DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
There are no rejections withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
Double Patenting
Claims 14-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,716 in view of Jinks et al. (US 2017/0152396).
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,716 recite a coated component for a medicinal delivery device comprising a component; a base layer comprising a polysulphone, wherein the base layer is intermediate the component and a fluorine-containing coating.
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,716 do not recite wherein the fluorine-containing coating comprises two layers, a first polyfluoropolyether-containing layer comprising polyfluoropolyether silane entities of the following Formula Ib which shares at least one covalent bond with a second non-fluorinated layer comprising entities of the following Formula IIb.
Jinks discloses wherein the fluorine-containing coating comprises two layers, a first polyfluoropolyether-containing layer comprising polyfluoropolyether silane entities of the following Formula Ib which shares at least one covalent bond with a second non-fluorinated layer comprising entities of the following Formula IIb in a dose inhaler for the purpose of providing improved surface properties (paragraphs [0003], [0007], [0017-0063], [0070-0071], [0077-0084], [0172], [0180], [0194], [0199-0205]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the fluorine-containing coating comprises two layers, a first polyfluoropolyether-containing layer comprising polyfluoropolyether silane entities of the following Formula Ib which shares at least one covalent bond with a second non-fluorinated layer comprising entities of the following Formula IIb in claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,716 in order to provide improved surface properties as taught or suggested by Jinks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Britto (US 6,149,892, cited by applicant) in view of Jinks et al. (US 2017/0152396).
Britto discloses a coated component for a medicinal delivery device comprising a component; a base layer comprising a polysulphone, wherein the base layer is intermediate the component and a fluorine-containing coating (column 1, lines 10-20, column 1, lines 59-67, column 4, lines 20-61, column 5, lines 54-61).
Britto does not recite wherein the fluorine-containing coating comprises two layers, a first polyfluoropolyether-containing layer comprising polyfluoropolyether silane entities of the following Formula Ib which shares at least one covalent bond with a second non-fluorinated layer comprising entities of the following Formula IIb.
Jinks discloses wherein the fluorine-containing coating comprises two layers, a first polyfluoropolyether-containing layer comprising polyfluoropolyether silane entities of the following Formula Ib which shares at least one covalent bond with a second non-fluorinated layer comprising entities of the following Formula IIb in a dose inhaler for the purpose of providing improved surface properties (paragraphs [0003], [0007], [0017-0063], [0070-0071], [0077-0084], [0172], [0180], [0194], [0199-0205]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the fluorine-containing coating comprises two layers, a first polyfluoropolyether-containing layer comprising polyfluoropolyether silane entities of the following Formula Ib which shares at least one covalent bond with a second non-fluorinated layer comprising entities of the following Formula IIb in Britto in order to provide improved surface properties as taught or suggested by Jinks.
Britto discloses claims 20, 24, 27, 30 (column 1, lines 10-20, column 1, lines 59-67, column 4, lines 20-61, column 5, lines 54-61).
Jinks discloses claims 15-29, 21-23, 25-26, 28-29 and 31-33.
NEW REJECTIONS
There are no new rejections.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 12/23/25 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive. Applicant’s desire to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance is acknowledged.
Applicant argues, “Applicant respectfully submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would neither have been motivated to combine Britto and Jinks in the manner asserted by the Examiner nor would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing SO. Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established for claims 14-33.
In the Non-Final Office Action, the Examiner asserts that Britto teaches or suggests a base layer that includes a polysulphone and a fluorine-containing coating for application to a medical device component. The Examiner further asserts that Jinks teaches or suggests a coating that includes a first silane- and polyfluoropolyether-containing, layer of Formula Ib and a second non-fluorinated layer of Formula Ilb. The Examiner concludes that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute fluorine-containing coating layer of Britto with the two-layer coating system of Jinks to provide improved surface properties as taught by Jinks. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
First, in view of Britto, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been
motivated to substitute the fluorine-containing polymers expressly disclosed in Britto with the two-layer coating system of Jinks. Britto specifically identifies the fluorine-containing polymers suitable for use in its invention, stating:
‘Fluorocarbon polymers for use in the invention include fluorocarbon polymers which are made of multiples of one or more of the following monomeric units: tetrafluoroethylene (TFE; which is used to prepare polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)), per fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP; which is perfluorinated ethylene propylene copolymer, which is a copolymer of TFE and hexafluoropropylene (HFP)), (PFA; which is a perfluoroalkoxy fluorocarbon polymer which is prepared using a perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether monomer), ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE; ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene copolymer), vinylidene fluoride (PVDF; polyvinylidene fluoride), and chlorinated ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (a copolymer made by copolymerizing chlorinated ethylene and tetrafluoroethylene) (Emphasis added; Britto col. 4, lines 22 to 36).’
Because Britto explicitly identifies the fluorocarbon polymers for the fluorine-containing layer "for use in the invention" of Britto, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to substitute these polymers with a materially different coating system, let alone the two-layer system of Jinks. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to substitute the fluorine-containing polymers of Britto with those of Jinks because the polymers are of fundamentally different chemical types. Britto's fluorine-containing layer includes
fluorocarbon polymers. In contrast, the fluorine-containing polymers of Formula Ib in Jinks are not fluorocarbon polymers, as they include silane functionalities and ether linkages, chemical features absent from the fluorocarbon polymers of Britto.”
However, there is no specific teaching in Britto that other materials can’t be used. In fact, Britto discloses that the fluorinated polymer can be blended with other polymers (column 4, lines 39-46). Furthermore, Britto discloses the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers (column 4, lines 22-39) and Jinks discloses the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers (paragraphs [0035-0036]).
Applicant argues, “Second, the Examiner has failed to provide a factual basis establishing that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the polysulphone polymer of Britto with the two-layer coating system of Jinks in the claimed manner. The Non-Final Office Action merely states, in conclusory fashion, that it would have been obvious to substitute the fluorine-containing polymer of Britto with the two-layer coating system of Jinks, without explaining why a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect that such a substitution would yield predictable results.”
Predictable results would be expected because Britto discloses the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers (column 4, lines 22-39) and Jinks discloses the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers (paragraphs [0035-0036]) and Jinks provides improved surface properties (paragraph [0007]).
Applicant argues, “Third, in view of Britto and Jinks, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the fluorine-containing polymer of Britto with the two-layer coating system of Jinks for use with the polysulfone polymer of Britto. As discussed above, the fluorine-containing polymers disclosed in Britto and Jinks are chemically distinct. In addition, the coating of Jinks includes non-fluorinated layer containing functional groups, such as silicon-containing groups, that are neither disclosed nor suggested in Britto. Accordingly, a person or ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation that the combination of the polysulfone of Britto with the two layer coating system of Jinks would result in a useable medical component coating, much less yield a coating with desirable properties.”
There is an expectation of success because Britto discloses the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers (column 4, lines 22-39) and Jinks discloses the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers (paragraphs [0035-0036]) and Jinks provides improved surface properties (paragraph [0007]). Furthermore, there is no direct teaching in Britto away from the inclusion of additional layers or the use of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ethers with moieties containing silicone.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
February 5, 2026