DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaishnav (US Patent Number 10016065).
Regarding claim 1, Vaishnav discloses a child seat having a coupling element (20 for instance) mountable to a first corresponding coupling element (48B) of a free-standing base to form a high-chair assembly (as in Figure 4) and mountable to a second corresponding coupling element (26) of a supportable base (21), the supportable base being mountable to a support structure (21 is mountable 30), to form a hook-on chair assembly (as in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Vaishnav further discloses the coupling element is dimensioned to slidably engage the first corresponding coupling element and the second corresponding coupling element (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claim 5, Vaishnav further discloses the coupling element is positioned on a surface of at least one arm portion of the child seat (see figures).
Regarding claim 9, Vaishnav further discloses the coupling element comprises one of a polygonal groove element or a polygonal lip element (it is at least a polygonal groove).
Claim(s) 1-20 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bearup et al. (US Patent Number 7673934).
Regarding claim 1, Bearup discloses a child seat (30) having a coupling element (of 44 or at 40 generally; alternatively 34) mountable to a first corresponding coupling element (23 and/or 27) of a free-standing base (20) to form a high-chair assembly (as in Figure 1) and mountable to a second corresponding coupling element (63 and/or 64) of a supportable base (60), the supportable base being mountable to a support structure (60 is mountable to 5; see the third full paragraph of column 6), to form a hook-on chair assembly (it is hooked onto structure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Bearupf further discloses the coupling element is dimensioned to slidably engage the first corresponding coupling element and the second corresponding coupling element (34 slidably couples with 23, 63).
Regarding claim 3, Bearup further discloses the coupling element is dimensioned to pivotally engage the first corresponding coupling element and the second corresponding coupling element (40/44 pivotally engages 23, 63).
Regarding claim 4, Bearup further discloses the coupling element is dimensioned to snappedly engage the first corresponding coupling element and the second corresponding coupling element (40/44 would be at least capable of snappedly engaging 23, 63).
Regarding claim 5, Bearup further discloses the coupling element is positioned on a surface of at least one arm portion of the child seat (see figures).
Regarding claim 6, Bearup further discloses an interlocking element (42 for instance) configured to lock the child seat coupling element to at least one of the first corresponding coupling element or the second corresponding coupling element.
Regarding claim 7, Bearup further discloses a release element (45 for instance) operably connected to the interlocking element.
Regarding claim 8, Bearup further discloses a release pad (of 43 or 44) configured to eject the at least one coupling element from at least one of the first corresponding coupling element or the second corresponding coupling element (it would allow such function).
Regarding claim 9, Bearup further discloses the coupling element comprises one of a polygonal groove element or a polygonal lip element (it forms polygonal grooves and lips).
Regarding claim 10, Bearup further discloses the coupling element comprises one of a downward facing hook or an upward facing hook (34 forms a downward facing hook while portions of 40 for upward facing hooks).
Regarding claim 11, Bearup discloses a child seat (30) having a first coupling element (at least a portion of 44 for instance) mountable to a first corresponding coupling element (27 for instance) of a free-standing base (20) in more than one direction (at least in that the mounting secures in various directions) to form a high-chair assembly (as in Figure 1), and a second coupling element (34 for instance) mountable to a second corresponding coupling element (63 for instance) of a supportable base (60), the supportable base being mountable to a support structure (60 is mountable to 5; see the third full paragraph of column 6), to form a hook-on chair assembly (it is hooked onto structure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Bearup further discloses the first coupling element is dimensioned to snappedly engage the first corresponding coupling element (the latching mechanism would at least be capable of such) and the second coupling element is dimensioned to pivotally engage the second corresponding coupling element (being pivoted into position for instance).
Regarding claim 13, Bearup further discloses the first coupling element is positioned on a bottom surface of a seat portion of the child seat (at least generally) and the second coupling element is positioned at a distal end of at least one arm portion of the child seat (at least in part).
Regarding claim 14, Bearup further discloses an interlocking element (42 for instance) configured to lock at least one of the first coupling element to the first corresponding coupling element or the second coupling element to the second corresponding coupling element (42 functions at least to lock 44 to 27).
Regarding claim 15, Bearup further discloses a release element (45) operably connected to the interlocking element (i.e. 45 operates to release 42).
Regarding claim 16, Bearup further discloses a release pad (of 43 or 44) configured to eject at least one of the first coupling element from the first corresponding coupling element or the second coupling element from the second corresponding coupling element (it would allow such function).
Regarding claim 17, Bearup further discloses a third coupling element (37) mountable to a third corresponding connection mechanism of a tray table (mounting supports of 55; see the second full paragraph of column 6).
Regarding claim 18, Bearup further discloses a system for child seating comprising: a child seat (30) having at least one coupling element (of 44 or at 40 generally); and a free-standing base (20) comprising a bench (at 22, 23 for instance), at least one leg (17) extending from the bench, and a first corresponding coupling element (a top portion of 23 and/or element 27), wherein the at least one coupling element is mountable to the first corresponding coupling element (this is the general arrangement) in more than one direction (at least in that the mounting secures in various directions) to form a high-chair assembly (as in Figure 1); and wherein the at least one coupling element is mountable to a second corresponding coupling element (64) of a supportable base (60), to form a hook-on chair assembly (it is hooked onto structure 5).
