DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 01/16/2026 has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Claim 10 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al. US 2016/0034817 A1 (hereinafter as “Ali”) in view of Wang et al. CN 104296750 (hereinafter as “Wang”) and Taylor et al. US 9,091,548 (hereinafter as “Taylor”).
Regarding claim 1, Ali discloses determining navigation solution for a user carrying a portable device (100) that is movable relative to the user (Fig.1 and Fig.2, para. [0004], [0059]: portable device 100) comprising:
receiving GNSS data from a first sensor (110) of the carried device over a first time period, wherein the first sensor is a GNSS receiver (Fig.2, para. [0065]: portable device 100 include navigational module 122, the navigational module 122 include global positioning system (GPS), global navigation satellite system (GLONASS), para. [0082]: sensor data obtained from the navigational module 122, para. [0138]: GNSS receiver);
analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data (para. [0071], [0074], [0085], [0086]: statistical analysis of the motion sensor data).
altering GNSS data that violates the at least one zero velocity period to product corrected data (para. [0137]: Map matching or model matching can further enhance the navigation solution during the absolute navigation information (such as GNSS) degradation or interruption. In the case of model matching, a sensor or a group of sensors that acquire information about the environment can be used such as, for example, Laser range finders, cameras and vision systems, or sonar systems. These new systems can be used either as an extra help to enhance the accuracy of the navigation solution during the absolute navigation information problems (degradation or absence)… These new systems can be used either as an extra help to enhance the accuracy of the navigation solution during the absolute navigation information problems (degradation or absence), or they can totally replace the absolute navigation information in some applications.).
compute a navigation solution at a time instant within the first and second time periods using the corrected first sensor data and/or corrected second sensor data (e.g. para. [0077], [0079], [0082]: Pitch and roll angles may be calculated from gyroscope data, from accelerometer data or averaged accelerometer data (whether fixed-time average or moving average), and/or an integrated navigation solution as obtained from navigation module 122 using any type of integration technique and integrating different sensors and/or systems for example some or all of the following: accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, barometer, or any navigational information updates).
Ali fails to disclose receiving IMU data from a second sensor of the carried device over a first time period, wherein the second sensor is an inertial measurement unit, wherein the first sensor is determining at least one zero velocity period within the first sensor data and/or second sensor data.
Wang disclose computing a user navigation solution for a user carrying a portable device that is movable relative to the user comprising receiving IMU data from a second sensor of the carried device over a first time period, wherein the second sensor is an inertial measurement unit (page 10: In order to fully use the human foot when walking motion period of special characteristic, the MEMS IMU sensor fixedly connected with the foot of the pedestrian, page 13: by MEMS IMU sensor acquires human walking data, on the portable computer for storing and processing the collected human walking data to determine real-time position and recording pedestrian walking track to realize the function of the pedestrian location and navigation); determining at least one zero velocity period within the first sensor data and/or second sensor data (page 12: the MEMS IMU sensor absolute velocity is zero, the speed output of the system support phase is considered one gait period in the accumulated velocity error); analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data during the at least one zero velocity period (page 12: the step 305 obtained in the navigation error feedforward human body when walking to the step 303 to obtain the primary navigation information and performing error correction to obtain the final navigation information, i.e., a posture vector by the formula obtaining the speed vector obtained by formula v'n = vn- [delta] vn, position vector obtained by formula p'n = pn pn, wherein VII and pn are respectively three-dimensional posture vector obtained in the step 303, the three-dimensional velocity vector and the three-dimensional position vector, delta Vn and delta pn respectively obtained in step 305 the attitude error and the speed error and the northeast celestial coordinate system position error in three directions. zero speed rectification algorithm based on Kalman filter, not only can the speed error is corrected, but also the attitude error and the position error is corrected.); altering first sensor data and/or second sensor data that violates the at least one zero velocity period (page 12: the MEMS IMU sensor absolute velocity is zero, the speed output of the system support phase is considered one gait period in the accumulated velocity error) to produce corrected first sensor data and/or corrected second sensor data (page 12: the attitude error and the speed error and the northeast celestial coordinate system position error in three directions. zero speed rectification algorithm based on Kalman filter, not only can the speed error is corrected, but also the attitude error and the position error is corrected. step of determining zero corrected frequency of human body when walking, normal adult frequency about 110 to 120 steps/minute, trot to 140 steps/minute. Therefore, the pedestrian navigation method based on zero correction, every one seconds will perform one-time error estimation and correction, timely and effectively eliminate the speed error and restraining position error. After correction, the position error of the navigation information to navigation time trend of the third party, and is in proportional relation with the steps of walking). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate receiving IMU data from a second sensor of the carried device over a first time period, wherein the second sensor is an inertial measurement unit; determining at least one zero velocity period within the first sensor data and/or second sensor data; analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data during the at least one zero velocity period; altering first sensor data and/or second sensor data that violates the at least one zero velocity period to produce corrected first sensor data and/or corrected second sensor data of Wang with the method of computing a navigation solution of Ali for the purposes of providing a zero detection method and a device and a pedestrian navigation method and system. the zero-speed detecting method for synthetically using human body walking, the acceleration data and the angular velocity data calculating detection statistic threshold parameter and improve the accuracy and reliability of the pedestrian navigation system (Wang, abstract).
