DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the impedance-controlled copper plane” as recited in claim 4/18, “impedance network” as recited in claim 9, and “the RF coupler top portion further comprising a flex-rigid printed circuit board” as recited in claim 2/13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, and 16 recite the limitation “an external antenna” which renders the claim indefinite. The claims is reciting an external antenna but fails to specific the placement of the external antenna and what it is external to. As such it is unclear on what makes an antenna external, would be external if it is outside the base portion, the base/top portion, or the antenna coupler structure itself. Based on the specifications and drawings an external antenna seems to be an antenna located outside the base portion. For the purposes of examination the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 1, 13, and 16 to mean “ an external antenna located outside the RF coupler base portion” to bring the claim more in line with what is taught In the specifications and drawings.
Claims 3-5,7-11, 15, 17-18, and 20 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1, 13, and 16.
Claims 1 and 13 recite the limitation “wherein the RF coupler top portion resides on the top cover housing” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1/13 recite a RF coupler top portion that comprises a first RF coupler, however based on figure 3 and paragraph 47 of the specifications the first RF coupler 20 is described as being inside the top cover housing 29, not on it. Although not claimed, the examiner believes that cable 14 and external antenna 12 would be parts of the top portion that are on the top cover housing. For the purposes of examination, the examiner as best understood will interpret claim 1/13 to mean “wherein a part of the RF coupler top portion resides in the top cover housing” to bring the claim more in line with what is taught in the drawings and specifications.
Claims 3-5, 7-11, and 15 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and 13.
Claims 13 recite the limitation “an RF coupler base portion comprising: an electronic printed circuit board positioned withing the RF coupler base portion, the electronic printed circuit board comprising a flex-rigid printed circuit board, and wherein the RF coupler top portion comprises a flex- rigid printed circuit board” which render the claim indefinite. For starters both parts of the claim recite “a flex-rigid printed circuit board” and it is unclear whether this is the same board or two different boards. Assuming they are the same the claim recites an electronic printed circuit board as a part of the RF coupler base portion but then later claims the electronic PCB comprising a flex-rigid printed circuit board which is contained in the RF coupler top portion. It is unclear as to how the electronic PCB which is disposed in the base can comprise a flex-rigid PCB disposed in the top portion especially since claims 3 imply the flex-rigid printed circuit board is a separate component. Based on the specifications and amendments it seems like the RF top coupler portion is suppose comprises the flex-rigid PCB and applicant forgot to remove the limitation “the electronic printed circuit board comprising a flex-rigid printed circuit board” from claim 13. For the purposes of examination the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the limitation as “the RF coupler top portion comprises a flex-rigid printed circuit board” .
Claim 15 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10-11, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bringuier et al. (US 20160204501A1) in view of Horibe (US 7030819 B2) and Johnson et al. (US 20060218104 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 as best understood, Bringuier et al. discloses an antenna coupler (Antenna assembly of figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.) comprising:
an RF coupler top portion comprising:
a first RF coupler (RF CPL antenna 24 and Re-radiator assembly 18 form a coupler top portion for an RF coupling system wherein CPL 24 serves as a first RF coupler; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 2 of Bringuier et al.) and
an RF coupler base portion comprising:
an electric printed circuit board positioned within the RF coupler base portion (Meter 10 and a part PCB assembly 16 comprising CPL 22 form a RF coupler base portion wherein the meter 10 and PCB 16 may be integrated together requiring no cable and thus forming a base comprising the PCB; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.)
an internal antenna is connected to an electronic printed circuit board (CPL antenna 22 or 24 can function as an internal antenna designed to operate at a frequency band wherein antenna 22 can be printed on the PCB 16; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 2 of Bringuier et al.); and
wherein the internal antenna is partially potted with respect to the electronic printed circuit board (CPL antenna 22 and PCB assembly 16 may be enclosed in a plastic such that they are hermitically sealed and protected from outside elements; Paragraph 43 of Bringuier et al.); and
a housing that includes a top cover housing, wherein the RF coupler top portion resides on the top cover housing (Metal or plastic Pit 13 serves as a housing a and comprises a lid 20 that serves as a top cover wherein part of the RF top portion is disposed within and on the metal lid 20; Paragraphs 35-49 and figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler.
