DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-13, 15, 17-20, 25, 26, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MANDROUX ET AL. (US 20150009779 A1) (hereinafter “MANDROUX”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, 19, MANDROUX teaches Method and system for improving offset/azimuth distribution and the BRI of:
performing a marine seismic survey,
comprising:
towing a first streamer spread and a first source behind a first vessel, wherein streamers in the streamer spread comprise sensors disposed at spaced apart intervals along their lengths, a length of a longest streamer in the streamer spread is equal to L, a minimum offset distance measured from the first source to a nearest sensor in the streamer spread is equal to X, and a maximum offset distance measured from the first source to a farthest sensor in the streamer spread is equal to X+L, such that sensors in the streamer spread record offsets from the first source over a range of distances X to X+L (See, e.g., claim 1, fig. 5, streamer vessel 202 with source 214 and streamer spread 212. par. 0034-0035 disclose a streamer length L of 10 km; there is a not further described distance X between source 214 and the streamers 212. This makes the offsets for the streamer vessel 202 X to X+L);
towing a second source behind a second vessel that does not tow a streamer spread (See, e.g., fig. 5: source vessel 208 ; see par. 0035: "Source vessels 208 and 210 (called herein "large offset front sources'');
sailing the second vessel relative to the first vessel such that an offset between the second source and a nearest sensor in the streamer spread is equal to A+L (See, e.g., par. 0034 and fig. 5: distance D3 ; par. 0034: "In one application, a distance D3 between (i) the large offset front sources 208a and 210a and (ii) the front sources 204a and 206a is in the order of kms, for example, 2 to 10 km. Of course, smaller or larger offsets are also possible depending on the characteristics of the survey."; par. 0035: "For this exemplary embodiment, the streamers 212 may be 10 km long"; The combined disclosure of par. 0034 and 0035 is that the distance between the source 208a and the streamer is at least the length of the streamer, 10 km, but that it can be more depending on the survey necessities. This means that an amount A is added, making the total distance between the source 208a and beginning of the streamer spread A+L.),
wherein
A is a positive number larger than an absolute value of X, such that sensors in the streamer spread record offsets from the second source over a range of distances A+L to A+2L (See, e.g., follows from fig. 5 and par. 0034-0035; Considering that x can be zero, the distance A that is the surplus offset on top of the streamer length.);
and
wherein
sensors in the streamer spread do not record offsets over a range of distances X+L to A+L from any active seismic sources used in the marine seismic survey (See, e.g., follows from fig. 5 and par. 0034-0035 ; As soon as the source vessel with the second source is sailing at a distance from the streamer spread greater than the length of the streamer there will be a gap in offset coverage corresponding to the surplus distance A.).
With respect to Claim(s) 18, MANDROUX teaches Method and system for improving offset/azimuth distribution and the BRI of:
manufacturing a geophysical data product,
comprising:
comprising:
towing a first streamer spread and a first source behind a first vessel, wherein streamers in the streamer spread comprise sensors disposed at spaced apart intervals along their lengths, a length of a longest streamer in the streamer spread is equal to L, a minimum offset distance measured from the first source to a nearest sensor in the streamer spread is equal to X, and a maximum offset distance measured from the first source to a farthest sensor in the streamer spread is equal to X+L, such that sensors in the streamer spread record offsets from the first source over a range of distances X to X+L (See, e.g., claim 1, fig. 5, streamer vessel 202 with source 214 and streamer spread 212. par. 0034-0035 disclose a streamer length L of 10 km; there is a not further described distance X between source 214 and the streamers 212. This makes the offsets for the streamer vessel 202 X to X+L);
towing a second source behind a second vessel that does not tow a streamer spread (See, e.g., fig. 5: source vessel 208 ; see par. 0035: "Source vessels 208 and 210 (called herein "large offset front sources'');
sailing the second vessel relative to the first vessel such that an offset between the second source and a nearest sensor in the streamer spread is equal to A+L (See, e.g., par. 0034 and fig. 5: distance D3 ; par. 0034: "In one application, a distance D3 between (i) the large offset front sources 208a and 210a and (ii) the front sources 204a and 206a is in the order of kms, for example, 2 to 10 km. Of course, smaller or larger offsets are also possible depending on the characteristics of the survey."; par. 0035: "For this exemplary embodiment, the streamers 212 may be 10 km long"; The combined disclosure of par. 0034 and 0035 is that the distance between the source 208a and the streamer is at least the length of the streamer, 10 km, but that it can be more depending on the survey necessities. This means that an amount A is added, making the total distance between the source 208a and beginning of the streamer spread A+L.),
wherein
A is a positive number larger than an absolute value of X, such that sensors in the streamer spread record offsets from the second source over a range of distances A+L to A+2L (See, e.g., follows from fig. 5 and par. 0034-0035; Considering that x can be zero, the distance A that is the surplus offset on top of the streamer length.);
and
wherein
sensors in the streamer spread do not record offsets over a range of distances X+L to A+L from any active seismic sources used in the marine seismic survey (See, e.g., follows from fig. 5 and par. 0034-0035 ; As soon as the source vessel with the second source is sailing at a distance from the streamer spread greater than the length of the streamer there will be a gap in offset coverage corresponding to the surplus distance A.);
and
recording signals derived from the sensors, or representations thereof, in a non-transitory computer readable medium (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7, 8),
thereby
completing the manufacture of the geophysical data product (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7, 8).