Regarding claim 19, Bearup further discloses the at least one coupling element is dimensioned to snappedly engage the first corresponding coupling element (it would be capable of such function).
Regarding claim 20, Bearup further discloses the first corresponding coupling element is positioned on a top surface of the bench (see figures).
Regarding claim 24, Bearup discloses a system for child seating comprising: a child seat (30) having at least one coupling element (of 44 or at 40 generally) mountable to a first corresponding coupling element (23 and/or 27) of a free-standing base (20) to form a high-chair assembly (as in Figure 1); and a supportable base (60) comprising a support mechanism to couple the supportable base to a support structure (see the third full paragraph of column 6 describing straps, which would constitute a support mechanism to couple the base as claimed) and a second corresponding coupling element (63 and/or 64), and a spring-loaded release pad (of 44 or 45 for instance) configured to eject the child seat from the supportable base (it would function in this manner), wherein the at least one coupling element is mountable to the second corresponding coupling element (this is the general arrangement) to form a hook-on chair assembly (it is hooked onto structure 5).
Regarding claim 25, Bearup further discloses the at least one coupling element is dimensioned to pivotally engage the second corresponding coupling element (42, 44, etc. pivot in this manner).
Regarding claim 26, Bearup further discloses the second corresponding coupling element is positioned on one of a horizontal surface configured to sit adjacent a top surface of the support structure or a vertical surface configured to sit adjacent a side surface of the support structure when the supportable base is coupled to the support structure (it is at least on a horizontal surface as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaishnav. Vaishnav discloses a seat as explained above including dimensioning that would seem to allow pivotal engagement (at least the rounded corners would provide minimal pivoting on entry) as well as broad disclosure of a snap or interlock (26 is described as a “frame interlocking mounting”) and release elements and pads (associated with 27-29 for instance) and hooks (of 22), but may not disclose the particular arrangements and/or details as claimed. However, duplication, changes in shape, and/or rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, and moreover the claimed elements are old and well-known even if not clearly described in Vaishnav. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangements as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and safety for various users.
Claim(s) 21-23 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bearup.
Regarding claims 21-23, Bearup discloses a system as explained above including an interlocking element (of 42 or 44 for instance) configured to lock the at least one coupling element to the first corresponding coupling element, a release mechanism (45 for instance) operably connected to the interlocking element, wherein at least one of the coupling element and the first corresponding coupling element is spring-loaded (via 46), but may associate these components with the coupling element/seat rather than the corresponding coupling element/base. However, duplication and/or rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve function or operation for various users.
Regarding claims 27-29, Bearup discloses a system as explained above including an interlocking element (of 42 or 44 for instance) configured to lock the at least one coupling element to the second corresponding coupling element, a release mechanism (45 for instance) operably connected to the interlocking element, and spring-loaded release pad (of 44 or 45 for instance as above), but may associate these components with the coupling element/seat rather than the corresponding coupling element/base and/or not clearly disclose force orientations as claimed. However, duplication as well as reversal or rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangements as claimed based on normal variation to improve function or operation for various users.
Claim(s) 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bearup in view of Yoshida et al. (US Patent Number 7029068). Bearup discloses a system as explained above but does not provide details of the support mechanism. Yoshida discloses a related device including a support mechanism incorporating a screw pressure driver (32, 26, etc.) comprising a torque indicator and/or a torque limiting mechanism (see lines 16-43 of column 9). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a support mechanism as taught by Yoshida in Bearup’s system because this could ensure safety and security for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Vaishnav does not disclose “a coupling element that is mountable to both a supportable base to form a high-chair assembly and a free-standing base to form a hook-on chair assembly, as claimed,” and that Bearup does not disclose a supportable base mountable to a support structure to form a hook-on chair assembly or a base receiving a seat in more than one direction.
Regarding the arguments related to Vaishnav, it is initially noted that Applicant suggests the coupling element mountable to bases opposite than that claimed (i.e. a supportable base for a high-chair and free-standing base for a hook-on chair rather than the claimed free-standing base for a high-chair and supportable base for a hook-on chair). Nevertheless, Vaishnav is viewed as disclosing the arrangement as claimed. While Applicant may disagree with the tray assembly being viewed as a free-standing base, it is maintained that it would be functional as such. Moreover, the arrangement of Figure 4 clearly shows the coupling with the base and forming a high-chair assembly as claimed.
Regarding the disclosure of Bearup, it is maintained that supportable base 60 is mounted to support structure 5 to form a hook-on chair as claimed (as indicated above, Bearup discloses 60 connected to 5 via straps for instance; thus 60 is hooked onto 5). While it is appreciated that this arrangement may differ somewhat from the invention, Applicant’s suggestion that a hook-on chair must mount to a table, counter top, etc. is not supported by Applicant’s specification (which states that a hook-on chair “may be coupled to any support structure… [which] generally refers to an article of furniture” (emphasis added)). Regarding the directional mounting, Bearup discloses an arrangement as claimed. That is, the mounting secures in various directions. While Applicant’s explanation of a child seat received in multiple directions in a free-standing base is appreciated, this is not captured in the current claim language.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636