However, Horibe does disclose a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler (Patch 13 may serve as a second RF coupler in a lower base portion that couples signals from an internal antenna in the form of patch 22 and can couple them to patch 14 which may be designed as a first RF coupler with patch 13 as the second RF coupler and said patches couple through capacitive coupling 54 as seen in figure 4 wherein first RF coupler can transmit or receive radio waves from a foreign Rf source like an external antenna or in an alternative embodiment the first rf coupler may take the form of a coaxial line that connects patch 13 to patch 14 serving as an external antenna as seen in figure 5; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe). Horibe also suggests wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion (Patch 13 and 14 serve as the first RF coupler and second RF coupler wherein said couplers would only engage together to start coupling when the top portion is brought together with the base portion and signals can be coupled from the internal antenna 22; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe).
Johnson et al. further discloses wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion (Communication device 48 serves as a RF coupler top portion which is connected to an external antenna portion 74 and a base portion in the form of electronic meter register 26 with connector module 36 wherein the top portion engages with a bottom portion when connector 36 engages with device 48 and a first RF coupler 116 in the top portion 48 engages with a second RF coupler 44 in the bottom portions to couple signals form an internal antenna structure, in the form of transmitter MXU with a coil structure, to an external antenna 74; Paragraph 24-45 and figure 1-6 of Johnson et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. to have a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler as taught by Horibe so that Rf signals may be transmitted through the couplers to an external source or incoming rf signals may be received and transmitted to the internal antenna (Columns 3-7 of Horibe) and signals may be transmitted with a low degree of loss (Columns 5-6 of Horibe).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. and Horibe to have wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion as taught by Johnson et al. so that signals may be transmitted from within a meter pit and transmitted to a remote location to reduce manpower needed to obtain meter readings (Paragraph 4-6 of Johnson et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Bringuier et al. further discloses the RF coupler top portion is configured to slide into the RF coupler base portion such that RF energy is coupled form the internal antenna through air or a magnetic medium (RF coupler top portion included CPL 24 and base portion includes CPL 22 wherein top portion would slide into the base and CPL 24 slides into a position and alongside CPL 22 such that they coupled so RF energy from the internal antenna CPL 22 couples through the air; Paragraph 42-46 and figure 4 of Bringuier et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Although Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the first RF coupler and the second Rf coupler is configured to couple the signals in a range of approximately 790mhz-1900mhz. Bringuier et al. does disclose the first RF coupler is configured to couple the signals with respect to the internal antenna with the external antenna for wide RF frequencies in a range (First RF coupler 24 couples the internal antenna signals through the second RF coupler to the external radiator 26 and CPL coupling is for a wide band wherein the band can be an ISM band of 900mhz+; Paragraph 31, 43-44, and 59 of Bringuier et al.).
However, Horibe does disclose wherein each of the first RF coupler and the second Rf coupler is configured to couple the signals (Patch 13 may serve as a second RF coupler in a lower base portion that couples signals from an internal antenna in the form of patch 22, at 5.8ghz, and can couple them to patch 14 which may be designed as a first RF coupler through coupling 54 that capacitively couples as seen in figure 4 wherein first RF coupler can transmit or receive radio waves from a foreign Rf source like an external antenna or the first rf coupler may take the form of a coaxial line that connects patch 13 to patch 14 serving as an external antenna as seen in figure 5; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. to have each of the first RF coupler and the second Rf coupler be configured to couple the signals in a range of approximately 790MHz-1900MHz since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact wanting the antenna structure to operate in low and high bands (Paragraph 58-59 of Bringuier et al.) and for use in cellular bands in addition and so that Rf signals may be transmitted through the couplers to an external source or incoming rf signals may be received and transmitted to the internal antenna (Columns 3-7 of Horibe) and signals may be transmitted with a low degree of loss (Columns 5-6 of Horibe).
Regarding Claim 11, Bringuier et al. further discloses RF coupler losses with respect to the first RF coupler are less than 4dB across a wideband frequency range (RF couplers may operate efficiently with a db loss of 1dB when its antennas are in operation; Paragraph 44 of Bringuier et al.)
Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein RF coupler losses with respect to at least one of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler are less than 4dB.
However, Horibe does disclose wherein RF coupler losses with respect to at least one of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler are less than 4dB (First and second couplers may have a loss less than 1db; Paragraphs 16-17 of Horibe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. to have wherein RF coupler losses with respect to at least one of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler are less than 4dB as taught by Horibe so that Rf signals may be transmitted through the couplers to an external source or incoming rf signals may be received and transmitted to the internal antenna with sufficient quality (Paragraph 10-26 of Horibe).
