Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed
03/29/2026. Claims 1-23 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei et al. (US-20240175995-A1; hereinafter Lei).
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses A method (see at least Figure 2) for detecting at least one object in a detection zone, comprising: emitting optical radiation using emission circuitry of a time-of-flight sensor; (see at least [0045]; "Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.") receiving, by reception circuitry of the time-of-flight sensor, photons of optical radiation reflected by said at least one object; (see at least [0059]; "The emitted pulsed laser sequence is reflected by the detected objects in the field of view to generate a returned light signal, and the returned light signal is received by the photodetector to form a photon counting sequence." and see at least [00111]; "On the whole, in addition to the above-mentioned incoherent chirped signal AM continuous wave laser 3D imaging technology (hereinafter referred to as technology 1), the existing technology mainly includes incoherent sinusoidal/pulse AM laser 3D imaging technology (itof, hereinafter referred to as technology 2), and pulsed photon counting laser three-dimensional imaging technology (dtof, hereinafter referred to as technology 3), compared with the above-mentioned technology, the present disclosure has the following advantages.") measuring, using measurement circuitry of the time-of-flight sensor, an amount of photons and a distance between said time-of-flight sensor and said at least one object, and (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below.") analyzing the amount of detected photons and the distance so as to determine presence of the at least one object in the detection zone of the time-of-flight sensor. (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.").
Regarding claim 10, Lei discloses A time-of-flight (TOF) sensor, comprising: emission circuitry configured to emit optical radiation; (see at least [0045]; "Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.") reception circuitry configured to detect photons of optical radiation reflected from at least one object; (see at least [0059]; "The emitted pulsed laser sequence is reflected by the detected objects in the field of view to generate a returned light signal, and the returned light signal is received by the photodetector to form a photon counting sequence." and see at least [00111]; "On the whole, in addition to the above-mentioned incoherent chirped signal AM continuous wave laser 3D imaging technology (hereinafter referred to as technology 1), the existing technology mainly includes incoherent sinusoidal/pulse AM laser 3D imaging technology (itof, hereinafter referred to as technology 2), and pulsed photon counting laser three-dimensional imaging technology (dtof, hereinafter referred to as technology 3), compared with the above-mentioned technology, the present disclosure has the following advantages.") measurement circuitry configured to measure an amount of photons and a distance between said time-of-flight sensor and said at least one object, and (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below.") processing circuitry configured to analyze the amount of photons and the distance so as to determine presence of the at least one object in a detection zone of the time-of-flight sensor. (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.").
Regarding claim 12, Lei discloses The TOF sensor according to claim 11, wherein said at least one object is detected when the distance central trend indicator is comprised in a distance interval and when the photon amount central trend indicator is comprised in a photon amount interval. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
Regarding claim 19, Lei discloses The detection system according to claim 18, wherein said at least one object is detected when the distance central trend indicator is comprised in a distance interval and when the photon amount central trend indicator is comprised in a photon amount interval. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei.
Regarding claim 3, Lei discloses The method according to claim 2, wherein said at least one object is detected when the distance central trend indicator is comprised in a distance interval and when the photon amount central trend indicator is comprised in a photon amount interval. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
Examiner's notes: Central trend indicator is found to be synonymous to average or median as specified in the Specification. [Page 4, Lines 20-22] The central trend indicator, such as the average or median, corresponds to a statistical value enabling a relatively accurate estimation of the position of the object to be detected according to a sequence of values of amounts of photons and distances measured.
Regarding claim 6, Lei discloses The method according to claim 2, wherein the photon amount central trend indicator is an average of the N amounts of photons and the distance central trend indicator is an average of the N associated distances. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "At this time, on the one hand the preset rule operation module included in the processing module uses the drive signal to generate a discontinuous modulation sequence Y, On the other hand, the distance related signal can be obtained by calculating the photon counting sequence and the modulation sequence Y according to the preset rules. The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
Examiner's notes: Central trend indicator is found to be synonymous to average or median as specified in the Specification. [Page 4, Lines 20-22] The central trend indicator, such as the average or median, corresponds to a statistical value enabling a relatively accurate estimation of the position of the object to be detected according to a sequence of values of amounts of photons and distances measured.
