DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), based on an application filed in Korea on 10/11/2022 and 103/06/2023. The Applicant has filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0129838 and KR10-2023-0029150 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55, which has been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 10/06/2023 are accepted to by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
The Claim 1 is objected because of the following informalities. Third line of the claim has typographical error. The word “wherien” should be “wherein”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohl (US 2008/0013065).
Regarding claim 1, Kohl teaches a wafer processing system (refer to US 2008/0013065, semiconductor wafer 24, [0063],), comprising: an optical apparatus including a beam splitter (splitter 9, [0057], Figs. 1 and 17) and a beam delayer (optical component 80 which delays the partial light pulse, [0147]), wherein: the beam splitter (9) is configured to receive a laser beam (light source 2 is an ArF excimer laser with a working wavelength of 193 nm, produces a linearly polarized light beam 3, [0056], Figs. 1 and 17) and to split the laser beam into a first beam in a first state of linear polarization and a second beam in a second state of linear polarization (Figs. 1 and 17, splitter 9 splits the laser beam 3 into a first beam and second beam, through first optical component 28 and second optical module 29, [0064-0066]; Light exiting from the light source 2 is initially polarized perpendicularly to the plane of projection in FIG. 1 (s-polarization). This is indicated in FIG. 1 by the individual dots 6 on the light beam 3. This linearly polarized light from the light source first enters a beam expander 7, the light beam 3 is still s-polarized as it leaves the Pockels cell 8. The light beam 3 then passes through a decoupling beam splitter 9, [0057]); and the beam delayer is configured to delay the second beam (an optical component 80 which delays the partial light pulse of the module, see FIG. 17., [0147]) so that a pulse of the second beam has a delay time with respect to a pulse of the first beam (optical component 80 in FIG. 17 then delays the partial light pulse of the illumination light in the optical module 29 in relation to the other partial light pulse of the illumination light in the other optical module 28, [0147]).
Regarding claim 2, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the beam splitter includes: a wave plate configured to change a polarization state of the laser beam to generate a changed beam including the first beam and the second beam; and a first polarizing beam splitter configured to pass the first beam therethrough and to reflect the second beam to the beam delayer (polarization-selective beam splitter can result in an illumination light beam with a relatively large cross-section which can advantageously result in a relatively low-energy and/or relatively low-intensity load on the beam splitter. In certain embodiments, depending on the illumination light wavelength used, a polarization cube or a beam splitter cube used in a variation can be made of CaF.sub.2 or of quartz. Optionally, use can also be made of a, for example, optically coated beam splitter plate which lets through light having a first polarization direction and reflects light having a second polarization direction [0017]; dichroitic beam splitters can be used [0077]. at least two optical modules 28, 29 with identical or differing illumination settings and with identical or differing polarization distributions in the pupil plane 12 is obtained on switching during the light pulse in accordance with the switching-time example in FIG. 3, [0147]; it is possible to allow slow changes of the illumination settings in synchronism with the scanning process and at the same time to alter the polarization distribution within the at least two optical modules 28, 29 using appropriate polarization-influencing optical elements, [0134]; It is thus possible, by suitable activation of the two optical modules 28, 29, to control the proportional illumination thereof using a control unit, such as for example the computer 43, so as to allow, for a single intensity illumination setting with which the reticle 19 is illuminated, various polarization states to be achieved during the illumination. [0131]).