Regarding Claim 16 as best understood, Although Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose a range of approximately 790mhz-1900mhz. Bringuier et al. does discloses a method of operating an antenna coupler (Method of operating is inherent in since description of use is given; Paragraph 43 of Bringuier et al.), comprising:
coupling via a first RF coupler, internal antenna signals with respect to an internal antenna with an external antenna for wide RF frequencies in a range (First RF coupler 24 couples the internal antenna signals to the external radiator 26 and CPL coupling is for a wide band wherein the band can be an ISM band of 900mhz+; Paragraph 31, 45-49, and 59 of Bringuier et al.),
wherein the antenna coupler comprises:
an RF coupler top portion comprising: the first RF coupler; (RF CPL antenna 24 and Re-radiator assembly 18 form a coupler top portion for an RF coupling system; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 2 of Bringuier et al.) and an RF coupler base portion comprising: the internal antenna;
an electronic printed circuit board positioned within the RF coupler base portion (Meter 10 and a part PCB assembly 16 up to CPL 22 to form a RF coupler base portion wherein the meter 10 and PCB 16 may be integrated together requiring no cable thus forming the base portion and an internal antenna in the form of CPL 22 in the base; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.), wherein the internal antenna is connected to an electronic printed circuit board for RF signal output, (CPL antenna 22 or 24 can function as an internal antenna designed to operate at a frequency band wherein antenna 22 can be printed on the PCB 16; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 2 of Bringuier et al.) and wherein the internal antenna is partially potted with respect to the electronic printed circuit board; and (CPL antenna 22 and PCB assembly 16 may be enclosed in a plastic such that they are hermitically sealed and protected from outside elements; Paragraph 43 of Bringuier et al.);
Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose coupling via a first RF coupler and a second RF coupler and the second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler.
However, Horibe does disclose coupling via a first RF coupler and second RF coupler and the second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler (Patch 13 may serve as a second RF coupler in a lower base portion that couples signals from an internal antenna in the form of patch 22 and can couple them to patch 14 which may be designed as a first RF coupler with patch 13 as the second RF coupler and said patches couple through capacitive coupling 54 as seen in figure 4 wherein first RF coupler can transmit or receive radio waves from a foreign Rf source like an external antenna or in an alternative embodiment the first rf coupler may take the form of a coaxial line that connects patch 13 to patch 14 serving as an external antenna as seen in figure 5; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe). Horibe also suggests wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion (Patch 13 and 14 serve as the first RF coupler and second RF coupler wherein said couplers would only engage together to start coupling when the top portion is brought together with the base portion and signals can be coupled from the internal antenna 22; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe).
Johnson et al. further discloses wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion (Communication device 48 serves as a RF coupler top portion which is connected to an external antenna portion 74 and a base portion in the form of electronic meter register 26 with connector module 36 wherein the top portion engages with a bottom portion when connector 36 engages with device 48 and a first RF coupler 116 in the top portion 48 engages with a second RF coupler 44 in the bottom portions to couple signals form an internal antenna structure, in the form of transmitter MXU with a coil structure, to an external antenna 74; Paragraph 24-45 and figure 1-6 of Johnson et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. to have a range of approximately 790MHz-1900MHz as well as coupling via a first RF coupler and second RF coupler and the second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler as since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact wanting the antenna structure to operate in low and high bands (Paragraph 58-59 of Bringuier et al.) and that Rf signals may be transmitted through the couplers to an external source or incoming rf signals may be received and transmitted to the internal antenna (Columns 3-7 of Horibe) and signals may be transmitted with a low degree of loss (Columns 5-6 of Horibe).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. and Horibe to have wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion as taught by Johnson et al. so that signals may be transmitted from within a meter pit and transmitted to a remote location to reduce manpower needed to obtain meter readings (Paragraph 4-6 of Johnson et al.).
