Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on December 9, 2025. The Applicants’ Amendment and Request for Reconsideration has been received and entered.
Claims 22-41 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 22-23, 25-28, 30-31, 34-35, and 37-39 have been amended.
The previous rejection of claims 23-31 and 35-41 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
The previous rejection of claims 22-34 under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed September 17, 2025, and November 11, 2025, have been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments necessitated any new grounds of rejection.
The previous rejection of claims 23-31 and 35-41 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
The previous rejection of claims 22-34 under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments. The Examiner notes that claim 22 recites an abstract idea that is a method of organizing a human activity because it recites a sales activity. However, the Examiner notes that the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. For example, claim 22 recites wherein the decentralized data storage is configured to access the personal identifying information to facilitate an authentication of the user subsequent to the user being registered with the decentralized data storage to permit a purchase and dispensing of the aerosol delivery device to the user; and wherein, in response to a subsequent authorization of the user involving accessing the personal identifying information in the decentralized storage, the user device is configured to cause the aerosol delivery device to unlock and permit use of the aerosol delivery device by the user. The combination of at least these additional elements uses the judicial exception in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, per paragraph [0058] of the published application, processing circuitry prevents access (i.e., locks) the aerosol device depending on the age verification status. Thus, the claims are patent eligible.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejection of claims 35-41 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue at page 7 of Applicants’ Reply dated December 9, 2025 (hereinafter “Applicants’ Reply”) that, regarding claim 35, “the independent claims, and their respective dependent claims are not directed to an abstract idea, at least due to the inclusion of ‘dispensing’ a purchased product, where the dispensing is a function of authentication of the user to permit the purchasing and dispensing of an age-restricted product.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Per MPEP 2106.04(d), in order to determine if a claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, the considerations set forth in MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(c) and (e)-(h) are evaluated. MPEP 2106.04(d) clearly states that “a specific way of achieving a result is not a stand-alone consideration... However, the specificity of the claim limitations is relevant to the evaluation of several considerations including the use of a particular machine, particular transformation and whether the limitations are mere instructions to apply an exception.” The Examiner notes that the considerations include improvements to computer functionality, improvements to any other technology or technical field, and a particular machine or transformation.
Further, per MPEP 2106.05(a), in order to constitute a technical improvement, the specification "must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology." Further, per MPEP 2106.05(a), "if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement."
With this guidance in mind, the Examiner respectfully asserts that merely reciting “dispensing” a product is not sufficient to recite a practical application and appears to be a bare assertion of an improvement. For example, how is “dispensing” a product different from merely providing a product or receiving a purchased product. Is there some technical aspect to the dispensing, i.e., is there some sort of access prevention device? Applicants are invited to provide further details regarding the dispensing.
Thus, the rejection of claims 35-41 is maintained.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue at page 8 of Applicants’ Reply that, regarding claim 22, the combination of Ryner and Barbaric does not disclose wherein the decentralized data storage is configured to access the personal identifying information to facilitate an authentication of the user subsequent to the user being registered with the decentralized data storage to permit a purchase and dispensing of the aerosol delivery device to the user; and wherein, in response to a subsequent authorization of the user involving accessing the personal identifying information in the decentralized storage, the user device is configured to cause the aerosol delivery device to unlock and permit use of the aerosol delivery device by the user. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed further below, the Examiner has cited Ryner as disclosing wherein the decentralized data storage is configured to access the personal identifying information to facilitate an authentication of the user subsequent to the user being registered with the decentralized data storage to permit a purchase and dispensing…(See Ryner, para. [0053], second detection module detects that a second age restricted item has been selected for purchase at a second point of sale by a user; para. [0055], second validation module identifies biometric features of the user at a point of sale to verify an identify of the user; para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item, i.e., biometric features of the user are already stored on the database so this is after the user has registered with the database).