Regarding claim 15, Lei discloses The TOF sensor according to claim 11, wherein the photon amount central trend indicator is an average of the N amounts of photons and the distance central trend indicator is an average of the N associated distances. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "At this time, on the one hand the preset rule operation module included in the processing module uses the drive signal to generate a discontinuous modulation sequence Y, On the other hand, the distance related signal can be obtained by calculating the photon counting sequence and the modulation sequence Y according to the preset rules. The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
Examiner's notes: Central trend indicator is found to be synonymous to average or median as specified in the Specification. [Page 4, Lines 20-22] The central trend indicator, such as the average or median, corresponds to a statistical value enabling a relatively accurate estimation of the position of the object to be detected according to a sequence of values of amounts of photons and distances measured.
Regarding claim 23, Lei discloses The detection system according to claim 18, wherein the photon amount central trend indicator is an average of the N amounts of photons and the distance central trend indicator is an average of the N associated distances. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "At this time, on the one hand the preset rule operation module included in the processing module uses the drive signal to generate a discontinuous modulation sequence Y, On the other hand, the distance related signal can be obtained by calculating the photon counting sequence and the modulation sequence Y according to the preset rules. The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
Examiner's notes: Central trend indicator is found to be synonymous to average or median as specified in the Specification. [Page 4, Lines 20-22] The central trend indicator, such as the average or median, corresponds to a statistical value enabling a relatively accurate estimation of the position of the object to be detected according to a sequence of values of amounts of photons and distances measured.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei and in view of Mandai et al. (US-20180209846-A1; hereinafter Mandai).
Regarding claim 2, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] The method according to claim 1, wherein analyzing the amount of photons associated with the measured distance comprises successively “processing” (see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below." and see at least [0059]; "At this time, on the one hand the preset rule operation module included in the processing module uses the drive signal to generate a discontinuous modulation sequence Y, On the other hand, the distance related signal can be obtained by calculating the photon counting sequence and the modulation sequence Y according to the preset rules. The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.") calculating a photon amount central trend indicator from the N amounts of photons, and calculating a distance central trend indicator such that said at least one object is detected according to the distance central trend indicator calculated. (see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and see at least [0059]; "At this time, on the one hand the preset rule operation module included in the processing module uses the drive signal to generate a discontinuous modulation sequence Y, On the other hand, the distance related signal can be obtained by calculating the photon counting sequence and the modulation sequence Y according to the preset rules. The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
However, Lei does not explicitly teach storing values of photons and distances. Instead, Lei teaches a processing module for photon counting and distance evaluation.
Lei discloses a method to use a detection unit and Mandai is directed at using a histogram to store data values. Mandai teaches:
Storing photon count data and range of distances data (see at least [0042]; "Each bin of such a histogram represents a particular subinterval of time of the PRIs, and each bin can store a count of photons received at the SPAD during that subinterval of time over all the PRIs, or equivalently, a count of photons having times of flight within that subinterval of time. Each bin also effectively represents a range of distances to an object. Bins associated with smaller subintervals of time provide finer resolution of a distance determination.").
Both Lei and Mandai can measure distance. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Lei to incorporate a histogram as taught by Mandai. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use a histogram with bins to store the photon count data and range of distances data and add it’s data storage structure to the detection unit in Lei for analyzation. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from both prior arts.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 contains analogous limitations to claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, and in view of Choi et al. (US-20220366584-A1; hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 4, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] The method according to claim 2, wherein said at least one object is detected when the distance central trend indicator(Lei teaches see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and Lei teaches see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and Lei teaches see at least [0059]; "The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and Mandai teaches see at least [0043]; "As mentioned above, objects at different distances may create conflicting issues for detection of reflected light photons. Objects that are far from the SPAD detector may produce few detectable reflected photons, whereas nearby objects may produce enough reflected photons to saturate the pixels leading to a bias in TOF estimation. Consequently, varying the sensitivity of a SPAD (e.g., by adjusting its reverse bias) may improve estimation of distance to far objects but reduce accuracy of estimated distance to close objects.").
However, Lei and Mandai together do not explicitly teach when the detected object has a distance average lower than a first distance. Instead, Lei and Mandai teach an object being detected.
Together Lei and Mandai disclose a method to utilize distance data from their detection units and Choi is directed at obtaining more than one distance. Choi teaches:
Distance average is lower than the first distance (see at least [0104]; "The processor 250 may differently obtain the one or more first distances, the one or more second distances, and/or values of the one or more first peaks depending on the distance between the electronic device 201 and the subject, whether the distance sensor 230 is partially blocked by an obstacle, and/or whether the distance sensor 230 is entirely blocked by an obstacle." and see at least [0112]; "In table 721, the maximum distance among the second distances is about 15 (mm) (721-2) and the minimum distance is about 1 (mm) (721-1). In table an average distance of the second distances is about 8 (mm). In table 721, “N” 721-3 may represent a case in which reliability of the obtained distance is lower than designated reliability. In table 721, all of the second distances may be obtained when the light emitted from the light-emitting part of the distance sensor is incident to the light-receiving part of the distance sensor after being reflected by the obstacle.").
