DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 5/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer (US 7,273,561 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Palmer teaches methods for reducing sulfide concentrations in wastewater stream (controlling hydrogen sulfide concentration in a wastewater stream) which includes measuring the concentration of sulfide gas in a gas phase (measuring with a sensor a hydrogen sulfide concentration in one phase, including a gas phase) and further measuring an additional parameter such as a temperature (measuring, with a sensor, at least one additional parameter) in order to calculate the dissolved hydrogen sulfide concentration in the wastewater (calculating a hydrogen sulfide concentration in the other phase based on the measured concentration and the measured additional parameter) [Abs]. Additionally, Palmer teaches that the measurements thus performed can be used to determine a corrective action i.e. to control dosing of a chemical treatment agent in order to achieve a target level of hydrogen sulfide in the stream, in either closed loop or open loop fashion [Col. 8 lines 41-45] (determining a treatment dosage and applying a treatment dosage).
As best understood, the process of Palmer anticipates the claimed invention, given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to claim 2, the process works based on a deterministic model factoring in theoretical relationships, specifically Henry’s law [Col. 8 lines 53-64].
With respect to claims 3-5, the model incorporates empirical relationships between the two concentrations and the additional factor, specifically via the Henry’s constant at a given temperature for hydrogen sulfide in water.
With respect to claim 6, as above the process is designed to attain a target i.e. threshold level of dissolved hydrogen sulfide in the wastewater stream, and controls dosage accordingly.
With respect to claims 7-10, the process includes sensors and measurements for additional values including temperature, pH, and flowrate [Fig. 6].
With respect to claim 11, the set of variables includes at least one known parameter of the wastewater stream e.g. a temperature, pH, flowrate, etc. as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer in view of Chiu et al (US 5,587,926 A).
Palmer teaches as above, but is silent to a specific parameter including e.g. a mean velocity of the wastewater stream. However, as above, Palmer does teach measuring flowrate with suitable sensors [Fig. 6], and Chiu teaches that in general a system may determine a flowrate by first measuring the average velocity at a specific point of e.g. known or controlled cross-sectional area [Col. 11 lines 25-28 and lines 44-47]. As such, it would have been obvious to employ sensors which measure the average velocity of the flow in Palmer’s taught process and use that to calculate flowrate as part of the flowrate measurement because, as in Chiu, this is a standard method of determining flowrate.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer in view of Parker et al (US PGPub 2007/0259416 A1).
Palmer teaches as above but is silent to a process in which the corrective action is carried out via a hydrogen gas scrubber, and includes actions such as adjustment of downtime or initiation of maintenance.
However, Parker teaches systems for treatment of gases [Abs] including in sewage systems or related wastewater treatment systems [0016], to treat species such as hydrogen sulfide and similar malodorous compounds [0006] which may be removed via a suitable gas scrubber system [0047]. The system may include various sensors to detect parameters such as flowrates as well as concentrations of e.g. hydrogen sulfide at points in the system [0062]; further, information from such sensors may signal that the system requires maintenance, as well as otherwise indicating that corrective action or changes in operational parameters may be needed.
It would have been obvious to employ the concentration calculation methods of Palmer to processes such as those contemplated by Parker because, as in Parker, removal of malodorous gasses via scrubbing is useful within the context of wastewater treatment and hydrogen sulfide management and, further, as in Parker, it would have been obvious to use the concentrations calculated by Palmer to indicate that elements of the system e.g. scrubbers or the like might require maintenance, and to therefore adjust operations, scheduling, or initiate maintenance cycles accordingly.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776