DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
ISSUE 1 — CLAIMS 1-9 — INSUFFICIENT ANTECEDENT BASIS / UNCLEAR REFERENCE TO “THE SUPPORT RAIL”
Claim 1 recites “a pair of support rails extending in the first direction and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction,” but later recites “a crane movably connected to the driving rail and the support rail.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the support rail” because the claim previously recites a pair of support rails, not a singular support rail.
The scope of claim 1 is unclear because “the support rail” may refer to one unspecified rail of the pair, both support rails collectively, or a different support rail structure. This ambiguity affects the claimed movable connection of the crane and the corresponding movement “along the driving rail and the support rail.” Claims 2-9 depend from claim 1 and are rejected for the same reason.
Applicant may clarify the claim by amending “the support rail” to “the pair of support rails” or by otherwise identifying which support rail or rails are included in the movable connection.
ISSUE 2 — CLAIM 5 — “THE PAIR OF ELASTIC MEMBERS” LACKS ANTECEDENT BASIS AND CONFLICTS WITH THE PREVIOUSLY RECITED SINGULAR ELASTIC MEMBER
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 5 recites “an elastic member including a central portion connected to the bogie body and configured to be tiltable around a bogie axis,” and further recites that “the elastic member includes a plate spring.” However, claim 5 later recites “wherein the pair of elastic members are configured to: press the pair of auxiliary members in a direction toward the pair of support rails; and press the pair of guide wheels to contact the contact surfaces of the pair of support rails.”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the pair of elastic members.” The claim previously recites one elastic member, not a pair of elastic members. It is therefore unclear whether the pressing function is performed by the singular plate-spring elastic member, by an unrecited pair of elastic members, or by another structure. The ambiguity also prevents clear determination of whether claim 5 is directed to the fourth embodiment described at paragraphs [0098]-[0104] or to a different dual-elastic-member structure.
Applicant may clarify the claim by amending “the pair of elastic members” to “the elastic member,” if the singular plate spring is intended, or by positively reciting a pair of elastic members and their structural relationship to the bogie body, auxiliary members, and guide wheels.
ISSUE 3 — CLAIM 9 — UNCLEAR FUNCTIONAL LANGUAGE REGARDING THE MOVER, HOIST, AND CARRIAGE
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 9 recites “a hoist connecting the mover and the carriage with each other so that the mover moves up or down the carriage using the hoist.” The phrase “the mover moves up or down the carriage” is unclear because it may mean that the mover itself moves upward or downward relative to the carriage, that the mover causes the carriage to move upward or downward, or that the hoist raises and lowers the carriage relative to the mover.
The specification appears to describe the hoist as connecting the mover and carriage such that the carriage moves up and down with respect to the mover, see paragraphs [0052]-[0055]. However, the claim language does not clearly recite that relationship.
Applicant may clarify the claim by amending the limitation to recite, for example, “a hoist connecting the mover and the carriage so that the hoist moves the carriage up or down relative to the mover,” or “a hoist connecting the mover and the carriage so that the mover raises or lowers the carriage using the hoist,” if consistent with the intended scope.
ISSUE 4 — CLAIMS 10-19 — INSUFFICIENT ANTECEDENT BASIS / UNCLEAR REFERENCE TO “THE SUPPORT RAIL”
Claim 10 recites “a pair of support rails extending in the first direction and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction,” but later recites “a crane movably connected to the driving rail and the support rail.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the support rail” because the claim previously recites a pair of support rails, not a singular support rail.
The scope of claim 10 is unclear because “the support rail” may refer to one unspecified rail of the pair, both support rails collectively, or a different support rail structure. This ambiguity affects the claimed movable connection of the crane and the corresponding movement “along the driving rail and the support rail.” Claims 11-19 depend from claim 10 and are rejected for the same reason.
Applicant may clarify the claim by amending “the support rail” to “the pair of support rails” or by otherwise identifying which support rail or rails are included in the movable connection.
ISSUE 5 — CLAIMS 10-19 — UNCLEAR TILTING RELATIONSHIP AMONG THE BOGIE, SUPPORT, BOGIE SHAFT, AND GUIDE WHEELS
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 10 recites “a bogie including at least one bogie shaft, wherein the bogie is configured to tilt about the at least one bogie shaft,” and further recites “a support connected to the base and the bogie and configured to tilt about the at least one bogie shaft.” The claim does not clearly identify which component is fixed, which component pivots, and which claimed structure is the tiltable member. The bogie is said to include the bogie shaft and also to tilt about that shaft, while the support is also said to be connected to the bogie and configured to tilt about the same shaft.
The ambiguity is material because the specification describes several different tilting arrangements. In the first embodiment, the bogie link tilts about the bogie shaft. In the second and third embodiments, separate bogie links tilt about respective bogie shafts. In the fourth embodiment, the elastic member or leaf spring tilts about a bogie shaft. Claim 10, however, broadly states that both the bogie and the support are configured to tilt about the bogie shaft without identifying the actual pivoting subcomponent.
Dependent claims 13-17 further confirm the ambiguity because those claims variously recite the pair of guide wheels, bogie links, elastic members, or elastic member as participating in the tilting or pressing structure. Thus, the metes and bounds of the “bogie” and “support” limitations in claim 10 are not clear.
Applicant may clarify claim 10 by reciting the particular structure configured to tilt about the bogie shaft, such as the guide wheels, bogie link, bogie links, or elastic member, and by making the “support” and “bogie” relationship consistent with the disclosed embodiment being claimed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To the extent claim 5 is interpreted as intentionally requiring “the pair of elastic members,” the claim contains subject matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention as of the filing date.
