DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menke et al. (US-20100221611-A1) in view of Naumann et al. (US-20150093575-A1), and Kim et al. (US-20110027658-A1).
As to claim 1, Menke discloses a ceramic slurry composition, comprising:
at least one ceramic particle [0023] selected from the group consisting of alumina, alumina oxide hydroxide, SiO2, BaSO4, TiO2, SnO2, CeO2, ZrO2, BaTiO3, Y203, B203, and combinations thereof [0023];
a binder [0022] comprising a polymer at least partially crosslinked with a crosslinking agent [0022], and
wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of (a) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide (DMAPMA), (b) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate (DMAEMA), (c) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAEMA, (d) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAPMA, and (e) combinations thereof [0021].
However, Menke does not disclose wherein the crosslinking agent comprises a compound comprising at least two epoxide groups and is a water dispersible multi-epoxy resin or wherein the slurry composition further comprises a solvent.
Naumann discloses a polymer composition wherein the crosslinking agent comprises at least two epoxide groups and is a water dispersible multi-epoxy resin [0079] such as glycidyl methacrylate [0082-0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to include the cross-linking agent such as glycidyl methacrylate with the monomers of Menke to form the reaction product because Naumann recognizes additional cross-linking compositions which can be combined with the same monomers to obtain properties for the polymers as desired. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 MPEP 2143. In regards to the epoxy being water dispersible, a reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory is the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
However, neither Menke alone, or in view of Naumann disclose wherein the slurry composition further comprises a solvent.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the coating composition further includes a solvent [0022] that the ceramic particles are dispersed in to improve the thermal and mechanical characteristics of the surface the coating is applied to [0022].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to further require that the crosslinking agent comprises a compound comprising at least two epoxide groups along with being water dispersible as disclosed within Naumann and to additionally require that the ceramic slurry further be dispersed within a solvent to improve the thermal and mechanical characteristics of the surface the slurry is applied to as disclosed within Kim.
As to claim 2, modified Menke discloses the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Menke does not disclose wherein the solvent is selected from the group consisting of water, ethanol, N-methyl pyrrolidone, and combinations thereof.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the solvent used in the slurry is water [0061] to improve the thermal and mechanical characteristics of the surface the slurry is applied to [0022].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to additionally require that the solvent used in the slurry is water to improve the thermal and mechanical characteristics of a surface the slurry is applied to as disclosed within Kim.
As to claim 3, modified Menke discloses the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Menke does not disclose wherein (i) the at least one ceramic particle is present in the composition in a range of from about 5 to about 30 wt% of the composition, (ii) the polymer is present in the composition a range of from about 1 to about 20 wt% of the composition, (iii) the crosslinking agent is present in the composition in a range of from about 1 to about 5 wt% of the composition, and (iv) the solvent is present in the composition in a range of from about 50 to about 90 wt% of the composition.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the the at least one ceramic particle is present in the composition in a range of from about 5 to about 30 wt% of the composition [0040] and the polymer is present in the composition a range of from about 1 to about 20 wt% of the composition [0039] to prepare a separator with increased thermal and mechanical properties [0044]. However, Kim does not disclose wherein the crosslinking agent is present in the composition in a range of from about 1 to about 5 wt% of the composition, and the solvent is present in the composition in a range of from about 50 to about 90 wt% of the composition.
However, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (See MPEP § 2144.05 II.)
As to claim 6, Menke discloses a ceramic slurry composition, comprising:
at least one ceramic particle [0023] selected from the group consisting of alumina, alumina oxide hydroxide, SiO2, BaSO4, TiO2, SnO2, CeO2, ZrO2, BaTiO3, Y203, B203, and combinations thereof [0023]; and
a binder [0022] comprising a polymer at least partially crosslinked with a crosslinking agent [0022]; and
wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of (a) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide (DMAPMA), (b) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate (DMAEMA), (c) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAEMA, (d) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAPMA, and (e) combinations thereof [0021].
However, Menke does not disclose wherein the crosslinking agent comprises a compound comprising at least two epoxide groups and is a water dispersible multi-epoxy resin or wherein the slurry composition is applied to a separator and wherein the ceramic binder composition is in contact with at least a portion of the separator.