As discussed further below, the Examiner has cited Barbaric as disclosing that the authentication of the user is for the purchase and dispensing of the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, para. [0021], mobile device can lock and/or unlock the disposable vaporizer such that the processor does not actuate the heater control circuitry when locked and the processor can actuate the heater control circuitry when unlocked); and wherein, in response to a subsequent authorization of the user involving accessing the personal identifying information in the decentralized storage, the user device is configured to cause the aerosol delivery device to unlock and permit use of the aerosol delivery device by the user (See Barbaric, para. [0036], vaporizer uses aerosols; para. [0040], trace module of the computing system can receive a request for user verification and based on a determination of a user characteristic (e.g., an age of a user), the trace module can block the verification of the user for a specific capsule associated with an identifier (e.g., a carrier identifier associated with a substance that is associated with a regulatory ban of use by a specific group of users and/or in a specific geographical location).
Thus, the combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses these limitations.
Applicants’ remaining arguments have been fully considered but they have either been addressed above or they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 35-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim 35 recites an apparatus for identity and age verification in association with sales of age-restricted products. With respect to claim 35, claim elements selectively prevent physical access to products and permit purchase of a product and dispensing of the product, as drafted, illustrate a series of steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a method of organizing a human activity, such as a commercial or legal interaction, i.e., sales activities.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 35 recites receiving information. This element is considered to recite insignificant extra-solution activity.
Further, claim 35 recites control circuitry at a high level of generality, i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions. Accordingly, these additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on the abstract idea.
Thus, claim 35 is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 35 recites control circuitry at a high level of generality, i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Further, regarding the receiving element, per MPEP 2106.05(d}(ll), elements such as receiving, transmitting, or displaying data over a network, i.e., using the internet to gather data, and storing and retrieving information in memory are considered to be computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions. See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1308, 1334, 115 USPG2d 1681,1701 (Fed. Cir, 2015); OIP Techs Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPG2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 785 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPG2d 1093, 1098 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)).
Thus, claim 35 is not patent eligible.
Claims 36-41 depend from claim 35. Claim 36 is directed to outputting a product recommendation and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 37 is directed to not permitting purchase and dispensing of the product and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 38 is directed to the user device being involved in the authentication of the user and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 38 is further directed to communicating information, i.e., transmitting and receiving information, which, as discussed above, is considered to be an activity that is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Claims 39-40 are directed to the type of products and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 41 is directed to accepting payment for the product and is further directed to the abstract idea.
Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23, 25-29, 32-35, and 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0050921 A1 to Ryner et al. (hereinafter “Ryner”), in view of US 2020/0085105 A1 to Barbaric et al. (hereinafter “Barbaric”).
Claim 22: Ryner discloses an “identification validation system and method” that “includes detecting that a first age restricted item has been selected for purchase at a first point of sale by a user” and “requiring that the user submit an identification instrument to verify an age of the user.” (See Ryner, at least Abstract). Ryner further discloses that “after the purchase is complete, prompting the user to enable the age validation feature of the mobile wallet application of the user mobile device.” (See Ryner, at least Abstract). Ryner further discloses:
a network (See Ryner, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, network);
a plurality of replica databases collectively forming a decentralized data storage, each of the plurality of replica databases being in communication with the network (See Ryner, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, item 111 identification database, item 112 product database, item 113 payment account database, etc. all connected by the network; para. [0034], identification database is a block chain database; blockchain database represents a distributed database structure such as a secure distributed transaction ledger to create a decentralized trusted network where information is distributed over a plurality of nodes);
a user device configured to communicate with the decentralized storage via the network (See Ryner, at least FIG. 1 and associated text; item 110, mobile device is coupled by the network to the various databases; para. [0026], identification validation system includes a mobile device); and
wherein the user device is further configured to register a user with the decentralized data storage by transmitting personal identifying information about a user to be stored at the decentralized data storage, prior to a purchase…, the personal identifying information including a name of the user and an age of the user, wherein registering the user comprises performing an age verification of the age of the user (See Ryner, at least para. [0049], computing system includes biometrics module that includes software code for prompting the user to enable the age validation feature of the mobile wallet application of the user mobile device; biometric module directs software application on user mobile device to access biometric data input functionality of the user mobile device; user can input a fingerprint, a voice signature a photograph, a video, a retinal scan, etc.; para. [0051], biometrics module stores the biometric it receives from the mobile device to the identification database on the computing system; para. [0033], software application also prompts the user to input identifying information such as name and data of birth; the user is also prompted to send a photograph of a government-issues identification such as a passport or driver’s license which is verified; the verified identification of the user is then stored in the identification database);
wherein the decentralized data storage is configured to access the personal identifying information to facilitate an authentication of the user subsequent to the user being registered with the decentralized data storage to permit a purchase and dispensing…(See Ryner, at least para. [0053], computing system includes a second detection module to detect that a second age restricted item has been selected for purchase at a second point of sale by a user; para. [0055], computing system includes second validation module that identifies biometric features of the user at a point of sale to verify an identify of the user; para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item, i.e., biometric features of the user are already stored on the database so this is after the user has registered with the database).
