DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first vehicle body portion including a door pillar and a second vehicle body portion including a door (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renke (US 7,937,894).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 18, Renke discloses a vehicle, comprising: a first vehicle body portion (not shown); a second vehicle body portion (10), wherein the first vehicle body portion and the second vehicle body portion cooperate to define a window opening (not shown); a window (16) that has window surface (Fig. 1); bracket assemblies (22) that are connected to the window; guide structures (20) that are in engagement with the bracket assemblies so that the bracket assemblies are movable with respect to the guide structures to allow movement of the window between a closed position and an open position; and a stabilizer (24) that is connected to the second vehicle body portion (Fig. 1) and engages the window surface of the window when the window is in the open position (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 19, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the stabilizer (24) includes a contact member (26) that is biased toward engagement with the window surface of the window when the window is in the open position (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 20, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the guide structures (20) include a first guide structure and a second guide structure, wherein the stabilizer is located between the first guide structure and the second guide structure (col. 2, lines 23-27).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the second vehicle body portion defines an interior space (Figs. 1 and 2), the guide structures are located inside the interior space of the second vehicle body portion, the stabilizer is located inside the interior space of the second vehicle body portion, and the window is located inside the second vehicle body portion when the window is in the open position (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 5, 16 and 21, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the guide structures each include a first guide and a second guide, and the bracket assemblies each include a first follower that is movable along the first guide and a second follower that is movable along the second guide (col. 2, lines 24-25 “one of the regulator rails”).
Regarding claim 6, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 5, wherein the first guide and the second guide of each of the guide structures are tracks (“regulator rails 20”).
Regarding claim 7, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the first vehicle body portion is an upper portion of a door (not shown) and the second vehicle body portion is a lower portion of the door (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Renke discloses the vehicle of claim 1, further comprising: an actuation assembly (22) that is configured to cause movement of the window between the closed position and the open position (col. 2, lines 20-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renke in view of JP H0578621 U.
Renke discloses the vehicle of claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 and 18-21 as explained above.
Renke does not disclose the edge structure of the window panel.
JP H0578621 U discloses a vehicle window structure in which the window glass (6) includes a seal (see annotate Fig. 4 below) which engages with the body structure and the window is flush with the body structure when the window in in the closed position. JP H0578621 U further discloses that the window is movable from the open to closed position using rails and brackets.
Renke and JP H058621 U are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e., vehicle windows.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include seals along the edge of the windows which allow the window to seal against and be flush with the vehicle structure when the window is in the closed position. JP H058621 teaches that the seals along the edge of the window is a known sealing structure for vehicle windows. Therefore it would have been a simple substitution of one known sealing method for another known sealing method for vehicle windows.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine JP H058621 U with Renke to obtain the invention as specified in claims 9, 11, 17 and 22 .
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renke in view of Brisette (US 3,328,918).
Renke discloses the vehicle of claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 and 18-21 as explained above.
Renke does not disclose that the first vehicle body portion includes a door pillar.
Brisette discloses that it is known to have vehicle doors without upper frame members.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the door system of Renke for vehicle structures in which the upper door does not include a window frame. In a vehicle without an upper door frame, the second vehicle body portion would be a door pillar.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Patricia L Engle/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3991