment” in claim 26, claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. A “wherein” clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP 2111.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The clause “wherein R is selected from…and
” renders the claim indefinite as claim 1 does not recite a structure containing a variable R. Thus, it would have been unclear to one of ordinary skill if applicant intends for the invention to be limited by a structure containing variable R.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 15, 18, 20-21, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velema, Willem A., and Eric T. Kool. "The chemistry and applications of RNA 2′-OH acylation." Nature Reviews Chemistry 4.1 (2020): 22-37 (Velema).
Velema teaches that the direct functionalization of RNA by selective acylation of the 2′-hydroxyl (2′-OH) group has emerged as a powerful alternative that enables the simple modification of both synthetic and transcribed RNAs (Abstract). Velema teaches the chemical properties and design of effective reagents for RNA 2′-OH acylation, highlighting the unique problem of 2′-OH reactivity in the presence of water. Velema teaches that the concept of reversible acylation opens up multiple opportunities in application (page 18). For example, the resurgence of RNA as pharmacotherapy has led to increased efforts in the discovery of new technologies for intracellular delivery. The possibility of covalently attaching delivery and targeting scaffolds to RNA through 2′-OH acylation is a potentially attractive strategy to enhance cellular uptake of RNA. The combination of reversible acylation with existing technologies that rely on RNA activity are likely to become powerful methods for biological studies. For example, chemically or optically reversible acylation might serve as a general system to gain temporal control over RNA folding and function. Velema discloses, as RNA is highly soluble in water and poorly soluble in most organic solvents, the majority of acylating reactions are performed under aqueous conditions (page 4). Thus, water is assumed to be the de facto solvent in the Review, unless otherwise stated. Velema further discloses a scheme of the RNA acylation and phosphine-mediated deacylation reaction (Fig. 7a, page 33).
Thus, Velema teaches a method comprising a) contacting RNA with an imidazole (e.g.,
) in an aqueous solution. Velema teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 1-3, 15, 18, 20-21, and 23-26 are anticipated.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-15, 18-21, and 23-26 are pending. Claims 1-3, 15, 18, 20-21, and 23-26 are rejected. Claims 8, 10-11, 13-14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 4 and 6-7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Velema, Willem A., and Eric T. Kool. "The chemistry and applications of RNA 2′-OH acylation." Nature Reviews Chemistry 4.1 (2020): 22-37 (Velema) is representative of prior art. Velema does not teach or suggest a method comprising contacting RNA with a sulfonylation agent.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/