Regarding Claim 20, Although Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose a range of approximately 790mhz-1900mhz. Bringuier et al. does disclose the RF coupler top portion slides into a position alongside the RF coupler base portion and couples RF energy through air or a magnetic medium (RF coupler top portion included CPL 24 and base portion includes CPL 22 wherein top portion would slide into the base and CPL 24 slides into a position and alongside CPL 22 such that they coupled so RF energy couples through the air; Paragraph 42-46 and figure 4 of Bringuier et al.); the first RF coupler couples the internal antenna signals with respect to the internal antenna with the external antenna for wide RF frequencies in a range (First RF coupler 24 couples the internal antenna signals to the external radiator 26 and CPL coupling is for a wide band wherein the band can be an ISM band of 900mhz+; Paragraph 31, 45-49, and 59 of Bringuier et al.); and RF coupler losses with respect to at least one of the first RF coupler are less than 4dB across a wideband frequency range (RF coupler may operate efficiently with a db loss of 1dB when its antennas are in operation; Paragraph 44 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose each of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler couples the internal antenna signals and RF coupler losses with respect to at least one of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler are less than 4dB.
However, Horibe does disclose each of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler couples the internal antenna signals (Patch 13 may serve as a second RF coupler in a lower base portion that couples signals from an internal antenna in the form of patch 22, at 5.8ghz, and can couple them to patch 14 which may be designed as a first RF coupler through coupling 54 that capacitively couples as seen in figure 4 wherein first RF coupler can transmit or receive radio waves from a foreign Rf source like an external antenna or the first rf coupler may take the form of a coaxial line that connects patch 13 to patch 14 serving as an external antenna as seen in figure 5; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe) and RF coupler losses with respect to at least one of the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler are less than 4dB (First and second couplers may have a loss less than 1db; Columns 3-7 of Horibe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. to have a range of approximately 790MHz-1900MHz and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact wanting the antenna structure to operate in low and high bands (Paragraph 58-59 of Bringuier et al.) and so that Rf signals may be transmitted through the couplers to an external source or incoming rf signals may be received and transmitted to the internal antenna (Columns 3-7 of Horibe) and signals may be transmitted with a low degree of loss (Columns 5-6 of Horibe).
Claim(s) 3, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bringuier et al. (US 20160204501A1) in view of Horibe (US 7030819 B2), Johnson et al. (US 20060218104 A1), and Podduturi et al. (US 20110063172A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Bringuier et al. further discloses the RF coupler top portion further comprising a flex printed circuit board, that is configured to, couple RF energy from the internal antenna through air or a magnetic medium (RF top portion comprises CPL 24 having a flex PCB and furthermore coupling RF Signals through air with its capacitive connection with CPL 22; Paragraph 43-44 and 50 as well as figure 2 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. fails to explicitly disclose a flex-rigid printed circuit board.
However, Podduturi et al. does disclose a flex-rigid printed circuit board (A meter system comprises an antenna 300 with a backing 304 that is comprised of a rigid printed circuit board but is also flexible enough to be curved during its placement on the cap 104 or 102 and said board also couples RF energy; Paragraph 51, 60-62 and 71 as well as figure 8 of Podduturi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. to have a flex-rigid printed circuit board as taught by Podduturi et al. so it can be curved thus expanding the antenna placement options (Paragraph 60-62 and 74 of Podduturi et al.).
Regarding Claim 13 as best understood, Bringuier et al. discloses an antenna coupler (Antenna assembly of figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.) comprising:
an RF coupler top portion comprising:
a first RF coupler (RF CPL antenna 24 and Re-radiator assembly 18 form a coupler top portion for an RF coupling system wherein CPL 24 serves as a first RF coupler; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 2 of Bringuier et al.) and
an RF coupler base portion comprising:
an electronic printed circuit board positioned within the RF coupler base portion: (Meter 10 and a part PCB assembly 16 comprising CPL 22 form a RF coupler base portion wherein the meter 10 and PCB 16 may be integrated together requiring no cable and thus forming a base comprising the PCB; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.)
an internal antenna connected to an electronic printed circuit board at the RF coupler base portion; (CPL antenna 22 or 24 can function as an internal antenna designed to operate at a frequency band wherein antenna 22 can be printed on the PCB 16; Paragraph 35-49 and figure 2 of Bringuier et al.); and
wherein the internal antenna is partially potted with respect to the electronic printed circuit board, and wherein the electronic printed circuit board comprising a flex-rigid printed circuit board; (CPL antenna 22 and PCB assembly 16 may be enclosed in a plastic such that they are hermitically sealed and protected from outside elements; Paragraph 43 of Bringuier et al.); and
a housing comprising:
a top cover housing,
wherein the RF coupler top portion resides on the top cover housing; (Metal or plastic Pit 13 serves as a housing a and comprises a lid 20 that serves as a top cover wherein part of the RF top portion is disposed within and on the metal lid 20; Paragraphs 35-49 and figure 1 and 2 of Bringuier et al.), and
wherein the RF coupler top comprises: the flex printed circuit board that is configured to, couple RF energy from the internal antenna through air or a magnetic medium (RF top portion comprises CPL 24 having a flex PCB and furthermore coupling RF Signals through air with its capacitive connection with CPL 22 or magnetic means through an inductive coupling; Paragraph 35-50 as well as figure 2 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al. fails to explicitly disclose a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler and a flex-rigid printed circuit board.
