DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The element “base” is numbered incorrectly in the specification (as 1739 rather than 1729). See, e.g., p. 70.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldberg et al. (US 20100225209 A1, 2010-09-09) (hereinafter “Goldberg”).
Regarding claim 1, Goldberg teaches a control console (e.g., 150, Fig. 3A) for control of a bidirectional medical surgical device (e.g., 152, Fig. 2A) comprising: a. a control console base (e.g., comprising 318, Fig. 3A); b. an input arm (e.g., 352, Fig. 3B; 925, Fig. 9) attached to said control console base, said input arm comprising a first configuration and a second configuration; said input arm comprising: i. a support (e.g., 314, Figs. 3A, 9) coupled to said control console base; ii. a proximal end coupled to said support; iii. a distal end; iv. a handle section (e.g., 325, Fig. 3B) at said distal end and configured for being held by a user; v. an articulated controller portion constituted by a two or more sections sequentially coupled by input arm joints as depicted in Fig. 3B), extending from said proximal end and terminating at said distal end; wherein in said first configuration an imaginary line extending from the proximal end to the distal end points in a first direction in relation to a user, while in said second configuration said imaginary line points in a second direction in relation to a user (construed as imaginary lines for different articulations or orientations of the controller arm linkages) (as recited in claim 1); wherein the controller is designed such that transition from said first configuration to said second configuration and vice versa is possible while keeping said handle section in a same orientation in relation to said user (e.g., construed as varying orientation of some proximal joint while maintaining orientation of distal joint) (as recited in claim 2); wherein said second direction is opposite to said first direction (e.g., the term “opposite” construed as opposite with respect to a midpoint in the range of motion between the two different articulations) (as recited in claim 3); wherein said first direction is from said support towards said user (e.g., the term “from” implicates one of the three rotational axes that increases/decreases distance with respect to the support/user, as depicted in Figs. 3A, 3B, 9) (as recited in claim 4); wherein said second direction is from said support away from said user (e.g., the term “from” implicates one of the three rotational axes that increases/decreases distance with respect to the support/user, as depicted in Figs. 3A, 3B, 9) (as recited in claim 5); further comprising an armrest attached to said control console base (e.g., 314, Figs. 3A, 9) (as recited in claim 7); wherein said handle (e.g., 351, Fig.3B) extends proximally with respect to a most distal input arm section (e.g., 350A, Fig. 3B) (as recited in claim 8); wherein said handle (e.g., 351, Fig.3B) extends towards a most distal input arm joint (e.g., construed as the joint/hinge for 350A, Fig. 3B) (as recited in claim 9); wherein a long axis length of said handle (e.g., 351, Fig.3B) is 30-100% of a maximum length of said input arm (construed as the length along the G axis) (as recited in claim 10); comprising a first input arm (e.g., 925R) and a second input arm (e.g., 925L) coupled to said control base according to said input arm (as recited in claim 11); wherein said handle section (e.g., 351, Fig.3B) is sized and shaped to be held between a human adult's thumb and one or more finger, where a maximum dimension of said handle perpendicular to a handle long axis is 5mm-15mm and a long axis length of said handle is 20-200mm (as recited in claim 12); wherein one or more of said two or more sections are sized such that a user holding said handle is able to support one or more sections (e.g., 350A, Fig. 3B) with the user's palm of the hand holding said handle (e.g., 351, Fig.3B) (as recited in claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg.
Regarding claim 14, Goldberg teaches a control console (e.g., 150, Fig. 3A) for control of a bidirectional medical surgical device (e.g., 152, Fig. 2A), as discussed above. Goldberg does not teach a seat attached to said control console base. However, Goldberg teaches that the user is seated at the console. See, e.g., [0116]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Goldberg such that the invention further comprises a seat attached to said control console base in order to reduce the number of distinct equipment in the operating room, thereby simplifying equipment tracking. See also MPEP 2144.04(V)(A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed invention of control console according to claim 1, wherein passage from said first configuration to said second configuration and vice versa comprises rotating said support about 180 degrees along a longitudinal axis of said support.
For these reasons the claims are believed to be allowable over the art of record.
Conclusion
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792