DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment, claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10, and 15 is/are amended. Claims 16-20 are added. Claims 1-20 are now pending examination.
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 6 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees the added limitations “a proportional relief valve, in communication with the relief exhaust line, which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line” and “a proportional relief valve, in communication with the relief exhaust line, which has variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line” are not expressly taught in Histatoshi. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hisatoshi in view of Sorensen. Applicant argues Hisatoshi teaches away from using a proportional relief valve by using a solenoid valve. Examiner disagrees, as the solenoid valve is simply one type of valve that is employed and there is no explicit teaching a proportional valve would destroy the function of the device. Therefore, a modification substituting one type of valve for another, namely a solenoid valve for a proportional valve would enhance the system by allowing for selective control of the system, such as by allowing varied pressure rather than solely an on/off system.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is amended to include the limitation “wherein the proportional relief valve is variable by selectable valve size openings”. The previous Action relied on Hisatoshi as modified by Sorensen. Paragraph 0045 of Sorensen states the “vent valve 62 is configured to provide a variable orifice size within vent line 60 to selectively modulate aspiration within aspiration line 52… In one exemplary vent valve 62 may be configured as a multi-position rotary type valve that would allow predictable and precise control of the orifice size based on angular position of vent valve 62 within vent line 60.” Thus, Sorensen teaches wherein the proportional relief valve is variable by selectable valve size openings, as the orifice size is controlled by the valve. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Further, regarding the amendments to the drawings, Figure 1 was amended to include a cutting member 108c, however, still does not show “an outer cutting member and an inner cutting member” of claim 6, 15.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an outer cutting member and an inner cutting member” of claim 6, 15 and “a diaphragm” of claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 should read “The system of claim 10…”
Claim 19 should read “a controller configured to increase the threshold opening pressure” instead of “a controller is configured to increase the threshold opening pressure”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 19-20 claim the limitations of “a controller is configured to increase the threshold opening pressure of the proportional relief valve when the sensed ambient pressure decreases below a threshold ambient pressure corresponding to an elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level”. However, the present disclosure does not provide adequate support for the claimed limitations. The specification does state “the threshold opening pressure of the valve 104 may be increased to allow a higher compressor output pressure (e.g., to provide an air pulse of a higher pressure to the vitrectomy handpiece 108 through the supply outlet 110) which allows the system 100 to maintain higher cut rates, despite the increased elevation” ([0019]). This however doesn’t specify a threshold ambient pressure nor a specific elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level. Further, there is no indication of the controller increasing the threshold opening pressure of the proportional relief valve when the sensed ambient pressure decreases below a threshold ambient pressure corresponding to an elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatoshi et al. (JP 5231902 B2) (noted on IDS) (references correspond with attached Espacenet translation) (previously of record) in view of Heeren et al. (US 20170333253 A1) (previously of record) and in view of Sorensen et al. (US 20130150782 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Hisatoshi discloses a surgical pneumatic vitrectomy cutting system (1) comprising:
an absolute pressure sensor (40) for sensing an ambient pressure (Paragraph 0006; 0028);
a pressure drive chamber (22) having an inlet line (I) for receiving pressurized air (Paragraph 0012), a supply outlet (A) for communicating pressurized air to a pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece through an air supply line (10) (Paragraph 0011);
a relief exhaust line (R) in communication with the air supply line for exhausting pressurized air from the air supply line (Paragraph 0011);
a valve (12) in communication with the relief exhaust line (Paragraph 0011);
and wherein the threshold opening pressure and a selected variable open position of the proportional relief valve are set based on feedback from the absolute pressure sensor indicative of the ambient pressure, whereby the threshold opening pressure of the proportional valve is variable and the variable open position of the proportional relief valve is variable and selected based on the sensed ambient pressure (Paragraph 0024; 0028).
Hisatoshi fails to teach a proportional relief valve, which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line; both an absolute pressure for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor in communication with the air supply line for sensing an air pressure in the air supply line; wherein the pressurized air is exhausted through the proportional relief valve when the air pressure sensed by line pressure sensor in the air supply line exceeds a threshold opening pressure set for the proportional relief valve. Yet, Hisatoshi does suggest such a sensor (40) characterized in that the device is equipped with a sensor that is arranged in the path from the compressed air generating source to the electromagnetic valve or in the path from the electromagnetic valve to the air chamber, and is either a pressure sensor that detects the pressure of the compressed air supplied to the air chamber, or a barometric sensor that detects the atmospheric pressure at the location where the device is installed (Paragraph 0006), although Hisatoshi does not disclose using both sensors concurrently within the same system.
However, Heeren is directed to a vitrectomy system and teaches an absolute pressure sensor (312) for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor (326) in communication with the air supply line for sensing an air pressure in the air supply line (Paragraph 0041-42); wherein the pressurized air is exhausted through the proportional relief valve (pressure release valve) when the air pressure sensed by line pressure sensor in the air supply line exceeds a threshold opening pressure set for the proportional relief valve (Paragraph 0061).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi to include both an absolute sensor for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor, as taught by Heeren, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to vitrectomy systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi with the teachings of Heeren by incorporating both an absolute sensor for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor in order to provide multiple types of data to the controller (Heeren Paragraph 0009). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a line pressure sensor as Hisatoshi teaches a similar sensor but does not specifically mention or teach away from using two sensors simultaneously.
Further, Sorensen is directed to an optical surgery system and teaches a proportional valve (562) which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line (Paragraph 0082),
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren such that the valve is a proportional valve which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line, as taught by Sorensen, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to optic surgical systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren with the teachings of Sorensen by incorporating a proportional valve which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line in order to allow selective control of the vacuum/aspiration (Sorensen Paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 2, Hisatoshi further discloses a control unit (30) configured to receive a signal from the absolute pressure sensor indicative of the ambient pressure and to set the threshold opening pressure and the open position of the proportional valve based on the received signal (Paragraph 0026); wherein the threshold opening pressure is increased when the sensed ambient pressure decreases to compensate for operation at higher elevations (Paragraph 0006; 0023-24).
Regarding claim 3, Hisatoshi further discloses a second pressure drive chamber (6a) for driving the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece in a push-push drive mechanism (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 4, Hisatoshi further discloses the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece in communication through the air supply line with the pressure drive chamber (Paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 5, Hisatoshi further discloses wherein the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece includes a cutting member (3,4) driven from a first position to a second position by pressurized air from the pressure drive chamber (Paragraph 0017; 0019) and a spring (7) for returning the cutting member from the second position to the first position when the pressurized air is exhausted from the air supply line (Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Hisatoshi discloses a surgical pneumatic cutting system comprising:
an absolute pressure sensor (40) for sensing an ambient pressure (Paragraph 0006; 0028);
a drive chamber (22) having an inlet line (I) for receiving pressurized air (Paragraph 0012), a supply outlet (A) connected to an air supply line for communicating pressurized air to a pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece (Paragraph 0011);
a relief exhaust line (R) in communication with the air supply line for exhausting pressurized air from the air supply line (Paragraph 0011);
a valve (12) in communication with the relief exhaust line (Paragraph 0011);
wherein the threshold opening pressure and an open position are set based on feedback from the absolute pressure sensor indicative of the ambient pressure, whereby the threshold opening pressure of the proportional valve is variable and the open position of the proportional relief valve is also variable based on the sensed ambient pressure (Paragraph 0024; 0028); and
a pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece (1) in communication with the air supply line, the handpiece including an outer cutting member (3) and an inner cutting member (4) positioned within the outer cutting member, wherein the pressurized air drives the inner cutting member (Paragraph 0017).
Hisatoshi fails to teach a proportional relief valve, which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line; both an absolute pressure for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor in communication with the air supply line for sensing an air pressure in the air supply line; wherein the pressurized air is exhausted through the proportional relief valve when the air pressure sensed by line pressure sensor in the air supply line exceeds a threshold opening pressure set for the proportional relief valve. However, Hisatoshi does suggest such a sensor (40) characterized in that the device is equipped with a sensor that is arranged in the path from the compressed air generating source to the electromagnetic valve or in the path from the electromagnetic valve to the air chamber, and is either a pressure sensor that detects the pressure of the compressed air supplied to the air chamber, or a barometric sensor that detects the atmospheric pressure at the location where the device is installed (Paragraph 0006), although Hisatoshi does not disclose using both sensors concurrently within the same system.
However, Heeren is directed to a vitrectomy system and teaches an absolute pressure sensor (312) for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor (326) in communication with the air supply line for sensing an air pressure in the air supply line (Paragraph 0041-42); wherein the pressurized air is exhausted through the proportional relief valve (pressure release valve) when the air pressure sensed by line pressure sensor in the air supply line exceeds a threshold opening pressure set for the proportional relief valve (Paragraph 0061).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi to include both an absolute sensor for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor, as taught by Heeren, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to vitrectomy systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi with the teachings of Heeren by incorporating both an absolute sensor for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor in order to provide multiple types of data to the controller (Heeren Paragraph 0009). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a line pressure sensor as Hisatoshi teaches a similar sensor but does not specifically mention or teach away from using two sensors simultaneously.
Further, Sorensen is directed to an optical surgery system and teaches a proportional valve (562) which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line (Paragraph 0082),
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren such that the valve is a proportional valve which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line, as taught by Sorensen, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to optic surgical systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren with the teachings of Sorensen by incorporating a proportional valve which allows for a plurality of variable open positions to control a rate of exhaust air flow through the relief exhaust line in order to allow selective control of the vacuum/aspiration (Sorensen Paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 7, Hisatoshi further discloses a controller (30) configured to receive a signal from the absolute pressure sensor indicative of the ambient pressure and to set the threshold opening pressure and the open position of the proportional relief valve based on the received signal (Paragraph 0026; 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Hisatoshi further discloses a second drive chamber (6a) for driving the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece in a push-push drive mechanism (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 9, Hisatoshi further discloses wherein the pressurized air drives the inner cutting member from a first position to a second position (Paragraph 0017; 0019); and wherein the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece includes a spring (7) for returning the inner cutting member from the second position to the first position when the pressurized air is exhausted from the air supply line (Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 18, Hisatoshi further discloses wherein the pressurized air drives the inner cutting member by deflecting a diaphragm (8) within the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece (Figure ; Paragraph 0009), the diaphragm being mechanically coupled to the inner cutting member (the inner blade 4 is mounted on the piston 5, which is coupled to diaphragm 8, thus the diaphragm being mechanically coupled to the inner cutting member) (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 10, Hisatoshi discloses a surgical pneumatic cutting system comprising:
an absolute pressure sensor (40) for sensing an ambient pressure (Paragraph 0006; 0028);
a drive chamber (22) having an inlet line (I) for receiving pressurized air and an outlet line (A) connected to an air supply line (10) for communicating pressurized air to a pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece (1) (Paragraph 0011);
a relief exhaust line (R) in communication with the air supply line for exhausting pressurized air from the air supply line (Paragraph 0011); and
a valve (12) in communication with the relief exhaust line (Paragraph 0011);
wherein the threshold opening pressure and an open position of the valve are set based on feedback from the absolute pressure sensor based on the sensed ambient pressure (Paragraph 0017; 0026);
wherein both of (i) the threshold opening pressure and (ii) the open position of the proportional relief valve are variable based on the sensed ambient pressure (Paragraph 0026; 0028).
Hisatoshi fails to teach wherein the proportional relief valve is variable by selectable valve size openings; wherein the threshold opening pressure and an open position of the selectable valve size openings are set based on feedback from the absolute pressure sensor based on the sensed ambient pressure; both an absolute pressure for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor in communication with the air supply line for sensing an air pressure in the air supply line; wherein the pressurized air is exhausted through the proportional relief valve when the air pressure sensed by line pressure sensor in the air supply line exceeds a threshold opening pressure set for the proportional relief valve. However, Hisatoshi does suggest such a sensor (40) characterized in that the device is equipped with a sensor that is arranged in the path from the compressed air generating source to the electromagnetic valve or in the path from the electromagnetic valve to the air chamber, and is either a pressure sensor that detects the pressure of the compressed air supplied to the air chamber, or a barometric sensor that detects the atmospheric pressure at the location where the device is installed (Paragraph 0006), although Hisatoshi does not disclose using both sensors concurrently within the same system.
However, Heeren is directed to a vitrectomy system and teaches an absolute pressure sensor (312) for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor (326) in communication with the air supply line for sensing an air pressure in the air supply line (Paragraph 0041-42); wherein the pressurized air is exhausted through the proportional relief valve (pressure release valve) when the air pressure sensed by line pressure sensor in the air supply line exceeds a threshold opening pressure set for the proportional relief valve (Paragraph 0061).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi to include both an absolute sensor for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor, as taught by Heeren, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to vitrectomy systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi with the teachings of Heeren by incorporating both an absolute sensor for sensing an ambient pressure and a line pressure sensor in order to provide multiple types of data to the controller (Heeren Paragraph 0009). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a line pressure sensor as Hisatoshi teaches a similar sensor but does not specifically mention or teach away from using two sensors simultaneously.
The combination of Hisatoshi and Heeren fails to explicitly disclose wherein the proportional relief valve has selectable valve size openings; wherein the threshold opening pressure and an open position of the selectable valve size openings are set based on feedback from the absolute pressure sensor based on the sensed ambient pressure.
Further, Sorensen is directed to a phacoemulsification system and teaches wherein the proportional relief valve (62) is variable by selectable valve size openings (Paragraph 0045). As a result of the combination, the threshold opening pressure and an open position of the selectable valve size openings would be set based on feedback from the absolute pressure sensor based on the sensed ambient pressure.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren such that wherein the proportional relief valve is variable by selectable valve size openings, as taught by Sorensen, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to vitreoretinal surgery. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren with the teachings of Sorensen by incorporating wherein the proportional relief valve is variable by selectable valve size openings in order to control the orifice size based on angular positioning of the valve (Sorensen Paragraph 0045) or selectively modulate vacuum to allow unidirectional rotation of a pump to generate flow/vacuum, while permitting selective control of vacuum/aspiration to a handpiece based on angular position of vent valve (Sorensen Paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 11, Hisatoshi further discloses a controller (30) configured to receive a signal from the absolute pressure sensor indicative of the ambient pressure and to set the threshold opening pressure and the open position of the proportional relief valve based on the received signal (Paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 12, Hisatoshi further discloses wherein the controller is configured to continuously receive the signal and set the threshold opening pressure and the open position of the proportional relief valve (Paragraph 0015-16).
Regarding claim 14, Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen teaches the system of Claim 11, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the proportional relief valve is a proportional valve allowing for a plurality of the valve open positions; wherein the plurality of valve open positions are operable to be selected to control a rate of an exhaust air flow as the exhausting pressurized air.
However, Sorensen further teaches wherein the proportional relief valve (62) is a proportional valve allowing for a plurality of the valve open positions (Paragraph 0047); wherein the plurality of valve open positions are operable to be selected to control a rate of an exhaust air flow as the exhausting pressurized air (Paragraph 0047).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen with the teachings of Sorensen by incorporating wherein the proportional relief valve is a proportional valve allowing for a plurality of the valve open positions; wherein the plurality of valve open positions are operable to be selected to control a rate of an exhaust air flow as the exhausting pressurized air in order to selectively operate the amount of aspiration through the system (Sorensen Paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 15, Hisatoshi further discloses a pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece (1) in communication with the air supply line, the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece including an outer cutting member (3) and an inner cutting member (4) positioned within the outer cutting member (Paragraph 0017); wherein the pressurized air drives the inner cutting member (Paragraph 0017; 0019).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hisatoshi, Heeren, and Sorensen further teaches wherein the controller is configured to receive the signal (Paragraph 0015) and set the threshold opening pressure and the open position of the proportional relief valve once at a beginning of a surgical procedure (Paragraph 0023; 0028) (Paragraph 0023 states the control unit 30 controls the opening and closing times of the valve in each on/off cycle, thus opening the valve would be done at the beginning of the surgical procedure. Paragraph 0028 states the control unit 30 changes the duty ratio based on the detection of atmospheric pressure, which would be done whenever the device is in operation, including the beginning of the surgical procedure.) .
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatoshi in view of Heeren and Sorensen as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Layser et al. (US 20160166742 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 13, Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen teaches the system of Claim 11, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to control a flow rate of the received pressurized air to the drive chamber.
