Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending and under examination in this office.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 6/23/26. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
``1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (CN 112980012, Applicant’s IDS) in view of Wray et.al. (WO 2013/070907) and of Shefi et al. (US 2019/0046692) and Johnson et al. (ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces V 11(1) 2018).
Wu teaches with regards to instant claims 1, 5, controlling cell behavior using magnetic nano fiber in a gel mix/matrix, wherein the iron source is a ferrous salt selected from ferric chloride in a solution (see translation) and washed several times to remove excess iron chloride (as required by instant claim 8) spun for 12 hours (see translation) and to obtain magnetic silk fibroin to be used in tissue such as nerve and cornea. Since the formulation is a magnetic it is magnetic aligned (as required by instant claim 2-3). Additionally, Wu teaches the use of polymer as the gel (see translation, as required by instant claim 6) crosslinked in the magnetic field (see abstract).
However fails to teach an injectable gel.
With regards to instant claim 1, Wray teaches silk based scaffold (see abstract, wherein the silk is from silk fibroin microfiber (see 0009, 0014, as required by instant claim 5) for nerve regeneration (see 0004; 00135) i.e. restore damage tissue, and washed (see claim 9) in the form of a gel (see 0015, as required by instant claim 2) wherein the gel is a polymer (see 0009, as required by instant claim 6).
However Wray fails to teach that the forming the scaffold comprises an iron solution (as required by instant claim 1) or aligned magnetically
Shefi teaches a hydrogel biomaterial as scaffolds used in tissue construct for promoting neuronal repair i.e., regeneration (see 0024) wherein the biomaterial is a polymer (see 0156) comprising iron particle in solution (see 0157, as required by instant claim ) magnetically aligned (see 0042 ) for implantation (see 0025), wherein the magnetic particles are ferric salt (see 0506) wherein the hydrogel are cross-linked (note that a hydrogel can also be collagen, see 0140; 0144 ) and is an injectable substance (see 0434, as required by instant claim 7) comprising a therapeutic agent for an implant (see 04194) as required by instant claim 8) that can be used in treating spinal cord.
Johnson teaches with regards to instant claims 1-2, an injectable magnetic scaffold for regenerating tissue on a nervous system comprising iron (see tittle, abstract and entire article, as required by instant claim 3-4) for implantation (see Intro) in a hydrogel (as required by instant claims 2) in-situ, see abstract) and washed (see 2.6.1) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expanded the teachings of Wu to include Wray and modify by adding the teachings of Shefi to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a) and Secondly, the strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95,217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 10-12 are free of art and are allowable. The closest prior art is by Chen et al. (Chemical Engineering Journal 399 (2020)125795) using an injectable silk fibroin polydopamine for treatment of spinal cord injury. There is no reason in the teaching to use ferric chloride.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 7/29/26