Ryner does not expressly disclose an aerosol delivery device configured to communicate with the user device; that the authentication of the user is for the purchase and dispensing of the aerosol delivery device; and wherein, in response to a subsequent authorization of the user involving accessing the personal identifying information in the decentralized storage, the user device is configured to cause the aerosol delivery device to unlock and permit use of the aerosol delivery device by the user.
However, Barbaric discloses systems and methods related to electronic vapor delivery systems (“vaporizers”) including both disposable vaporizers and reusable vaporizers. (See Barbaric, at least paras. [0014]-[0015] and [0022]). Barbaric further discloses that the vaporizers are for “inhalation-based delivery of cannabis components and nicotine.” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0002]). Barbaric further discloses an aerosol delivery device configured to communicate with the user device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0021], vaporizer can be coupled to mobile device of a user; mobile device can lock and/or unlock the vaporizer; para. [0036], vaporizer uses aerosols). Barbaric further discloses that the authentication of the user is for the purchase and dispensing of the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0021], mobile device can lock and/or unlock the disposable vaporizer such that the processor does not actuate the heater control circuitry when locked and the processor can actuate the heater control circuitry when unlocked); and wherein, in response to a subsequent authorization of the user involving accessing the personal identifying information in the decentralized storage, the user device is configured to cause the aerosol delivery device to unlock and permit use of the aerosol delivery device by the user (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], vaporizer uses aerosols; para. [0040], trace module of the computing system can receive a request for user verification and based on a determination of a user characteristic (e.g., an age of a user), the trace module can block the verification of the user for a specific capsule associated with an identifier (e.g., a carrier identifier associated with a substance that is associated with a regulatory ban of use by a specific group of users and/or in a specific geographical location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability of an aerosol delivery device configured to communicate with the user device; that the authentication of the user is for the purchase and dispensing of the aerosol delivery device; and wherein, in response to a subsequent authorization of the user involving accessing the personal identifying information in the decentralized storage, the user device is configured to cause the aerosol delivery device to unlock and permit use of the aerosol delivery device by the user as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 23: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 22 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses:
a vending machine configured to physically store and dispense upon purchase age-restricted products…(See Ryner, at least para. [0064], vending machine that sells age-restricted items);
wherein the vending machine is configured to:
in response to the user being authenticated, permit purchase and dispense the [product] from the vending machine for physical removal by the user (See Ryner, at least para. [0064], user registers with vending machine in State A by taking a photograph of the user with the user’s smartphone after an authenticated transaction; vending machine stores the photograph on the blockchain; user goes to a vending machine in State B to purchase an age-restricted item; vending machine “recognizes” the user from a camera on the vending machine and allows the user to purchase the age-restricted item).
The Examiner notes that the phrase “for physical removal by the user” appears to recite an intended use or non-functional descriptive language, in that actually removing the product from the vending machine does not appear to be an actively recited step in the method. As a result, the Examiner is assigning little patentable weight to this portion of claim 23.
Ryner does not expressly disclose that the age-restricted products include the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses that the age-restricted products include the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], vaporizer uses aerosols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability of that the age-restricted products include the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 25: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the vending machine is further configured to not permit purchase of the…[product] in response to a failure to authenticate the user (See Ryner, at least para. [0059], if the confidence level of the match between data obtained at the point-of-sale and the stored biometric data, the second validation module rejects the validation, i.e., the user cannot purchase the age-restricted item).
Ryner does not expressly disclose that the age-restricted products include the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses that the age-restricted products include the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], vaporizer uses aerosols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability of that the age-restricted products include the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 26: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the vending machine comprises a self-service kiosk (See Ryner, at least para. [0064], user registers with vending machine in State A by taking a photograph of the user with the user’s smartphone after an authenticated transaction; vending machine stores the photograph on the blockchain).