Claim 5 first recites a singular elastic member having a central portion connected to the bogie body, configured to be tiltable around a bogie axis, and including a plate spring. The corresponding disclosure at paragraphs [0098]-[0104] describes a singular elastic member 340, such as a leaf spring, having a central portion connected to the bogie shaft and opposite end portions connected to auxiliary members. The disclosure does not describe a pair of elastic members in that plate-spring/auxiliary-member arrangement.
Although the specification describes a pair of elastic members in the second embodiment at paragraphs [0085]-[0091], those elastic members connect the support member to separate bogie links and are not described as the plate-spring elastic member connected to auxiliary members as claimed in claim 5. Accordingly, the specification does not reasonably convey possession of a pair of elastic members configured as recited in claim 5, if the plural phrase is intended as a substantive limitation rather than a typographical error.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 5 to recite the singular elastic member supported by the fourth embodiment, or by identifying written-description support for a pair of elastic members in the claimed plate-spring/auxiliary-member configuration.
REFERENCES RELIED UPON
Reference 1: Kesil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0229003 A1
Reference 2: Tanaka, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0241415 A1
Reference 3: French Patent Application Publication No. FR 2 567 115 A1
Reference 4: WO 2010/097973
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
────────────
Claim 1
An overhead hoist transport system comprising: a driving rail extending in a first direction; a pair of support rails extending in the first direction and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the driving rail is disposed in a space between the pair of support rails; and a crane movably connected to the driving rail and the support rail and configured to move along the driving rail and the support rail, wherein the crane includes: a base extending lengthwise in the second direction and crossing the driving rail and the pair of support rails; a driving wheel connected to the base and configured to move along the driving rail; and a pair of guide wheels connected to the base and configured to be pressed toward contact surfaces of the pair of support rails using an elastic force, wherein the pair of guide wheels contact the pair of support rails by the elastic force, and wherein the contact surfaces are surfaces contacting the pair of guide wheels.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses an overhead transportation system 20 for transporting FOUPs and other objects in a semiconductor manufacturing environment. Reference 1 discloses a stationary overhead rail structure 22 attached to or fixed near a ceiling, including a pair of parallel horizontal rails 22a and 22b extending along a transportation route and separated by a space 23. The pair of rails 22a and 22b correspond to the claimed pair of support rails extending in a first direction and spaced apart in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Reference 1 discloses a hoist 24 having a chassis 26 and wheels 28a, 28b, 28c, and 28d that roll along the horizontal tracking flanges 22a2 and 22b2 of rails 22a and 22b. The hoist 24 and chassis 26 correspond to the claimed crane and base because the hoist/chassis assembly is movably supported by the overhead rails and spans the space between the pair of rails. The chassis 26 is a base structure carrying the hoist components, batteries, gripper mechanism, slider mechanism, and wheel assemblies.
Reference 1 does not expressly disclose a separate central driving rail disposed in the space 23 between the pair of support rails 22a and 22b. Reference 2 teaches this feature. Reference 2 discloses a transport system 1A including a ceiling-suspended track 4 and a stacker crane 3 that travels along the track 4. Reference 2 further discloses a traveling carriage 11 including driving wheels 11b driven by a carriage driver 11a. The track 4 corresponds to the claimed driving rail, and driving wheels 11b correspond to the claimed driving wheel configured to move along the driving rail. In the proposed combination, track 4 of Reference 2 is positioned in space 23 between support rails 22a and 22b of Reference 1, and driving wheels 11b are mounted to the chassis/base 26 to drive the crane along the central driving rail while the pair of support rails support and guide the crane.
Reference 1 discloses side bumper rollers 29a and 29b positioned near the hoist wheels and adjacent to the vertical side walls 22a1 and 22b1 of the rail profiles. These side rollers correspond generally to lateral guide rollers associated with the support rails. Reference 1, however, does not expressly require that the guide rollers be elastically pressed into contact with the support rail contact surfaces. Reference 3 teaches this feature. Reference 3 discloses a traveling bridge having a horizontal load beam 1, a rail 2, a grooved roller 6 on the rail, a guide roller 8 having a vertical axis 9, a vertical bearing surface 10, and a spring 12 for elastically pressing guide roller 8 against bearing surface 10. The guide roller 8 corresponds to a guide wheel, the spring 12 corresponds to an elastic member producing the claimed elastic force, and the vertical bearing surface 10 corresponds to a contact surface contacted by the guide wheel.
It would have been obvious to modify the side bumper rollers 29a and 29b of Reference 1 by providing the elastic pressing arrangement of Reference 3, namely spring 12 biasing guide roller 8 against a vertical bearing surface 10, so that the guide rollers of the overhead hoist system are positively maintained in contact with the vertical side walls 22a1 and 22b1 of rails 22a and 22b. In the resulting system, the guide wheels are connected to the base/chassis 26 and are pressed toward contact surfaces of the pair of support rails by an elastic force. The contact surfaces are the vertical rail surfaces contacted by the guide wheels, corresponding to vertical side walls 22a1 and 22b1 of Reference 1 as modified in view of bearing surface 10 of Reference 3.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1 with Reference 2 because Reference 1 already provides an overhead hoist transport system with a pair of ceiling rails 22a and 22b, and Reference 2 teaches a ceiling-suspended track 4 with driving wheels 11b for precisely driving an overhead transport crane. Positioning the driving track 4 in the existing space 23 between the pair of support rails 22a and 22b would predictably provide a central traction path while allowing the side rails to support and laterally guide the crane. This separates driving, support, and guiding functions and would improve straight-line travel, positioning control, and load stability.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would also have been motivated to modify the lateral bumper rollers of Reference 1 with the spring-biased guide roller arrangement of Reference 3 because both references address rail-guided overhead transport/crane systems in which lateral contact and guidance affect stability. Spring 12 pressing guide roller 8 against bearing surface 10 would maintain positive contact despite rail tolerances, rail profile variation, installation error, vibration, or lateral displacement of the hoist. The modification would have involved only the substitution of one known lateral guide roller arrangement for another to obtain predictable improved rail contact and guidance.
────────────
Claim 6
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 1, wherein the crane further includes: a pair of support wheels configured to move along the pair of support rails.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses wheels 28a, 28b, 28c, and 28d on hoist 24/chassis 26. The wheels roll over horizontal tracking flanges 22a2 and 22b2 of the pair of rails 22a and 22b. At least one wheel on rail 22a and at least one wheel on rail 22b correspond to the claimed pair of support wheels configured to move along the pair of support rails.
Reference 3 also discloses grooved roller 6 moving on rail 2 of a traveling bridge support arrangement. Thus, the combination of Reference 1 and Reference 3 teaches support wheels/rollers moving along support rails in addition to the elastically pressed guide wheels.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to retain the support wheels 28a-28d of Reference 1 when adding the central driving rail and spring-biased guide rollers because the support wheels carry the vertical load of the hoist/crane on rails 22a and 22b, while the central driving wheel provides traction and the guide wheels provide lateral guidance. This division of function would predictably improve stability and reduce lateral loading on the driving rail.
────────────
Claim 7
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 6, wherein a rotation shaft of each of the pair of guide wheels extends lengthwise in a direction perpendicular to an axis of rotation of each of the pair of support wheels.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses support wheels 28a-28d rolling on horizontal flanges 22a2 and 22b2. Such support wheels rotate about horizontal axes extending laterally relative to the direction of travel.
Reference 3 discloses guide roller 8 having a vertical axis 9 and a grooved roller 6 on rail 2 having a horizontal axis. The vertical axis 9 of guide roller 8 is perpendicular to the horizontal rotation axis of grooved roller 6. In the proposed combination, the guide wheels corresponding to guide rollers 8 rotate about vertical axes, while the support wheels corresponding to wheels 28a-28d or grooved rollers 6 rotate about horizontal axes. Therefore, the rotation shaft of each guide wheel extends perpendicular to the axis of rotation of each support wheel.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to orient the guide wheels on vertical axes and support wheels on horizontal axes because this is the ordinary and predictable arrangement for a rail-supported vehicle: horizontal-axis wheels carry vertical load on horizontal rail flanges, and vertical-axis guide wheels contact vertical rail surfaces to control lateral position. This arrangement reduces sliding friction and allows the support and guide functions to operate independently.
────────────
Claim 8
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 1, wherein the base includes an auxiliary rail extending in the second direction, and wherein the crane further includes a transport unit movably connected to the auxiliary rail and configured to move along the auxiliary rail.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses that chassis 26 includes a slider plate mechanism. Slider plate 42 is linearly movable in a lateral direction shown by arrow A. Slider plate 42 supports profiled linear guide element 58a, and guide element 58a is guided along mating profiled linear guide rod 58b secured to bottom plate 38 of chassis 26. The guide rod 58b and associated guide element 58a correspond to the claimed auxiliary rail extending in the second direction because they form a lateral linear guide secured to the crane base/chassis for movement perpendicular to the main rail direction.
Reference 1 further discloses gripper mechanism 60 and its supporting mechanism connected to slider plate 42 and swinging member 44. The slider/gripper assembly corresponds to the claimed transport unit. Because slider plate 42 moves along guide rod 58b in the lateral direction away from the rails and toward work station WS, the transport unit is movably connected to the auxiliary rail and configured to move along the auxiliary rail.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to retain the lateral guide rod 58b, guide element 58a, and slider plate 42 of Reference 1 in the combined overhead hoist crane because lateral movement enables the hoist to access a work station or storage location located beside the main rail path without requiring the entire crane to move laterally. The auxiliary rail/linear guide provides a predictable way to increase access range while maintaining the main travel path along the ceiling rails.
────────────
Claim 9
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 8, wherein the transport unit includes: a mover movably connected to the auxiliary rail; a carriage configured to load and unload goods; and a hoist connecting the mover and the carriage with each other so that the mover moves up or down the carriage using the hoist.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses slider plate 42 movably guided by guide element 58a and guide rod 58b. Slider plate 42 corresponds to the claimed mover movably connected to the auxiliary rail.
Reference 1 discloses gripper mechanism 60 with grippers 64a and 64b configured to grasp FOUP 34 through the top robotic flange 36. The gripper mechanism 60 loads, unloads, carries, grasps, and releases the transported object, and therefore corresponds to the claimed carriage configured to load and unload goods.
