DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 05/06/2026. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10-14 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/06/2026 with respect to claims 1, 2, 5, 12, 13 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment. Applicant has amended the other claims just to clarify the 1st and 2nd device are STA MLD and AP MLD, respectively, that the previously cited refs already teach.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu_1(US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lu_1 teaches an operation method of station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP/STA MLD 220-Fig. 2) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0075]), the operation method comprising:
performing, by a first STA of the STA MLD (STA MLD device listens on enabled links by leaving its affiliated wireless stations (STAs) corresponding to those links--[0005]—i.e. STA1) operating in an enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR) mode, a first communication with an access point (AP) MLD on a first link (link 1) of the EMLSR links (Fig. 2; [0052]; [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links {EMLSR links—[0017]} for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st communication} with AP MLD.) (Hence STA1 of STA MLD operating in a EMLSR mode, performs 1st communication with AP MLD on link 1 of EMLSR links.);
performing, by the second STA (STA MLD device listens on enabled links by leaving its affiliated wireless stations (STAs) corresponding to those links--[0005]—i.e. STA2), a listening operation on one or more links (link2) after the first communication ends (Fig. 2, [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st comm}. Then the Non-AP/STA MLD 220 switches back to listening operation on enabled links (e.g., Channel 1, Channel 2, and/or other wireless links—link 2—[0005]) after the frame exchange {i.e. 1st comm} has ended.) (Hence STA2 of STA MLD performs a listening operation on link2 after the 1st communication ends.);
Lu_1 does not teach determining, by a second STA of the STA MLD, that medium synchronization is lost based on Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) being unavailable on a second link during the first communication; starting, by the second STA, a delay timer on a second link of the one or more links based on the loss of medium synchronization, wherein the second STA does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link while the delay timer is running.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_2 teaches determining, by a second STA of the STA MLD, that medium synchronization is lost based on Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) being unavailable on a second link (link 2) during the first communication ([0023]; [0004], during STA1 affiliated with the MLD's transmission on link 1, STA2 which is affiliated with the same MLD may not detect an ongoing transmission {STA2 detects channel idle by performing CCA—see [0024]} on link 2 due to interference caused by transmit power leakage from link 1 so that the NAV cannot be updated on link 2 during STA1's transmission period which is called a blindness period (and hence STA2 lost medium synchronization and is in a blindness condition).)(Hence STA2 of STA MLD determines that medium synchronization is lost based on CCA being unavailable on link2 during 1st comm on link1.);
starting, by the second STA(STA2), a delay timer on a second link (link 2) of the one or more links (link1 & link2) based on the loss of medium synchronization ( [0042], when the STA {STA2—[0004]} has lost medium synchronization, the STA{STA2—[0004]} starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition{on link 2—[0004]}.)(Hence STA2 starts a delay timer on link2 based on the loss of medium synchronization. ),
wherein the second STA(STA2) does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link (link2) while the delay timer is running ([0042], when the STA {STA2—[0004]} has lost medium synchronization, the STA{STA2—[0004]} starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition{ STA2 does not detect an ongoing transmission on link2—[0004]} until the medium synchronization delay timer is zero.) (Hence it is obvious, STA2 does not initiate frame transmission operation on link2 while the delay timer is running.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_2 and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1 to provide based on loss of medium synchronization, STA starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition until the medium synchronization delay timer is zero (Lu_2; [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Lu_1 does not teach further including: after starting the delay timer, receiving an initial control from the AP MLD on the second link, wherein the delay timer is terminated based on receiving the initial control frame, and a second communication between the STA MLD and the AP MLD is performed on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_2 teaches further including:
after starting the delay timer, receiving an initial control from the AP MLD on the second link (link2) ([0027], AP MLD transmits a trigger frame or trigger information to a non-AP STA under blindness condition {non-AP STA/STA MLD starts a delay timer on link2—see [0004]} ),
wherein the delay timer is terminated(zero) based on receiving the initial control frame([0027]), and a second communication between the STA MLD and the AP MLD is performed on the second link ([0004];[0027], the non-AP MLD on the link 2 starts to transmit{i.e. 2nd comm} to the AP or when the delay timer reaches zero, whichever happens first, or when the non-AP STA indicates an end of the blindness condition, the AP MLD determines the end of the blindness condition of the non-AP MLD.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_2 and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1 to provide based on loss of medium synchronization, STA starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition until the medium synchronization delay timer is zero (Lu_2; [0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Lu_1 further teaches wherein the listening operation is a wireless ([0002]) channel sensing operation (CCA) and/or a wireless signal reception operation ([0005], The listening operation can include performing clear channel assessment (CCA) and receiving an initial control frame.).