With respect to Claim(s) 28, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising:
recording signals derived from the sensors in the or another non-transitory computer readable media (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7, 8),
thereby
completing the manufacture of a geophysical data product (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7, 8).
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 20, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
A is greater than or equal to 2 km (See, e.g., par. 0034 describes that the distance D3 is in the order of kilometres up to the length of the streamer or longer. The skilled person will therefore also pick the surplus distance A that is added to the streamer length as surplus offset within the order of kilometres).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, 25, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising:
varying the distance A during the marine seismic survey based on real-time analysis of signals recorded by the sensors in the streamer spread (See, e.g., par. 0035: "Of course, smaller or larger offsets are also possible depending on the characteristics of the survey.").
With respect to Claim(s) 10, 26, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising:
varying the distance A during the marine seismic survey based on one or more of: changes in target depths, thickness of geological structures, acoustic parameters, and water depth (See, e.g., par. 0035: "Of course, smaller or larger offsets are also possible depending on the characteristics of the survey.").
With respect to Claim(s) 11, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
the second vessel sails ahead of the first vessel during the marine seismic survey (See, e.g., fig. 5).
With respect to Claim(s) 12, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
the second vessel sails aft of the first vessel during the marine seismic survey (See, e.g., fig. 2, source vessels 106 and 110).
With respect to Claim(s) 13, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
the second vessel does not sail inline with the first vessel (See, e.g., fig. 5).
With respect to Claim(s) 15, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
X is a positive number, such that the first source is towed ahead of a lead end of the first streamer spread (See, e.g., fig. 5).
With respect to Claim(s) 17, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
the offsets are inline offsets (See, e.g., fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of STRAND (US 20210048545 A1).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX teaches the BRI of:
the first source and the second source.
However, MANDROUX is lacking the explicit language of:
a broadband seismic source; a low-frequency seismic source.
STRAND teaches a method and apparatus for marine surveying and the BRI of:
a broadband seismic source; a low-frequency seismic source (See, e.g., Para 0038)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify MANDROUX to include a broadband seismic source; a low-frequency seismic source.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify MANDROUX because it would be beneficial to improve surveying. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4, 16, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of ELBOTH ET AL. (US 20200012004 A1) (hereinafter “ELBOTH”).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 21, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
However, MANDROUX is lacking the explicit language of:
using signals recorded by the sensors from the second source for full-wave inversion or velocity model building; and using signals recorded by the sensors from the first source for imaging geological features of a subsurface.
ELBOTH teaches a seismic data acquisition system and the BRI of:
using signals recorded by the sensors from the second source for full-wave inversion or velocity model building; and using signals recorded by the sensors from the first source for imaging geological features of a subsurface (See, e.g., 0057).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify MANDROUX to include using signals recorded by the sensors from the second source for full-wave inversion or velocity model building; and using signals recorded by the sensors from the first source for imaging geological features of a subsurface.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify MANDROUX because it would be beneficial to improve seismic data acquisition. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 16, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
However, MANDROUX is lacking the explicit language of:
wherein: X is a number in the range 0 to -L, inclusive, such that the first source is towed at or between a lead end of the first streamer spread and a tail end of the first streamer spread.
