DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on December 22, 2025. This action is made FINAL.
Specification
III. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Allowable Subject Matter
IV. Claims 8, 14, and 19 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
V. Claims 6-11 and 17-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprise third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service” in lines 3-7.
First, it is unclear what registration request “the registration request” refers to because the claim does not earlier recite a registration request.
Second, it is unclear what network “the first network” refers to because the claim does not earlier recite a first network.
The limitations render the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 6, “obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprise third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service” as
“obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting a registration request to a first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprise third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service”.
Claims 7-11 are dependent on claim 6 and are rejected or indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 6.
Claims 17 and 23 contain limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 6. Therefore, claims 17 and 23 are rejected or indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 6.
Claims 18-22 and 24-28 are dependent on claims 17 and 23 and are rejected or indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claims 17 and 23.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the first predetermined condition further comprises the first information comprises fourth indication information” in lines 5-8, It is unclear what is meant by the phrase “comprises the first information comprises fourth indication information” and/or how it relates to the first predetermined condition. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 7“ wherein the first predetermined condition further comprises the first information comprises fourth indication information” as
“wherein the first predetermined condition further comprises the first information, wherein the first information comprises fourth indication information”.
Claims 18 and 24 contain limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 7. Therefore, claims 18 and 24 are rejected or indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 8.
Claim 8 recites “the network access method according to claim 6, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal, the first information” in lines 1-2. It is unclear whether the “first information” in line 2 refers to the “first information in line 3 of claim 6 or some other first information. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 8, “the network access method according to claim 6, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal, the first information” as
“the network access method according to claim 6, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal, additional information”, wherein “first information” is interpreted as “additional information” throughout the claim.
Claims 19 and 25 contain limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 8. Therefore, claims 19 and 25 are rejected or indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 8.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejections under U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
VI. Claims 6-7, 11, 17-18, 22-24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guttman et al. (WO 2021/015597 A1) in view of Qiao et al. (WO 2021/007447 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Guttman teaches a network access method (see paragraph [9]), comprising: transmitting, by a terminal, a registration request to a first network (see paragraphs [56] – [57] & [59] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that PLMN 30 is providing service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The UE initiates registration procedure with the PLMN 30 and sends a registration request message to the PLMN 30. This reads on transmitting, by a terminal, a registration request to a first network); and receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message transmitted by the first network for indicating that the first network is allowed to be accessed in a case that a first condition is met (see paragraphs [59] & [60] and Fig. 3, The AMF, based on the information IE (e.g. Registration type) determines that the Registration request message is for a disaster inbound roaming (DIR). The AMF may accept the registration request and at step S34 6a the PLMN 30 sends a registration accept disaster inbound roaming (DIR S-NSSAI) message to the UE. This reads receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message transmitted by the first network for indicating that the first network is allowed to be accessed in a case that a first condition is met), the first condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in a first access mode, a second network is in a disaster condition (DC) or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service, the first access mode comprising initial registration, or mobile and periodic update registration; or the terminal accesses the first network in a DC dedicated registration mode, a second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service (see paragraphs [55] – [60] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that the coverage of a first home PLMN 20 is lost. The UE determines that PLMN 30 provides a service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The PLMN 30 broadcast information in SIB-n that it provides service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in the disaster situation. The UE initiates a registration procedure with PLMN 30 and sends a Registration Request message containing an Information Element (IE) indicating the registration is for disaster inbound roaming (DIR). The AMF, based on the information IE (e.g. Registration type) determines that the registration request message is for DIR and can access the registration request. This reads on the terminal accesses the first network in a first access mode, a second network is in a disaster condition (DC) or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service, the first access mode comprising initial registration, or mobile and periodic update registration; or the terminal accesses the first network in a DC dedicated registration mode, a second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service), wherein the first network is a network capable of providing a first service, and the first service comprises a DC roaming service; and the second network comprises at least one of following: a network accessed by the terminal currently; a home network of the terminal; and a network in a DC (see paragraphs [55] – [56] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that the coverage of a home PLMN 20 is lost. The UE determines that a PLMN 30 provides a service to the subscriber of the first PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The PLMN 30 broadcast information in SIB-n that it provides service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in the disaster situation. This reads on wherein the first network (e.g. PLMN 30) is a network capable of providing a first service, and the first service comprises a DC roaming service; and the second network (e.g. PLMN 20) comprises at least one of following: a network accessed by the terminal currently; a home network of the terminal; and a network in a DC).