Naumann discloses a polymer composition wherein the crosslinking agent comprises at least two epoxide groups and is a water dispersible multi-epoxy resin [0079] such as glycidyl methacrylate [0082-0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to include the cross-linking agent such as glycidyl methacrylate with the monomers of Menke to form the reaction product because Naumann recognizes additional cross-linking compositions which can be combined with the same monomers to obtain properties for the polymers as desired. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 MPEP 2143. In regards to the epoxy being water dispersible, a reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory is the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
However, neither Menke alone, or in view of Naumann disclose wherein the slurry composition is applied to a separator and wherein the ceramic binder composition is in contact with at least a portion of the separator.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the ceramic binder composition is in contact with at least a portion of the separator [0033] to form a ceramic coated separator for an electrochemical cell [0044] so that the separator has improved thermal characteristics when disposed within a battery [0044].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to further require that the crosslinking agent comprise a compound comprising at least two epoxide groups along with being water dispersible as disclosed within Naumann and to additionally require that the ceramic slurry be applied to a separator to produce a separator with improved thermal characteristics as disclosed within Kim
As to claim 7, modified Menke discloses the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within claim 6, however, Menke does not disclose wherein the separator comprises a polyolefin.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the separator is formed from a thermoplastic resin, such as polyolefin [0009] to ensure that the separator exhibits suitable thermal shrinkage at temperatures over one hundred degrees Celsius [0009].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to additionally require that the separator be formed from polyolefin to improve the thermal shrinkage of the separator as disclosed within Kim.
As to claim 8, modified Menke discloses the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within claim 6, however, Menke does not disclose wherein the ceramic coated separator is used within a battery.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the ceramic coated separator is used within a battery [0044] to improve the thermal and mechanical characteristics of the battery [0044].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to additionally require that the ceramic coated separator be used within a battery to improve the thermal and mechanical characteristics of the battery as disclosed within Kim.
As to claim 9, Menke discloses an electrochemical cell [0019], comprising:
a ceramic slurry composition, comprising:
at least one ceramic particle [0023] selected from the group consisting of alumina, alumina oxide hydroxide, SiO2, BaSO4, TiO2, SnO2, CeO2, ZrO2, BaTiO3, Y203, B203, and combinations thereof [0023]; and
a binder [0022] comprising a polymer at least partially crosslinked with a crosslinking agent [0022]; and
wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of (a) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide (DMAPMA), (b) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate (DMAEMA), (c) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAEMA, (d) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAPMA, and (e) combinations thereof [0021];
at least one cathode [0022]; and
at least one anode [0019].
However, Menke does not disclose wherein the crosslinking agent comprises a compound comprising at least two epoxide groups and is a water dispersible multi-epoxy resin or wherein the slurry composition is applied to a separator and wherein the ceramic binder composition is in contact with at least a portion of the separator.
Naumann discloses a polymer composition wherein the crosslinking agent comprises at least two epoxide groups and is a water dispersible multi-epoxy resin [0079] such as glycidyl methacrylate [0082-0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to include the cross-linking agent such as glycidyl methacrylate with the monomers of Menke to form the reaction product because Naumann recognizes additional cross-linking compositions which can be combined with the same monomers to obtain properties for the polymers as desired. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 MPEP 2143. In regards to the epoxy being water dispersible, a reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory is the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
However, neither Menke alone, or in view of Naumann disclose wherein the slurry composition is applied to a separator and wherein the ceramic binder composition is in contact with at least a portion of the separator.
Kim discloses a method of preparing a ceramic coated separator, wherein the ceramic binder composition is in contact with at least a portion of the separator [0033] to form a ceramic coated separator for an electrochemical cell [0044] so that the separator will have improved thermal characteristics when disposed within the battery [0044].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to further require that the crosslinking agent comprise a compound comprising at least two epoxide groups along with being water dispersible as disclosed within Naumann and to additionally require that the ceramic slurry be applied to a separator to produce a separator with improved thermal characteristics when disposed within the battery as disclosed within Kim
4. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menke et al. (US-20100221611-A1) in view of Naumann et al. (US-20150093575-A1), and Kim et al. (US-20110027658-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tullos et al. (US-20040157961-A1)
As to claim 4, modified Menke discloses the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Menke does not disclose wherein the ceramic slurry composition further comprises a catalyst selected from the group consisting of imidazole, imidazole derivatives, and combinations thereof.
