Claim Status
Claims 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 18-25, 29-31, 34-36, 38 and 40-43 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 26-28, 32, 33, 37, 39, 44 and 45 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 44 and 45 are withdrawn.
Claims 26-28, 32, 33, 37 and 39 are presented for examination on the merits as they read upon the elected subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/21/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 9/10/26 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 37 is directed to a composition of matter and also recites the limitation: “…a mixture of rice powder and electrically activated water that is heated until dry”. This is reasonably interpreted as an action of a user (is heated) upon the electrically activated carrier. That user action renders the claim indefinite. See the analogous situation in MPEP 2173.05(p)(II): “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Correction is required.
Response to Arguments:
Applicants’ amendment has necessitated a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-28, 32, 33, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi et al. (JP2018203628; English translation provided by the Examiner) and Chis (US20140120148).
Applicant claims:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a dietary supplement scientist who uses conventional knowledge in biochemistry, nutrition, and pharmacology to design safe and effective vitamin, mineral, and herbal products. They understand how bioactive compounds behave on a molecular level, delivery mechanisms and stability testing of the dosage forms.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claim 26, 37 and 39, Takashi et al. teach food and drink compositions (Claim 2; page 391; last claim page 57) comprising spring water and electrolytic water (Claims 21 and 36, which appears to be the second to last claim on page 57), which reads on the claimed electrically activated carrier, and insoluble particles and antibacterial agents (claim 9, page 39), such as silver (elected species) (Claim 26), rice starch (Claim 10, page 40), which is a powder material, and where the powders/inorganic salts include surface treated materials and inorganic substance such as alumina (elected species) and titanium dioxide (Claims 28 and 35). It is the Examiner’s position that the food and drink compositions of Takashi et al. read on supplementing the diet with the composition and therefore are dietary supplements of structured particles for human consumption or administration. Regarding claim 37, “electrically activated water that is heated and dry” no longer has present because it is dry. So just rice powder is present.
Regarding claim 26, Chis teaches: “The antimicrobial material is comprised of a porous activated ceramic substrate; a titanium dioxide layer covalently bound to the
ceramic substrate: and a silver salt layer covalently bound to the titanium oxide layer.” (Abstract; see also claims 1-10). Thus, Chis teaches structured particles comprising a porous ceramic substrate, titanium dioxide chemically bound to the surface and silver (elected species) metal chemically bound to the titanium dioxide. Chris teaches that the activated ceramic is alumina (elected species), which contains surface hydroxyl groups ([0052-0054]; claim 3). Chis teaches that the material is to be used in the food or beverage industry [0134].
Regarding claims 26, 32 and 33, Chris teaches that the aggregate particles are non-spherical trilobed extruded cylinders (Table 1, [0143]) and appear to be about 1 micron in size with smaller non-spherical particles evident (Figure 7), which is within the same scale claimed of at least 0.1 microns to about 300 microns, and thus also sized to be bioavailable.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Takashi et al. is that Takashi et al. do not expressly teach the particle size of less than about 0.1 microns or at least 0.1 to about 300 microns of non-spherical alumina ceramic substrate having a porous surface with titanium dioxide chemically bound to a portion of the surface and sliver metal chemically bound to the titanium dioxide or the ceramic substrate. This deficiency in Takashi et al. is cured by the teachings of Chis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the food/beverage of Takashi et al. with the antimicrobial material of Chis, and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because not only does Takashi et al. teach and suggest a food/beverage composition comprising alumina, silver, titanium dioxide and titanium coated substrates but also adding antibacterial materials. It then simplifies matters to employ the non-spherical antibacterial materials of Chis, which are intended for the food and beverage industry, and which comprise surface coated porous alumina chemically bound titanium dioxide and silver chemically bound to the titanium dioxide or the ceramic substrate, in the food/beverage of Takashi et al. to create a dietary supplement with a reasonable expectation of success. It is merely sieving the particles of Chis to obtain that fraction which is less than about 0.1 microns in size by the ordinary artisan with a reasonable expectation of success.
The difference between the instant application and Takashi et al. as modified by Chis is that Takashi et al. as modified by Chis do not expressly teach wherein the electrically activated carrier comprises activated water having an electrical conductivity of at least 500 μS/cm at 25 °C or that the rice powder is infused with electrically activated water. However, the Examiner can discern no difference between the electrically activated water of Takashi et al. and that which is claimed. It appears to be an inherent property of the electrically activated water. The Examiner's finding is based on the principle that products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. This is a well settled principle in patent law. See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381,391 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing."). Where patentability rests upon a property of the claimed material not disclosed within the art, the USPTO has no reasonable method of determining whether there is, in fact, a patentable difference between the prior art materials and the claimed material. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the USPTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Id. Additionally, there is no apparent benefit from the claimed limitation. The artisan making the rice starch powder and electrically active water embodiment of Takashi et al. as modified by Chis naturally infuses the rice starch powder with the electrically active water.