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, and Choi can measure distances. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei and Mandai to have its processor obtain distances as taught by Choi. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the multiple distance recording capability of the processor taught by Choi, incorporate it into the threshold detection unit taught by Lei, and be able measure a preliminary distance of an object as it would be shorter than the average field of view distance. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from Choi into the teachings of Lei.
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 contains analogous limitations to claim 4 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, and in view of Ptasinski et al. (US-20240061112-A1; hereinafter Ptasinski).
Regarding claim 5, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] The method according to claim 2, wherein the photon amount central trend indicator is (Lei teaches see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and Lei teaches see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and Lei teaches see at least [0093]; "Although the maximum value of the spectrum amplitude can still reflect the object distance, because the second maximum value of the spectrum amplitude is closer to the maximum value of the spectrum amplitude, the average noise power of the spectrum is higher, thus increasing the difficulty of extracting the object distance;").
However, Lei and Mandai together do not explicitly teach photon average being the median of a value of a quantity of photons and further does not teach distance average being the median of a value of associated distances. Instead, Lei and Mandai teach an average of the cumulative photon count sequence, photon count, and range of distances to an object.
Together Lei and Mandai disclose a method to extract distance data and evaluate data through variables and analysis and Ptasinski is directed at measuring distances with photon generators. Ptasinski teaches:
Medians of photon counts and distances (see at least [0020]; "For embodiments in which a plurality of systems 1 or photon generators 5 are used in tandem, feed loop methodologies can utilize the additional photon generation to measure scan separate distances. For example, with two photon generators 5 and two corresponding slow light sections 11, each slow light section can tune the idler photons 7 to start at a central starting value (e.g., a predetermined range median or an estimated target distance value), then the first slow light section can adjust the refractive index in a positive direction while the second slow light section can adjust the refractive index in a negative direction.").
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, and Ptasinski can measure distances and evaluate data.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei and Mandai to include an systems or photon generators as taught by Ptasinski. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include an embodiment that incorporates a plurality of systems as taught by Ptasinski to generate average/median data from photon count and distances in what is taught by Lei. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from all prior arts mentioned in this rejection.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 contains analogous limitations to claim 5 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei and in view of Marti et al. (US-11852394-B1; hereinafter Marti).
Regarding claim 16, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] A detection system (see at least Figure 1), comprising: (see at least [0004]; "Time of Flight (TOF) light detection and Ranging (LIDAR) is a technique for long-range distance detection. TOF LIDAR sensors determine the distance between an instrument including the sensor and an object by detecting the time that a laser pulsed takes to travel between the instrument and the object." and see at least [0043]; "The detection system currently used basically includes: the light source module 110, a processing module 120, and a light receiving module 130. The light source module 110 includes, but is not limited to, a semiconductor laser, solid-state lasers, and other types of lasers. When a semiconductor laser is used as the light source, a vertical cavity surface emitting laser VCSEL (Vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser) or an edge-emitting semiconductor laser EEL (edge-emitting laser) can be used, which is only exemplary and not limited herein." and see at least [0059]; "The emitted pulsed laser sequence is reflected by the detected objects in the field of view to generate a returned light signal, and the returned light signal is received by the photodetector to form a photon counting sequence.") wherein the time-of-flight sensor comprises: emission circuitry configured to emit optical radiation; (see at least [0045]; "Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.") reception circuitry configured to detect an amount of photons of optical radiation reflected from the at least one object; (see at least [0059]; "The emitted pulsed laser sequence is reflected by the detected objects in the field of view to generate a returned light signal, and the returned light signal is received by the photodetector to form a photon counting sequence." and see at least [00111]; "On the whole, in addition to the above-mentioned incoherent chirped signal AM continuous wave laser 3D imaging technology (hereinafter referred to as technology 1), the existing technology mainly includes incoherent sinusoidal/pulse AM laser 3D imaging technology (itof, hereinafter referred to as technology 2), and pulsed photon counting laser three-dimensional imaging technology (dtof, hereinafter referred to as technology 3), compared with the above-mentioned technology, the present disclosure has the following advantages.") measurement circuitry configured to measure an amount of photons and a distance between said time-of-flight sensor and said at least one object, and (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below.") processing circuitry configured to analyze the amount of photons and the distance so as to determine presence of said at least one object in a detection zone of the time-of-flight sensor. (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.").
