DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed 11/09/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches an operation method of a first device (non-AP/STA MLD 220-Fig. 2) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0075]), the operation method comprising:
performing, by a processor (605 of STA-Fig. 6; [0075]), a first communication with a second device (AP MLD 205) on a first link (link 1) (Fig. 2; [0052]; [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st communication} with AP MLD.) (Hence the STA performs, by the 605, 1st communication with the AP on link 1.);
performing, by the processor (605 of STA-Fig. 6; [0075]), a listening operation on one or more links after the first communication ends (Fig. 2, [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st comm}. Then the Non-AP/STA MLD 220 switches back to listening operation on enabled links (e.g., Channel 1, Channel 2, and/or other wireless links) after the frame exchange {i.e. 1st comm} has ended.) (Hence the STA performs, by processor, a listening operation on links after the 1st communication ends.); and
Lu does not teach starting, by the processor, a delay timer on a second link among the one or more links, wherein the first device does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link during the delay timer is running.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches an operation method of a first device (non-STR STA) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0003]), the operation method comprising:
starting, by the processor, a delay timer on a second link among the one or more links (1st and 2nd link) ([0006], processor of non-STR STA initiate a medium synchronization delay timer associated with a 2nd link in response to completing transmission of data on the 1st link; Fig. 5, [0051]) (Hence the STA starts, by the processor, a delay timer on a 2nd link among 1st and 2nd links.),
wherein the first device (non-STR STA) does not initiate a frame(data) transmission operation on the second link during the delay timer is running ([0006], processor of non-STR STA initiate a medium synchronization delay timer associated with a 2nd link. wherein the processor is configured to transmit data on the 2nd link in response to expiration of the medium synchronization delay timer {prevent the STA from performing a countdown on the 2nd link—see [0045]; Fig. 4A—i.e. does not TX during the delay timer is running}.) (Hence the STA does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the 2nd link during the delay timer is running.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Lu to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 2, Lu further teaches further including:
after starting the delay timer, receiving a first frame (initial control frame) from the second device (AP) on the second link ([0013]; [0053]),
wherein in response to reception of the first frame (initial control frame), the delay timer expires, and a second communication between the first device (STA) and the second device (AP) is performed on the second link ([0053]; obvious).
Regarding claim 5, Lu further teaches wherein the first frame is an initial control frame ([0005], initial control frame is received from AP MLD.).
Regarding claim 6, Lu further teaches wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) trigger frame([0005], The initial Control frame is typically an MU-RTS Trigger frame.) or a request-to-send (RTS) frame.
Regarding claim 7, Lu does not teach wherein the delay timer starts when the first device fails to perform a channel sensing or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer starts when the first device fails to perform a channel sensing (CCA-[0046]) or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period([0045]; Hence delay timer starts when STA fails to perform channel sensing/CCA on 2nd link for defined period.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Lu to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 8, Lu does not teach wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the first device.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the first device (STA) ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Lu to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 9, Lu further teaches wherein the listening operation is a wireless ([0002]) channel sensing operation (CCA) and/or a wireless signal reception operation ([0005], The listening operation can include performing clear channel assessment (CCA) and receiving an initial control frame.).
Regarding claim 10, Lu further teaches wherein the performing of the first communication includes:
receiving a MU-RTS trigger frame from the second device (AP) ([0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120.);
transmitting a clear-to-send (CTS) frame to the second device (AP) in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame ( [0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120. In response, the non-AP MLD 120 transmits a CTS frame to the AP MLD 105.)
receiving a data frame from the second device (AP) ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD. ); and
transmitting a reception response frame for the data frame to the second device (AP) ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation to the AP responsive to a recently received frame from the AP.),
wherein the data frame is received using a plurality of spatial streams ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD using plurality of spatial streams), and the reception response frame is transmitted using one spatial stream ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation {with a 1×1 spatial stream –see [0052]} to the AP) or the plurality of spatial streams.
5. Claims 3 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1), further in view of Kurian (US 2019/0357214 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lu-Ho does not teach wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device, and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams.
However, in an analogous art, Kurian teaches wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device (client station) ([0107], short to medium range wireless communication circuitry 329 of the station includes multiple receive chains and/or multiple transmit chains for receiving and/or transmitting multiple spatial streams.), and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams ([0107], multiple receive chains for receiving multiple spatial streams. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kurian and apply them on the teaching of Lu-Ho to provide receive chains of station for receiving spatial streams (Kurian; [0107]).
Regarding claim 11, Lu-Ho does not teach wherein receive chains operating on other link(s) of the first device are used for reception of the plurality of spatial streams in the first communication of the first link.
However, in an analogous art, Kurian teaches wherein receive chains operating on other link(s) of the first device are used for reception of the plurality of spatial streams in the first communication of the first link ([0106]; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kurian and apply them on the teaching of Lu-Ho to provide receive chains of station for receiving spatial streams (Kurian; [0107]).
6. Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1), further in view of Seok (US 2021/0360521 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Lu-Ho does not teach wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Seok teaches wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Seok and apply them on the teaching of Lu-Ho to provide EHT enhanced multi-link SST operation, wherein a receive chain performs 1st comm on 1st link and listening operation on 2nd link(Seok; [0056]).