Guttman does not specifically teach obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service.
Qiao teaches obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service (see paragraphs [00156] & [00157],The base station of a PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in a coverage area. The one or more wireless devices may be devices of a disaster PLMN. The SIB and/or MIB message may comprises an allowed service type, an allowed service location area, and an allowed service time duration. This indicates information for indicating to the one or more wireless devices that the one or more wireless devices are capable of obtaining the service. Based on the SIB and/or MIB message the wireless device may de3temrine a registration request message. For example, the wireless device may determine the registration request message based on a network fail/disaster indication and the information that indicates that the wireless device is capable of obtaining the service (an allowed service type, an allowed service location area, and an allowed service time duration). This reads on obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make transmitting the registration request in Guttman adapt to include obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service because it would allow for an efficient mechanism to determine terminal capability thereby conserving communication resources during disaster communication (see Qiao above).
Regarding claim 7 Qiao teaches wherein the first predetermined condition further comprises the first information, wherein the first information comprises fourth indication information for indicating a list of networks capable of providing the terminal with the DC service, the list of networks comprising information of the first network (see paragraphs [00156] & [00157], The base station of a PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices. The SIB and/or MIB message includes an identifier of a second PLMN capable of providing service to one or more wireless devices and/or an identifier of the disaster PLMN and/or an identifier of the first PLMN/serving PLMN. This reads on wherein the first predetermined condition further comprises the first information, wherein the first information comprises fourth indication information for indicating a list of networks capable of providing the terminal with the DC service, the list of networks comprising information of the first network).
Regarding claim 11 Guttman teaches wherein the registration accept message comprises first information; the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service; or the first information comprises fourth indication information for indicating a list of networks capable of providing the terminal with the DC service, the list of networks comprising information of the first network (see paragraph [60] and Fig. 3, The second PLMN 30 accepts the registration request and transmits a registration access message 6a including disaster inbound roaming (DIR) cause and S-NSSAI information. This reads on wherein the registration accept message comprises first information; the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service; or the first information comprises fourth indication information for indicating a list of networks capable of providing the terminal with the DC service, the list of networks comprising information of the first network).
Regarding claim 17 Guttman teaches a processor, a memory, and programs or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, the programs or instructions, when executed by the processor (see paragraphs [82] – [84]), causes the terminal to perform: transmitting, by a terminal, a registration request to a first network (see paragraphs [56] – [57] & [59] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that PLMN 30 is providing service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The UE initiates registration procedure with the PLMN 30 and sends a registration request message to the PLMN 30. This reads on transmitting, by a terminal, a registration request to a first network); and receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message transmitted by the first network for indicating that the first network is allowed to be accessed in a case that a first condition is met (see paragraphs [59] & [60] and Fig. 3, The AMF, based on the information IE (e.g. Registration type) determines that the Registration request message is for a disaster inbound roaming (DIR). The AMF may accept the registration request and at step S34 6a the PLMN 30 sends a registration accept disaster inbound roaming (DIR S-NSSAI) message to the UE. This reads receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message transmitted by the first network for indicating that the first network is allowed to be accessed in a case that a first condition is met), the first condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in a first access mode, a second network is in a disaster condition (DC) or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service, the first access mode comprising initial registration, or mobile and periodic update registration; or the terminal accesses the first network in a DC dedicated registration mode, a second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service (see paragraphs [55] – [60] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that the coverage of a first home PLMN 20 is lost. The UE determines that PLMN 30 provides a service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The PLMN 30 broadcast information in SIB-n that it provides service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in the disaster situation. The UE initiates a registration procedure with PLMN 30 and sends a Registration Request message containing an Information Element (IE) indicating the registration is for disaster inbound roaming (DIR). The AMF, based on the information IE (e.g. Registration type) determines that the registration request message is for DIR and can access the registration request. This reads on the terminal accesses the first network in a first access mode, a second network is in a disaster condition (DC) or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service, the first access mode comprising initial registration, or mobile and periodic update registration; or the terminal accesses the first network in a DC dedicated registration mode, a second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service), wherein the first network is a network capable of providing a first service, and the first service comprises a DC roaming service; and the second network comprises at least one of following: a network accessed by the terminal currently; a home network of the terminal; and a network in a DC (see paragraphs [55] – [56] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that the coverage of a home PLMN 20 is lost. The UE determines that a PLMN 30 provides a service to the subscriber of the first PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The PLMN 30 broadcast information in SIB-n that it provides service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in the disaster situation. This reads on wherein the first network (e.g. PLMN 30) is a network capable of providing a first service, and the first service comprises a DC roaming service; and the second network (e.g. PLMN 20) comprises at least one of following: a network accessed by the terminal currently; a home network of the terminal; and a network in a DC).
