DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 is listed with an incorrect status identifier. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 11-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winters, U.S. Patent Application No. 2022/0333892, in view of Fabek et al., U.S. Patent No. 5,678,730. As to Claim 1, Winters teaches a launching apparatus (dart pistol) comprising a launch body (20) comprising a slot (21) adapted to engage with a projectile, paragraphs 0018 and 0032. An energy storage device (23) may be disposed below the slot, paragraph 0019 and see Figure 6. Winters teaches a latch (26, 27, 25), paragraph 0020. Winters is silent as to an arm support. Fabek teaches a launching apparatus (device for discharging a medium), Col. 3, ln. 53-54. The apparatus may include a launch body (38) and an arm support secured to the underside of the launch body by one or more straps wherein the one or more straps are adapted to secure the launch body to the arm of a user, Col. 4,ln. 41-44 and see drawing below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Winters with an arm support secured to the underside of the launch body by one or more straps adapted to secure the launch body to the arm of a user, as taught by Fabek, to provide Winters with a known alternative configuration for supporting a lauancher.
As to Claims 2, 9, and 15, Winters teaches that the energy storage device may be a spring, paragraph 0019. As to Claims 5, 11, and 18, Winters teaches that the launch body may have an upper half (portion above the latch) and a lower half (portion including the latch, see Figure 6. As to Claims 6 12, and 19, Winters teaches that the slot may be disposed within the upper half of the launch body, see Figure 1. As to Claims 7, 13, and 20, Fabek teaches that the straps may comprise hook and loop (hook and pile) fasteners, Col. 4, ln. 8-39. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Winters, as modified, with hook and loop fasteners to secure the launch body to the arm of a user, as taught by Fabek, to provide Winters, as modified, with a known substitute strap fastener. As to Claim 8, Winters, as modified by Fabek, is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Further, Fabek teaches that the arm support may be sized larger than the launch body, see Figure 2, and drawing above, noting that the arm support extends beyond the end of the launch body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Winters, as modified, with an arm support sized as claimed and as taught by Fabek, to provide Winters, as modified, with a larger arm support to yield the predictable result of placing the arm support between the arm of a user and the entire launcher body. The examiner finds that the launching apparatus of prior art possesses the structural features of the claimed apparatus and is capable of performing in the same matter, namely by securing the launch body and the arm support to the arm of a user such that the arm support is positioned against the arm and the launch body is positioned on top of the arm support. “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2112. As to Claim 14, Winters, as modified, is applied as in Claim 1, with regard to the launching apparatus, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Winters teaches a system for launching a projectile further including a projectile body (52) paragraph 0030. A launch rail (57) may be mounted on the projectile body and adapted to slidably engage with the slot of the launch body, paragraph 0032. As to Claim 17, Fabek is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winters, in view of Fabek, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lemelson, U.S. Patent No. 4,064,647. Winters, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. Winters, as modified, is silent as to an elastic band serving as the energy storage device. As to Claims 3, 10, and 16, Lemelson teaches that the energy storage device, for a launching apparatus, may be an elastic band, Col. 1, ln. 66 – Col 2, ln. 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Winters, as modified, with an elastic band serving as the energy storage device as taught by Lemelson, to provide Winters, as modified, with a known alternative energy storage device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 24 July 2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 11 August 2025