DETAILED ACTION
This is a final rejection in response to amendments filed 6/8/26. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boukhny et al. (US5645530) in view of Peartree et al. (US 2004/0138702).
Regarding independent claim 1 and 8 and dependent claim 2, Boukhny teaches an ophthalmic surgical instrument comprising: a needle 16 for insertion into an incision in an eye (col 1, ll. 7-20); a generator of ultrasonic energy attached to the needle for supplying the ultrasonic energy to the needle to emulsify tissue within the eye (col 1, ll. 7-20); and a sleeve 12 surrounding at least a portion of the needle, the sleeve including a distal insertion portion for supplying infusion fluid into the eye and a proximal compressible portion 12 for sealing the incision in the eye by pushing against an exterior surface of the eye at the incision (col. 1, ll. 37-39, col. 2, ll. 49-66).
Boukhny is silent to a proximal compressible portion configured to remain external to the eye.
Peartree teaches it was known to have a compressible member 22 that remains entirely external to the body and seals an incision purely by being compressed against an outer surface of the skin [0025,0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boukhny to have the compressible portion with external sealing as Peartree teaches rigid anchoring structures alone are insufficient to prevent leakage [0005], and further teaches that a compressible pad can maintain constant sealing pressure against tissue even as the inserted shaft is manipulated [0037].
Boukhny further teaches wherein a diameter of the insertion portion 18 of the sleeve is smaller than a diameter of the compressible portion of the sleeve (see fig. 1). The second diameter would have to be larger.
Regarding dependent claim 3 and 10, Boukhny in view of Peartree teaches the invention as claimed and discussed. Boukhny further teaches wherein the compressible portion of the sleeve includes a flange 20,21 at a distal end of the compressible portion to enhance the seal at the incision.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Boukhny in view of Peartree teaches the invention as claimed and discussed. Boukhny further teaches wherein the first diameter of the sleeve's insertion portion is sized to be inserted through the incision and does not seal the incision of the eye (see claim 1).
Regarding dependent claim 5 and 9, Boukhny in view of Peartree teaches the invention as claimed and discussed. Boukhny further teaches wherein the insertion portion of the sleeve includes at least one infusion port for supplying the infusion fluid into the eye (see claim 8, and col. 2, ll. 49-60).
Regarding dependent claim 6 and 11, Boukhny in view of Peartree teaches the invention as claimed and discussed. Boukhny as modified further teaches wherein the second diameter of the compressible portion is sized to be large enough not to pass through the incision (the insertion portion necessarily has a smaller diameter than the enlarged compressible sealing structure of Peartree).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Boukhny in view of Peartree teaches the invention as claimed and discussed. Boukhny further teaches wherein the sleeve is configured to allow the needle to move within the eye independent of the sleeve (col. 1, ll. 24-48).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRAIG KIM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3741