Guttman does not specifically teach obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service.
Qiao teaches obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service (see paragraphs [00156] & [00157],The base station of a PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in a coverage area. The one or more wireless devices may be devices of a disaster PLMN. The SIB and/or MIB message may comprises an allowed service type, an allowed service location area, and an allowed service time duration. This indicates information for indicating to the one or more wireless devices that the one or more wireless devices are capable of obtaining the service. Based on the SIB and/or MIB message the wireless device may de3temrine a registration request message. For example, the wireless device may determine the registration request message based on a network fail/disaster indication and the information that indicates that the wireless device is capable of obtaining the service (an allowed service type, an allowed service location area, and an allowed service time duration). This reads on obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make transmitting the registration request in Guttman adapt to include obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service because it would allow for an efficient mechanism to determine terminal capability thereby conserving communication resources during disaster communication (see Qiao above).
Regarding claim 18 Guttman and Qiao teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 22 Guttman and Qiao teach limitations as recited in claim 11 and therefore claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 23 Guttman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing programs or instructions, wherein the programs or instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal (see paragraphs [79], [83] – [84] , causes the terminal to perform: transmitting, by a terminal, a registration request to a first network (see paragraphs [56] – [57] & [59] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that PLMN 30 is providing service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The UE initiates registration procedure with the PLMN 30 and sends a registration request message to the PLMN 30. This reads on transmitting, by a terminal, a registration request to a first network); and receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message transmitted by the first network for indicating that the first network is allowed to be accessed in a case that a first condition is met (see paragraphs [59] & [60] and Fig. 3, The AMF, based on the information IE (e.g. Registration type) determines that the Registration request message is for a disaster inbound roaming (DIR). The AMF may accept the registration request and at step S34 6a the PLMN 30 sends a registration accept disaster inbound roaming (DIR S-NSSAI) message to the UE. This reads receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message transmitted by the first network for indicating that the first network is allowed to be accessed in a case that a first condition is met), the first condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in a first access mode, a second network is in a disaster condition (DC) or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service, the first access mode comprising initial registration, or mobile and periodic update registration; or the terminal accesses the first network in a DC dedicated registration mode, a second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service (see paragraphs [55] – [60] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that the coverage of a first home PLMN 20 is lost. The UE determines that PLMN 30 provides a service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The PLMN 30 broadcast information in SIB-n that it provides service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in the disaster situation. The UE initiates a registration procedure with PLMN 30 and sends a Registration Request message containing an Information Element (IE) indicating the registration is for disaster inbound roaming (DIR). The AMF, based on the information IE (e.g. Registration type) determines that the registration request message is for DIR and can access the registration request. This reads on the terminal accesses the first network in a first access mode, a second network is in a disaster condition (DC) or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service, the first access mode comprising initial registration, or mobile and periodic update registration; or the terminal accesses the first network in a DC dedicated registration mode, a second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and an authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is capable of obtaining a DC service), wherein the first network is a network capable of providing a first service, and the first service comprises a DC roaming service; and the second network comprises at least one of following: a network accessed by the terminal currently; a home network of the terminal; and a network in a DC (see paragraphs [55] – [56] and Fig. 3, The UE determines that the coverage of a home PLMN 20 is lost. The UE determines that a PLMN 30 provides a service to the subscriber of the first PLMN 20 in a disaster situation. The PLMN 30 broadcast information in SIB-n that it provides service to the subscriber of PLMN 20 in the disaster situation. This reads on wherein the first network (e.g. PLMN 30) is a network capable of providing a first service, and the first service comprises a DC roaming service; and the second network (e.g. PLMN 20) comprises at least one of following: a network accessed by the terminal currently; a home network of the terminal; and a network in a DC).
Guttman does not specifically teach obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service.