Taylor teaches zero velocity period and determining at least one zero velocity period within the first sensor data and/or second sensor data (e.g. Zero-Velocity Interval detection, is a process, especially in applications like foot-mounted pedestrian navigation systems that use Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs), Fig.1, Col.14, lines 30-47, Col.17, lines 34-37, Col.30, lines 41-51, Col.42, lines 52-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate zero velocity period and determining at least one zero velocity period within the first sensor data and/or second sensor data of Taylor with the method of computing a navigation solution of Ali in view of Wang for the purposes of providing a system and method for estimating the position of an object, (Taylor, abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Ali disclose determining navigation solution for a user carrying a portable device (100) that is movable relative to the user (Fig.1 and Fig.2, para. [0004], [0059]: portable device 100) comprising:
receiving GNSS data from a first sensor (110) of the carried device over a first time period, wherein the first sensor is a GNSS receiver (Fig.2, para. [0065]: portable device 100 include navigational module 122, the navigational module 122 include global positioning system (GPS), global navigation satellite system (GLONASS), para. [0082]: sensor data obtained from the navigational module 122, para. [0138]: GNSS receiver);
analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data (para. [0071], [0074], [0085], [0086]: statistical analysis of the motion sensor data).
altering GNSS data that violates the at least one zero velocity period to product corrected data (para. [0137]: Map matching or model matching can further enhance the navigation solution during the absolute navigation information (such as GNSS) degradation or interruption. In the case of model matching, a sensor or a group of sensors that acquire information about the environment can be used such as, for example, Laser range finders, cameras and vision systems, or sonar systems. These new systems can be used either as an extra help to enhance the accuracy of the navigation solution during the absolute navigation information problems (degradation or absence)… These new systems can be used either as an extra help to enhance the accuracy of the navigation solution during the absolute navigation information problems (degradation or absence), or they can totally replace the absolute navigation information in some applications.).
compute a navigation solution at a time instant within the first and second time periods using the corrected first sensor data and/or corrected second sensor data (e.g. para. [0077], [0079], [0082]: Pitch and roll angles may be calculated from gyroscope data, from accelerometer data or averaged accelerometer data (whether fixed-time average or moving average), and/or an integrated navigation solution as obtained from navigation module 122 using any type of integration technique and integrating different sensors and/or systems for example some or all of the following: accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, barometer, or any navigational information updates).
Ali fails to disclose receiving inertial measurement unit (IMU) data from a second sensor of the carried device over a second time period, wherein the second sensor is an inertial measurement unit (IMU); determining at least one zero velocity period within IMU data; analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data during the at least one zero velocity period; altering IMU data that violates the at least one zero velocity period to produce corrected GNSS data and corrected IMU data.