Regarding claim 10, Lu_1 further teaches wherein the performing of the first communication includes:
receiving a MU-RTS trigger frame from the AP MLD (AP) ([0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120.);
transmitting a clear-to-send (CTS) frame to the AP MLD (AP) in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame ( [0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120. In response, the non-AP MLD 120 transmits a CTS frame to the AP MLD 105.)
receiving a data frame from the AP MLD (AP) ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD. ); and
transmitting a reception response frame for the data frame to the second device (AP) ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation to the AP responsive to a recently received frame from the AP.),
wherein the data frame is received using a plurality of spatial streams ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD using plurality of spatial streams), and the reception response frame is transmitted using one spatial stream ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation {with a 1×1 spatial stream –see [0052]} to the AP) or the plurality of spatial streams.
5. Claims 3 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu_1(US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1), further in view of Kurian (US 2019/0357214 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lu_1-Lu-2 does not teach wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device, and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams.
However, in an analogous art, Kurian teaches wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the STA MLD (client station) ([0107], short to medium range wireless communication circuitry 329 of the station includes multiple receive chains and/or multiple transmit chains for receiving and/or transmitting multiple spatial streams.), and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams ([0107], multiple receive chains for receiving multiple spatial streams. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kurian and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide receive chains of station for receiving spatial streams (Kurian; [0107]).
Regarding claim 11, Lu_1-Lu-2 does not teach wherein receive chains operating on other link(s) of the STA MLD are used for reception of the plurality of spatial streams in the first communication of the first link.
However, in an analogous art, Kurian teaches wherein receive chains operating on other link(s) of the STA MLD are used for reception of the plurality of spatial streams in the first communication of the first link ([0106]; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kurian and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide receive chains of station for receiving spatial streams (Kurian; [0107]).
6. Claims 4- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu_1(US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1), further in view of Seok (US 2021/0360521 A1).
Regarding claims 4, Lu_1-Lu-2 do not teach wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Seok teaches wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Seok and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide EHT enhanced multi-link SST operation, wherein a receive chain performs 1st comm on 1st link and listening operation on 2nd link (Seok; [0056]).
Regarding claims 5, Lu_1-Lu-2 do not teach further comprising: after performing the first communication, switching one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link to the second link, wherein the switched one receive chain is used to perform the listening operation on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Seok teaches further comprising:
after performing the first communication, switching one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link to the second link ([0056]; [0059]),
wherein the switched one receive chain is used to perform the listening operation on the second link ([0056]; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Seok and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide EHT enhanced multi-link SST operation, wherein a receive chain performs 1st comm on 1st link and listening operation on 2nd link (Seok; [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Lu_2- Seok do not teach wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) trigger frame or a request-to-send (RTS) frame.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_1 teaches wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) trigger frame([0005], The initial Control frame is typically an MU-RTS Trigger frame.) or a request-to-send (RTS) frame.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_1 and apply them on the teaching of Lu_2- Seok to provide improved switching mechanism for multi-link operations is needed to take advantage of available links and improve latency and bandwidth for EML operation (Lu_1; [0006]).
7. Claims 7, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1), further in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lu_1-Lu-2 does not teach wherein the delay timer starts when the STA MLD fails to perform a channel sensing or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer starts when the STA MLD fails to perform a channel sensing (CCA-[0046]) or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period([0045]; Hence delay timer starts when STA fails to perform channel sensing/CCA on 2nd link for defined period.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 8, Lu_1-Lu-2 do not teach wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the STA MLD.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the STA MLD (STA) ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
8. Claims 12, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) in view of Lu_1 (US 2022/0294583 A1), further in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Gua teaches a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP/STA MLD) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0106]; Fig. 1 & 2), the STA MLD comprising:
a processor (Fig. 12; [0218]);
a first STA(STA1) operating on a first link (link 1) ([0102], AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate in parallel by using link 1, link 2.. . link n. STA1 in the non-AP MLD establishes an association relationship with AP1 in the AP MLD on link 1.) based on control of the processor (12) ([0219]; obvious);
a second STA(STA2) operating on a second link (link 2) ([0102], AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate in parallel by using link 1, link 2, . . link n. STA2 in the non-AP MLD establishes an association relationship with AP2 in the AP MLD on link 2.) based on control of the processor (12) ([0219]; obvious); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor ([0262]), wherein the one or more instructions are executed to:
Gua does not teach cause the first STA to perform a first communication with a first access point (AP) affiliated with an AP MLD on the first link; cause the first STA and the second STA to perform listening operations after the first communication ends; and
However, in an analogous art, Lu_1 teaches a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP/STA MLD 220-Fig. 2) in a wireless local area network (LAN)([0075]), the STA MLD comprising:
cause the first STA to perform a first communication with an access point (AP) MLD on a first link (link 1) (STA MLD device listens on enabled links by leaving its affiliated wireless stations (STAs) corresponding to those links--[0005]—i.e. STA1 on link1) of an enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR) links (Fig. 2; [0052]; [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links {EMLSR links—[0017]} for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st communication} with AP MLD.) (Hence STA1 of STA MLD operating in a EMLSR mode, performs 1st communication with AP MLD on link 1 of EMLSR links.);
cause the second STA (STA MLD device listens on enabled links by leaving its affiliated wireless stations (STAs) corresponding to those links--[0005]—i.e. STA2) to determine listening operations on one or more links (link2) after the first communication ends (Fig. 2, [0053], non-AP/STA MLD 220 operating on one (i.e. link 1) of the enabled links for EML mode, performs frame exchanges {i.e. 1st comm}. Then the Non-AP/STA MLD 220 switches back to listening operation on enabled links (e.g., Channel 1, Channel 2, and/or other wireless links—link 2—[0005]) after the frame exchange {i.e. 1st comm} has ended.) (Hence STA2 of STA MLD performs a listening operation on link2 after the 1st communication ends.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_1 and apply them on the teaching of Gua to provide improved switching mechanism for multi-link operations is needed to take advantage of available links and improve latency and bandwidth for EML operation (Lu_1; [0006]).