Regarding claim 4, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 2 (see above), wherein: the beam splitter (apparatus 1, splitter 9, Fig. 17) further includes a second polarizing beam splitter (splitter 35), the beam delayer reflects the second beam reflected by the first polarizing beam splitter to the second polarizing beam splitter (delayer 80, reflector 33, Fig. 17), and the second polarizing beam splitter (splitter 35) passes the first beam passing through the first polarizing beam splitter (9) therethrough and reflects the second beam reflected by the beam delayer (beam from 9 to 80, Fig. 17; optical delay can be adjustable via the optical delay component, and this can be achieved, for example, via a linear sliding table movable along a path over which the illumination light can be guided several times and a mirror, in particular a retroreflecting mirror, [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the wave plate is rotatable (splitter 9, e.g. in the embodiment in FIG. 1, and can rotate around axis 61, [0116]; mirror mount 65 rotates, [0119]; the polarization of the illumination light can be rotated, [0069], polarization plate can rotate around the beam axis of the light. [claim 25]).;
Regarding claim 6, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the beam delayer is movable so as to adjust a distance between the beam splitter and the beam delayer (illumination light is guided in the parallel polarization direction (p-polarization) relative to the plane of projection in FIG. 1 which is indicated in Figs. 1 and 17 by double arrows 32, that will change the change the distance).
Regarding claim 7, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the beam delayer (80) includes at least one mirror configured to receive the second beam from the beam splitter (The optical delay component may be an optical delay line arranged in the light path of the first optical module or in the light path of the second optical module. The optical delay can be adjustable via the optical delay component, and this can be achieved, for example, via a linear sliding table movable along a path over which the illumination light can be guided several times and a mirror, in particular a retroreflecting mirror, [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Kohl teaches a wafer processing system (refer to US 2008/0013065, semiconductor wafer 24, [0063],), comprising: a stage (device 26, which is also referred to as a wafer stage, [0063], Fig. 17) configured to support a wafer (wafer 24, [0063]); a first light source configured to generate a first laser beam (light source 2 and 2’, [0057]); a first optical apparatus configured to receive the first laser beam (beam expander 7 receive the beam, light source 2 is an ArF excimer laser with a working wavelength of 193 nm, produces a linearly polarized light beam 3, [0056], Figs. 1 and 17) and output a first beam and a second beam (3 and 3’, [0090]); an illumination optics configured to homogenize the first beam and the second beam to generate homogenized beams (field plane 15 is substantially homogeneously illuminated. FDE 13 is thus also used as a field shaping and homogenizing element for homogenizing the field illumination, [0060]); and an imaging optics (imaging objective 18, [0060]) configured to image the homogenized beams on the wafer (wafer 24, [0063], see Fig. 17), wherein: the first beam is in a first state of linear polarization, the second beam is in a second state of linear polarization, and the first beam and the second beam have a delay time therebetween (first optical component 28 configured to set a first illumination setting, [0064], light beam 3 then passes through a decoupling beam splitter 9 which is an example of a decoupling element and is formed as a polarization cube made of CaF.sub.2 or quartz. The decoupling beam splitter 9 lets the s-polarized light beam 3 through in the direction of the optical axis 4 and the beam passes through a first diffractive optical element (DOE) 10, [0057], The second optical module 29 includes the second DOE 30 and a second lens group 31 which is, in turn, divided up into a zoom system 31a and the axicon setup 31b, [0066]; In the decoupling path 29a, the illumination light is guided in the parallel polarization direction (p-polarization), [0067]; Fig. 17 shows beam through path 29 and 28 generate homogenized beams “. FDE 13 is thus also used as a field shaping and homogenizing element for homogenizing the field illumination, [0060]”; The optical delay component may be an optical delay line arranged in the light path of the first optical module or in the light path of the second optical module, especially for setting relatively short delay paths, the optical delay component may be configured as an optically transparent and optically denser medium having a predetermined optical path, [0028], an optical module 28 or 29, use is made of an optical component 80 which delays the partial light pulse of the module, as shown in Fig. 17, [0147]).
Regarding claim 12, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the first optical apparatus is configured to: provide the first beam to a first optical path, and provide the second beam to a second optical path different from the first optical path (first optical component 28 configured to set a first illumination setting, [0064]; second optical module 29, which is located in the decoupling path 29a of the decoupling beam splitter 9, can be used for fast modification of the illumination setting in the pupil forming plane 12. The second optical module 29 includes the second DOE 30 and a second lens group 31 which is, in turn, divided up into a zoom system 31a and the axicon setup 31b, [0066]).