However, Horibe does disclose a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler (Patch 13 may serve as a second RF coupler in a lower base portion that couples signals from an internal antenna in the form of patch 22 and can couple them to patch 14 which may be designed as a first RF coupler with patch 13 as the second RF coupler and said patches couple through capacitive coupling 54 as seen in figure 4 wherein first RF coupler can transmit or receive radio waves from a foreign Rf source like an external antenna or in an alternative embodiment the first rf coupler may take the form of a coaxial line that connects patch 13 to patch 14 serving as an external antenna as seen in figure 5; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe). Horibe also suggests wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion (Patch 13 and 14 serve as the first RF coupler and second RF coupler wherein said couplers would only engage together to start coupling when the top portion is brought together with the base portion and signals can be coupled from the internal antenna 22; Columns 3-7 and figure 1-5 of Horibe).
Johnson et al. also discloses wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion (Communication device 48 serves as a RF coupler top portion which is connected to an external antenna portion 74 and a base portion in the form of electronic meter register 26 with connector module 36 wherein the top portion engages with a bottom portion when connector 36 engages with device 48 and a first RF coupler 116 in the top portion 48 engages with a second RF coupler 44 in the bottom portions to couple signals form an internal antenna structure, in the form of transmitter MXU with a coil structure, to an external antenna 74; Paragraph 24-45 and figure 1-6 of Johnson et al.).
Podduturi et al. also further discloses a flex-rigid printed circuit board (A meter system comprises an antenna 300 with a backing 304 that is comprised of a rigid printed circuit board but is also flexible enough to be curved during its placement on the cap 104 or 102 and said board also couples RF energy; Paragraph 51, 60-62 and 71 as well as figure 8 of Podduturi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. to have a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler as taught by Horibe so that Rf signals may be transmitted through the couplers to an external source or incoming rf signals may be received and transmitted to the internal antenna (Columns 3-7 of Horibe) and signals may be transmitted with a low degree of loss (Columns 5-6 of Horibe).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al. and Horibe to have wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion as taught by Johnson et al. so that signals may be transmitted from within a meter pit and transmitted to a remote location to reduce manpower needed to obtain meter readings (Paragraph 4-6 of Johnson et al.). It would have also been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. to have a flex-rigid printed circuit board as taught by Podduturi et al. so it can be curved thus expanding the antenna placement options (Paragraph 60-62 and 74 of Podduturi et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Bringuier et al. further discloses the RF coupler top portion further comprises; a flex printed circuit board that is configured to couple RF energy from the internal antenna through air or a magnetic medium (RF top portion comprises CPL 24 having a flex PCB and furthermore coupling RF Signals through air with its capacitive connection with CPL 22; Paragraph 43-44 and 50 as well as figure 2 of Bringuier et al.)
Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. fails to explicitly disclose a flex-rigid printed circuit board.
However, Podduturi et al. does disclose a flex-rigid printed circuit board (A meter system comprises an antenna 300 with a backing 304 that is comprised of a rigid printed circuit board but is also flexible enough to be curved during its placement on the cap 104 or 102 and said board also couples RF energy; Paragraph 51, 60-62 and 71 as well as figure 8 of Podduturi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. to have a flex-rigid printed circuit board as taught by Podduturi et al. so it can be curved thus expanding the antenna placement options (Paragraph 60-62 and 74 of Podduturi et al.).
Claim(s) 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bringuier et al. (US 20160204501A1) in view of Horibe (US 7030819 B2), Johnson et al. (US 20060218104 A1), and Smith et al. (US 20130057367 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Bringuier et al. further disclose the RF coupler top portion that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna (RF coupler top portion comprises a first RF coupler 24 that couples internal antenna RF signals through capacitive and inductive means; Paragraph 35-49 and Figure 1-3 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. fail to explicitly disclose a RF coupler top portion further comprising: an impedance-controlled copper plate that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna.
