DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (Patentscope English machine translation of KR 102031300 B1) in view of Fennimore (US 20170200893 A1).
Regarding claims 1-22, Shin teaches a compound for an organic optoelectronic device capable of implementing an organic optoelectronic device with high efficiency and long lifespan, a composition for an organic optoelectronic device including a compound for an organic optoelectronic device, an organic optoelectronic device including a compound for an organic optoelectronic device or a composition for an organic optoelectronic device, and a display device including an organic optoelectronic device (Shin, page 3). Shin also teaches that a compound for an organic optoelectronic device includes a first compound for an organic optoelectronic device and a second compound for an organic optoelectronic device, wherein the first compound for an organic optoelectronic device is represented by Chemical Formula 1, and the second compound for an organic optoelectronic device is represented by Chemical Formula 2 or a combination of Chemical Formula 3 and Chemical Formula 4 (Shin, page 4).
Shin teaches a composition for an organic optoelectronic device according to another embodiment may include a first compound for an organic optoelectronic device, and a second compound for an organic optoelectronic device, wherein the first compound for an organic optoelectronic device is represented by Chemical Formula 1, and the second compound for an organic optoelectronic device is represented by Chemical Formula 2 or by a combination of Chemical Formula 3 and Chemical Formula 4 (Shin, page 9). Shin also teaches the second compound for an organic optoelectronic device may be used in the light emitting layer together with the first compound for an organic optoelectronic device to increase mobility of charges and increase stability, thereby improving luminous efficiency and lifespan characteristics (Shin, page 10).
Shin teaches that according to another embodiment, an organic optoelectronic device includes a positive electrode and a negative electrode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein the organic layer includes a compound for an organic optoelectronic device or a composition for an organic optoelectronic device (Shin, page 5). Shin also teaches the organic layer, may include a light emitting layer, and the light emitting layer may include a compound for an organic optoelectronic device or a composition for an organic optoelectronic device (Shin, page 20).
Shin teaches compound A-1 (Shin, page 8), shown below, as a specific embodiment of Chemical Formula 1. Shin also teaches that in a device including a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, the hole/electron injection and movement are advantageous, and the electron cloud is effectively localized, thereby implementing a stable structure for both electrons and holes, and thus may have more advantageous properties for lifespan (Shin, page 7).
Compound A-1 of Shin, fails to include deuterium; however, Shin teaches that in compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 (shown below), R groups may each independently be deuterium (Shin, page 7).
Fennimore teaches deuterated materials can be less susceptible to degradation by holes, electrons, or excitons. Have a greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime compared to their non-deuterated analogs (Fennimore, page 5, paragraph 098). Fennimore also teaches deuterated materials may be 10% to 100% deuterated (Fennimore, page 5, paragraph 097).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it is 10% to 100% deuterated, to provide a compound that is less susceptible to degradation by holes, electron, or excitons, have a greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime, as taught by Fennimore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 1, modified compound A-1 reads on instant claim 1, wherein R1 to R4 and Ar1 to Ar4 may be hydrogen or deuterium, Ar5 is a C6 aryl group substituted or unsubstituted with deuterium, L1 is a biphenylene group substituted or unsubstituted with one or more deuterium, and m1 to m4 are each independently an integer of 1 to 4.
Per claim 2, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 2, wherein at least one of R1 and R2 in instant Chemical Formula 1 is deuterium, a C1 to C30 alkyl group substituted with one or more deuterium, a C6 to C30 aryl group substituted with one or more deuterium, or a C2 to C30 heterocyclic group substituted with one or more deuterium.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein at least one of R1 and R2 is deuterium, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 3, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 3, wherein R1 and R2 in instant Chemical Formula 1 are each independently deuterium, a C1 to C30 alkyl group substituted with one or more deuterium, a C6 to C30 aryl group substituted with one or more deuterium, or a C2 to C30 heterocyclic group substituted with one or more deuterium.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein R1 and R2 are each independently deuterium, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 4, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 4, wherein at least one of R3 and R4 in instant Chemical Formula 1 is deuterium, a C1 to C30 alkyl group substituted with one or more deuterium, a C6 to C30 aryl group substituted with one or more deuterium, or a C2 to C30 heterocyclic group substituted with one or more deuterium.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein at least one of R3 and R4 is deuterium, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 5, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 5, wherein R3 and R4 in instant Chemical Formula 1 are each independently deuterium, a C1 to C30 alkyl group substituted with one or more deuterium, a C6 to C30 aryl group substituted with one or more deuterium, or a C2 to C30 heterocyclic group substituted with one or more deuterium.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein R1 and R2 are each independently deuterium, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 6, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 6, wherein R1 to R4 in instant Chemical Formula 1 are each independently deuterium, a C1 to C30 alkyl group substituted with one or more deuterium, a C6 to C30 aryl group substituted with one or more deuterium, or a C2 to C30 heterocyclic group substituted with one or more deuterium.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein R1 to R4 are each independently deuterium, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 7, modified compound A-1, as described above reads on instant claim 6, wherein L1 in instant Chemical Formula 1 is a linking group of Group I, wherein D is deuterium, Ar6 may be hydrogen or deuterium, and m5 is an integer from 1 to 4.
