DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 5/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the additional of the claim limitation “electronic” user device overcomes the 101 rejections because the claims can no longer be performed using pencil and paper. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that as stated in the previous Office Action, even if an electronic device was claimed, the Alice case law (as well as the case law Applicant has cited, which is addressed below) states that claims cannot recite a generic computer device to perform the abstract idea.
The Alice case law has been applied to the claims. In regards to step 2A, the claims are clearly focused on an abstract idea process. Applicant argues that the Examiner has not detailed how the claims are directed to an abstract idea. The Examiner notes that the claims are directed to a well-known pay-it-forward environment. For example, using the popular DVD rental service Redbox, a popular pay-it-forward technique was implemented where a user would return a DVD to a kiosk, but place cash in the returned DVD. The cash could be used to pay (in full or in part) for the next user’s rental of the DVD, which will be placed in a user device (a DVD player). The next user could perform the same good deed, which would notify that another user paid for the next user’s rental and therefore the pay-it-forward process would continue. The notification would serve to promote a third user to keep the process going. Therefore, in regards to step 2A, the abstract idea process has been identified (further note www.penbaypilot.com/article/paying-it-forward-through-redbox-rental/97688).
In regards to step 2B, the claims are further analyzed to determine if the claim includes additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims at issue do not require any non-conventional computer, network, or display components, or event a “non-convention and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces,” but merely call for performance of the claimed process “on a set of generic computer components” (see Bascom, 2016 WL 3514158, at *6-7).
Applicant references the Broadband iTV, Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc. case law and notes that using electronic devices to enable users to pay for future users to view content, is not “a longstanding or fundamental human practice”. The Examiner notes that the decision in this case law was that the claims were patent ineligible under the Alice case law because the claims do not include “significantly more” than the abstract idea. The Examiner further notes that claims in the ‘825 patent contains significantly longer claims reciting an “Internet-connected digital device”, a “Web-based content management system” and a “content provider device” and even further displays received information and the claim was still found patent ineligible.
Applicant also references the DDR Holdings case law, which while was ruled patent eligible, contains not only multiple components (computer store, computer server, outsource provider, computer server and web browser), but the communication (using the Internet) between these components after activation of a link. Simply claiming an electronic device does not rise to the level of the claim limitations found in the DDR Holdings case law.
Therefore, the 101 rejection stands (see below).
In regards to the 112b rejection, Applicant argues not it is not “unclear” which portions of the claim are being referenced. The Examiner an ellipse does not indicate whether a portion or the entirety of the claim is being referenced. While Applicant simply states that it is not “unclear”, the Examiner notes that an argument by the applicant is not evidence. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicant argues that Seok does not disclose a payment from a paying user for a future-consuming user to consume media content “wherein the identity of the future-consuming user is unknown to the paying user at the time the payment is received from the paying user”. The Examiner notes that a 103 rejection has been applied and Applicant is arguing that a portion of this claim limitation is not taught by Seok, while the 103 rejection uses the Walker prior art reference to teach this limitation. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant further argues that the examiner fails to provide a rationale for combining Young with Seok. The Examiner has applied a Graham v. Deere analysis to prove an obvious rationale. Motivation has been gleaned directly from the Young reference. In regards to Applicant’s argument that “by this rationale every combination that results in an improvement would be obvious”, the Examiner again notes that Applicant/Attorney arguments are not evidence and merely state opinion. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicant further argues that Walker does not disclose that the “identity of the future-consuming user is unknown to the paying user at the time the payment is received from the paying user” because the group of users are “associated with a registered User Device which strongly suggests that the group of users does know the identity. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Applicant’s opinion that an association with a registered user device strongly suggests that a group of users knows the identity is not evidence that a central common fund that is contributed to by a group of users is knowledge of a receiving user knowing which individual user contributed to the common fund. The Examiner again notes that Applicant/Attorney arguments are not evidence and merely state opinion. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicant further argues that the examiner fails to provide a rationale for combining Walker with Seok. The Examiner has applied a Graham v. Deere analysis (not a KSR analysis as argued by Applicant) to prove an obvious rationale. Motivation has been gleaned directly from the Walker reference. The motivation states that the contributions benefit the viewing user, which indicates motivation why the teachings of Walker would be used by Seok.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites presentation of media content to a user device and presenting a notification that another user has purchased the media content that the was presented to the user device. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims can be accomplished using pencil and paper. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims can be performed using pencil and paper (abstract idea).