Claim 27: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the vending machine communicates with the user device via direct wireless communication or via the network (See Ryner, at least para. [0064], user receives a notification from the vending machine on the user’s smartphone; user opens the notification and the camera application on the smartphone’ user registers with vending machine in State A by taking a photograph of the user with the user’s smartphone after an authenticated transaction; smartphone automatically transmits the photograph to the vending machine and the vending machine stores the photograph on the blockchain; para. [0026], user device communicates with system over a network).
Claim 28: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Ryner does not expressly disclose wherein the age-restricted products comprise a plurality of aerosol delivery devices including the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses wherein the age-restricted products comprise a plurality of aerosol delivery devices including the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], vaporizers use aerosols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability wherein the age-restricted products comprise a plurality of aerosol delivery devices including the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 29: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Ryner does not expressly disclose wherein the age-restricted products comprise consumable cartridges configured for installation into the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses wherein the age-restricted products comprise consumable cartridges configured for installation into the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0022], vaporizer includes a pen portion and a capsule portion (also called a cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability wherein the age-restricted products comprise consumable cartridges configured for installation into the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 32: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 22 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the decentralized storage implements a Blockchain data storage and validation scheme for the storage of the personal identifying information with a Blockchain and accessing the personal identifying information from the Blockchain (See Ryner, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, item 111 identification database, item 112 product database, item 113 payment account database, etc. all connected by the network; para. [0034], identification database is a block chain database; blockchain database represents a distributed database structure such as a secure distributed transaction ledger to create a decentralized trusted network where information is distributed over a plurality of nodes; para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item).
Claim 33: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 32 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein personal identifying information comprises elements including the age and the name (See Ryner, at least para. [0033], software application also prompts the user to input identifying information such as name and data of birth); wherein each element of the personal identifying information for the user is stored in a subsequent block of the Blockchain (See Ryner, at least para. [0034], identification database is a block chain database; each block may include data relating to biometric data of the user, linking data that links one block to a previous block in the blockchain).
Claim 34: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 22 discussed above.
Ryner does not expressly disclose wherein the aerosol delivery device is configured to prevent generation of an aerosol unless unlocked in association with an authentication of the user which comprises the user device communicating an indication of the authentication to the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses wherein the aerosol delivery device is configured to prevent generation of an aerosol unless unlocked in association with an authentication of the user which comprises the user device communicating an indication of the authentication to the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], validation of a user and/or the vaporizer may be conducted at each use of the vaporizer to consume vaporizer substance, i.e., at each instance of use where a user draws air and/or aerosols through the mouthpiece of a vaporizer; validation can be conducted each time a user (via the computer device) or the vaporizer connects to the command center or each time a user interacts with a software application associated with the vaporizer or at predetermined intervals; para. [0040], trace module of the system can receive a request for user verification and based on a determination of a user characteristic such as age, trace module can block the verification of the user for a specific capsule, such as one that is regulated in a specific geographic location or banned for use by a specific group of users; para. [0021], when the vaporizer is locked, the heater control circuitry of the vaporizer does not operate to heat and vaporize the material in the capsule/cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability disclose wherein the aerosol delivery device is configured to prevent generation of an aerosol unless unlocked in association with an authentication of the user which comprises the user device communicating an indication of the authentication to the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 35: Ryner discloses control circuitry (See Ryner, at least para. [0025], computing system may include a computer, a server, one or more servers, a cloud computing device, a hardware device, a remote server, etc.; para. [0039], computing system includes a processor) configured to:
selectively prevent physical access to the age-restricted products… (See Ryner, at least para. [0055], computing system includes second validation module that identifies biometric features of the user at a point of sale to verify an identify of the user; para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item);
receive, from a user device, an indication that an authentication of a user has been performed, the authentication comprising a comparison of the user information capture for the authentication with personal identifying information stored in a plurality of replica databases that form a distributed data storage accessible via a network, the personal identifying information being stored in the distributed data storage in response to a registration of the user that includes an age verification of the user prior to the authentication (See Ryner, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, item 111 identification database, item 112 product database, item 113 payment account database, etc. all connected by the network; para. [0034], identification database is a block chain database; blockchain database represents a distributed database structure such as a secure distributed transaction ledger to create a decentralized trusted network where information is distributed over a plurality of nodes; para. [0049], computing system includes biometrics module that includes software code for prompting the user to enable the age validation feature of the mobile wallet application of the user mobile device; biometric module directs software application on user mobile device to access biometric data input functionality of the user mobile device; user can input a fingerprint, a voice signature a photograph, a video, a retinal scan, etc.; para. [0051], biometrics module stores the biometric it receives from the mobile device to the identification database on the computing system; para. [0033], software application also prompts the user to input identifying information such as name and data of birth; the user is also prompted to send a photograph of a government-issues identification such as a passport or driver’s license which is verified; the verified identification of the user is then stored in the identification database; para. [0055], computing system includes second validation module that identifies biometric features of the user at a point of sale to verify an identify of the user; para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item; para. [0057], if biometric features from point of sale matches the biometric data stored on the blockchain, the second validation module sends a validation signal to the point-of-sale to proceed with the checkout sequence); and
in response to the user being authenticated, permit purchase of a selected age-restricted product by the user and dispense the selected age-restricted product to the user (See Ryner, at least para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item).
