DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US Pat Pub# 2023/0046229) in view of Kim et al. (US Pat Pub# 2018/0109930) and further in view of Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering (CN 2017152017U) and further in view of Rapp et al. (US Pat Pub# 2021/0145621).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Moore teaches a system comprising a helmet power and communications hub (Fig. 5 and Section 0007, power and communication interfaces), comprising a housing (Fig. 3, as shown helmet housing power and communication etc.); a communications headset interface configured to receive a wired connection with a communication headset (Section 0136, wired usb communication etc.); a night vision device 500 (Fig. 3) interface configured to receive a wired connection with a night vision device 510/515 (Fig. 3, wired connect with night vision camera etc.); a universal serial bus port configured to receive a wired connection with helmet worn accessories (Sections 0136, 0138, and 0162, multiple accessories using the USB port etc.); a wireless radio disposed within the housing and configured to wirelessly connect to a corresponding wireless radio (Sections 0112, 0136-0139, wireless interface to connect with a radio etc.); and a battery unit configured to power the helmet power and communications hub (Sections 0010, 0046, 0051, and 0059, battery to power the helmet communications unit); and a microcontroller unit 600 (Fig. 5 and Sections 0111 and 0167, microprocessor) disposed within the housing and configured to process and route audio signals between the communications headset interface and the wireless radio (Fig. 5 and Section 0114, audio system having audio signals etc.); process and route control signals from the wireless radio to at least one of the of USB port (Sections 0136, 0138, and 0162, multiple accessories using the USB port etc.); process and route data signals from the USB port to the wireless radio (Sections 0112, 0136-0139, wireless interface to connect with a radio etc.); and control power distribution from the battery unit to the night vision device interface and the USB port (Sections 0010, 0046, 0049 0051, 0059, and 0118, battery controller and sensors etc.). Moore fails to teach a plurality of universal serial bus ports, power and communication being detachable, and a push-to-talk switch.
Kim teaches a system comprising a helmet power 209 (Fig. 2 and Sections 0081, 0090, and 0096, battery power) and communications hub 170/180 (Fig. 1) comprising a housing (Fig. 2); a communications headset interface 170/180 (Fig. 1) configured to receive a wired connection with a communication headset (Section 0185, can be wired); a wireless radio 170/180 (Fig. 1) disposed within the housing and configured to wirelessly connect to a corresponding wireless radio of a push-to-talk switch 205 (Fig. 2); and a battery unit configured to power the helmet power and communications hub 209 (Fig. 2 and Sections 0081, 0090, and 0096, battery power for the electronics etc.); and the PTT switch 205 (Fig. 2) comprising the corresponding wireless radio (Sections 0081-0082 and 0087, PTT activated to communicate through wireless communication to another radio), wherein the PTT switch 205/212 (Fig. 2) is remotely located from the helmet power 209 (Fig. 2) and communications hub and the helmet (Fig. 2, as shown the PTT switch is away from all other components and helmet etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a push-to-talk switch as taught by Kim into Moore’s system in order to improve convenience for the user to communicate faster.
Moore and Kim fails to teach a plurality of universal serial bus ports and power and communication being detachable.
Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering teaches a plurality of universal serial bus ports 5 (Fig. 1) configured to receive a wired connection with helmet worn accessories.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a plurality of universal serial bus ports as taught by Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering into a push-to-talk switch as taught by Kim into Moore’s system in order to improve communication functions.
Moore, Kim, and Zheigiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering fails to teach power and communication being detachable.