Claims 1-5 are directed to presenting information (see Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alston S.A., Alstom Grid INC., Psymetrix LTD., Alstom Limited, 2015-1778). In regards to step 2A, the claims are clearly focused on the combination of those abstract-idea processes. The advance they purport to make is a process of presenting information of a specified content and not any particular assuredly inventive technology directed to an abstract idea. The claims limitations can be performed using pencil and paper (see in re Bilski).
In regards to step 2B, the claims further do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not go beyond requiring the presenting information in a particular filed, stating those functions in general terms, without limiting them to technical means for performing the functions that are arguably an advance over conventional computer and network technology. Limiting the claims to the particular technological environment of data collection and processing, without more, insufficient to transform them into patent-eligible applications of the abstract idea at their core (see Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358; Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294; Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593). Merely presenting information does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from § 101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas.
Inquiry then must turn to any requirements for how the desired result is achieved. In the instant application, the claims' invocation of a user device does not transform the claimed subject matter into patent-eligible applications. The claims at issue do not require any non-conventional computer, network, or display components, or even a “non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces,” but merely call for performance of the claimed information presentation functions “on a set of generic computer components” and user device (Bascom, 2016 WL 3514158, at *6-7). The Examiner further notes the rebuttal above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “receiving…” in claim 3 is unclear which portions of the claim are being referenced.
Referring to claims 4-5, see the rejection of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0197523) in view of Young (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0184528) in further view of Walker et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0264768).
Referring to claim 1, Seok discloses receiving, from a paying user, a payment for a then-unidentified future-consuming user to consume media content (see Paragraph 0029 for designating a second user device to receive media content paid for by the first user device).
Seok also discloses presenting the media content to an electronic user device associated with the future consuming user (see the providing step in claim 1).
Seok also discloses presenting, in conjunction with the media content, a notification that the presentation of the media content, associated with the future-consuming user, as paid for (see the bottom of Paragraph 0034).
Seok fails to teach that the notification indicates that another individual or user paid in whole or in part for the content.
Young discloses a gift system that sends a notification, to a user that receives the gift, indicating which user provided the gift (see Paragraph 0017).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the notification, as taught by Seok, to include the information of the purchasing user, for the purpose of allowing the user who received the gift to send a thank you to the user who purchased the gift (see Paragraph 0017 of Young).
Seok and Young fail to teach that the identity of the future-consuming user is unknown to the paying user at the time the payment is received from the paying user.
Walker discloses a collective payment system that lets users in a group to contribute money into a common fund that is used to pay for the group’s content, therefore the identity of the user that will later use the common fund to receive content for free is unknown to the user contributing to the common fund (see Paragraph 0140).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the notification, as taught by Seok and Young, to include the collective payment system, for the purpose of allowing contributing users to contribute content for the benefit of a viewing user (see Paragraph 0037).
Claim 2 corresponds to claim 1, Young discloses that the notification that another individual or user paid in whole or in part comprises a notification that the playing user paid in whole or in part (see Paragraph 0017).
Claim 3 corresponds to claim 1, wherein Walker discloses that prior to the receiving step, presenting the media content to the paying user (see Paragraphs 0022 and 0034 for the user device also being capable of viewing requested content and Paragraph 0064 for sharing content with family and friends).
Claims 4 and 5 correspond to claim 1, wherein Walker discloses that the receiving step comprises receiving, from a paying user, a payment for at least two or ten future consuming users are unknown to the paying user at the time the payment is received from the paying user (see the rejection of claim 1 and further note that a group of users contribute to the collective fund, wherein a group is defined as two or more users).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
August 19, 2026