However, Lei does not explicitly teach a cavity with a bottom, detecting objects within a cavity including having the TOF sensor being mounted against the wall of the cavity, and a detection zone including an object resting at the bottom of the cavity. Instead, Lei teaches determining distance between the TOF sensor and the object.
Lei discloses a method to detect objects and Marti is directed at using a TOF sensor in a cavity. Marti teaches:
Cavity including an opening through which one object can enter the cavity and a bottom (see at least [00021]; "Figure 2 is a cross-sectional view taken along line 2-2 of Fig. 1 further illustrating an icebox portion of the ice merchandiser and an example inventory of bagged ice;" and see at least [0004]; "In this example, the ice storage unit is provided with insulating doors 26 to allow access to the internal volume 22 of the icebox 16 through access openings 28.").
TOF sensor being mounted against a wall (see at least [00057]; “Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.”).
Detection zone of TOF extending between TOF and a wall of the cavity opposite to the TOF sensor to bottom of cavity where at least one object is resting (see at least [00057]; “Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.” and Figure 2 and see at least [0004]; "Fig. 2 is a simplified cross-sectional view taken along line 2-2 of Fig. 1 to further illustrate the construction of the ice storage unit 12. With reference to both Figs. 1 and 2, ice storage unit 12 has a box-within-a-box construction including a steel inner liner (icebox) 16 and a steel outer shell 18. Insulation 20 is provided between the liner 16 and shell 18 to provide good thermal insulation of the internal volume 22 of the icebox 16 where an inventory of packaged ice 24 can be stored.").
Both Lei and Marti can detect objects using a TOF sensor. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Lei to utilize a lidar as taught by Marti. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a rail or mounting implement similar to one taught in Marti in the teaching of Lei. Therefore, by mounting a lidar in a method similar to one taught in Marti to be along the side of a cavity instead of the ceiling to perform the duties of the claimed invention, reproduces the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, and Marti.
Regarding claim 7, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] A method for detecting at least one object(see at least [0004]; "Time of Flight (TOF) light detection and Ranging (LIDAR) is a technique for long-range distance detection. TOF LIDAR sensors determine the distance between an instrument including the sensor and an object by detecting the time that a laser pulsed takes to travel between the instrument and the object." and see at least [0043]; "The detection system currently used basically includes: the light source module 110, a processing module 120, and a light receiving module 130. The light source module 110 includes, but is not limited to, a semiconductor laser, solid-state lasers, and other types of lasers. When a semiconductor laser is used as the light source, a vertical cavity surface emitting laser VCSEL (Vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser) or an edge-emitting semiconductor laser EEL (edge-emitting laser) can be used, which is only exemplary and not limited herein." and see at least [0059]; "The emitted pulsed laser sequence is reflected by the detected objects in the field of view to generate a returned light signal, and the returned light signal is received by the photodetector to form a photon counting sequence.") emitting optical radiation using emission circuitry of the time-of-flight sensor; (see at least [0045]; "Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below. From the comparison in Table 1, it can be seen that these two time-of-flight ranging schemes have certain limitations, and a new detection method needs to be developed to obtain more accurate and anti-jamming results." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.") receiving, by reception circuitry of the time-of-flight sensor, photons of optical radiation reflected by said at least one object; (see at least [0059]; "The emitted pulsed laser sequence is reflected by the detected objects in the field of view to generate a returned light signal, and the returned light signal is received by the photodetector to form a photon counting sequence." and see at least [00111]; "On the whole, in addition to the above-mentioned incoherent chirped signal AM continuous wave laser 3D imaging technology (hereinafter referred to as technology 1), the existing technology mainly includes incoherent sinusoidal/pulse AM laser 3D imaging technology (itof, hereinafter referred to as technology 2), and pulsed photon counting laser three-dimensional imaging technology (dtof, hereinafter referred to as technology 3), compared with the above-mentioned technology, the present disclosure has the following advantages.") measuring, using measurement circuitry of the time-of-flight sensor, an amount of photons and a distance between said time-of-flight sensor and said at least one object, and (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below.") analyzing the amount of detected photons and the distance so as to determine presence of the at least one object in the detection zone of the time-of-flight sensor by successively “processing” (see at least [0061]; "The receiving system includes a receiving optical system, a photodetector, a digital correlator, a digital integral accumulator, etc., wherein the receiving optical system focuses the reflected laser pulse sequence to the photodetector, the photodetector starts to detect when the laser pulse sequence is emitted, and the photon counting result in the emission period of the laser pulse sequence is obtained. In order to ensure that the subsequent calculation amount is small, firstly illuminated the scene in the field of view by the pulse sequence emitted for L times (wherein L is an integer greater than or equal to 1)." and see at least [0045]; "The detection unit in the avalanche state can receive the returned signal, and after processing by the processing module, the distance between the detection system and the detection target can be output to complete the detection. In order to obtain high-confidence results, tens of thousands of laser pulses can be emitted, and the detection unit obtains a statistical result, so that a more accurate distance can be obtained by processing the statistical results. Two typical ranging methods, the ITOF ranging method and the DTOF ranging method are compared by the applicant of the present application, as shown in Table 1 below." and see at least [0046]; "A returned laser signal is formed by the detection laser is reflected by the detected object in the field of view.") calculating a photon amount central trend indicator from the N amounts of photons, and calculating a distance central trend indicator such that said at least one object is detected when the distance central trend indicator is comprised in a distance interval and when the photon amount central trend indicator is comprised in a photon amount interval. (see at least [0059]; "At this time, on the one hand the preset rule operation module included in the processing module uses the drive signal to generate a discontinuous modulation sequence Y, On the other hand, the distance related signal can be obtained by calculating the photon counting sequence and the modulation sequence Y according to the preset rules. The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc.").