ELBOTH teaches a seismic data acquisition system and the BRI of:
wherein: X is a number in the range 0 to -L, inclusive, such that the first source is towed at or between a lead end of the first streamer spread and a tail end of the first streamer spread. (See, e.g., claim 1: "a set of top sources that are positioned on top of the streamer spread, along a horizontal direction that is perpendicular to the inline direction X").
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify MANDROUX to include wherein: X is a number in the range 0 to -L, inclusive, such that the first source is towed at or between a lead end of the first streamer spread and a tail end of the first streamer spread.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify MANDROUX because it would be beneficial to improve seismic data acquisition. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 14, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of SVAY ET AL. (WO 2018/229553 Al) (hereinafter “SVAY”).
With respect to Claim(s) 14, 27, MANDROUX teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MANDROUX further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the second vessel sails relative to the first vessel such that an offset between the second source and a nearest sensor in the composite streamer spread is equal to A+2L, such that sensors in the composite streamer spread record offsets from the second source over a range of distances A+2L to A+4L (See, e.g., par. 0034 and fig. 5: distance D3 ; par. 0034: "In one application, a distance D3 between (i) the large offset front sources 208a and 210a and (ii) the front sources 204a and 206a is in the order of kms, for example, 2 to 10 km. Of course, smaller or larger offsets are also possible depending on the characteristics of the survey."; par. 0035: "For this exemplary embodiment, the streamers 212 may be 10 km long"; The combined disclosure of par. 0034 and 0035 is that the distance between the source 208a and the streamer is at least the length of the streamer, 10 km, but that it can be more depending on the survey necessities. This means that an amount A is added, making the total distance between the source 208a and beginning of the streamer spread A+L.);
and
wherein
sensors in the composite streamer spread do not record offsets over a range of distances X+2L to A+2L from any active seismic sources used in the marine seismic survey (See, e.g., follows from fig. 5 and par. 0034-0035 ; As soon as the source vessel with the second source is sailing at a distance from the streamer spread greater than the length of the streamer there will be a gap in offset coverage corresponding to the surplus distance A.).
However, MANDROUX is lacking the explicit language of:
using a third vessel to tow a second streamer spread behind the first streamer spread to form a composite streamer spread having a length equal to 2L, wherein streamers in the second streamer spread comprise sensors disposed at spaced apart intervals along their lengths, and the third vessel does not tow a source, such that sensors in the composite streamer spread record offsets from the first source over a range of distances X to X+2L.
SVAY teaches a method for generating an enhanced offset/azimuth distribution and the BRI of:
using a third vessel to tow a second streamer spread behind the first streamer spread to form a composite streamer spread having a length equal to 2L, wherein streamers in the second streamer spread comprise sensors disposed at spaced apart intervals along their lengths, and the third vessel does not tow a source, such that sensors in the composite streamer spread record offsets from the first source over a range of distances X to X+2L (See, e.g., fig. 14, steamers 1002B and 1006B).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify MANDROUX to include using a third vessel to tow a second streamer spread behind the first streamer spread to form a composite streamer spread having a length equal to 2L, wherein streamers in the second streamer spread comprise sensors disposed at spaced apart intervals along their lengths, and the third vessel does not tow a source, such that sensors in the composite streamer spread record offsets from the first source over a range of distances X to X+2L.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify MANDROUX because it would be beneficial to generate an enhanced offset/azimuth distribution. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter (over prior art)
Claim(s) 5-8, 22-24 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter over prior art:
Examiner’s closest prior art to the claimed subject matter:
See cited references above.
None of the cited prior art alone or in combination provides motivation to explicitly teach:
further comprising:
performing a pilot survey prior to performing the marine seismic survey,
wherein
the pilot survey comprises
a pilot source
and
a pilot sensor;
and
wherein
the distance A used in the marine seismic survey corresponds to a length of a shadow zone measured by the pilot survey,
where
the shadow zone is a distance over which substantially no reflected energy and substantially no refracted energy was received from the pilot source by the pilot sensor during the pilot survey from target depths associated with the pilot survey
of claim(s) 5, 22 (including dependent claim(s)).
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit