DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 10/06/2023. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites “a bottom surface that extends radially outward in from the outlet” in line 6, which should recite “a bottom surface that extends radially outward
Claim 19 recites “air discharged from the outlet” in line 7, which should recite “the air discharged from the outlet” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 20 recites “the second body to the second body” in line 5, which should recite “the second body to the first body” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (WO2017/074128, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 02/01/2024, English Machine Translation provided herein and relied upon below).
Regarding Claim 1, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
An air purifier (1) comprising:
a first body (10) having an inlet (101), an outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20) formed above (as illustrated in Figure 3) the inlet (101), and a fan (140) configured to form an air flow (the flow of air through 1) from the inlet (101) to the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20); and
a second body (20) provided above (as illustrated in Figure 2) the first body (10), wherein
the second body (20) includes:
a first cover (201, 202) coupled to (as illustrated in Figure 2) the first body (10) and including a bottom surface (the surface of 201) that extends radially outward in an upward direction (as illustrated in Figure 3, the surface of 201 extends radially outward in an upward direction from the top of 10) from the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20) to guide (the air discharged from 10 is guided upward via 201) air (air flowing through 1) discharged from the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20); and
a second cover (40) detachably provided (as illustrated in Figure 5, 40 is detachable) above the first cover (201, 202) and forming a flat upper surface (as illustrated in Figure 3, 40 forms a flat upper surface of 20) of the second body (20), and wherein
a protrusion (232) extending downward (232 within 20 extends in the vertical, upward/downward direction, as illustrated in Figure 13) is formed in the bottom surface (the surface of 201) of the first cover (201/202).
Regarding Claim 2, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
The protrusion (232) extends along (as illustrated in Figure 13, 232 extends around 201 in the circumferential direction) the bottom surface (the surface of 201) of the first cover (201, 202) in a circumferential direction (the direction around the surface of 201).
Regarding Claim 3, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
The protrusion (232) protrudes radially outward and downward (as illustrated in Figure 13) from the first cover (10).
Regarding Claim 4, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
The outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20) is formed in a top surface (the top surface of 10, which connects to 20) of the first body (10); and
the protrusion (232) is spaced apart radially (as illustrated in Figure 13) from an outer circumference (the outer circumference of the top of 10) of the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20).
Regarding Claim 5, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
A lower end (the bottom end of 232) of the protrusion (232) is positioned radially outward from (as illustrated in Figure 13) from the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20).
Regarding Claim 6, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 16, and 19):
The second cover (40) includes:
a cover plate 422) positioned above the first cover (201, 202), and
a peripheral wall (41) extending downward (as illustrated in Figure 19) from an outer circumference (the outer circumference of 422) of the cover plate (422), and
the peripheral wall (41) is provided at (as illustrated in Figure 16) an outer circumference (the outer circumference of 202) of the first cover (201, 202).
Regarding Claim 7, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 16, and 19):
The protrusion (232) is spaced radially inward (as illustrated in Figures 13 and 16) from the peripheral wall (41).
Regarding Claim 9, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 16, and 19):
The peripheral wall (41) extends radially outward (as illustrated in Figure 19) between an upper side (the top side of 41) of the peripheral wall (41) to a lower side (the bottom side of 41) of the peripheral wall (41).
Regarding Claim 10, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 16, 19, and 20):
The second cover (40) includes an inner protrusion (411a) protruding from a lower end (the bottom side of 41) of the peripheral wall (41) and in a direction toward the first cover (201, 202).
Regarding Claim 13, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 16, 18, 19, and 20):
The second body (20) includes a third cover (50) provided between the first cover (201, 202) and the second cover (40), and
a mounting hole (the hole on the bottom side of 40 in which 50 is inserted, as illustrated in Figure 18) into which a part of the third cover (50) is inserted is formed in the second cover (40).
Regarding Claim 15, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 16, 18, 19, and 20):
A height (the vertical height of 50, as illustrated in Figure 18) of a top surface (the top surface of 50) of the third cover (50) decreases radially inward (as illustrated in Figure 50, the radial perimeter of 50 is thicker than the screen located radially inward from the perimeter).
Regarding Claim 17, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, and 20):
The first cover (201, 202) includes a latch (@01a) that is configured to be movable by a user (by the user’s fingers inserted in 201a and lifting upward) to selectively couple the first cover (201, 202) and the second cover (40), and
the protrusion (232) is positioned between (as illustrated in Figure 14, the top of 232 is located above 201a) the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20) and the latch (201a).
Regarding Claim 18, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, and 20):
The first cover (201, 202) includes a latch (@01a) that is configured to be movable by a user (by the user’s fingers inserted in 201a and lifting upward) to selectively couple the first cover (201, 202) and the second cover (40), and
the protrusion (232) is positioned between (as illustrated in Figure 14, the top of 232 is located between 201a and the perimeter of 201, 202) the latch (201a) and a perimeter (the perimeter of 201, 202) of the first cover (201, 202).
Regarding Claim 19, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
An air purifier (1) comprising:
a first body (10) having an inlet (101), an outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20) formed above (as illustrated in Figure 3) the inlet (101), and a fan (140) configured to move air (air flowing through 1) between the inlet (101) and the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20); and
a second body (201, 202) provided above (as illustrated in Figure 2) the first body (10), wherein
the second body (201, 202) includes:
a bottom surface (the surface of 201) that extends radially outward (as illustrated in Figure 3, the surface of 201 extends radially outward in an upward direction from the top of 10) from the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20) to guide (the air discharged from 10 is guided upward via 201) the air (air flowing through 1) discharged from the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20);
a flat upper surface (as illustrated in Figure 3, 40 forms a flat upper surface of 20); and
a downward protrusion (232) on the bottom surface (the surface of 201) of the second body (201, 202) that extends in (as illustrated in Figure 13, 232 extends around 201 in the circumferential direction) around the outlet (the outlet at the top of 10, which is connected to 20).
Regarding Claim 20, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 13):
An air purifier (1) comprising:
a first body (10) to output (via 140) an upward airflow (air flowing through 1 is first outputted through the top of 10 in an upward direction); and
a second body (201, 202) including:
an insertion protrusion (232) configured to be received in (as illustrated in Figures 3 and 5) the first body (10) to couple (as illustrated in the figures) the second body (201, 202) to the first body (10);
a bottom surface (the surface of 201) that extends radially upward and outward (as illustrated in Figure 3, the surface of 201 extends radially outward in an upward direction from the top of 10) from the insertion protrusion (232) to guide (the air discharged from 10 is guided upward via 201) air (air flowing through 1) from the first body (10) and that includes a downward protrusion (as illustrated in Figure 13, there are two downward hollow protrusions spaced in the circumferential direction around 232) extending in a circumferential direction (the direction around the surface of 201) around the insertion protrusion (232); and
a flat upper surface (40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, 12, 14, and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 8, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, and 19):
The thickness (the thickness of 41 in the vertical direction) decreases (as illustrated in Figure 19, the thickness of 41 is greatest near the top 422b and decreases toward the bottom surface of 41) from an upper side (the top side of 41) of the peripheral wall (41) to a lower side (the bottom side of 31) of the peripheral wall (41).
However, Son lacks showing the thickness increases from the upper side to the lower side.
There is no teaching or motivation in the prior art to modify Son accordingly.
Regarding Claim 11, Son teaches the claimed invention except the first cover includes an insertion post to be inserted into the first body, a guide wall positioned above the insertion post and extending outward from the insertion post in an upward direction to define the bottom surface of the first cover; and an edge rib protruding upward from a perimeter of the guide wall, and the peripheral wall is provided at an outer circumference of the edge rib.
Modifying Son accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Son.
Claim 12 depends from Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 14, Son teaches the claimed invention except a groove recessed downward and configured to receive a liquid of provided in the third cover.
Modifying Son accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Son.
Regarding Claim 16, Son shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, and 19):
The second cover (40) includes a button (422a) that is provided on a surface of (as illustrated in Figure 1) the second cover (40).
However, Son lacks showing the button is on the bottom surface of the first cover, and the protrusion is positioned between the button and a perimeter of the first cover.
Modifying Son accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Son.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related air purifiers:
Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,044,429): see Figure 3
/D. T./
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762