Wang disclose computing a user navigation solution for a user carrying a portable device that is movable relative to the user, wherein the second sensor is an inertial measurement unit (page 10: In order to fully use the human foot when walking motion period of special characteristic, the MEMS IMU sensor fixedly connected with the foot of the pedestrian, page 13: by MEMS IMU sensor acquires human walking data, on the portable computer for storing and processing the collected human walking data to determine real-time position and recording pedestrian walking track to realize the function of the pedestrian location and navigation);
determining at least one zero velocity period within the IMU data (page 12: the MEMS IMU sensor absolute velocity is zero, the speed output of the system support phase is considered one gait period in the accumulated velocity error);
analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data during the at least one zero velocity period (page 12: the step 305 obtained in the navigation error feedforward human body when walking to the step 303 to obtain the primary navigation information and performing error correction to obtain the final navigation information, i.e., a posture vector by the formula obtaining the speed vector obtained by formula v'n = vn- [delta] vn, position vector obtained by formula p'n = pn pn, wherein VII and pn are respectively three-dimensional posture vector obtained in the step 303, the three-dimensional velocity vector and the three-dimensional position vector, delta Vn and delta pn respectively obtained in step 305 the attitude error and the speed error and the northeast celestial coordinate system position error in three directions. zero speed rectification algorithm based on Kalman filter, not only can the speed error is corrected, but also the attitude error and the position error is corrected.);
altering GNSS data and IMU data that violates the at least one zero velocity period (page 12: the MEMS IMU sensor absolute velocity is zero, the speed output of the system support phase is considered one gait period in the accumulated velocity error) to produce corrected GNSS data and corrected IMU data (page 12: the attitude error and the speed error and the northeast celestial coordinate system position error in three directions. zero speed rectification algorithm based on Kalman filter, not only can the speed error is corrected, but also the attitude error and the position error is corrected. step of determining zero corrected frequency of human body when walking, normal adult frequency about 110 to 120 steps/minute, trot to 140 steps/minute. Therefore, the pedestrian navigation method based on zero correction, every one seconds will perform one-time error estimation and correction, timely and effectively eliminate the speed error and restraining position error. After correction, the position error of the navigation information to navigation time trend of the third party, and is in proportional relation with the steps of walking). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate computing a user navigation solution for a user carrying a portable device that is movable relative to the user; determining at least one zero velocity period within the GNSS data and IMU data; analyzing the first sensor data and/or second sensor data during the at least one zero velocity period; altering GNSS data and IMU data that violates the at least one zero velocity period to produce corrected GNSS data and corrected IMU data of Wang with the method of computing a navigation solution of Ali for the purposes of providing a zero detection method and a device and a pedestrian navigation method and system. the zero-speed detecting method for synthetically using human body walking, the acceleration data and the angular velocity data calculating detection statistic threshold parameter and improve the accuracy and reliability of the pedestrian navigation system (Wang, abstract).
Taylor teaches determining at least one zero velocity period within the GNSS data and IMU data (e.g. Zero-Velocity Interval detection, is a process, especially in applications like foot-mounted pedestrian navigation systems that use Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs), Fig.1, Col.14, lines 30-47, Col.17, lines 34-37, Col.30, lines 41-51, Col.42, lines 52-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate determining at least one zero velocity period within the GNSS data and IMU data of Taylor with the method of computing a navigation solution of Ali in view of Wang for the purposes of providing a system and method for estimating the position of an object, (Taylor, abstract).
Taylor teaches zero velocity period and determining at least one zero velocity period within the GNSS data and IMU data (e.g. Zero-Velocity Interval detection, is a process, especially in applications like foot-mounted pedestrian navigation systems that use Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs), Fig.1, Col.14, lines 30-47, Col.17, lines 34-37, Col.30, lines 41-51, Col.42, lines 52-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate zero velocity period and determining at least one zero velocity period within the GNSS data and IMU data of Taylor with the method of computing a navigation solution of Ali for the purposes of providing a system and method for estimating the position of an object, (Taylor, abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Taylor discloses “creating a motion model using the GNSS data and/or IMU data” (e.g. Fig.9, Col.38, lines 47-Col.39, line 13).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Taylor discloses “correcting the motion model using the corrected GNSS data and/or the corrected IMU data” (e.g. Col.40, lines 16-31).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Taylor discloses “wherein a duration of the first time period is equal to or is different from a duration of the second time period” (e.g. Col.35, lines 20-27).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Taylor discloses “wherein a duration of the first time period overlaps a duration of the second time period” Col.35, lines 20-27).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Taylor discloses “wherein altering comprises resetting velocity measurements to zero within the GNSS data during the at least one zero velocity period” (e.g. Col.42, lines 41-50)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Taylor discloses “wherein altering comprises determining biases of one or more IMU sensors of the IMU during the at least one zero velocity period and altering the IMU data using the determined biases” (e.g. Col.42, lines 41-50).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Taylor discloses “wherein the first and second time periods extend into the future and the past with respect to the time instant” (e.g. Col.41, line 1-16).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Taylor discloses “wherein the corrected GNSS and/or corrected IMU data is used to constrain the navigation solution” (e.g. Col.42, lines 52-56).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
-Applicant argues that claim 1 provide improvement in the field of navigation systems as discussed in the remark, page 2.
Examiner agrees, therefore the 101 rejection of claims 1 and 11 has been withdrawn.
-Applicant argues that the prior arts fail to disclose a portable device carried by user where the portable device is movable relative to the user and where the portable device includes a first sensor that is a GNSS receiver and a second sensor that is an inertial measurement unit.
Examiner position is that: Ali teaches a portable device carried by user where the portable device is movable relative to the user and where the portable device includes a first sensor that is a GNSS receiver. Wang teaches a portable device carried by user where the portable device is movable relative to the user and where the portable device includes a second sensor that is an inertial measurement unit as discussed above.
Contact Information
/JOHN H LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857