However, Lei does not explicitly teach a cavity with a bottom, detecting objects within a cavity including having the TOF sensor being mounted against the wall of the cavity, and a detection zone including an object resting at the bottom of the cavity nor storing values of photons and distances. Instead, Lei teaches determining distance between the sensor and the sensed object and a processing module for photon counting and distance evaluation.
Lei discloses a method to using detection and processing modules and Marti is directed at using a TOF sensor in a cavity and Mandai is directed at using a histogram to store data values. Marti and Mandai teach:
Marti teaches cavity including an opening through which one object can enter the cavity and a bottom (see at least [00021]; "Figure 2 is a cross-sectional view taken along line 2-2 of Fig. 1 further illustrating an icebox portion of the ice merchandiser and an example inventory of bagged ice;" and see at least [0004]; "In this example, the ice storage unit is provided with insulating doors 26 to allow access to the internal volume 22 of the icebox 16 through access openings 28.").
Marti teaches TOF sensor being mounted against a wall (see at least [00057]; “Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.”).
Marti teaches detection zone of TOF extending between TOF and a wall of the cavity opposite to the TOF sensor to bottom of cavity where at least one object is resting (see at least [00057]; “Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.” and Figure 2 and see at least [0004]; "Fig. 2 is a simplified cross-sectional view taken along line 2-2 of Fig. 1 to further illustrate the construction of the ice storage unit 12. With reference to both Figs. 1 and 2, ice storage unit 12 has a box-within-a-box construction including a steel inner liner (icebox) 16 and a steel outer shell 18. Insulation 20 is provided between the liner 16 and shell 18 to provide good thermal insulation of the internal volume 22 of the icebox 16 where an inventory of packaged ice 24 can be stored.").
Mandai teaches storing photon count data and range of distances data (see at least [0042]; "Each bin of such a histogram represents a particular subinterval of time of the PRIs, and each bin can store a count of photons received at the SPAD during that subinterval of time over all the PRIs, or equivalently, a count of photons having times of flight within that subinterval of time. Each bin also effectively represents a range of distances to an object. Bins associated with smaller subintervals of time provide finer resolution of a distance determination.").
Collectively, Lei, Marti, and Mandai can detect objects. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei to include hardware from Marti and Software from Mandai. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to utilize the programming from Mandai to store the photon count data and range of distances data and add it’s data storage structure to the detection unit in Lei for analyzation. Further, One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a rail or mounting implement similar to one taught in Marti in the teaching of Lei. Therefore, by combining aspects of these prior arts, the claimed invention is reproduced using programming from Mandai and a mounting structure for the wall cavity like the structure in Marti.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 contains analogous limitations to claim 7 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Marti, and in view of Chen et al. (US-20210382147-A1; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 17, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] (Lei teaches see at least [0043]; "The detection system currently used basically includes: the light source module 110, a processing module 120, and a light receiving module 130. The light source module 110 includes, but is not limited to, a semiconductor laser, solid-state lasers, and other types of lasers. When a semiconductor laser is used as the light source, a vertical cavity surface emitting laser VCSEL (Vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser) or an edge-emitting semiconductor laser EEL (edge-emitting laser) can be used, which is only exemplary and not limited herein." and Marti teaches see at least [00057]; "Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.").