The difference between the instant application and Takashi et al. as modified by Chis is that Takashi et al. as modified by Chis do not expressly teach wherein the dietary supplement in drink form comprising one part by volume of the composition of claim 26 diluted with 30 parts by volume of drinking quality, spring water. However, as noted above Takashi et al. is directed to beverages and also teaches spring water. It is then merely a difference in concentration of the composition of claim 26 by diluting with 30 parts by volume spring water to arrive at the claimed limitation. The ordinary artisan might do so for palatability reasons to make it easier to drink or even to lower the concentration of antibacterial material as required for the desired purpose. Thus, using 30 parts of spring water to dilute the composition is readily optimized by the ordinary artisan in the absence of unexpected results. Especially when Takashi et al. teach using spring water. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments:
Applicants’ arguments filed on 9/10/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9 of remarks, Applicant asserts that Takashi broadly lists numerous optional substances that may be included in cosmetic, food, or drink compositions. The Patent Office pieces together the features of the claimed structured particle by cherry picking isolated ingredients from Takashi's broad disclosure and importing Chis's unrelated fluid-decontamination material to supply the missing particle architecture. Applicant argues that this constitutes improper hindsight. Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the present case, the Examiner has shown by citing where the limitations are found how the prior art reference teaches and suggests the claimed subject matter as an embodiment. As discussed above, Takashi teaches compositions for food/beverage products, i.e., the identical purpose of the claimed invention. Therefore, disclosing a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation taught by Takashi less obvious. (Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs, Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). "[P]icking and choosing may be entirely proper in the making of a 103, obviousness rejection." In re Arkley, 455 F.2d 586, 587 (CCPA 1972). Moreover, the “combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). The Examiner has only drawn upon the prior art to meet each and every limitation and does not include knowledge gleaned only from Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
On pages 9-10 of remarks, Applicant argues that Chris is not directed to dietary supplement compositions but is directed to antimicrobial material used to reduce or eliminate microorganisms from fluids by contact treatment. Applicant contends that Chris is non-analogous art but acknowledges that Chris “states that its antimicrobial material may be used in pharmaceutical, medical, food, or beverage industry manufacturing processes, including low-temperature sterilization.” Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective. Chris is relied upon as described in the rejection. As asserted by the Examiner above, “Takashi et al. teach and suggest a food/beverage composition comprising alumina, silver, titanium dioxide and titanium coated substrates but also adding antibacterial materials. It then simplifies matters to employ the non-spherical antibacterial materials of Chis, which are intended for the food and beverage industry, and which comprise surface coated porous alumina chemically bound titanium dioxide and silver chemically bound to the titanium dioxide or the ceramic substrate, in the food/beverage of Takashi et al. to create a dietary supplement with a reasonable expectation of success.” Consequently, Chris provides context for the structured particles suggested by Takashi et al. and is analogous art.
On pages 10-11 of remarks, Applicant asserts that the macroscopic materials of Chris are not bioavailable microparticles. Independent claim 26 does not have any size restriction and dependent claim 32 claims an average particle size of at least 0.1 micron to about 300 microns. However, the Examiner asserted above: “Chris teaches that the aggregate particles are non-spherical trilobed extruded cylinders ((Table 1, [0143]) and appear to be about 1 micron in size with smaller non-spherical particles evident (Figure 7), which is within the same scale claimed of at least 0.1 microns to about 300 microns, and thus also sized to be bioavailable.” Applicant has not refuted that teaching by Chris. Separating out smaller particle sizes, such as less than about 0.1 microns, by the ordinary artisan is well within the skill of the artisan given the general teachings of the references and the absence of any criticality.
On page 11 of remarks, Applicant contends that there is no reasonable motivation to combine the cited references. The Examiner does not agree. Takashi et al. provide a teaching for adding the claimed structured particle and Chris provides the structured particle. The ordinary artisan looking to practice that embodiment of Takashi et al. would have found Chris. Thus, it requires no inventive skill to employ the structured particles of Chris in the food/beverage composition of Takashi et al. and preserve the structure of the particles. Applicant has produced no evidence to the contrary. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after review of all the facts, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts, which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
1 The enumeration of claims in the Japanese patent is not apparent/consistent and the Examiner attempted to accurately point to which claims teach the subject matter cited by the Examiner.