DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-20 and 39-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected claim group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/20/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25 and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo KR20020096596 (English translation provided).
Regarding claim 21, Yoo teaches an air purifier unit for use in an air purifier, the air purifier comprising (Figures 1 and 2):
a) a housing 110 comprising an intake opening 113 for an inflow of air and an output opening for an outflow of air 111;
b) a fan 150 and a motor 145 for rotating the fan;
c) a sleeve 112 configured to at least partially surround the fan and/or the motor;
d) a retainer assembly as parts 141 and 143 that are configured to retain the air purifier unit in an installed position in the housing with respect to the sleeve, the retainer assembly comprising:
Figure 2 shows the air purifying unit 121 that is held secure and the ends of the cylinder by retainers 141 and 143 and guide 146
a retainer 141 and an actuator 143 operatively associated with the retainer, wherein movement of the actuator from a first position (Figure 5) to a second position (Figure 4) moves the retainer to securely retain the air purifier unit 121 in the housing (page 3 5th paragraph);
the housing 110 of the air purifier further comprising a guide 146 located opposite said sleeve and configured to enable the air purifier unit 121 to slide into the housing and into the installed position before actuating the actuator to securely retain the air purifier unit, the guide having a pair of end portions for coupling to the housing fastenings 145 (page 3, 5th paragraph);
e) the air purifier unit comprising:
Figure 3 of Yoo showing the left side of 121 is the first end cap and right side is the second end cap
an air purifying component 121 configured to be mounted in the housing 110 for purifying air flowing through the housing through inlet 113 to outlet 111;
first and second end caps on opposing first and second ends, respectively, of the air purifying component (ends of the cylinder part 121);
the first end cap (left side of Figure 3) having a pair of end portions configured to slidably engage with the end portions of the guide 146 via bearings 142 for the guiding of the air purifier unit into the installed position as shown in Figure 4 and 5;
the second end cap (right side of Figure 3) being configured to engage with the retainer 141 of the retainer assembly (considered as parts 141 and 143) in the second position thereof for operatively coupling the second end cap to the sleeve (See fitting engagement in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 22, the guide 146 of the air purifier 121 with which the air purifier unit is to be used has linear said end portions for guiding the air purifier unit as it slides into position with respect to the sleeve 112, said air purifier unit being further characterized in that the pair of end portions of the first end cap are linear (See Figures 4 and 5 showing the end portions of the air purifier 121 is linear with the guide 146).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Figures 2 and 3 show the end portions of the first end cap have flat surfaces for the slidable engagement and the air purifying component 121 is cylindrical.
Regarding claim 25, the outmost housing comprises grates at the intake 113 that act as a filter toward larger particles and the inner air purifier comprises HEPA filters for removing fine particles (page 2 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 30, Yoo teaches an air purifier unit for use in an air purifier, the air purifier comprising (Figures 1 and 2):
a) a housing 110 comprising an intake opening 113 for an inflow of air and an output opening for an outflow of air 111;
b) a fan 150 and a motor 145 for rotating the fan;
c) the housing of the air purifier 121 further comprising a guide 146 located opposite said fan 150 and configured to enable the air purifier unit to slide into the housing and into the installed position (page 3, 5th paragraph), said air purifier unit being further characterized in that the pair of end portions of the first end cap are linear (See Figures 4 and 5 showing the end portions of the air purifier 121 is linear with the guide 146);
d) the air purifier unit comprising:
an air purifying component 121 configured to be mounted in the housing 110 for purifying air flowing through the housing through inlet 113 to outlet 111;
first and second end caps on opposing first and second ends, respectively, of the air purifying component (ends of the cylinder part 121);
the first end cap (left side of Figure 3) having a pair of end portions configured to slidably engage with the end portions of the guide 146 via bearings 142 for the guiding of the air purifier unit into the installed position as shown in Figure 4 and 5;
the second end cap (right side of Figure 3) being configured to engage with the retainer 141 of the retainer assembly (considered as parts 141 and 143) in the second position thereof for operatively coupling the second end cap to the sleeve (See fitting engagement in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 31, the guide 146 of the air purifier 121 with which the air purifier unit is to be used has linear said end portions for guiding the air purifier unit as it slides into position with respect to the sleeve 112, said air purifier unit being further characterized in that the pair of end portions of the first end cap are linear (See Figures 4 and 5 showing the end portions of the air purifier 121 is linear with the guide 146).
Regarding claims 32 and 33, Figures 2 and 3 show the end portions of the first end cap have flat surfaces for the slidable engagement and the air purifying component 121 is cylindrical and tubular.
Regarding claim 34, the outmost housing comprises grates at the intake 113 that act as a filter toward larger particles and the inner air purifier comprises HEPA filters for removing fine particles (page 2 1st paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-29 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo KR20020096596 (English translation provided) in view of Gale et al. US Publication 2023/0065961.
Regarding claims 26, 27, 35 and 36, Yoo does not explicitly teach the air purifying component comprises an innermost carbon or activated carbon filter for removal of third sized particles that are different sized than the first and second sized particles and a first end of the carbon filter includes a first mating portion configured to engage with a second mating portion on a first end of the HEPA filter so as to removably connect the HEPA filter and the carbon filter.
However, Gale teaches that a room air purifier comprising a layered sorbent filter of activated carbon and HEPA in combination ([0043]-[0045]) and means to lock and hold the filters together (Figure 6 and [0045]). The two types of filters are used to capture fine particles and also absorb formaldehyde. The layers can be held with gaskets 81 and 84 thus holding the carbon and HEPA filters ([0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yoo with the combination HEPA and activated carbon filter in Gale to purify the air from fine particles and formaldehydes. Further, it would have been obvious to include securing means to connect the HEPA and carbon filters to be removed and replaced easily.
Regarding claims 28 and 37, Yoo does not explicitly disclose plastic materials for the end caps. However, Gale teaches that molded plastic materials are commonly used in the filter apparatuses. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use known materials such as plastic for the endcaps because plastic is widely used for its flexibility, inexpensive cost, lightweight, and heat/electrical resistance.
Regarding claims 29 and 38, the outmost housing comprises pre-filter grates at the intake 113 that act as a filter toward larger particles and the inner air purifier comprises HEPA filters for removing fine particles (page 2 1st paragraph) wherein the pre-filter grates of the housing surround the HEPA filter. Yoo does not explicitly teach a carbon filter in combination with the HEPA filter, but Gale above discloses a combination HEPA and carbon adsorbent filter to remove particles and formaldehydes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yoo with the combination HEPA and activated carbon filter in Gale to purify the air from fine particles and formaldehydes. Thus, the pre-filter housing grates in Yoo would surround the combination HEPA and carbon filters.
Conclusion
/SHARON PREGLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772