However, Smith et al. does disclose a RF coupler top portion further comprising: an impedance-controlled copper plate that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna (RF coupler comprises 2 portions with patch antennas formed on a substrate and a top portion comprises a ground plane 18 formed by copper rings 18a-b thus forming a copper plane wherein the impedance can be controlled and ground plane can be at 50 ohm impedance this copper plane being an impedance controlled copper plate and the top patch antenna with its ground plane couples rf energy through the air with the other portion ; Paragraph 46-48 and 54-60 as well as figure 6 of Smith et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. to have an impedance-controlled copper plate that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna as taught by Smith et al. to secure to allow for impedance control and matching insuring low loss coupling (Paragraph 72 of Smith et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Bringuier et al. further disclose the RF coupler top portion that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna (RF coupler top portion comprises a first RF coupler 24 that couples internal antenna RF signals through capacitive and inductive means; Paragraph 35-49 and Figure 1-3 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. fail to explicitly disclose a RF coupler top portion further comprising: an impedance-controlled copper plate that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna.
However, Smith et al. does disclose a RF coupler top portion further comprising: an impedance-controlled copper plate that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna (RF coupler comprises 2 portions with patch antennas formed on a substrate and a top portion comprises a ground plane 18 formed by copper rings 18a-b thus forming a copper plane wherein the impedance can be controlled and ground plane can be at 50 ohm impedance this copper plane being an impedance controlled copper plate and the top patch antenna with its ground plane couples rf energy through the air with the other portion ; Paragraph 46-48 and 54-60 as well as figure 6 of Smith et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. to have an impedance-controlled copper plate that is configured to couple RF energy through air or a magnetic medium from the internal antenna as taught by Smith et al. to secure to allow for impedance control and matching insuring low loss coupling (Paragraph 72 of Smith et al.).
Claim(s) 5, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bringuier et al. (US 20160204501A1) in view of Horibe (US 7030819 B2), Johnson et al. (US 20060218104 A1), and Cornwall et al. (IDS Reference US 20110260947A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. fails to explicitly disclose the internal antenna is directly soldered to the electronic printed circuit board.
However, Cornwall et al. does disclose the internal antenna is directly soldered to the electronic printed circuit board (Radiating element 616 is an serves as an internal antenna and is affixed to the 2 part antenna coupler 616 which may be soldered onto the PCB 610; Paragraph 37 and 48-49 as well as figure 6 of Cornwall et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, and Johnson et al. to the internal antenna is directly soldered to the electronic printed circuit board as taught by Cornwall et al. to for structural integrity and ease of plotting/enclosing the entire structure for protection and since soldering an antenna to a circuit board is a known skill in the art (Paragraph 37 of Cornwall et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Bringuier et al., Horbie, and Johnson et al. fail to disclose the RF coupler top potion further comprising: an impedance network that tunes transmission frequencies of antenna signals; and a coaxial cable to connect the first RF coupler with the external antenna.
However, Cornwall et al. does disclose the RF coupler top potion further comprising: an impedance network that tunes transmission frequencies of antenna signals; and a coaxial cable to connect the first RF coupler with the external antenna (A RF coupler top portion can comprise a first Rf coupler 120/220/522 that can comprise a coaxial cable 540 designed to connect the coupler to an external antenna 550 where an impedance network 556; Paragraph 36-47 and figure 2-5 of Cornwall et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horbie, and Johnson et al. to have the RF coupler top potion further comprising: an impedance network that tunes transmission frequencies of antenna signals; and a coaxial cable to connect the first RF coupler with the external antenna as taught by Cornwall et al. to provide an impedance match and provide effective signal radiation when coupling signals to an external antenna (Paragraph 45-46 of Cornwall et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Bringuier et al., Horibe, Johnson et al. and Podduturi et al., fails to explicitly disclose the internal antenna is directly soldered to the electronic printed circuit board.
However, Cornwall et al. does disclose the internal antenna is directly soldered to the electronic printed circuit board (Radiating element 616 is an serves as an internal antenna and is affixed to the 2 part antenna coupler 616 which may be soldered onto the PCB 610; Paragraph 37 and 48-49 as well as figure 6 of Cornwall et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horibe, Johnson et al. and Podduturi et al. to have the internal antenna is directly soldered to the electronic printed circuit board as taught by Cornwall et al. to for structural integrity and ease of plotting/enclosing the entire structure for protection (Paragraph 37 of Cornwall et al.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bringuier et al. (US 20160204501A1) in view of Horibe (US 7030819 B2), Johnson et al. (US 20060218104 A1), and Forster-Knight et al. (US 11029196B2).
