DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection using secondary reference Schwartzel et al., (“Schwartzel”, US 2011/0024361), in a new context.
On page 5 of the Remarks section, Applicant discusses the previous Specification objection, and the amendment made to address the objection. In response, the Examiner has withdrawn the objection.
On pages 5-6, Applicant argues against the previous prior art rejection of independent Claim 24 involving the previous prior art references of Albrecht et al., (“Albrecht”, US 2012/0292196), Nakanishi et al., (“Nakanishi”, US 2005/0173262), and Wikey, (US 3,891,535). Applicant summarizes the amendments made to independent Claim 24, and then argues that the above indicated references do not disclose the added amendments or newly added dependent Claim 33. The Examiner notes another secondary reference Schwartzel et al., (“Schwartzel”, US 2011/0024361) discloses the added amendments to Claim 24 and new dependent Claim 33. The Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments against the previous combination of references moot since Schwartzel discloses the features instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26 & 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht et al., (“Albrecht”, US 2012/0292196), in view of Schwartzel et al., (“Schwartzel”, US 2011/0024361).
Regarding Claims 24-26 & 33, Albrecht discloses a method of operating an electrochemical cell, the method comprising steps of: introducing a first saline aqueous solution into a first chamber of an electrochemical cell comprising an anode, (Anode, See Figure 1A, See paragraph [0225], [0443]); introducing a second saline aqueous solution into a second chamber of the electrochemical cell comprising a cathode, (Cathode, See Figure 1A, See paragraph [0225], [0443]); and applying a current across the anode and the cathode at a voltage sufficient to generate a first product compound from the first saline aqueous solution, generate a second product compound from the second saline aqueous solution, (Voltage, See Figure 1A, See paragraph [0225], [0393]), and selectively transfer monovalent ions across an ionic connection between the first chamber and the second chamber, (IEM, See Figure 1A, See paragraph [0225], [0442]), the ionic connection being constructed and arranged to prevent the first saline aqueous solution from mixing with the second saline aqueous solution, (See paragraph [0227], [0228]).
Albrecht does not disclose recirculating the first saline aqueous solution between an outlet of the first chamber and an inlet of the first chamber without mixing with the second saline aqueous solution of the second chamber.
Schwartzel discloses recirculating the first saline aqueous solution between an outlet of the first chamber and an inlet of the first chamber without mixing with the second saline aqueous solution of the second chamber, (Water exits Anolyte Chamber Outlet 608 and is recycled via Line 612 back to Anolyte Chamber Inlet 607, See Figure 7, See paragraph [0196], & [0068], Schwartzel). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination and are claim mapped to the Additional Disclosures section below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Albrecht by incorporating recirculating the first saline aqueous solution between an outlet of the first chamber and an inlet of the first chamber without mixing with the second saline aqueous solution of the second chamber as in Schwartzel in order to “recycle…the anolyte stream…to enrich the chlorine…output of the cell”, (See paragraph [0091], Schwartzel), as “desired to further treat the water stream”, (See paragraph [0196], Schwartzel)
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 25: The method of claim 24, comprising introducing the second saline aqueous solution having a different composition than the first saline aqueous solution, (See paragraph [0440], [0437], Albrecht; anolyte selected as seawater, catholyte selected as brine, which have different salinities/compositions).
Claim 26: The method of claim 25, comprising introducing the first saline aqueous solution comprising seawater and introducing the second saline aqueous solution comprising brine, (See paragraph [0440], [0437], Albrecht; anolyte selected as seawater, catholyte selected as brine).
Claim 33: The method of claim 24, comprising recirculating the second saline aqueous solution between an outlet of the second chamber and an inlet of the second chamber, (Water exits Catholyte Chamber Outlet 608 and is recycled via Line 612 back to Catholyte Chamber Inlet 607, See Figure 7, See paragraph [0196], & [0068], Schwartzel).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779