Regarding claim 17, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 11 (see above), further comprising: a second light source configured to generate a second laser beam (Fig. 5, second light source 36, light beam 38); and a second optical apparatus configured to receive the second laser beam (as already described in connection with the light beam 3 from the light source 2, [0082], light source 2 is an ArF excimer laser, [0056]) and output a third beam (The light beam 3' from the light source 2' ideally has a mode which carries practically no energy in the region of a central hole in the perforated mirror 2a, [0090]) and a fourth beam, wherein: the illumination optics is configured to homogenize the first to fourth beams to generate homogenized beams, the third beam is in the first state of linear polarization, and the fourth beam is in the second state of linear polarization (the second decoupling beam splitter 40, reflecting to the right by 90.degree. in FIG. 5, and it lets p-polarized light through unimpeded, [0082]; field plane 15 is substantially homogeneously illuminated. FDE 13 is thus also used as a field shaping and homogenizing element for homogenizing the field illumination, [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Kohl teaches a wafer processing system (refer to US 2008/0013065, semiconductor wafer 24, [0063],), comprising: a stage (device 26, which is also referred to as a wafer stage, [0063], Fig. 17) configured to support a wafer (wafer 24, [0063]); a first light source configured to generate a first laser beam (light source 2 and 2’, [0057], the at least two light sources can be coupled into an illumination light beam by a coupling optical device, [0032]); an optical apparatus configured to receive the laser beam and output a first beam (beam expander 7 receive the beam, light source 2 is an ArF excimer laser with a working wavelength of 193 nm, produces a linearly polarized light beam 3, [0056], Figs. 1 and 17) and a second beam (beams from 3 and 3’); an illumination optics configured to homogenize the first beam and the second beam to generate homogenized beams’ (field plane 15 is substantially homogeneously illuminated. FDE 13 is thus also used as a field shaping and homogenizing element for homogenizing the field illumination, [0060]); and an imaging optics (imaging objective 18) configured to image the homogenized beams on the wafer (wafer 24, [0063], Fig. 17), wherein the optical apparatus includes: a beam splitter configured to split the laser beam into the first beam and the second beam (splitter 9, beams through 28 and 29, Fig. 17); and a beam delayer (optical component 80 in FIG. 17, [0147]) configured to delay the second beam so that a pulse of the second beam has a delay time with respect to a pulse of the first beam, and wherein the beam delayer is movable so as to adjust a distance between the beam splitter and the beam delayer (first optical component 28 configured to set a first illumination setting, [0064], light beam 3 then passes through a decoupling beam splitter 9 which is an example of a decoupling element and is formed as a polarization cube made of CaF.sub.2 or quartz. The decoupling beam splitter 9 lets the s-polarized light beam 3 through in the direction of the optical axis 4 and the beam passes through a first diffractive optical element (DOE) 10, [0057], The second optical module 29 includes the second DOE 30 and a second lens group 31 which is, in turn, divided up into a zoom system 31a and the axicon setup 31b, [0066]; In the decoupling path 29a, the illumination light is guided in the parallel polarization direction (p-polarization), [0067]; Fig. 17 shows beam through path 29 and 28 generate homogenized beams “. FDE 13 is thus also used as a field shaping and homogenizing element for homogenizing the field illumination, [0060]”; The optical delay component may be an optical delay line arranged in the light path of the first optical module or in the light path of the second optical module, especially for setting relatively short delay paths, the optical delay component may be configured as an optically transparent and optically denser medium having a predetermined optical path, [0028], an optical module 28 or 29, use is made of an optical component 80 which delays the partial light pulse of the module, as shown in Fig. 17, [0147]).