Regarding Claim 7, Bringuier et al. further discloses the RF coupler top portion is protected by a sealing medium (RF Coupler top portion may be also be enclosed in a plastic and hermetically sealed by the plastic to be protected; Paragraph 43 of Bringuier et al.).
Bringuier et al., Horbie, and Johnson et al. fails to disclose RF top coupler portion it is IP68 protected.
However, Forster-Knight et al. further discloses a RF top coupler portion it is IP68 protected (Top portion of water meter system 100 is connected to a bottom portion of sensors 500 and 340 are enclosed in a plastic housing 300 which is IP68 rated; Paragraph 41 and 92 as well as figure 3 of Forster-Knight et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Bringuier et al., Horbie, and Johnson et al. to have the RF top coupler portion be IP68 protected as taught by Forster-knight et al. so enclosure can be resistive to UV damage, temperature fluctuations, and other environmental factors (Paragraph 41 and Forster-Knight et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 13, and 16-18 the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Response to Arguments
“The combination of Bringuier et al. and Horibe does not teach, suggest, or render obvious, for example, the feature of "a second RF coupler coupled to the internal antenna, wherein the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the RF coupler top portion engages with the RF coupler base portion to couple signals from the internal antenna with an external antenna via the first RF coupler and the second RF coupler, wherein the second RF coupler is different from the first RF coupler" as recited in, for example, independent claim 1.
The Examiner has equated the claimed "second RF coupler" to "Patch Antenna 13" of Horibe. The Applicant respectfully disagrees Horibe at best teaches about a patch antenna 13 that acts as a coupling means for electromagnetic transfer between the portable wireless device 20 and the re-radiating antenna system 10. However, Horibe does not teach about any second RF coupler that is structurally distinct from the patch antenna itself, nor teaches a second RF coupler coupled to the Patch Antenna 13.
Assuming arguendo, that Patch Antenna 13 of Horibe could be considered as a "second RF coupler" and patch antenna 22 as "first RF coupler", Horibe still fails to teach or suggest the first RF coupler is configured to engage with the second RF coupler when the antenna system engages with the portable wireless device. In Horibe, the patch antennas are merely disposed facing each other for electromagnetic coupling; there is no teaching or suggestion of a defined engagement mechanism between two distinct couplers upon assembly of separate top and base portions.”
Applicant's arguments filed on December 24th 2026 in regards to claim 1, 13, and 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments about Horibe, the examiner notes that the term RF coupler is broad and merely requires components that can function to couple RF signals. Horbie discloses an internal antenna 21 and an external RF receiving structure that serves as an external antenna wherein patch 13 and 14 serve as a first and second RF coupler. As disclosed in figure 4 they can be designed to capacitively couple together to transfer signals from the Internal source to the external source and thus function as RF couplers. The applicant also acknowledges that the patches act as a coupling means for electromagnetic transfer and as such the fact that they are patches does not negate their ability to serve as RF couplers.
Furthermore, the examiner notes in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (“a defined engagement mechanism between two distinct couplers upon assembly of separate top and base portion”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claim 1, 13, and 16 recite the term “engage” when describing the act of the couplers coming together with the base and top portion, however this term is much broader than “a defined engagement mechanism”. The applicants “Defined engagement mechanism” seems to be refereeing to a physical engagement of the top and bottom portion resulting in the first and second RF couplers being brought into physical proximity to couple. However, the term “engage” on its own is broader such that Horbie can be argued to read on it. Horbie teaches the top portion and the bottom portion coming together wherein this physical engagement brings internal antenna 22 closer to coupler 13 to transfer signals wherein coupler 13 then engages with coupler 14 through capacitive coupling to transfer signals. However, the examiner has also included a new reference Johnson et al. in the reference to read on the claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 7554460 B2 (Verkleeren; Jeff et al.) relates to a configuration of a utility meter serving as a water meter comprising a base and top portion.
US 6369769 B1 (Nap; Kimbel A. et al.) relates to a configuration of a pit lid antenna comprising an internal and external antenna for meter measurement.
US 20240237241 A1 (Mellert; Martin et al.) relates to a configuration of a water measuring antenna systems that employers an internal antenna utilizing coupling.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845