Gua -Lu_1 do not teach cause the second STA of the STA MLD to determine that medium synchronization is lost based on Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) being unavailable on a second link during the first communication; cause the second STA to start a delay timer on a second link of the one or more links based on the loss of medium synchronization, wherein the second STA does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link while the delay timer is running.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_2 teaches cause the second STA to determine that medium synchronization is lost based on Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) being unavailable on a second link (link 2) during the first communication ([0023]; [0004], during STA1 affiliated with the MLD's transmission on link 1, STA2 which is affiliated with the same MLD may not detect an ongoing transmission {STA2 detects channel idle by performing CCA—see [0024]} on link 2 due to interference caused by transmit power leakage from link 1 so that the NAV cannot be updated on link 2 during STA1's transmission period which is called a blindness period (and hence STA2 lost medium synchronization and is in a blindness condition).)(Hence STA2 of STA MLD determines that medium synchronization is lost based on CCA being unavailable on link2 during 1st comm on link1.);
Cause the second STA(STA2) to start a delay timer on a second link (link 2) of the one or more links (link1 & link2) based on the loss of medium synchronization ( [0042], when the STA {STA2—[0004]} has lost medium synchronization, the STA{STA2—[0004]} starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition{on link 2—[0004]}.)(Hence STA2 starts a delay timer on link2 based on the loss of medium synchronization. ),
wherein the second STA(STA2) does not initiate a frame transmission operation on the second link (link2) while the delay timer is running ([0042], when the STA {STA2—[0004]} has lost medium synchronization, the STA{STA2—[0004]} starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition{ STA2 does not detect an ongoing transmission on link2—[0004]} until the medium synchronization delay timer is zero.) (Hence it is obvious, STA2 does not initiate frame transmission operation on link2 while the delay timer is running.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_2 and apply them on the teaching of Gua -Lu_1 to provide based on loss of medium synchronization, STA starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition until the medium synchronization delay timer is zero (Lu_2; [0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Gua-Lu_1 does not teach wherein the one or more instructions are further executed to, after the delay timer is started, receive an initial control frame from a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD on the second link, wherein the delay timer is terminated based on receiving the initial control frame, and a second communication between the second STA and the second AP is performed on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_2 teaches wherein the one or more instructions are further executed to, after the delay timer is started, receive an initial control frame from a second AP(120 has AP2—Fig. 1) affiliated with the AP MLD(120) on the second link (link2) ([0027], AP MLD transmits a trigger frame or trigger information to a non-AP STA under blindness condition {non-AP STA/STA MLD starts a delay timer on link2—see [0004]} ),
wherein the delay timer is terminated(zero) based on receiving the initial control frame([0027]), and a second communication between the second STA (STA2 of 110—Fig. 1) and the second AP (AP2 of 120—Fig. 1) is performed on the second link ([0004];[0027], the non-AP MLD on the link 2 starts to transmit{i.e. 2nd comm} to the AP or when the delay timer reaches zero, whichever happens first, or when the non-AP STA indicates an end of the blindness condition, the AP MLD determines the end of the blindness condition of the non-AP MLD.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_2 and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu_1 to provide based on loss of medium synchronization, STA starts a medium synchronization delay timer and is in the blindness condition until the medium synchronization delay timer is zero (Lu_2; [0042]).