Ryner does not expressly disclose that the age-restricted products include an aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses that the age-restricted products include an aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], vaporizer uses aerosols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability disclose that the age-restricted products include an aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 37: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 35 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the control circuity is further configured to not permit purchase and dispensing of the selected age-restricted product in response to a failure to authenticate the user (See Ryner, at least para. [0059], if the confidence level of the match between data obtained at the point-of-sale and the stored biometric data, the second validation module rejects the validation, i.e., the user cannot purchase the age-restricted item).
Claim 38: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 35 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the control circuitry communicates with a user device via direct wireless communication or via the network (See Ryner, at least para. [0064], user receives a notification from the vending machine on the user’s smartphone; user opens the notification and the camera application on the smartphone’ user registers with vending machine in State A by taking a photograph of the user with the user’s smartphone after an authenticated transaction; smartphone automatically transmits the photograph to the vending machine and the vending machine stores the photograph on the blockchain; para. [0026], user device communicates with system over a network), wherein the user device is involved in the authentication of the user (See Ryner, at least para. [0064], user receives a notification from the vending machine on the user’s smartphone; user opens the notification and the camera application on the smartphone’ user registers with vending machine in State A by taking a photograph of the user with the user’s smartphone after an authenticated transaction; smartphone automatically transmits the photograph to the vending machine and the vending machine stores the photograph on the blockchain; user goes to a vending machine in State B to purchase an age-restricted item; vending machine “recognizes” the user from a camera on the vending machine and allows the user to purchase the age-restricted item).
Claim 39: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 35 discussed above.
Ryner does not expressly disclose wherein the age-restricted products comprise a plurality of aerosol delivery devices including the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses wherein the age-restricted products comprise a plurality of aerosol delivery devices including the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0036], vaporizers use aerosols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability wherein the age-restricted products comprise a plurality of aerosol delivery devices including the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 40: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 35 discussed above.
Ryner does not expressly disclose wherein the age-restricted products comprise consumable cartridges configured for installation into the aerosol delivery device.
However, Barbaric discloses wherein the age-restricted products comprise consumable cartridges configured for installation into the aerosol delivery device (See Barbaric, at least para. [0022], vaporizer includes a pen portion and a capsule portion (also called a cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner the ability wherein the age-restricted products comprise consumable cartridges configured for installation in to the aerosol delivery device as disclosed by Barbaric since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there may be “regulatory restriction of use (e.g., restriction of use in a specific region or by a specific user group based on, for example, age).” (See Barbaric, at least para. [0039]).
Claim 41: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 35 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to accept a payment for the selected age-restricted product from the user or a user device in response to the user being authenticated (See Ryner, at least para. [0056], second validation module compares biometric features of the user captured at the point of sale to at least one biometric stored on the blockchain database to determine that a comparison between the biometric features of the user at the point of sale and the biometric stored on the blockchain database exceeds a dynamic threshold for verifying the identity of the user, thereby allowing the user to proceed with the purchase of the age-restricted item; para. [0037], computing system retrieves or receives payment instrument information stored on the mobile device for facilitating a purchase of one or more items, including age-restricted items (i.e. a mobile wallet)).