Tullos discloses coating powder formulation, wherein for epoxy resin compositions, suitable catalysts include imidazoles [0012-0016] to catalyze the reactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to include a catalyst such as imidazole in the composition of Menke as modified because Tullos recognizes that imidazoles are affective catalysts for epoxy containing compositions. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 MPEP 2143.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to further include a catalyst for catalyzing the reactions exposed to the slurry as disclosed within Tullos.
As to claim 5, modified Menke discloses the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Menke does not disclose wherein the ceramic slurry composition further comprises a surfactant which comprises at least one of (a) an N-alkyl pyrrolidone, wherein the alkyl group is in a range of from C1 to C10, (b) an alkyl polyethylene glycol ether produced from the reaction of a C1 to C18-Guerbet alcohol and ethylene oxide, and (c) an acetylenic dial type surfactant represented by at least one of formula (1) and (II):R3 O(CH2CH2O)mH (I)R2 O(CH2CH20)nH 14 wherein R1 and R4 are straight or branched alkyl chains having from 1 to 4 carbon atoms; R2 and R3 are H, methyl, or ethyl groups; (m+n) is in a range of from 2 to 40; and (p+q) is in a range of from about 1 to 20.
Tullos discloses coating powder formulation, wherein additives, which can aid or enhance chemical or physical properties, include surfactants such as acetylenic diol and the like [0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to include a surfactant such as acetylenic diol in the composition of Menke because Tullos recognizes that such surfactants can provide air or enhancement to chemical or physical properties of coating compositions. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 MPEP 2143. Tullos does not explicitly teach the structure for the acetylenic diol to be represented by formula I or II, however, it has been held that closely related homologs, analogs, and isomers in chemistry creates a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Dillon 16 USPQ 2d 1897, 1904 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Payne 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979); In re Mills 126 USPQ 513 (CCPA 1960); In re Henze 85 USPQ 261 (CCPA 1950); In re Hass 60 USPQ 544 (CCPA 1944). See MPEP 2144.09. The closer the physical and/or chemical similarities between the claimed species or subgenus and any exemplary species or subgenus disclosed in the prior art, the greater the expectation that the claimed subject matter will function in an equivalent manner to the genus. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1904 (and cases cited therein). Cf. Baird, 16 F.3d at 382-83, 29 USPQ2d at 1552.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic slurry composition as disclosed within Menke to further include a surfactant for enhancing the physical or chemical properties of the slurry as disclosed within Tullos.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 4 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
a. The Applicant argues that Menke does not disclose a ceramic slurry composition comprising at least one ceramic particles selected from the list provided in Claim 1, stating that while Menke does disclose a slurry composition having one of the compositions from the list in claim 1, that this is instead just a list of possible inorganic components for a material layer and not a ceramic particle. However, as the list of particles provided in claim 1 are ceramic particles and one of which is provided in the slurry composition in Menke, that would make it a ceramic slurry composition.
b. The Applicant further argues that Menke does not disclose the binder comprising a polymer at least partially crosslinked with a cross linking agent, however, as disclosed in Menke, the polymer is formed by cross-linking monomers.
c. The Applicant additionally argues that Menke does not disclose wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of (a) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide (DMAPMA), (b) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone and dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate (DMAEMA), (c) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAEMA, (d) a copolymer produced from monomers comprising vinylpyrrolidone, vinylcaprolactam, and DMAPMA, and (e) combinations thereof and states that Menke just discloses N-vinyl-2-pyrrolidone and dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide. This disclosure in Menke does satisfy (a) in claim 1 as pointed out in the rejection herein.
d. The Applicant additionally argues that the deficiencies in Menke are not cured by Naumann and states that Naumann does not provide a reason to modify Menke’s material layer with the cross-linker disclosed in Naumann. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 MPEP 2143. In regards to the epoxy being water dispersible, a reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory is the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
e. The Applicant additionally argues that the deficiencies in Menke and Naumann are not cured by Kim and that even thought Kim does disclose a solvent, combining Kim with Menke and Naumann does not satisfy the rest of claim 1. However, Kim is only used to teach the solvent and as such, is not needed to disclose the rest of claim 1 which is covered by the disclosures in Menke and Naumann as pointed out in the rejection herein.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727