Per claim 8, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 8, wherein m5 in L1 of instant Chemical Formula 1 is an integer of 2 to 4.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein m5 in L1 of instant Chemical Formula 1 is an integer of 2 to 4, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 9, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 9, wherein m5 in L1 of instant Chemical Formula 1 is an integer of 3 to 4.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein m5 in L1 of instant Chemical Formula 1 is an integer of 3 to 4, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 10, Shin fails to teach a specific compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, such that it reads on instant claim 10, wherein m5 in L1 of instant Chemical Formula 1 is 4.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on instant Chemical Formula 1, wherein m5 in L1 of instant Chemical Formula 1 is 4, because it would have been choosing to deuterate specific locations of compound A-1 of Shin, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light emitting layer of the organic optoelectronic device of Shin and possessing the benefits taught by Shin. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising deuterium having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per claim 11, modified compound A-1 reads on instant claim 11, wherein Ar5 is a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group.
Per claim 12, modified compound A-1 reads on instant claim 12, wherein Ar5 is a phenyl group substituted with one or more deuterium.
Per claim 13, modified compound A-1 as described above reads on compound A-3 of instant claim 13.
Per claim 14, Shin teaches device Example 7 comprising an anode and a cathode, and an organic layer, wherein the organic layer further comprises a light emitting layer that includes a composition of compound A-1 as a first host and compound B-99 as a second host (Shin, page 27, and page 28, table 4). Compound B-99 (Shin, page 16), shown below, reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 14 wherein R5 to R8 are each independently hydrogen, Ar7 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group, Ar8 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group, L2 is a single bond, L3 is a single bond, m6 and m9 are each independently 4, m7 and m8 are each independently 3, n is 0, and Ar9 to Ar12, R9 and m10 are not required.
In the composition described above compound A-1 fails to read on Chemical Formula 1 because compound A-1 of Shin, fails to include deuterium.
However, Fennimore teaches deuterated materials can be less susceptible to degradation by holes, electrons, or excitons. Have a greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime compared to their non-deuterated analogs (Fennimore, page 5, paragraph 098). Fennimore also teaches deuterated materials may be 10% to 100% deuterated (Fennimore, page 5, paragraph 097).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound A-1 of Shin such that it reads on Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 and thereby reading on instant claim 14, to provide a compound useful as a host in the emission layer of the device of Shin, and less susceptible to degradation by holes, electron, or excitons, have a greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime, as taught by Fennimore.
Per claim 15, the modified composition as described above in modified device Example 7 regarding claim 14 reads on instant claim 15, as the second compound, B-99 of Shin, reads on Chemical Formula 2-8 of instant claim 15 wherein R5 to R8 are each independently hydrogen, Ar9 to Ar12 are not required, m6 and m9 are each independently 4, m7 and m8 are each independently 3, moieties *-L2-Ar7 and *-L3-Ar8 are each independently a moiety of Group II, wherein Group II R12 and R13 are each independently hydrogen, m13 is 5, and m14 is 4.
Per claim 16, modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 14 reads on instant claim 16, wherein the composition includes modified compound A-1 which reads on instant Chemical Formula 1. Modified device Example 7 fails to include a second host which reads on Chemical Formula 3C.
However, Shin teaches device Example 9 which includes compound C-4 as a suitable second host (Shin, page 27, and page 28, table 5). Compound C-4 (Shin, pages 17-18), shown below, reads on Chemical Formula 3C of instant claim 16, wherein La3 and La4 are a single bond, Ra3, Ra4, R10, and R11 are each independently hydrogen, m11 and m12 are each independently 4, Ar13 and Ar14 are not required, and moieties *-L4-Ar9 and *-L5-Ar10 are each independently a moiety of Group II, wherein Group II R12 and R13 are each independently hydrogen, m13 is 5, and m14 is 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute second host compound B-99 in modified device Example 7 for compound C-4, as shown in device Example 9 of Shin, to arrive at the claimed composition of instant claim 16, because Shin teaches compound C-4 may suitably be selected as a second host in the light emitting layer of an organic optoelectronic device. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that compound C-4 would be useful as a second host in the light emitting layer of modified device Example 7 and possess the benefits taught by Shin. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 14, reads on instant claim 17 wherein the organic optoelectronic device comprises an anode and a cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer includes the compound for an organic optoelectronic device as claimed in instant claim 1.
Modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 17, reads on instant claim 18 wherein the at least one organic layer includes a light emitting layer, and the light emitting layer includes the compound for an organic optoelectronic device as claimed in instant claim 1.
Per claim 19, modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 14 reads on the organic optoelectronic device required by instant claim 19. However, Shin fails to teach a specific display device comprising the modified device Example 7.
Shin teaches that an embodiment of the invention provides a display device including an organic optoelectronic device (Shin, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include modified device Example 7 in a display device, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Shin in view of Fennimore to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 14, reads on instant claim 20 wherein the organic optoelectronic device comprises an anode and a cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer includes the composition for an organic optoelectronic device as claimed in instant claim 14.
Modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 20, reads on instant claim 21 wherein the at least one organic layer includes a light emitting layer, and the light emitting layer includes the composition for an organic optoelectronic device as claimed in instant claim 14.
Per claim 22, modified device Example 7 as described above regarding claim 14 reads on the organic optoelectronic device required by instant claim 22. However, Shin fails to teach a specific display device comprising the modified device Example 7.
Shin teaches that an embodiment of the invention provides a display device including an organic optoelectronic device (Shin, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include modified device Example 7 in a display device, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Shin in view of Fennimore to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Conclusion
/K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786