Regarding claim 20, Gua-Lu_2 do not teach wherein in the performing of the first communication, the one or more instructions are further executed to: cause the first STA to receive a MU-RTS trigger frame from the first AP; cause the first STA to transmit a clear-to-send (CTS) frame to the first AP in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame;
cause the first STA to receive a data frame from the first AP; and cause the first STA to transmit a reception response frame for the data frame to the first AP, and
wherein the data frame is received using a plurality of spatial streams, and the reception response frame is transmitted using one spatial stream or the plurality of spatial streams.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_1 teaches wherein the performing of the first communication includes:
receiving a MU-RTS trigger frame from the second device (AP) ([0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120.);
transmitting a clear-to-send (CTS) frame to the second device (AP) in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame ( [0050], AP MLD 105 transmits an initial MU-RTS frame to non-AP (STA) MLD 120. In response, the non-AP MLD 120 transmits a CTS frame to the AP MLD 105.)
receiving a data frame from the second device (AP) ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD.); and
transmitting a reception response frame for the data frame to the second device (AP) ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation to the AP responsive to a recently received frame from the AP.),
wherein the data frame is received using a plurality of spatial streams ([0010], receive data from the AP MLD using plurality of spatial streams), and the reception response frame is transmitted using one spatial stream ([0010], transmitting a response frame indicating a switch back to listening operation {with a 1×1 spatial stream –see [0052]} to the AP) or the plurality of spatial streams.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_1 and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu_2 to provide improved switching mechanism for multi-link operations is needed to take advantage of available links and improve latency and bandwidth for EML operation (Lu_1; [0006]).
9. Claims 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) in view of Lu_1 (US 2022/0294583 A1), further in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1), further in view of Seok (US 2021/0360521 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Gua-Lu_1-Lu-2 do not teach further comprising: after performing the first communication, switching one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link to the second link, wherein the switched one receive chain is used to perform the listening operation on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Seok teaches further comprising:
after performing the first communication, switching one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link to the second link ([0056]; [0059]),
wherein the switched one receive chain is used to perform the listening operation on the second link ([0056]; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Seok and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu_1-Lu-2 to provide EHT enhanced multi-link SST operation, wherein a receive chain performs 1st comm on 1st link and listening operation on 2nd link (Seok; [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Gua-Lu_2- Seok do not teach wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) trigger frame or a request-to-send (RTS) frame.
However, in an analogous art, Lu_1 teaches wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) trigger frame([0005], The initial Control frame is typically an MU-RTS Trigger frame.) or a request-to-send (RTS) frame.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu_1 and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu_2- Seok to provide improved switching mechanism for multi-link operations is needed to take advantage of available links and improve latency and bandwidth for EML operation (Lu_1; [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, Gua - Lu_1-Lu_2 does not teach wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link.
However, in an analogous art, Seok teaches wherein one receive chain among one or more receive chains used for the first communication on the first link is used to perform the listening operation on the second link ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Seok and apply them on the teaching of Gua - Lu_1-Lu_2 to provide EHT enhanced multi-link SST operation, wherein a receive chain performs 1st comm on 1st link and listening operation on 2nd link (Seok; [0056]).
10. Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) in view of Lu_1 (US 2022/0294583 A1), in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1), further in view of Ho (US 2021/0266965 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Gua-Lu_1-Lu_2 does not teach wherein the delay timer starts when the first device fails to perform a channel sensing or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer starts when the first device fails to perform a channel sensing (CCA-[0046]) or reception operation on the second link for a predetermined period([0045]; Hence delay timer starts when STA fails to perform channel sensing/CCA on 2nd link for defined period.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu_1-Lu_2 to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
Regarding claim 19, Gua-Lu_1-Lu_2 does not teach wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the first device.
However, in an analogous art, Ho teaches wherein the delay timer is a value preset in the first device (STA) ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ho and apply them on the teaching of Gua-Lu_1-Lu_2 to provide medium synchronization delay timer associated with second link of non-STR STA is initiated in response to completing transmission of data on first link which ensures that the data is efficiently transmitted on the secondary link of the non-STR STA. (Ho; [0006])
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gua (US 20230209600 A1) Lu_1(US 2022/0294583 A1) in view of Lu_2 (US 2022/0095401 A1), further in view of Kurian (US 2019/0357214 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Gua- Lu_1-Lu_2 does not teach wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device, and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams.
However, in an analogous art, Kurian teaches wherein the first communication is preformed using one or more receive chains of the first device (client station) ([0107], short to medium range wireless communication circuitry 329 of the station includes multiple receive chains and/or multiple transmit chains for receiving and/or transmitting multiple spatial streams.), and the one or more receive chains are used for reception of a plurality of spatial streams ([0107], multiple receive chains for receiving multiple spatial streams. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kurian and apply them on the teaching of Gua- Lu_1-Lu_2 to provide receive chains of station for receiving spatial streams (Kurian; [0107]).
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415