However, Lei and Marti do not explicitly teach emitting light from a screen located at the bottom of a cavity and directing light beams towards using a mirror. Instead, Lei and Marti teach internal light emitting processes and a TOF sensor used and mounted in a cavity.
Lei discloses a method to use a VCSEL or EEL in the detection system described herein and Marti discloses a TOF sensor in a cavity and Chen is directed at using reflective mirrors and specific unit position. Chen teaches:
Bottom cavity position (see at least [0193]; "For example, the emitting unit that emits the light beam 190at is at a relatively bottom position of a column formed by all of the emitting light sources 703B, and the receiving unit that receives the light beam 190ar is substantially at a relatively bottom position of a column formed by all of the photoelectric sensor elements 704B.").
Reflective mirror (see at least [0149]; "For the through main shaft configuration of the existing Lidar system, reflecting mirrors need to be disposed for a light emitting path and a light receiving path to avoid the main shaft. However, the non-through main shaft structure of this application forms a flat platform at the lower part of the Lidar system. Therefore, there is no shielding of a light path by the main shaft, and no reflecting mirrors that deflect the light path, that is, an emitting light path and a receiving light path can be substantially disposed in parallel. For example, for the above 4×16 emitting light sources 703B and corresponding 4×16 photoelectric sensor elements 704B, two groups of reflecting mirrors may be omitted. The multi-line Lidar system can omit a complex adjustment process of emitting and receiving beams in a one-to-one manner, thereby reducing optical adjustment or omitting optical adjustment.").
Collectively, Lei, Marti, and Chen can emit light and receive light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Lei and Marti to utilize the position of the emitting unit and a mirror as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to position the light source module from Lei and place it near the bottom of the cavity and add a mirror as taught by Chen at an incline to create a path for the light to exit the cavity. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by positioning the light emitter and adding an inclined mirror as taught by Chen to the prior art of Lei.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] (Lei teaches see at least [0043]; "The detection system currently used basically includes: the light source module 110, a processing module 120, and a light receiving module 130. The light source module 110 includes, but is not limited to, a semiconductor laser, solid-state lasers, and other types of lasers. When a semiconductor laser is used as the light source, a vertical cavity surface emitting laser VCSEL (Vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser) or an edge-emitting semiconductor laser EEL (edge-emitting laser) can be used, which is only exemplary and not limited herein." and Mandai teaches see at least [0066]; "Internal reflections within a SPAD system can also affect the TOF determination. Typically, a cover layer 316 (FIG. 3) is positioned over the emitter 300 and the SPAD detector 302. The cover layer 316 may be made of any suitable material, including glass and plastic." and Marti teaches see at least [00057]; "Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.").
However, Lei, Mandai, and Marti together do not explicitly teach emitting light from a screen located at the bottom of a cavity and directing light beams towards using a mirror. Instead, Lei, Mandai, and Marti teach internal light emitting processes.
Together Lei and Mandai disclose systems to detect objects and Marti discloses a TOF sensor in a cavity and Chen is directed at using reflective mirrors and specific unit position. Chen teaches:
Bottom cavity position (see at least [0193]; "For example, the emitting unit that emits the light beam 190at is at a relatively bottom position of a column formed by all of the emitting light sources 703B, and the receiving unit that receives the light beam 190ar is substantially at a relatively bottom position of a column formed by all of the photoelectric sensor elements 704B.").
Reflective mirror (see at least [0149]; "For the through main shaft configuration of the existing Lidar system, reflecting mirrors need to be disposed for a light emitting path and a light receiving path to avoid the main shaft. However, the non-through main shaft structure of this application forms a flat platform at the lower part of the Lidar system. Therefore, there is no shielding of a light path by the main shaft, and no reflecting mirrors that deflect the light path, that is, an emitting light path and a receiving light path can be substantially disposed in parallel. For example, for the above 4×16 emitting light sources 703B and corresponding 4×16 photoelectric sensor elements 704B, two groups of reflecting mirrors may be omitted. The multi-line Lidar system can omit a complex adjustment process of emitting and receiving beams in a one-to-one manner, thereby reducing optical adjustment or omitting optical adjustment.").
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Chen can emit light and receive light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei, Mandai, and Marti to utilize the position of the emitting unit and a mirror as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to position the light source module from Lei place it near the bottom of the cavity and add a mirror as taught by Chen at an incline to create a path for the light to exit the cavity. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from Lei and adding an inclined mirror and light emitter position from Chen.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, Marti, and in view of Mathy et al. (US-20220366584-A1; hereinafter Mathy).