Reference 1 discloses multifunctional straps 68a, 68b, 68c, and 68d, motors 70a and 70b, transmission belts, and pulleys 72a-72c, 74a-74c, 76a-76c, and 78a. These components raise and lower gripper mechanism 60 relative to the hoist/chassis. The straps, motors, and pulley arrangement correspond to the claimed hoist connecting the mover and carriage so that the carriage/gripper mechanism moves upward and downward relative to the mover/slider plate assembly.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the slider plate 42, gripper mechanism 60, straps 68a-68d, motors 70a and 70b, and pulleys of Reference 1 in the combined system because the system is intended to load and unload FOUPs or similar articles from work stations. Lateral movement by slider plate 42 and vertical movement by the strap-and-pulley hoist allow the same overhead vehicle to reach offset storage or work locations and then raise or lower the carried article, which is a predictable improvement in handling flexibility.
GROUND 2
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
────────────
Claim 2
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 1, wherein the crane further includes: a support member connected to the base; a bogie body including a bogie shaft and connected to the support member; an elastic member connecting the support member and the bogie body with each other; and a bogie link having a central portion connected to the bogie body and configured to be tiltable about a bogie axis, wherein the bogie axis corresponds to a lengthwise direction of the bogie shaft, wherein the pair of guide wheels are rotatably supported at opposite ends of the bogie link, respectively, and wherein the elastic member is configured to: press the bogie body in a direction toward the pair of support rails; and press the pair of guide wheels to contact the contact surfaces of the pair of support rails.
Analysis
Claim 2 depends from claim 1, and the combination of References 1, 2, and 3 teaches the overhead hoist transport system, pair of support rails, central driving rail, driving wheel, base, and elastically pressed guide wheels for the reasons stated for claim 1.
Reference 4 discloses a bogie for a guide-rail-type vehicle. Reference 4 discloses an axle 5, a guide frame 10, bearing 9, first guide wheels 14, second guide wheels 16, rotating shafts 15 and 17, guide wheel holders 25 and 28, rotating shafts 26 and 29, cushion rods 27 and 30, leaf springs 31 and 35, divided guide wheel holders 32 and 36, and links 40 and 43. These structures teach using a bogie-type support to carry guide wheels and permit guide-wheel support members to rotate, tilt, or elastically deflect relative to the bogie frame.
Reference 4 teaches the claimed support member and bogie body by the structure supporting guide frame 10 relative to axle 5 through bearing 9. Guide frame 10 and the associated wheel-supporting structures correspond to a bogie body. Bearing/shaft structures such as bearing 9 and rotating shafts 26 and 29 correspond to bogie shafts or bogie axes about which the guide-wheel support structures rotate or tilt. In the combined overhead hoist system, these bogie components would be mounted to the base/chassis 26 through a support member analogous to support 7 of Reference 3 or the mounting portions supporting the guide frame in Reference 4.
Reference 4 teaches a bogie link by first link 40 and second link 43, each of which supports a pair of guide wheels at opposite ends and is rotatably attached to a link holder through a damper/restoring mechanism. Reference 4 also teaches guide wheel holders 25 and 28 rotatably attached to guide frame 10 by shafts 26 and 29. These structures teach guide wheel supports that tilt about a bogie axis while carrying guide wheels.
Reference 3 teaches the elastic pressing function by spring 12 pressing support 7 and guide roller 8 toward vertical bearing surface 10. Reference 4 teaches additional elastic structures, including vibration-proof rubber 41 having a restoring function and leaf springs 31 and 35 supporting guide wheel holders. Thus, the combined system teaches an elastic member connecting the support structure and bogie/guide-wheel support structure and pressing the guide wheels toward the support rail contact surfaces.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the bogie/link guide-wheel support of Reference 4 into the overhead rail system of References 1-3 because the modified system already uses guide wheels pressed against rail contact surfaces, and Reference 4 teaches that bogie-mounted guide wheels can maintain contact with guide rails while reducing impact, improving stability, and allowing controlled movement at guide rail joints, curves, or uneven portions. Supporting the guide wheels on a tiltable bogie link would predictably improve the ability of the guide wheels to maintain contact with vertical support rail surfaces despite rail misalignment or local dimensional variation.
────────────
Claim 3
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 1, wherein the crane further includes: a support member coupled to the base; a bogie body including a pair of bogie shafts extending parallel to each other and connected to the support member; a pair of bogie links connected to the bogie body and configured to be tiltable around the pair of bogie shafts, respectively; and a pair of elastic members including a first elastic member connecting the support member to one of the pair of bogie links, and a second elastic member connecting the support member to the other of the pair of bogie links, wherein the pair of guide wheels are rotatably supported on the pair of bogie links, respectively, and wherein the pair of elastic members are configured to: press the pair of bogie links in a direction toward the pair of support rails; and press the pair of guide wheels to contact the contact surfaces of the pair of support rails.
Analysis
Reference 4 teaches a pair of guide wheel holders 25 rotatably attached to guide frame 10 via rotating shafts 26, and a pair of guide wheel holders 28 rotatably attached to guide frame 10 via rotating shafts 29. The rotating shafts 26 and 29 correspond to the claimed pair of bogie shafts extending parallel to each other. The guide wheel holders 25 and 28, or alternatively links 40 and 43, correspond to the claimed pair of bogie links configured to tilt around the pair of bogie shafts.
Reference 4 teaches guide wheels 14 and 16 rotatably attached to the guide wheel holders/links through rotating shafts 15 and 17. Thus, each guide wheel is rotatably supported on a corresponding bogie link.
Reference 4 teaches elastic members by first leaf springs 31 and second leaf springs 35. The first pair of leaf springs 31 connects guide frame 10 to first divided guide wheel holder 32, and the second pair of leaf springs 35 connects guide frame 10 to second divided guide wheel holder 36. These leaf springs correspond to first and second elastic members connecting the support/bogie frame to the respective guide wheel support structures. Reference 3 separately teaches the function of pressing guide rollers toward a rail bearing surface using spring 12. Therefore, the combined system teaches pairwise elastic members pressing pairwise bogie links and guide wheels toward the contact surfaces of the support rails.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use separate guide wheel links and separate elastic members as taught by Reference 4 because independent biasing of each guide wheel support allows each guide wheel to respond to local rail irregularities, steps, and alignment errors without forcing the opposite guide wheel to move by the same amount. This would predictably improve contact maintenance and reduce shock transfer to the overhead hoist chassis.
────────────
Claim 4
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 1, wherein the crane further includes: a support member connected to the base; a bogie body including a pair of bogie shafts extending parallel to each other and connected to the support member; a pair of bogie links connected to the bogie body and configured to be tiltable around the pair of bogie shafts, respectively; and an elastic member connecting the pair of bogie links with each other, wherein the pair of guide wheels are rotatably supported on the pair of bogie links, respectively, and wherein the elastic member is configured to: apply a pressing force in a direction in which the pair of bogie links come closer with each other; and press the pair of guide wheels to contact the pair of support rails.
Analysis
Reference 4 teaches pairwise guide wheel holders 25 and 28 rotatably connected to guide frame 10 through rotating shafts 26 and 29. These correspond to the claimed pair of bogie links and pair of bogie shafts. Reference 4 further teaches cushion rods 27 and 30 connecting the respective guide wheel holders. Cushion rod 27 connects the vehicle-end side portions of guide wheel holders 25, and cushion rod 30 connects the corresponding portions of guide wheel holders 28. The cushion rods correspond to an elastic or buffering member connecting a pair of bogie links.
Reference 4 teaches that the cushion rod arrangement controls relative movement of the guide wheel holders and responds to forces received from the guide wheels. In the combination with Reference 3, spring 12 provides the express pressing force toward the rail surface, while the cushion rod connection of Reference 4 coordinates motion of the paired guide wheel links. The resulting system includes an elastic member connecting the pair of bogie links and applying force so that the guide wheels are maintained in contact with the pair of support rails.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to connect paired bogie links using a cushion rod or similar elastic member as taught by Reference 4 because coupling the links controls relative spacing and absorbs impact while still allowing guided tilting movement. In an overhead hoist crane using spring-biased guide wheels, such a connection would predictably help maintain balanced guide-wheel contact and reduce shock when the support rails include joints, steps, or local deformation.
────────────
Claim 5
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 1, wherein the crane includes: a support member connected to the base; a bogie body including a bogie shaft and connected to the support member; an elastic member including a central portion connected to the bogie body and configured to be tiltable around a bogie axis, wherein the bogie axis corresponds to a lengthwise direction of the bogie shaft, and wherein the elastic member includes a plate spring; and a pair of auxiliary members connected to opposite end portions of the elastic member, wherein the pair of guide wheels are rotatably supported on the pair of auxiliary members, respectively, and wherein the pair of elastic members are configured to: press the pair of auxiliary members in a direction toward the pair of support rails; and press the pair of guide wheels to contact the contact surfaces of the pair of support rails.
Analysis
[ASSUMPTION: For prior-art purposes only, the phrase “the pair of elastic members” is treated as referring to the previously introduced elastic member or corresponding leaf/plate spring structure, notwithstanding the separate §112 issue identified previously.]
Reference 4 teaches elastic guide-wheel support using leaf springs 31 and 35. Reference 4 discloses that first leaf springs 31 are provided at guide frame 10 and support first divided guide wheel holder 32, which includes guide wheel mounting portions 33 at both ends. First guide wheels 14 are rotatably attached to guide wheel mounting portions 33. Reference 4 similarly discloses second leaf springs 35 supporting second divided guide wheel holder 36 with guide wheel mounting portions 37, to which second guide wheels 16 are attached.
The leaf springs 31 and 35 correspond to the claimed plate spring elastic member. The divided guide wheel holders 32 and 36, including guide wheel mounting portions 33 and 37, correspond to auxiliary members connected to end portions of the spring structure and supporting guide wheels. Reference 4 teaches that the leaf springs absorb impact from guide rail joints and curved guide rail portions and suppress transmission of impact to the guide frame and bogie.
In the proposed combination, the spring/leaf-spring structure of Reference 4 is used in the elastically biased guide wheel arrangement of References 1 and 3. The plate spring presses the auxiliary guide wheel support members toward the support rails, and the guide wheels thereby contact the vertical contact surfaces of the support rails.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the leaf spring guide-wheel support of Reference 4 in the overhead hoist transport system because a plate or leaf spring provides both elastic pressing and impact absorption in a compact structure. Using the spring itself as part of the guide-wheel support would predictably reduce wear, improve maintenance life, absorb rail-joint impact, and maintain guide-wheel contact with the support rail surfaces.
GROUND 3
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
────────────
Claim 10
An overhead hoist transport system comprising: a driving rail extending in a first direction; a pair of support rails extending in the first direction and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the driving rail is disposed in a space between the pair of support rails; and a crane movably connected to the driving rail and the support rail and configured to move along the driving rail and the support rail, wherein the crane includes: a base extending lengthwise in the second direction and crossing the driving rail and the pair of support rails; a driving wheel connected to the base and configured to move along the driving rail; a bogie including at least one bogie shaft, wherein the bogie is configured to tilt about the at least one bogie shaft; and a support connected to the base and the bogie and configured to tilt about the at least one bogie shaft, wherein the support includes a pair of guide wheels configured to move along the pair of support rails, and wherein the pair of guide wheels are configured to be pressed toward the pair of support rails to maintain contact between the pair of support rails and the pair of guide wheels.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses overhead transportation system 20, overhead rail structure 22, parallel rails 22a and 22b separated by space 23, hoist 24, and chassis 26. Rails 22a and 22b correspond to the claimed pair of support rails, and hoist 24/chassis 26 corresponds to the crane/base movably connected to and moving along the support rails.
Reference 2 discloses track 4 suspended from ceiling 5 and traveling carriage 11 having driving wheels 11b driven by carriage driver 11a. Track 4 corresponds to the claimed driving rail, and driving wheels 11b correspond to the claimed driving wheel. In the proposed combination, track 4 is disposed in space 23 between support rails 22a and 22b, and driving wheels 11b are mounted to the crane base/chassis 26 to drive the crane along the central driving rail.
Reference 3 discloses guide roller 8 having vertical axis 9 and spring 12 pressing guide roller 8 toward vertical bearing surface 10. Reference 3 teaches guide wheels configured to be pressed toward rail contact surfaces to maintain contact between the guide wheels and support rails.
Reference 4 teaches bogie and tilting guide wheel support structure. Reference 4 discloses guide frame 10 rotatably attached relative to axle 5 through bearing 9, guide wheels 14 and 16 rotatably supported by guide frame 10 or by guide wheel holders, and guide wheel holders 25 and 28 rotatably attached to guide frame 10 through rotating shafts 26 and 29. Reference 4 also teaches links 40 and 43 carrying guide wheels and being rotatably attached through damper/restoring mechanisms. These features correspond to a bogie including at least one bogie shaft and a support/guide-wheel assembly configured to tilt about the shaft.
In the resulting combination, the support connected to the base and bogie carries the guide wheels, the guide wheels move along rails 22a and 22b, and spring biasing from Reference 3, as enhanced by the elastic/bogie structures of Reference 4, presses the guide wheels toward the support rails to maintain contact.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the overhead hoist rail system of Reference 1, the central driving rail and driving wheels of Reference 2, the spring-biased guide roller of Reference 3, and the bogie guide-wheel support of Reference 4 to improve lateral stability and contact maintenance. The combination predictably provides a centrally driven overhead crane that is vertically supported by side rails and laterally guided by bogie-mounted, elastically biased guide wheels. This would improve travel straightness, reduce rail-joint shock, reduce derailment risk, and maintain positioning accuracy in a ceiling-mounted factory transport system.
────────────
Claim 11
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 10, wherein the at least one bogie shaft is parallel to a rotation shaft of each of the pair of guide wheels.
Analysis
Reference 3 discloses guide roller 8 rotating about vertical axis 9. Reference 4 teaches guide wheel support structures rotating or tilting about bogie/holder shafts such as rotating shafts 26 and 29, and also teaches guide wheels 14 and 16 rotating about their own rotating shafts 15 and 17.
In the proposed combination, the bogie shaft is selected as a vertical tilting/steering shaft, consistent with the vertical guide-wheel axis 9 of Reference 3. A person of ordinary skill would understand that a guide wheel contacting a vertical rail surface commonly rotates about a vertical shaft, and that arranging the bogie tilting/steering shaft parallel to that guide wheel shaft allows the guide-wheel support to tilt or steer in the horizontal plane while the guide wheel rolls along the rail surface.
Motivation
s align the bogie shaft parallel to the guide wheel rotation shafts because parallel vertical axes permit the support to yaw/tilt laterally without twisting the guide wheels out of their rolling orientation. This predictable arrangement reduces friction and keeps the guide wheels properly aligned with the rail contact surfaces.
────────────
Claim 12
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 10, wherein the support further includes: a support member connected to the base; and an elastic member connecting the support member to the bogie.
Analysis
Reference 3 discloses support 7 mounted under load beam 1 and spring 12 extending between the load beam/support structure and lower guide roller support structure. Spring 12 elastically biases support 7 and guide roller 8 toward bearing surface 10. This teaches a support member connected to the base and an elastic member connecting the support member to the guide-wheel support/bogie.
Reference 4 further teaches elastic guide-wheel/bogie connections, including vibration-proof rubber 41 with a restoring function and leaf springs 31 and 35 connecting guide frame 10 to guide wheel holders 32 and 36. These structures correspond to an elastic member connecting the support member to the bogie or guide-wheel support assembly.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include an elastic member between the base-connected support and bogie because the elastic member biases the guide wheel assembly toward the rail while absorbing impact from rail joints or unevenness. This improves guide-wheel contact and reduces transmission of shock into the crane base.
────────────
Claim 13
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 10, wherein the at least one bogie shaft includes a first bogie shaft and a second bogie shaft, and wherein the pair of guide wheels are connected to the bogie and are configured to be tiltable about the first bogie shaft and the second bogie shaft, respectively.
Analysis
Reference 4 discloses first guide wheel holders 25 rotatably attached to guide frame 10 via rotating shafts 26 and second guide wheel holders 28 rotatably attached to guide frame 10 via rotating shafts 29. Rotating shafts 26 and 29 correspond to first and second bogie shafts. Guide wheels 14 are attached to holders 25, and guide wheels 16 are attached to holders 28. Thus, each guide wheel or guide-wheel set is connected to the bogie/guide frame and configured to tilt about a respective shaft.
In the combined overhead hoist transport system, the pair of guide wheels that contact the pair of support rails are mounted on corresponding holders or links and tilt about first and second bogie shafts, respectively, as taught by Reference 4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide first and second tilting bogie shafts for the pair of guide wheels because separate tilting axes allow each guide wheel to accommodate rail irregularities independently. This improves contact maintenance on both support rails and prevents one rail-side variation from unnecessarily disturbing the opposite side of the crane.
────────────
Claim 14
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 13, wherein the support further includes a first bogie link and a second bogie link connecting the pair of guide wheels to the first bogie shaft and the second bogie shaft, respectively, and wherein the pair of guide wheels are rotatably supported by the first bogie link and the second bogie link, respectively.
Analysis
Reference 4 discloses first guide wheel holders 25 and second guide wheel holders 28, each rotatably attached to guide frame 10 through corresponding shafts 26 and 29. These holders correspond to first and second bogie links because they connect the guide wheels to the shafts and permit relative rotation/tilting. Reference 4 also discloses first link 40 and second link 43, each carrying guide wheels and being rotatably attached through damper/restoring mechanisms. These links likewise teach the claimed first and second bogie links.
Reference 4 discloses that guide wheels 14 and 16 are rotatably attached to the respective holders/links via shafts 15 and 17. Therefore, the pair of guide wheels are rotatably supported by the first and second bogie links.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to mount each guide wheel on a bogie link because the link provides a compact mechanical element for transmitting elastic force, permitting tilting movement, and maintaining rolling contact with the rail surface. This arrangement would predictably improve lateral guidance and reduce rail-induced shock.
────────────
Claim 15
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 14, wherein the support further includes: a support member connected to the base; and a pair of elastic members including a first elastic member connecting the support member to the first bogie link, and a second elastic member connecting the support member to the second bogie link.
Analysis
Reference 4 teaches first leaf springs 31 connecting guide frame 10 to first divided guide wheel holder 32 and second leaf springs 35 connecting guide frame 10 to second divided guide wheel holder 36. The first leaf spring structure 31 corresponds to a first elastic member, and the second leaf spring structure 35 corresponds to a second elastic member. The guide frame 10 or associated mounting frame corresponds to a support member, and the divided guide wheel holders 32 and 36 correspond to bogie links or auxiliary link structures supporting guide wheels.
Reference 3 also teaches spring 12 connecting the support structure to the guide roller support and pressing the guide roller toward the bearing surface. Thus, the combination teaches first and second elastic members connecting a support member to first and second bogie links.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use separate elastic members for the first and second bogie links because separate springs provide independent compliance for each guide wheel support. This allows the guide wheels to respond to rail steps, tolerances, and local deformation while maintaining contact and reducing impact on the crane base.
────────────
Claim 16
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 14, wherein the support further includes an elastic member connecting the first bogie link to the second bogie link.
Analysis
Reference 4 teaches cushion rod 27 connecting first guide wheel holders 25 and cushion rod 30 connecting second guide wheel holders 28. The cushion rods are associated with the guide wheel support links and control relative motion between paired link structures. A cushion rod is an elastic or impact-absorbing connection between guide wheel support members.
In the combined system, the first and second bogie links carrying the guide wheels are connected by an elastic/cushioning member corresponding to cushion rod 27 or 30 of Reference 4. This satisfies the claimed elastic member connecting the first bogie link to the second bogie link.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to connect the bogie links with an elastic or cushioning member because the connection controls spacing between the guide wheel supports, absorbs impact, and stabilizes the pair of guide wheels as they contact the support rail surfaces. This would predictably improve contact reliability while limiting excessive inward or outward motion of the guide wheel supports.
────────────
Claim 17
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 10, wherein the support further includes an elastic member connecting the bogie to each of the pair of guide wheels, wherein the elastic member is configured to be tiltable about the at least one bogie shaft, and wherein the elastic member includes a leaf spring.
Analysis
Reference 4 discloses first leaf springs 31 connecting guide frame 10 to first divided guide wheel holder 32 and second leaf springs 35 connecting guide frame 10 to second divided guide wheel holder 36. The guide wheel holders support guide wheels 14 and 16. Thus, the leaf spring structures connect the bogie/guide frame to the guide wheel support members, and therefore to the guide wheels.
Reference 4 further teaches that the leaf springs absorb impact received when the bogie travels along guide rail joints, curved portions, or uneven portions. In the proposed overhead hoist combination, the leaf spring is arranged as part of the tiltable bogie guide-wheel support. The elastic member therefore connects the bogie to the guide wheels, is associated with the tilting guide-wheel support structure, and includes a leaf spring.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use a leaf spring as the elastic member because Reference 4 teaches that leaf springs absorb guide rail impact, suppress transmission of impact to the bogie, extend guide wheel life, and improve maintenance. In the overhead hoist system, the same structure would predictably maintain guide-wheel contact with the support rails while reducing shock from rail joints and misalignment.
────────────
Claim 18
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 10, wherein the support further includes a pair of support wheels on the pair of support rails, respectively, wherein each of the support wheels is configured to rotate about an axis parallel to the second direction, and wherein each of the pair of guide wheels rotates about an axis parallel to a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses wheels 28a, 28b, 28c, and 28d on hoist 24 rolling on horizontal flanges 22a2 and 22b2 of rails 22a and 22b. The wheels on the two rails correspond to the claimed pair of support wheels on the pair of support rails. These support wheels rotate about horizontal axes extending laterally relative to the travel direction, corresponding to axes parallel to the second direction.
Reference 3 discloses guide roller 8 having vertical axis 9 and contacting vertical bearing surface 10. The vertical axis corresponds to a third direction perpendicular to the horizontal first and second directions. In the combination, each guide wheel rotates about a vertical axis parallel to the third direction, while each support wheel rotates about a lateral horizontal axis parallel to the second direction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use horizontal-axis support wheels and vertical-axis guide wheels because that arrangement assigns vertical load support to the support wheels and lateral guidance to the guide wheels. This predictable geometry minimizes sliding, reduces wear, and maintains the crane’s lateral position relative to the support rails.
────────────
Claim 19
The overhead hoist transport system of claim 10, wherein the base includes an auxiliary rail extending in the second direction, and wherein the crane includes a carriage configured to: load and unload articles; move along the auxiliary rail; and move along a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses slider plate 42 guided by guide element 58a along profiled linear guide rod 58b secured to bottom plate 38 of chassis 26. The guide rod 58b and guide element 58a correspond to an auxiliary rail extending in the lateral second direction.
Reference 1 discloses gripper mechanism 60, grippers 64a and 64b, swinging member 44, and slider plate 42. The gripper mechanism loads and unloads FOUP 34 or similar articles and moves laterally with slider plate 42 along guide rod 58b. Reference 1 further discloses straps 68a-68d, motors 70a and 70b, belts, and pulleys that raise and lower gripper mechanism 60. This provides movement in the vertical third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions.
Thus, the combined system includes a carriage/gripper mechanism configured to load and unload articles, move along the auxiliary rail in the second direction, and move vertically in the third direction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the lateral slider and vertical lifting gripper of Reference 1 in the combined bogie-guided overhead hoist system because those components allow the crane to reach offset work stations and vertically pick/place articles without moving the entire rail system. This increases article-handling flexibility using known overhead hoist mechanisms.
────────────
Claim 20
An overhead hoist transport system comprising: first and second support rails provided along a ceiling in a factory and extending parallel to each other in a first direction; a driving rail positioned between the first support rail and the second support rail; and a crane movably connected to the first support rail, the second support rail, and the driving rail to move along the first support rail, the second support rail, and the driving rail, wherein the crane includes: a base extending lengthwise in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and crossing the first support rail, the second support rail, and the driving rail, wherein the base includes an auxiliary rail extending in the second direction; a carriage movably connected to the auxiliary rail and configured to move in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions; a driving wheel connected to the base and configured to move along the driving rail; and a support including: a bogie including at least one bogie shaft and connected to the base; and a pair of guide wheels connected to the bogie and configured to be tiltable about the at least one bogie shaft and to move along the first support rail and the second support rail, respectively, and wherein the pair of guide wheels are configured to be pressed toward the first support rail and the second support rail to maintain contact with the first support rail and the second support rail, respectively.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses overhead transportation system 20 for FOUPs in a semiconductor manufacturing environment. Reference 1 discloses overhead rail structure 22 attached to or fixed near a ceiling, including first and second parallel rails 22a and 22b extending along a transportation route and separated by space 23. These rails correspond to the claimed first and second support rails provided along a ceiling in a factory and extending parallel to each other in a first direction.
Reference 2 discloses ceiling-suspended track 4 and stacker crane 3 traveling along track 4 using driving wheels 11b driven by carriage driver 11a. Track 4 corresponds to the claimed driving rail, and driving wheels 11b correspond to the driving wheel. In the combined system, track 4 is positioned between rails 22a and 22b, within space 23, and chassis 26/base carries the central driving wheel.
Reference 1 discloses hoist 24 and chassis 26 movably supported by rails 22a and 22b. In the proposed combination, the crane/hoist is movably connected to first support rail 22a, second support rail 22b, and central driving rail 4, and moves along all of them. Chassis 26 corresponds to the base extending in the second direction across the rail structure.
Reference 1 discloses the auxiliary rail structure by guide rod 58b and guide element 58a secured to bottom plate 38 of chassis 26. Slider plate 42 moves laterally along this guide structure. Reference 1 further discloses gripper mechanism 60 suspended by straps 68a-68d and raised/lowered by motors 70a and 70b, belts, and pulleys. The gripper mechanism 60 corresponds to the claimed carriage movably connected to the auxiliary rail and configured to move in the third direction.
Reference 4 discloses a bogie/guide-wheel support including guide frame 10, bearing 9, axle 5, guide wheel holders 25 and 28, rotating shafts 26 and 29, links 40 and 43, and guide wheels 14 and 16. These features teach a bogie including at least one bogie shaft connected to the base/support structure and guide wheels connected to the bogie and configured to tilt about a bogie shaft.
Reference 3 discloses spring 12 pressing guide roller 8 against vertical bearing surface 10. In the combined system, the pair of guide wheels associated with the bogie are pressed toward support rails 22a and 22b to maintain contact with the first and second support rails, respectively.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the field-specific overhead FOUP transport system of Reference 1 with the central drive rail and driving wheels of Reference 2 to obtain a centrally driven crane supported by parallel ceiling rails. The central driving rail would provide a dedicated traction and positioning path while the side rails support and laterally guide the crane.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would further have been motivated to use the spring-biased guide roller of Reference 3 and bogie guide-wheel support of Reference 4 because the crane spans multiple rails and must maintain stable contact even when rail alignment, rail straightness, or rail joints vary. The spring-biased bogie guide wheels would predictably maintain contact with the first and second support rails, reduce rail-joint shock, improve straight travel, and improve stopping/positioning accuracy in an overhead factory transport system.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615