Rapp teaches a helmet power and communications hub configured to detachably couple with a helmet (Sections 0039 and 0062, power and communication can be detachable from the helmet etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate power and communication being detachable as taught by Rapp into a plurality of universal serial bus ports as taught by Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering into a push-to-talk switch as taught by Kim into Moore’s system in order to improve convenience and functionality.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Moore further teaches wherein the housing comprises a rear panel having an attachment mechanism configured to detachably couple with a corresponding attachment mechanism on a rear portion of a tactical helmet (Fig. 3 and Section 0136, wired usb communication that be attach or detach and the night vision unit is wired by attaching or detaching a cable etc.).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Moore further teaches wherein the attachment mechanism and the corresponding attachment mechanism are hook and loop fasteners (Section 0073, hook and loop fastener system).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Moore further teaches wherein the wireless radio is configured to communicate via one of a Bluetooth wireless network, a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) wireless network, an ultra-wideband (UWB) wireless network, a 900MHz wireless network, a 2.4GHz wireless network, or a 5.4GHz wireless network (Section 0137, Bluetooth, UWB, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Moore further teaches wherein the helmet worn accessories comprises a video camera, an infrared beacon, a strobe light, a flashlight, a sensor, and/or a visual display (Section 0061, strobe light).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Kim further teaches wherein the wireless radio is configured to wirelessly connect to an additional corresponding wireless radio of an end user device (Sections 0048 and 0054, connecting with a smartphone and/or tablet etc.).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Kim further teaches wherein the EUD is a smartphone or a tablet computing device (Sections 0048 and 0054, connecting with a smartphone and/or tablet etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Moore further teaches wherein the night vision device is one of night vision googles, enhanced night vision googles, or a night vision monocle (Sections 0085 and 0090, night vision googles).
Regarding claim 11, Moore further teaches wherein the helmet power and communications hub comprises a microcontroller unit 600 (Fig. 5 and Sections 0111 and 0167, microprocessor) disposed within the housing and configured to process and route audio signals between the communications headset interface and the wireless radio (Fig. 5 and Section 0114, audio system having audio signals etc.); process and route control signals from the wireless radio to at least one of the of USB port (Sections 0136, 0138, and 0162, multiple accessories using the USB port etc.); process and route data signals from the USB port to the wireless radio (Sections 0112, 0136-0139, wireless interface to connect with a radio etc.); and control power distribution from the battery unit to the night vision device interface and the USB port (Sections 0010, 0046, 0049 0051, 0059, and 0118, battery controller and sensors etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Moore further teaches comprising at least one cable retention clip 150/170 (Fig. 1) slidably attached to the housing and operable to secure a USB cable in one of the USB port (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim further teaches comprising a pushbutton 205 (Fig. 2) operable to initiate pairing of the wireless radio (Abstract and Sections 0010-0012, pairing communication etc.).
Regarding claim 19, Kim further teaches comprising a power switch 208 (Fig. 2) operable to turn on and off the power provided by the battery unit to the helmet power and communications hub (Sections 0089-0093, turning on and off the power etc.).
Regarding claim 20, Moore further teaches wherein the MCU is further configured to process and route control signals from the wireless radio to the night vision device interface (Section 0162, communicating with the night vision device etc.); and process and route data signals from the night vision device interface to the wireless radio (Section 0162, communicating with the night vision device etc.).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US Pat Pub# 2023/0046229) in view of Kim et al. (US Pat Pub# 2018/0109930) and further in view of Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering (CN 2017152017U) and further in view of Rapp et al. (US Pat Pub# 2021/0145621) and further in view of Moore (US Pat Pub# 2023/0168951).
Regarding claim 4, Moore in view of Kim and further in view of Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering and further in view of Rapp teaches the limitations in claim 1. Moore, Kim, Rapp, and Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering fails to teach an Intra Soldier Wireless network.
Moore’951 teaches wherein the wireless radio is configured to communicate via an Intra Soldier Wireless network (Sections 0137, 0142, 0157, and 0194, Intra Soldier Wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an Intra Soldier Wireless network as taught by Moore into power and communication being detachable as taught by Rapp into a plurality of universal serial bus ports as taught by Zheijiang Chengfeng Construction Engineering into a push-to-talk switch as taught by Kim into Moore’s system in order to improve security and safety of the user.
Regarding claim 7, Moore’951 further teaches wherein the sensor comprises a blast pressure sensor and/or a chemical biological radiological nuclear sensor (Section 0283, blast sensor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW WENDELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 2/21/2026