However, Layser is directed to a phacoemusification system and teaches wherein the controller (100) is configured to control a flow rate of the received pressurized air to the drive chamber (430) (Paragraph 0005; 0031; 0036).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen such that the controller is configured to control a flow rate of the received pressurized air to the drive chamber, as taught by Layser, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to optical surgery systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen with the teachings of Layser by incorporating wherein the controller is configured to control a flow rate of the received pressurized air to the drive chamber in order to maintain a relatively consistent fluid pressure at the surgical site in the eye (Layser Paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatoshi in view of Heeren and Sorensen as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Aizenfeld et al. (US 20060052665 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen teaches the system of claim 1, and Hisatoshi further discloses a second pressure drive chamber (6a) having a second inlet line (P) for receiving pressurized air and a second supply outlet (10) connected to the air supply line (Paragraph 0011); a second air compressor (20) in communication with the second inlet line of the second pressure drive chamber (Paragraph 000011-12); wherein the proportional relief valve and the line pressure sensor are shared between the pressure drive chamber and the second pressure drive chamber (Paragraph 0013).
Hisatoshi fails to explicitly disclose a first air compressor in communication with the inlet line of the pressure drive chamber wherein the first air compressor and the second air compressor are configured to deliver pressurized air pulses through the air supply line to the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece in a push-push drive mechanism.
However, Aizenfeld is directed to a medical device and teaches a first and a second pump (36,38) for supplying compressed air (Paragraph 0023), the first air compressor in communication with the inlet line (70) of the pressure drive chamber (handle (Paragraph 0027). As a result, the combination would be capable such that the first air compressor and the second air compressor are configured to deliver pressurized air pulses through the air supply line to the pneumatic vitrectomy handpiece in a push-push drive mechanism ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. The present disclosure states “In other embodiments, when the pressurized air is exhausted from the supply line 112 (e.g., when the pressure within the supply line 112 exceeds a threshold opening pressure, etc.), a second drive chamber (not shown) may provide a coordinated pulse of pressurized air to the handpiece 108 to cause the cutting member of the handpiece 108 to return to its original position (e.g., a push-push drive mechanism). In the push-push design each of the drive chambers may have it own supply line to vit handpiece 108 with a separate line pressure sensor and proportional relief valve or there may separate drive chambers but a single supply line to the vit handpiece, depending on design requirements.”, thus the two chambers would be fully capable of performing the claimed function.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen such that a first air compressor in communication with the inlet line of the pressure drive chamber, as taught by Aizenfeld, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to medical pump devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen with the teachings of Aizenfeld by incorporating a first air compressor in communication with the inlet line of the pressure drive chamber in order to supply compressed air at various places throughout the system (Aizenfeld Paragraph 0023).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatoshi in view of Heeren and Sorensen as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Hajishah et al. (US 20100107723 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen teaches the system of claim 1, and Hisatoshi further discloses a controller (30) (Paragraph 0026) but fails to specifically disclose a controller configured to increase the threshold opening pressure of the valve when the sensed ambient pressure decreases below a threshold ambient corresponding to an elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level.
However, Hajishah is directed to a surgical instrument and teaches calibrating a sensor and accommodating for pressure according to altitude changes, especially at higher altitudes (Paragraph 0051; 0053).
Hajishah sets forth that the altitude level is a result effective variable, wherein accommodating for pressure at different altitudes would be a result effective variable, as Hajishah teaches accommodating for pressure at various altitudes (Paragraph 0051; 0053). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a threshold ambient pressure corresponding to an elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level, for the purpose of accommodating the system to the ambient pressure, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Hisatoshi as modified by Heeren and Sorensen teaches the system of claim 11, but fails to specifically disclose the controller is configured to increase the threshold opening pressure of the valve when the sensed ambient pressure decreases below a threshold ambient corresponding to an elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level.
However, Hajishah is directed to a surgical instrument and teaches calibrating a sensor and accommodating for pressure according to altitude changes, especially at higher altitudes (Paragraph 0051; 0053).
Hajishah sets forth that the altitude level is a result effective variable, wherein accommodating for pressure at different altitudes would be a result effective variable, as Hajishah teaches accommodating for pressure at various altitudes (Paragraph 0051; 0053). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a threshold ambient pressure corresponding to an elevation of at least 1000 meters above sea level, for the purpose of accommodating the system to the ambient pressure, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHERINE H MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771