Regarding claim 9, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] The method according to claim 7, further comprising (Lei teaches see at least [0059]; "The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and Lei teaches see at least [0068]; "FIG. 9 is another implementation idea... Each unit in this module first performs a segmental accumulation operation for the sequence, that is, the abovementioned statistical photon counting sequence X and modulation sequence Y are firstly divided into the effective superposition interval within the accumulation interval to perform segmental accumulation operation respectively, then perform the multiplication operation on the two sequences, the operation results generated by the two sequences may be different, which is not limited here, but the result information associated with the physical characteristics such as the distance of the detected object and speed of the detected object maybe included in both result , the signal processing system includes time-frequency domain conversion, threshold detection and information calculation, etc." and Mandai teaches see at least [0042]; "Each bin of such a histogram represents a particular subinterval of time of the PRIs, and each bin can store a count of photons received at the SPAD during that subinterval of time over all the PRIs, or equivalently, a count of photons having times of flight within that subinterval of time. Each bin also effectively represents a range of distances to an object. Bins associated with smaller subintervals of time provide finer resolution of a distance determination." and Marti teaches see at least [00057]; "Fig. 12 is a cross-section view of an icebox 16 of an ice merchandiser which has a rail 94 with a plurality of LiDAR modules 32 attached to a top surface 74. Fig. 13 is a top plan view taken along line 13-13 of Fig. 12.").
However, Lei, Mandai, and Marti together do not explicitly teach calibrating the TOF sensor to determine the distance interval and photon amount interval. Instead, Lei, Mandai, and Marti collectively teach calculating a distance average, photon count, and range of distances.
Together Lei and Mandai disclose a method to detect objects and their distance and Marti discloses a TOF sensor in a cavity and Mathy is directed at calibrating the ToF sensor and determining data via intervals. Mathy teaches:
Calibrating ToF sensor (see at least [0019]; "The drawings show exemplary ToF circuits, systems and configurations. Variations of these systems, for example, changing the positions of, adding, or removing certain elements from the circuits are not beyond the scope of the present invention. The illustrated ToF devices and configurations are intended to be complementary to the support found in the detailed description." and see at least [0015]; "According to various implementations, the look-up table includes stored corrected depth data for respective subsets of the first set of measurements. In some implementations, the method includes calibrating processor distance measurements.").
Distance interval (see at least [0016]; "According to one aspect, an imaging apparatus for resolving multi-path corruption includes a light source configured to emit a nonsinusoidal light signal during a first time interval, an image sensor comprising a plurality of pixels, the image sensor configured to collect incoming signals including a first reflected nonsinusoidal light signal and a second reflected nonsinusoidal light signal, means for determining a first estimated distance to an object based on the first and second reflected nonsinusoidal light signals, and means for determining a corrected distance using a look-up table.").
Photon amount interval (see at least [0042]; "Because it can be challenging to directly estimate the travel time of photons returning to the imager, time-of-flight imagers typically vary the emitted light intensity as a function of time and integrate the return light over certain time intervals. During the time that the pixels are receiving light, the photon intensity is converted to a number that is stored in one of a number of storage units at each pixel. In some implementations, a timing generator 103 sends signals to the light emitters 104 and the imager array 102, controlling their respective intensity and sensitivity as a function of time. The numbers stored at the storage units can be used by a processor 109 to estimate t.sub.R. For example, the number of photons collected can be converted to a voltage, or to a stored charge.").
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Mathy can measure distance and count photons. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei, Mandai, and Marti to include implementations as taught by Mathy. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the implementation which would allow a calibration method for the processing system in Lei. Additionally, the histogram taught from Mandai teach intervals of distance and photon count but the intervals taught by Mathy include corrected distance and object detection based on reflected nonsinusoidal light signals. These light signals which can be interpreted as being detected off other objects within the detected object’s area such as a wall in a cavity taught by Marti and can be combined with the methods taught by Lei. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from all prior arts mentioned in this rejection.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 contains analogous limitations to claim 9 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Choi.
Regarding claim 21, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] The detection system according to claim 18, wherein said at least one object is detected when the distance central trend indicator (Lei teaches see at least [0059]; "The distance related signal then passes through a time-frequency domain conversion module to obtain a spectrum signal converted by the distance related signal, and then utilizes the characteristics of the spectrum signal... to output information included the distance of the detected objects as well as included information about the velocity, etc... Of course, the time-frequency domain conversion module may also include a threshold detection unit and/or an information calculation unit, which is not limited here." and Mandai teaches see at least [0043]; "As mentioned above, objects at different distances may create conflicting issues for detection of reflected light photons. Objects that are far from the SPAD detector may produce few detectable reflected photons, whereas nearby objects may produce enough reflected photons to saturate the pixels leading to a bias in TOF estimation. Consequently, varying the sensitivity of a SPAD (e.g., by adjusting its reverse bias) may improve estimation of distance to far objects but reduce accuracy of estimated distance to close objects." and Marti teaches see at least [00041]; "The measured ToF can be converted to the distance to the surface (e.g. to a bag of packaged ice, in the present example), which can then be used to determine the current inventory level of the ice merchandiser.").