Regarding claim 19, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 18 (see above), wherein the beam delayer (component 80 which delays the partial light, [0147]) includes a plurality of mirrors, at least some of the plurality of mirrors being movable so as to adjust distances from the beam splitter (optical delay can be adjustable via the optical delay component, and this can be achieved, for example, via a linear sliding table movable along a path over which the illumination light can be guided several times and a mirror, in particular a retroreflecting mirror, [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 18 (see above), wherein the beam delayer includes at least one wave plate configured to change a polarization state of the first beam and a polarization state of the second beam (the optical delay component may be configured as an optically transparent and optically denser medium having a predetermined optical path. Use may also be made of a combination of an optical delay component wherein the optical delay is based on enlargement of the pure path and an optical delay component wherein the optical delay is based on a light path in an optically denser medium, [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohl as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stratton et al. (US 2022/0269072).
Regarding claim 3, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the beam delayer includes: a first mirror; a first wave plate between the beam splitter and the first mirror; a second mirror; and a second wave plate between the beam splitter and the second mirror (optical component 80 may, for example, consist of a correspondingly folded optical delay line, of at least two mirrors or of corresponding equivalents which allow the light propagation time to be extended, see [0147]), wherein: the first beam in the first state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter passes through the first polarizing beam splitter (beam splitter 9), and the second beam in the second state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter (splitter 35): reflected to the first wave plate by the beam splitter, converted into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate (The term "type of polarization" or "polarization state" refers in the present document to linearly and/or circularly polarized light and to any form of combinations, [0026]) and is provided to the first mirror (mirror 33, Fig. 17, [0068]), reflected by the first mirror and provided to the first wave plate (DOE 30).
Kohl doesn’t explicitly teach converted into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate, the first beam in the first state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter passes through the first polarizing beam splitter, and the second beam in the second state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter: reflected to the first wave plate by the beam splitter, converted into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate and is provided to the first mirror, reflected by the first mirror and provided to the first wave plate, converted into the first state of the linear polarization by the first wave plate and is provided to the first polarizing beam splitter, passes through the first polarizing beam splitter and is provided to the second wave plate, converted into circularly polarized light by the second wave plate and is provided to the second mirror, reflected by the second mirror and provided to the second wave plate, converted into the second state of the linear polarization by the second wave plate and provided to the first polarizing beam splitter, and reflected by the first polarizing beam splitter.
Kohl and Stratton are related as beam splitters.
Stratton teaches converted into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate, the first beam in the first state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter passes through the first polarizing beam splitter, and the second beam in the second state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter: reflected to the first wave plate by the beam splitter, converted into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate and is provided to the first mirror, reflected by the first mirror and provided to the first wave plate, converted into the first state of the linear polarization by the first wave plate and is provided to the first polarizing beam splitter, passes through the first polarizing beam splitter and is provided to the second wave plate, converted into circularly polarized light by the second wave plate and is provided to the second mirror, reflected by the second mirror and provided to the second wave plate, converted into the second state of the linear polarization by the second wave plate and provided to the first polarizing beam splitter, and reflected by the first polarizing beam splitter (Fig. 1, light source 108 is partially reflected off of the one or more polarization selective reflective surfaces 144 within the polarizing beam splitter 116, producing a first light beam 147 that is linear polarized. The first light beam 147 transmits through the first waveplate 145, altering the linearly polarized light of the first light beam 147 to circularly polarized light. The first light beam 147 then reflects off of the first mirror, reversing the handedness of the circular polarized first light beam 147, and the first light beam 147 passes back through the first waveplate 145, becoming (p)-polarized light 150. The (p)-polarized light 150 then transmits through the one or more polarization selective reflective surfaces 144 and through the end face 140, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the system of Kohl to convert light into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate, the first beam in the first state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter passes through the first polarizing beam splitter, and the second beam in the second state of linear polarization split by the beam splitter: reflected to the first wave plate by the beam splitter, converted into circularly polarized light by the first wave plate and is provided to the first mirror, reflected by the first mirror and provided to the first wave plate, converted into the first state of the linear polarization by the first wave plate and is provided to the first polarizing beam splitter, passes through the first polarizing beam splitter and is provided to the second wave plate, converted into circularly polarized light by the second wave plate and is provided to the second mirror, reflected by the second mirror and provided to the second wave plate, converted into the second state of the linear polarization by the second wave plate and provided to the first polarizing beam splitter, and reflected by the first polarizing beam splitter as taught by Stratton for the predictable advantage of the optical system, with lenses and mirrors, and the polarization beam splitter are configured to fit into a package with a volume less than two cubic centimeters, that will save space, as Stratton taught in [0007-0011].