7. Claims 12-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) in view of Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1), further in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Gua teaches a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP/STA MLD) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0106]; Fig. 1 & 2), the STA MLD comprising:
a processor (Fig. 12; [0218]);
a first STA(STA1) operating on a first link (link 1) ([0102], AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate in parallel by using link 1, link 2.. . link n. STA1 in the non-AP MLD establishes an association relationship with AP1 in the AP MLD on link 1.) based on control of the processor (12) ([0219]; obvious);
a second STA(STA2) operating on a second link (link 2) ([0102], AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate in parallel by using link 1, link 2, . . link n. STA2 in the non-AP MLD establishes an association relationship with AP2 in the AP MLD on link 2.) based on control of the processor (12) ([0219]; obvious); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor ([0262]), wherein the one or more instructions are executed to:
Gua does not teach cause the first STA to perform a first communication with a first access point (AP) affiliated with an AP MLD on the first link; cause the first STA and the second STA to perform listening operations after the first communication ends; and
However, in an analogous art, Lu teaches a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP/STA MLD 220-Fig. 2) in a wireless local area network (LAN)([0075]), the STA MLD comprising:
cause the first STA to perform a first communication with a first access point (AP) affiliated with an AP MLD on the first link (link 1) (Fig. 2; [0052]; [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st communication} with AP MLD.) (Hence the STA1 performs 1st communication with the AP on link 1.);
cause the first STA and the second STA to perform listening operations after the first communication ends (Fig. 2, [0053], non-AP/STA1 MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st communication}. Then the Non-AP/STA1 MLD 220 {can listen on the enabled links by leaving its affiliated wireless stations (STAs) corresponding to those links in an awake state (“listening mode”)—i.e. also STA2---see [0005]} switches back to listening operation on enabled links (e.g., Channel 1, Channel 2, and/or other wireless links) after the frame exchange {i.e. 1st communication} has ended.) (Hence the STA1 and STA2 performs, a listening operation on links after the 1st communication ends.); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu and apply them on the teaching of Gua to provide improved switching mechanism for multi-link operations is needed to take advantage of available links and improve latency and bandwidth for EML operation (Lu; [0006]).
Gua -Lu does not teach cause the second STA to start a delay timer on the second link, wherein the second STA does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link during the delay timer is running.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (non-STR STA) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0003]), the STA MLD comprising:
cause the second STA to start a delay timer on the second link ([0006], processor of non-STR STA {STA2—see [0045]} initiate a medium synchronization delay timer associated with a 2nd link in response to completing transmission of data on the 1st link; Fig. 5, [0051]) (Hence the STA2 starts a delay timer on a 2nd link.),
wherein the second STA does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link during the delay timer is running ([0006], processor of non-STR STA {STA2—see [0045]} initiate a medium synchronization delay timer associated with a 2nd link. wherein the processor is configured to transmit data on the 2nd link in response to expiration of the medium synchronization delay timer {prevent the STA from performing a countdown on the 2nd link—see [0045]; Fig. 4A—i.e. does not TX during the delay timer is running}.) (Hence the STA2 does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the 2nd link during the delay timer is running.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Gua -Lu to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA (Ho; [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Lu further teaches further including:
after starting the delay timer, receiving a first frame (initial control frame) from the second device (AP) on the second link ([0013]; [0053]),
wherein in response to reception of the first frame (initial control frame), the delay timer expires, and a second communication between the first device (STA) and the second device (AP) is performed on the second link ([0053]; obvious).
Regarding claim 14, Lu further teaches wherein the first frame is an initial control frame ([0005], initial control frame is received from AP MLD.).
Regarding claim 15, Lu further teaches wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) trigger frame([0005], The initial Control frame is typically an MU-RTS Trigger frame.) or a request-to-send (RTS) frame.
Regarding claim 18, Gua-Lu does not teach wherein the delay timer starts when the first device fails to perform a channel sensing or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer starts when the first device fails to perform a channel sensing (CCA-[0046]) or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period([0045]; Hence delay timer starts when STA fails to perform channel sensing/CCA on 2nd link for defined period.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 19, Gua -Lu does not teach wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the first device.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the first device (STA) ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Gua -Lu to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 20, Lu further teaches wherein the performing of the first communication includes:
receiving a MU-RTS trigger frame from the second device (AP) ([0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120.);
transmitting a clear-to-send (CTS) frame to the second device (AP) in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame ( [0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120. In response, the non-AP MLD 120 transmits a CTS frame to the AP MLD 105.)
receiving a data frame from the second device (AP) ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD. ); and
transmitting a reception response frame for the data frame to the second device (AP) ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation to the AP responsive to a recently received frame from the AP.),
wherein the data frame is received using a plurality of spatial streams ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD using plurality of spatial streams), and the reception response frame is transmitted using one spatial stream ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation {with a 1×1 spatial stream –see [0052]} to the AP) or the plurality of spatial streams.
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) in view of Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1), in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1), further in view of Kurian (US 2019/0357214 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Gua-Lu-Ho does not teach wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device, and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams.
However, in an analogous art, Kurian teaches wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device (client station) ([0107], short to medium range wireless communication circuitry 329 of the station includes multiple receive chains and/or multiple transmit chains for receiving and/or transmitting multiple spatial streams.), and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams ([0107], multiple receive chains for receiving multiple spatial streams. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kurian and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu-Ho to provide receive chains of station for receiving spatial streams (Kurian; [0107]).
9. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) in view of Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1), further in view of Seok (US 2021/0360521 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Gua -Lu-Ho does not teach wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Seok teaches wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Seok and apply them on the teaching of Gua -Lu-Ho to provide EHT enhanced multi-link SST operation, wherein a receive chain performs 1st comm on 1st link and listening operation on 2nd link (Seok; [0056]).
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415