Claims 24, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryner in view of Barbaric as applied to claims 23 and 35 above, and further in view of US 2020/0175802 A1 to Crawford et al. (hereinafter “Crawford”).
Claims 24 and 36: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claims 23 and 35 discussed above.
Neither Ryner nor Barbaric expressly discloses wherein the vending machine is further configured to output a product recommendation for additional products or services in response to the user being authenticated.
However, Crawford discloses “vending machines for storing and dispensing products to consumers” and that allows consumers to “access and purchase products from several modular vending machines in one transaction.” (See Crawford, at least Abstract). Crawford further discloses that one modular vending machine may contain products that are age-restricted like alcohol or tobacco and another modular vending machine may contain products that are not age-restricted. (See Crawford, at least para. [0064]). Crawford further discloses a user may be required to confirm his/her age before gaining access to the age-restricted products. (See Crawford, at least para. [0064]). Crawford further discloses that the vending machines may have a biometric scanner to scan a user’s biometric characteristics to confirm a user’s identity. (See Crawford, at least para. [0053]). Crawford further discloses wherein the vending machine is further configured to output a product recommendation for additional products or services in response to the user being authenticated (See Crawford, at least para. [0065], system stores product information, transaction history, and user information; after user approaches vending machine and user’s identify has been confirmed. User interface or lights indicate products that the user has purchased in the past or that the user might like based on past transactions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner and the electronic vapor delivery system and method of Barbaric the ability wherein the vending machine is further configured to output a product recommendation for additional products or services in response to the user being authenticated as disclosed by Crawford since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to complete a transaction without the presence of an employee “thereby lowering operating costs and making the machines an inexpensive means for selling goods to consumers.” (See Crawford, at least para. [0002]).
Claim 36 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 31: The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Neither Ryner nor Barbaric expressly discloses wherein the vending machine is further configured to accept a payment for the aerosol delivery device from the user or the user device in response to the user being authenticated.
However, Crawford discloses wherein the vending machine is further configured to accept a payment for the aerosol delivery device from the user or the user device in response to the user being authenticated (See Crawford, at least para. [0053], before unlocking the vending machine door, the user has to confirm their identity using biometric scanner; after the user’s identity is confirmed, door is unlocked, user selects products, and then payment is completed) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner and the electronic vapor delivery system and method of Barbaric the ability wherein the vending machine is further configured to accept a payment for the aerosol delivery device from the user or the user device in response to the user being authenticated as disclosed by Crawford since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to complete a transaction without the presence of an employee “thereby lowering operating costs and making the machines an inexpensive means for selling goods to consumers.” (See Crawford, at least para. [0002]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryner in view of Barbaric as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of US 2020/0105085 A1 to Jafa et al. (hereinafter “Jafa”).
The combination of Ryner and Barbaric discloses all the limitations of claim 23 discussed above.
Ryner further discloses a vending machine that sells age-restricted items. (See Ryner, at least para. [0064]). However, neither Ryner nor Barbaric expressly discloses wherein the vending machine comprises an autonomously controlled roving vending machine that is moveable to different geographic locations.
However, Jafa discloses “[m]obile vending machines for storing and dispensing products to consumers at various locations.” (See Jafa, at least Abstract). Jafa further discloses wherein the vending machine comprises an autonomously controlled roving vending machine that is moveable to different geographic locations (See Jafa, at least para. [0022], mobile vending machine includes a product storage system, a user interface, a powertrain system, and a control unit; para. [0034], powertrain system is configured to provide autonomous mobility for mobile vending machine; para. [0035], control unit is configured to enable the mobile vending machine to operate autonomously, which is to say without direct human intervention; para. [0021], vending machine determines the time and location where consumers are likely to purchase products, and then automatically navigate to those locations to advertise and vend products to consumers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the identification system and method of Ryner and the electronic vapor delivery system and method of Barbaric the ability wherein the vending machine comprises an autonomously controlled roving vending machine that is moveable to different geographic locations as disclosed by Jafa since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “provide a mobile vending machine capable of servicing multiple areas of high consumer traffic, thus increasing the profitability of the mobile vending machine.” (See Jafa, at least para. [0021]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anne M Georgalas/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689