Regarding claim 8, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the at least one mirror is configured to reflect the second beam from the beam splitter (mirror 33 reflect the second beam from the beam splitter 9, Fig. 17). Kohl doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the at least one mirror is configured to reflect the second beam from the beam splitter back toward the beam splitter.
Kohl and Stratton are related as beam splitters.
Stratton teaches the at least one mirror is configured to reflect the second beam from the beam splitter back toward the beam splitter (Fig. 2; light source 108; beam splitter 116, a first mirror 120, and a second mirror 124. reflect the second beam from the beam splitter back toward the beam splitter, Fig. 2; [0034-0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the system of Kohl to at least one mirror is configured to reflect the second beam from the beam splitter back toward the beam splitter, as taught by Stratton for the predictable advantage of the optical system, with mirrors, and the polarization beam splitter are configured to fit into a package with a volume less than two cubic centimeters, that will save space, as Stratton taught in [0007-0011].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohl as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jennings et al. (US 2009/0034071).
Regarding claim 9, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 1 (see above). Kohl doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the beam splitter includes a non-polarizing beam splitter.
Kohl and Jennings are related as beam splitters.
Jennings teaches beam splitters 201-205 may be non-polarizing beam splitters, [0043], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the system of Kohl and use the beam splitter includes a non-polarizing beam splitter, as taught by Jennings for the predictable advantage of non-polarizing beam splitters where the polarizations of the transmitted and reflected component beams are not influenced by the beam splitter, so the polarization of the incident radiation is maintained, as Stratton taught in [0043].
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohl (US 2008/0013065).
as Regarding claim 10, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 1 (see above). Kohl doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the delay time between the pulse of the second beam and the pulse of the first beam is a pulse width of the pulse of the first beam. Kohl teaches about delay times between pulses (the light pulses L1, L2 are time-delayed by the interval of adjacent laser pulses L generated by the switching are at the same intervals from one another after the coupling element, [0147]). Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art and no criticality has been established on the record, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Benefits of optimizing the delay time between the pulses include improved image quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the delay time between the pulse of the second beam and the pulse of the first beam is a pulse width of the pulse of the first beam, for the predictable advantage of improving the projection.
Regarding claim 16, Kohl teaches the wafer processing system according to claim 11 (see above), wherein an intensity of a pulse of the first beam is the same as a intensity of a pulse of the second beam (a control system can allow proportional adjustment of illumination of the illumination field with various preset illumination settings. These components can be produced by time-proportional illumination, i.e. by sequential illumination initially with a first and then with at least one other illumination setting or by intensity-proportional illumination, i.e. parallel illumination of the illumination field with a plurality of illumination settings with a preset intensity distribution, [0034]; Since the prior art teaches illumination settings with a preset intensity distribution, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art and no criticality has been established on the record, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Benefits of optimizing the delay time between the pulses include improved image quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a maximum intensity of a pulse of the first beam is the same as a maximum intensity of a pulse of the second beam, for the predictable advantage of improving the projection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The pertinent prior art cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching all elements and features wherein: the first beam includes a second-first beam and a second-third beam, the second beam includes a second-second beam and a second-fourth beam, and the first optical apparatus includes: a first optical module configured to change a polarization state of the first laser beam to generate a changed beam including a first-first beam and a first-second beam and output the first-first beam and the first-second beam; and a second optical module configured to change a polarization state of the first-first beam to generate a second-first changed beam including the second- first beam and the second-second beam, to change a polarization state of the first-second beam to generate a second-second changed beam including the second-third beam and the second-fourth beam, and to output the second-first to second-fourth beams (claim 13).
Dependent claims 14-15 are also allowable due to their dependencies on objected claim 13.
Conclusion
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872