Qiao teaches obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service (see paragraphs [00156] & [00157],The base station of a PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in a coverage area. The one or more wireless devices may be devices of a disaster PLMN. The SIB and/or MIB message may comprises an allowed service type, an allowed service location area, and an allowed service time duration. This indicates information for indicating to the one or more wireless devices that the one or more wireless devices are capable of obtaining the service. Based on the SIB and/or MIB message the wireless device may de3temrine a registration request message. For example, the wireless device may determine the registration request message based on a network fail/disaster indication and the information that indicates that the wireless device is capable of obtaining the service (an allowed service type, an allowed service location area, and an allowed service time duration). This reads on obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make transmitting the registration request in Guttman adapt to include obtaining, by the terminal, first information, and transmitting the registration request to the first network in a case that the first information meets a first predetermined condition, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises: the first information comprises third indication information for indicating that the terminal is capable of obtaining the DC service because it would allow for an efficient mechanism to determine terminal capability thereby conserving communication resources during disaster communication (see Qiao above).
Regarding claim 24 Guttman and Qiao teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 28 Guttman and Qiao teach limitations as recited in claim 11 and therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VII. Claims 9-10, 20-21, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guttman et al. (WO 2021/015597 A1) in view of Qiao (WO 2021/007447 A1) and 3GPP TR 24.811 (Disaster inbound roamer Registration using a Disaster Response Function, hereinafter 3GPP TR 24.811).
Regarding claim 9 Guttman teaches the network access method according to claim 6 including transmitting, by the first network, a registration reject message to the terminal (see Guttman, paragraphs [60] – [61], A registration reject message indicating that the registration procedure has failed may be sent to the UE. This reads on transmitting, by the first network, a registration reject message to the terminal) and except for transmitting the registration reject message in a case that a second condition is met, the second condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service; the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; or the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service.
3GPP TR 24.811 teaches transmitting the registration reject message in a case that a second condition is met, the second condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service; the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; or the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service (see 3G99 TR 24.811, 4, steps 6-7, A response is sent with a result (success/failure) indicating whether the UE is authorized to perform disaster inbound roaming in PLMN A. A negative response may be returned if the disaster response incident ID (DRID) does not correspond to an applicable disaster condition (e.g. DRID is invalid and/or corresponding disaster condition has ended (second network not is a disaster condition (DC)). This reads on transmitting the registration reject message in a case that a second condition is met
the second condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service;
the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; or the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make transmitting the rejection message in Guttman and Qiao combination adapt to include in a case that a second condition is met the second condition comprising any one of following that: the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service; the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; or the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service because further improve authentication of the UE for Inbound Disaster Roaming during a registration procedure (see 3GPP TR 24.811, page 1, Section 2. Reasons for Change).
Regarding claim 10 3GPP TR 24.811 teaches wherein the registration reject message comprises a first cause value in a case that the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; or
in a case that the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service, the registration reject message comprises at least one of following: a second cause value; first information, comprising first indication information for indicating that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service; or comprising second indication information for indicating a list of networks incapable of providing the terminal with the DC service, the list of networks comprising information of the first network; or the registration reject message comprises a third cause value in a case that the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC; or in a case that the terminal accesses the first network in the DC dedicated registration mode, the second network is in a DC or the first network is notified that the second network is in a DC, and the authentication result of the terminal is that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service, the registration reject message comprises at least one of following:
a fourth cause value; first information, comprising first indication information for indicating that the terminal is incapable of obtaining the DC service; or comprising second indication information for indicating a list of networks incapable of providing the terminal with the DC service, the list of networks comprising information of the first network (see 3G99 TR 24.811, 4, steps 6-7, A response is sent with a result (success/failure) indicating whether the UE is authorized to perform disaster inbound roaming in PLMN A. A negative response may be returned if the disaster response incident ID (DRID) does not correspond to an applicable disaster condition (e.g. DRID is invalid and/or corresponding disaster condition has ended (second network not is a disaster condition (DC)). This reads on wherein the registration reject message comprises a first cause value in a case that the terminal accesses the first network in the first access mode and the second network is not in a DC or the first network is not notified that the second network is in a DC).
Regarding claim 20 Guttman, Qiao, and 3GPP TR 24.811 teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 21 Guttman, Qiao, and 3GPP TR 24.811 teach limitations as recited in claim 10 and therefore claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 26 Guttman, Qiao, and 3GPP TR 24.811 teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 27 Guttman, Qiao, and 3GPP TR 24.811 teach limitations as recited in claim 10 and therefore claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Response to Arguments
VIII. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-11 and 17-28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
Conclusion
IX. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
February 7, 2026