DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2023 and 08/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maitra et al. (Maitra), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0341871 A1.
As to independent claim 1, Maitra discloses a method for universal self-adaptive prompting, comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a query describing a machine learning task (paragraph [0003]: one or more processors may receive a question associated with a restricted domain);
generating, by the one or more processors, a plurality of candidate responses to the query using a machine learning model (paragraph [0003]: the one or more processors may identify candidate answers to the questions and may process the candidate answers and the classification type for the question using a machine learning model));
categorizing, by the one or more processors, the machine learning task into one of a plurality of task types (paragraph [0003]: the one or more processors may process the question with a machine learning model to determine a classification type for the question; paragraphs [0032],[0034]: the question answering platform may process the processed question, with a machine learning model, to classify the question as a factoid question type or a descriptive question type);
selecting, by the one or more processors, one or more candidate responses of the plurality of candidate responses to be pseudo-demonstrations based on the task type for the machine learning task (paragraphs [0054]-[0055], [0094]: the question answering platform may select the answer from the scored and ranked candidate answers based on the classification type of the question (e.g., a factoid question type, a descriptive question type, or a list question type);
prepending, by the one or more processors, the pseudo-demonstrations to the query (Figure 1J and paragraphs [0040],[0055], [0089]: the answer “Satisfy the customer, welcome changing requirements, etc.” to the question “Can you list the principles of Agile Testing?”); and
generating, by the one or more processors, a response to the query using the machine learning model based on the query prepended with the pseudo-demonstrations (Figure 1J and paragraph [0055]: the user device may display the information indicating the answer to the user of the user device via a user interface).
As to dependent claim 2, Maitra discloses wherein the plurality of task types comprises classification, short form generation, and long form generation (paragraph [0023]).
As to dependent claim 3, Maitra discloses wherein selecting the one or more candidate responses is based on an entropy metric for classification task types, a consistency metric for short form generation task types, and an overlap metric for long form generation task types (paragraphs [0054]-[0056]).
As to dependent claim 4, Maitra discloses wherein the query received comprises an unlabeled dataset (paragraph [0020]).
As to dependent claim 5, Maitra discloses wherein categorizing the machine learning task is based on an amount of possible responses and an amount of correct responses (paragraph [0054]).
As to dependent claim 6, Maitra discloses wherein the response to the query is generated based on a maximum likelihood estimated output (paragraph [0056]).
As to dependent claim 7, Maitra discloses wherein generating the response to the query is repeated a plurality of times using the machine learning model based on the query prepended with the pseudo-demonstrations (paragraph [0027]).
As to dependent claim 8, Maitra discloses further comprises generating a final response to the query based on a majority voting output (paragraph [0054]).
As to dependent claim 9, Maitra discloses wherein the machine learning model is a large language model (paragraph [0033]).
Claims 10-17 are system claims that contain similar limitations of claims 1-8, respectively. Therefore claims 10-17 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 18-20 are medium claims that contain similar limitations of claims 1-3, respectively. Therefore, claims 18-20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145