However, Lei, Mandai, and Marti together do not explicitly teach when the detected object has a distance average lower than a first distance. Instead, Lei and Mandai teach an object being detected.
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, and Marti disclose a method to utilize distance data from their detection units and Choi is directed at obtaining more than one distance. Choi teaches:
Distance average is lower than the first distance (see at least [0104]; "The processor 250 may differently obtain the one or more first distances, the one or more second distances, and/or values of the one or more first peaks depending on the distance between the electronic device 201 and the subject, whether the distance sensor 230 is partially blocked by an obstacle, and/or whether the distance sensor 230 is entirely blocked by an obstacle." and see at least [0112]; "In table 721, the maximum distance among the second distances is about 15 (mm) (721-2) and the minimum distance is about 1 (mm) (721-1). In table an average distance of the second distances is about 8 (mm). In table 721, “N” 721-3 may represent a case in which reliability of the obtained distance is lower than designated reliability. In table 721, all of the second distances may be obtained when the light emitted from the light-emitting part of the distance sensor is incident to the light-receiving part of the distance sensor after being reflected by the obstacle.").
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Choi can measure distances. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei, Mandai, and Marti to have its processor obtain distances as taught by Choi. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the multiple distance recording capability of the processor taught by Choi, incorporate it into the threshold detection unit taught by Lei, and be able measure a preliminary distance of an object as it would be shorter than the average field of view distance. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from Choi into the teachings of Lei.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Ptasinski.
Regarding claim 22, Lei discloses [Note: what Lei fails to disclose is strike-through] The detection system according to claim 18, wherein the photon amount central trend indicator is (Lei teaches see at least [0025]; "FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram showing obtaining a distance-related signal by using a preset rule operation module according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;" and Lei teaches see at least [0084]; "The function of formula (21) and formula (22) is to obtain the characteristics of the cumulative photon counting sequence. The summing operation in formula (21) and the averaging operation in formula (22) are only for illustration, and are not limited here... The variance and average of adaptive correction sequence Xm and the sum or the arithmetic average of the cumulative photon count sequence X have certain specific relationships, such as positive correlation or negative correlation, or some specific values, which are not specifically limited here." and Mandai teaches see at least [0042]; "Each bin of such a histogram represents a particular subinterval of time of the PRIs, and each bin can store a count of photons received at the SPAD during that subinterval of time over all the PRIs, or equivalently, a count of photons having times of flight within that subinterval of time. Each bin also effectively represents a range of distances to an object. Bins associated with smaller subintervals of time provide finer resolution of a distance determination." and Marti teaches see at least [00041]; "The measured ToF can be converted to the distance to the surface (e.g. to a bag of packaged ice, in the present example), which can then be used to determine the current inventory level of the ice merchandiser.").
However, Lei, Mandai, and Marti together do not explicitly teach photon average being the median of a value of a quantity of photons and further does not teach distance average being the median of a value of associated distances. Instead, Lei, Mandai, and Marti teach an average of the cumulative photon count sequence, photon count, and range of distances to an object.
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, and Marti disclose a method to extract distance data and evaluate data through variables and analysis and Ptasinski is directed at measuring distances with photon generators. Ptasinski teaches:
Medians of photon counts and distances (see at least [0020]; "For embodiments in which a plurality of systems 1 or photon generators 5 are used in tandem, feed loop methodologies can utilize the additional photon generation to measure scan separate distances. For example, with two photon generators 5 and two corresponding slow light sections 11, each slow light section can tune the idler photons 7 to start at a central starting value (e.g., a predetermined range median or an estimated target distance value), then the first slow light section can adjust the refractive index in a positive direction while the second slow light section can adjust the refractive index in a negative direction.").
Collectively, Lei, Mandai, Marti, and Ptasinski can measure distances and evaluate data.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Lei, Mandai, and Marti to include an systems or photon generators as taught by Ptasinski. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include an embodiment that incorporates a plurality of systems as taught by Ptasinski to generate average/median data from photon count and distances in what is taught by Lei. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from Ptasinski into the teachings of Lei.
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648